Should Galway alternate matches at Tuam/Salthill

Given the recent record of Galway footballers at Pearse stadium, I was thinking for division 1 of league next year should Galway play every second match at Tuam stadium. Also should the hurlers play every second match in Kenny park, Athenry? Tuam and North Galway are strongholds of Gaelic football. A model is the Munster Rugby one- one match in Thomond, then Musgrave park. I think Galway hurlers should consider playing in Athenry also. Spiritual home of Galway hurling.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2517 - 10/07/2017 21:27:35    2014506

Replying To galwayford:  "Given the recent record of Galway footballers at Pearse stadium, I was thinking for division 1 of league next year should Galway play every second match at Tuam stadium. Also should the hurlers play every second match in Kenny park, Athenry? Tuam and North Galway are strongholds of Gaelic football. A model is the Munster Rugby one- one match in Thomond, then Musgrave park. I think Galway hurlers should consider playing in Athenry also. Spiritual home of Galway hurling."
I would be all for Galway playing at Tuam, I travelled there on a few occasions when Meath played them in the league but the place needs dramatic improvements to bring it up to spec, don't think it will return as a prominent intercounty venue until improvements take place

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 10/07/2017 22:17:13    2014559

As you know, opinion is divided on this. I think the odd game should be played in Athenry and Tuam ; every second one might be a bit too much though. Was at a Galway Kildare match in Tuam about 2 years ago -- couldn't believe how bad the facilities were. Tuam was unfairly neglected but I think they'd need to knock the whole "stadium" down and build it up again before it could be granted more games.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1902 - 10/07/2017 23:36:16    2014617

No.

conordee (Galway) - Posts: 440 - 11/07/2017 10:21:07    2014765

Not fit to host an intercounty game

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 11/07/2017 11:58:51    2014830

There has been fundraisers to raise money to build 4 new dressing rooms and that work was supposed to start earlier this year. But alas nothing yet. .

mon (Galway) - Posts: 675 - 11/07/2017 12:32:21    2014861

Tuam is not fit to host intercounty matches in its current state. End of story. Maybe the odd league game but that's about it.

Until it's redeveloped it's a non-story.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2208 - 11/07/2017 12:39:33    2014867

Not this craic again lads!

Tuam is not fit to host an inter county match. Sorry for all the romantics out there but the 'Stadium' is a mess.

MTS (Galway) - Posts: 279 - 11/07/2017 12:50:50    2014879

No . Salthill for all its faults is still the home of Galway Teams. What is needed is to get Galway footballers to play attractive attacking football. " Build it and they will come"

heartbroken (Galway) - Posts: 370 - 11/07/2017 13:12:01    2014896

Yes.

Ailteoir (Galway) - Posts: 859 - 11/07/2017 13:31:44    2014922

Yes when Tuam is renovated-fundraising ongoing.

lowballplease (Galway) - Posts: 935 - 11/07/2017 16:57:28    2015078

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "As you know, opinion is divided on this. I think the odd game should be played in Athenry and Tuam ; every second one might be a bit too much though. Was at a Galway Kildare match in Tuam about 2 years ago -- couldn't believe how bad the facilities were. Tuam was unfairly neglected but I think they'd need to knock the whole "stadium" down and build it up again before it could be granted more games."
I was at that game in Tuam too PoolSturgeon and was surprised at how poor the facilities were and the ground in general. Pearse Stadium is a fine ground, good location despite Pat Spillane complaining that he found it hard to find it at the recent Galway Mayo semi-final.

lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 2987 - 11/07/2017 18:42:31    2015152

Renovations in Tuam on the verge of starting, once it's ready more games will be coming home!

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 11/07/2017 19:24:13    2015188

Salthill is a good stadium, only 2 main problems with the location, 1 is the close proximity to the sea so you can get sunshine, rain, calm and hurricanes all in 1 day and as we saw last Sunday it was raining and windy in Galway yet in Thurles it was blue skies and sunshine for most of the game, the 2nd problem with Salthill is the biggest one and that is traffic, the road in and out can't cope with the large volume, no amount of Garda planning can change that, Galway needs another bridge and road out of Salthill, I would keep it for club championships and an odd Galway League match where a large number of supporters are not expected but ye need another venue for large crowds

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 13/07/2017 11:56:48    2016027