Pre game Warm Ups

https://www.google.ie/amp/s/www.sportsjoe.ie/amp/gaa/cian-wards-comments-meaths-warm-will-appreciated-many-gaa-players-127392

kerryluck (Kerry) - Posts: 2517 - 21/06/2017 19:26:17    2003217

This is certainly an interesting one.

From a Donegal point of view, Jim McGuinness used to put the players through a seriously tough warm-up. There were sprints after sprints after sprints. But it didn't seem to affect boys too badly.

At the weekend many have commented that Donegal's warmup was very lazy compared to Tyrone's (and it was a scorching day). Who knows which team it suited. Donegal went 2 points up and then pegged back. 5-5 after 20mins and then Tyrone took over. Did the warm up help Tyrone? Did it hinder them? Who knows. There are definitely mixed opinions on how it should be done even at the top level.

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1422 - 21/06/2017 21:50:07    2003278

I thought that the Tyrone warm up was not near as energy sapping as the Donegal one on Sunday. Tyrone warm ups are normally much longer and tougher than on Sunday.

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 894 - 21/06/2017 22:17:41    2003293

tough one,but i was surprised by how meath played in that first half in particular. not really played like that since the early league game against down.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 21/06/2017 22:18:38    2003295

I really don't think the warm up have a massive influence on the final result. I've been though intense warm ups and casual warm ups and won some and lost others. As another poster said the first 15 mins were tight so neither warm up proved better or worse.
Both teams were warming up a long time before the pre match warm up over the road on that wee field. They also warm up in the changing room. And that morning etc.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 21/06/2017 22:53:24    2003310

Meath warm up on Saturday was gruelling to even watch. It was long, intense, and at times seemed totally unnecessary, and this was prior to coming out to to a warm up for the match, mini games etc . It just seemed totally unnecessary in that heat , lads were visibly sweating. On a really hot day like that it was too much. I am a huge fan of Andy McEntee, but he got this one wrong.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 22/06/2017 07:34:37    2003350

Every player is different in fairness. Some need longer warm ups than others but by all accounts the Meath one was just madness. It's rare that you see subs doing anything like the warm up that's done before the match. Which in itself asks the question are most of them over the top. Who knows!

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 22/06/2017 10:23:22    2003419

I prefer to just burst out of the dressing room sprinting (well as fast as you can at junior B), after cursing and swearing and breaking hurls off the table about the shower we were playing, hit 2-3 balls, stretch the hammies, job done. Save the energy for the shoulder on the man you are going to be marking when he shakes your hand at the start of the match. Follow up the shoulder with not sparing timber on him for the first 5 minutes.
Tis all gone way too scientific lads, keep it simple.

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 22/06/2017 10:50:21    2003435

personally, and I am no expert on this, I thought donegal's warm up on sunday was ridiculous when taking into account the very hot conditions. I am not balming it for the defeat, as one team clearly arrived for battle and the other didn't. In general warm ups should be about loosing up the muscles and I don't believe the high octane (and energy sapping routines) pre game give any team a n advantage.

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 916 - 22/06/2017 11:19:18    2003451

Replying To totalrecall:  "personally, and I am no expert on this, I thought donegal's warm up on sunday was ridiculous when taking into account the very hot conditions. I am not balming it for the defeat, as one team clearly arrived for battle and the other didn't. In general warm ups should be about loosing up the muscles and I don't believe the high octane (and energy sapping routines) pre game give any team a n advantage."
I didn't Donegal's warmup was hard at all. The other end of the field was much more intense and focus. That could be just my opinion. I personally don't think the warm up is important. Some player it will effect mentally. Poor warm up = poor game but for others it's about stretching and getting your head right. Then when the balls thrown it's game on.

dstuction (Donegal) - Posts: 1209 - 22/06/2017 11:39:50    2003464

From my own playing days I used to find the most important/beneficial for me was to get out early and just have very man spraying kick passes to each other. Just jog around, receive a ball, take a steps/solos and then deliver a 30-40 yard pass to someone else.

A bit of dynamic stuff - squats, press ups, lunges & then a few running drills but nothing too strenuous. Just enough to get the blood pumping and a bit of a sweat up. This craic of having boys running across the pitch flat out for 20 minutes before a game is farcical.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9133 - 22/06/2017 12:14:23    2003481

It would be more interesting to see what's being done in dressing rooms at half time.

Are lads sitting down letting lactic acid build up? Are they standing, continuing to do dynamic stretches? Is heart rate being let slip back down, if so then some intensive warm-up work is required before second half to ensure heart rate, lungs and lactic acid being flushed and player back up to the speed of the game.

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 706 - 22/06/2017 12:29:45    2003493

It would be interesting to know if Meath did the same warm up for the Louth game and if Cian Ward was in attendance!

If it wasn't an issue then, why now?

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 22/06/2017 13:27:21    2003524

I agree with Cian Ward.

That said, prior to the 2013 Munster Championship games, Limerick went through a very intense warm up prior to both the Tipp and Cork games. I was watching right in front of me before the Tipp game and Limeric spent 20 minutes absolutely hopping off it. Crashbags, sprints, the lot. Even the Subs were ploughing into everyone.

Limerick came from behind to beat Tipp by 4, finishing very strong. The same against Cork.

Maybe there is a balance and Meath went over it. As an overweight Junior player I bloody hated them.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 22/06/2017 15:45:22    2003619

Martin Fogarty, former kilkenny senior coach always went by the maxim - expend as little energy in the warm up as possible

get the heart rate up, get the touch and timing right, away you go

valley84 (Westmeath) - Posts: 1890 - 22/06/2017 17:27:15    2003672

Replying To Ban:  "It would be interesting to know if Meath did the same warm up for the Louth game and if Cian Ward was in attendance!

If it wasn't an issue then, why now?"
Don't know if cian was at Louth match, I would presume he was.
The difference? It didn't seem as intense or as long at Parnell, however the real difference , was the heat. Honestly in Parnell it was pleasant even a passing shower, in Tullamore it was a sauna, let me tell you the sun was burning into everyone on sat eve, how I saw the warm up close up was myself and my better half were putting factor 59 on the kids , at that end of ground ,even though we did just before we left as the sun was scorching.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 22/06/2017 20:58:49    2003748

Replying To royaldunne:  "Don't know if cian was at Louth match, I would presume he was.
The difference? It didn't seem as intense or as long at Parnell, however the real difference , was the heat. Honestly in Parnell it was pleasant even a passing shower, in Tullamore it was a sauna, let me tell you the sun was burning into everyone on sat eve, how I saw the warm up close up was myself and my better half were putting factor 59 on the kids , at that end of ground ,even though we did just before we left as the sun was scorching."
Ah here boys I think you are clutching at straws

KeshGFC (Fermanagh) - Posts: 334 - 22/06/2017 21:43:47    2003766

Replying To Ban:  "It would be interesting to know if Meath did the same warm up for the Louth game and if Cian Ward was in attendance!

If it wasn't an issue then, why now?"
pretty much the same warm up against louth. to be honest if meath beat kildare who would be talking about the warmup?

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 22/06/2017 22:11:11    2003778

when you win,great warm up.
when you lose,well the warm up is a new one,normally its the referee.

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 22/06/2017 22:49:58    2003791

Replying To ziggy32001:  "pretty much the same warm up against louth. to be honest if meath beat kildare who would be talking about the warmup?"
Ziggy. I said it on sat evening prior to match it was too much in that heat. Wouldn't have made a difference to result. And no one is using it as excuse. Just too much in that burning sun.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 22/06/2017 23:19:35    2003798