Limerick v Wexford (Football)

Saturday's sole football championship qualifier sees Limerick and Wexford crossing swords as Seamus McEnaney's men look to make up for their surprise defeat to Carlow in the Leinster championship last month. Limerick went down narrowly to Clare in Munster and are slightly fancied to advance in this one.

This thread will be used to discuss the match at the Gaelic Grounds.

Administrator (None) - Posts: 2274 - 20/06/2017 12:46:18    2002468

Should be played in Newcastle West

Joke having it in GG

Be lucky to get 500 people at it

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 20/06/2017 13:09:17    2002491

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Should be played in Newcastle West

Joke having it in GG

Be lucky to get 500 people at it"
id go along with that liam - 21s game will get far bigger crowd

we are at home we have a chance - wexford are favurites in my view -

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 20/06/2017 13:22:19    2002501

Wexford were decent at the start of the league but didn't hammer any team and haven't been the same since guaranteeing promotion and it wasn't a huge surprise when Carlow beat them.

Limerick haven't exactly been rooting up trees either though and the 1 point loss to Clare made it look a closer game than it was in reality,

This game could go either way with hopefully home advantage just swaying it for Limerick.

county man (Limerick) - Posts: 1102 - 21/06/2017 00:12:42    2002885

The annoying thing about Limerick at the moment is that we're trying to play this patient build-up style, with runners then breaking through. We're just a bit too ponderous though, which means holes very rarely open up, and when they do...I would question the fitness of the guys tasked with doing the running as it hardly ever happens with real conviction or incision. The loss of 3-4 players to the USA this summer is also a blow, as we could have deceptively decent depth otherwise.

With Seanie Buckley and Ian Ryan to come back, I'd be confident of our chances if even one of them was fit for Saturday. Josh Ryan to start would also be a good call, he showed very well against Clare and sadly unlike most of our bench, he has a bit of football in him.

Hopefully we can unearth some more young players in the next year or two. I don't think anybody is under any illusions that we are heavily rebuilding, and a win on Saturday would go a long way to instilling some belief into our young ranks.

bob_dolphin (Limerick) - Posts: 694 - 22/06/2017 17:42:07    2003685

Banty milking this one.

salvador (Roscommon) - Posts: 439 - 25/06/2017 00:47:06    2004593

Replying To salvador:  "Banty milking this one."
. . and you have a problem with that ?

yelowbelly (Wexford) - Posts: 409 - 25/06/2017 17:08:58    2004821

Replying To salvador:  "Banty milking this one."
so what IF [if] he is its harming or upsetting u how?

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2841 - 25/06/2017 17:18:18    2004828

Replying To yelowbelly:  ". . and you have a problem with that ?"
Heard him on radio yesterday rewriting history when talking about Carlow's win coming as a result of a last minute goal, whereas as well knows Carlow's second goal merely put the icing on the cake.

He also said something very funny at the end of the interview along the lines that nobody in tomorrow's draw would want to get Wexford LOL. He sounds like someone who's desperate to have his reputation restored and has to do it himself when nobody else is doing so.

Onion Breath (Carlow) - Posts: 1412 - 25/06/2017 17:25:08    2004831

Replying To Onion Breath:  "Heard him on radio yesterday rewriting history when talking about Carlow's win coming as a result of a last minute goal, whereas as well knows Carlow's second goal merely put the icing on the cake.

He also said something very funny at the end of the interview along the lines that nobody in tomorrow's draw would want to get Wexford LOL. He sounds like someone who's desperate to have his reputation restored and has to do it himself when nobody else is doing so."
And as I've already asked salvador
. . .you got a problem with that ?

yelowbelly (Wexford) - Posts: 409 - 25/06/2017 22:01:18    2005133

Replying To yelowbelly:  "And as I've already asked salvador
. . .you got a problem with that ?"
No, but I would be embarrassed if I was a Wexford supporter listening to his nonsense.

Have you not got a problem?

Onion Breath (Carlow) - Posts: 1412 - 25/06/2017 22:11:46    2005141

Replying To Onion Breath:  "No, but I would be embarrassed if I was a Wexford supporter listening to his nonsense.

Have you not got a problem?"
Well aren't you lucky that you're not a wexford supporter so you don't have to listen to it

yelowbelly (Wexford) - Posts: 409 - 25/06/2017 23:03:19    2005201

Replying To yelowbelly:  "Well aren't you lucky that you're not a wexford supporter so you don't have to listen to it"
You have my sympathy.

Just wondering why you seemed to take issue with anyone calling out this bluffer you have for a manager? Very defensive. You're not Banty yourself are you by any chance are you?

Onion Breath (Carlow) - Posts: 1412 - 25/06/2017 23:20:01    2005221

Replying To yelowbelly:  "Well aren't you lucky that you're not a wexford supporter so you don't have to listen to it"
You have my sympathy.

Just wondering why you seemed to take issue with anyone calling out this bluffer you have for a manager? Very defensive. You're not Banty yourself by any chance are you?

Onion Breath (Carlow) - Posts: 1412 - 25/06/2017 23:20:28    2005222

close game - not as dire as was made out by media - lot of hand passing and running though, sparse crowd shocking bad limerick support a good 30/40 wexford fans - diehards the lot of em, twas nip and tuk wexford leading by a point most of the way, we had a first half penalty which ian corbett put over bar, we had two goal chances and missed 4 shots to level it late on, anooyed to have not got the draw but good luck wexford in next rounds

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 25/06/2017 23:33:15    2005238

Replying To Onion Breath:  "You have my sympathy.

Just wondering why you seemed to take issue with anyone calling out this bluffer you have for a manager? Very defensive. You're not Banty yourself by any chance are you?"
Ye should just worry about trying to keep your best player on the pitch and stop him getting involved in incidents and getting sent off.

hurlorhurley (Wexford) - Posts: 1660 - 26/06/2017 12:01:55    2005595

Replying To hurlorhurley:  "Ye should just worry about trying to keep your best player on the pitch and stop him getting involved in incidents and getting sent off."
Touché.

Onion Breath (Carlow) - Posts: 1412 - 26/06/2017 12:44:46    2005650

Replying To janesboro:  "close game - not as dire as was made out by media - lot of hand passing and running though, sparse crowd shocking bad limerick support a good 30/40 wexford fans - diehards the lot of em, twas nip and tuk wexford leading by a point most of the way, we had a first half penalty which ian corbett put over bar, we had two goal chances and missed 4 shots to level it late on, anooyed to have not got the draw but good luck wexford in next rounds"
draw would have been the fair result Limerick are a young side and need time the thing is they now have to wait until february for their next competitive game. Wexford will come on from this win but unlikely to be at Monaghan unless they play out of their skin in Wexford Park.

hurlorhurley (Wexford) - Posts: 1660 - 26/06/2017 15:11:13    2005790