Tipperary Mess

So the news has broke about a player being dropped from the panel for discipline reasons. Since the Wexford game in the league there have been numerous rumour's doing the rounds in Tipp GAA.
Two Tipp players were thrown out of a pub on a weekday afternoon for fighting following the league final.
Pitch bust up prior to the Cork game before between 2 other players serious personal matter.
Player texting the manager telling him they were slow to make changes in the Cork game from the sideline and that certain players on the field that day didn't deserve their place.
A club player fakes an injury because he refuses to play for his club under the current management team and when the county management hear this that players is not considered for the Cork game.
Could be a short summer for the All-Ireland Champions we are totally out of control and not focused.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 31/05/2017 09:00:20    1992498

Disciplinary Reasons. Did he go for a few pints one evening? He's out for 6 weeks and they tell him to abide by the team's laws & regulations, even though he may play no further part this summer? Seems a bit silly to me.

xxB3B0Stunnahxx (USA) - Posts: 94 - 31/05/2017 10:30:27    1992539

I'm sure Tipperary will pull it together, anyway; the tame is too good not to. If what you say is true, it's time for a clear the air meeting between players and management to ask each other what matters most, petty problems or Tipperary. Get it sorted out for the good of the county and drive on.

Midleton (Cork) - Posts: 643 - 31/05/2017 11:23:47    1992566

Replying To WildPundit:  "So the news has broke about a player being dropped from the panel for discipline reasons. Since the Wexford game in the league there have been numerous rumour's doing the rounds in Tipp GAA.
Two Tipp players were thrown out of a pub on a weekday afternoon for fighting following the league final.
Pitch bust up prior to the Cork game before between 2 other players serious personal matter.
Player texting the manager telling him they were slow to make changes in the Cork game from the sideline and that certain players on the field that day didn't deserve their place.
A club player fakes an injury because he refuses to play for his club under the current management team and when the county management hear this that players is not considered for the Cork game.
Could be a short summer for the All-Ireland Champions we are totally out of control and not focused."
Can I say how refreshing it is to have someone come out and not just put up the county colour barriers , very rare on here , Tipp on form are sight to behold and I for one would want to meet them in the qualifiers , they played in a magnificent game recently and there absolutely is a lot more to come , sure they will get the internal stuff sorted,

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 31/05/2017 13:23:52    1992615

I'm sure everything will calm down before the qualifiers but leading up to the league final and Cork game there was stories making their way around the county as usual and a lot of people laughed it off including myself but recent weeks some rumors turning out to be true.
I wonder how much money Babs has made from the Galway and Cork defeats!!!
Expecting us to get to a quarter final as a stepping stone but jez in the back of your mind you'd be wondering what the hell is going on!!
Good enough on paper but I think we have caught second season syndrome again!!!

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 31/05/2017 13:35:59    1992621

Replying To Damothedub:  "Can I say how refreshing it is to have someone come out and not just put up the county colour barriers , very rare on here , Tipp on form are sight to behold and I for one would want to meet them in the qualifiers , they played in a magnificent game recently and there absolutely is a lot more to come , sure they will get the internal stuff sorted,"
You can't hide from the truth Damo ;) Although on another thread posters from that county are in complete denial of hard facts.

It's an awful pity that Barrett is off the panel, he is a superb player and the sort of corner back you love watching playing because he is fearless and skillful. It's a massive call by Ryan and I hope for his sake it doesn't backfire on him cos he has given so much to Tipperary hurling over the past 30 years or more. I don't think Mick Ryan would make this decision lightly and I trust him as manager of our team that he is making the right decision.

There is one rumour floating around though that is very naughty and seems to have no substance at all. That rumour is not very nice because it is a slur on the good name of the parties involved.

One thing for sure is that all is not well in the Tipp camp and that's probably GAA understatement of the year. I only started to get worried about the state of things after Bergin walked off the panel, that is never a good sign. The Galway defeat in isolation wasn't as big a concern cos you can have off days and get a drubbing from a really talented team like Galway but the good news then and still the good news now after the Cork defeat is that neither blow is fatal, we are still in the championship. Granted, we are on the ropes and the losers of the Kilkenny/Wexford game will strike the killer blow in the qualifiers if we don't sort sh&t out over the next four weeks.

At the end of the day, we a down one player from our starting 15 because of a disciplinary issue. We have 14 more players that started last year's final and a strong panel to carry this forward.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 31/05/2017 13:56:57    1992634

Not good from Tipp camp. I seem to recall something similar happening in 2011. I was at last year's All-Ireland. I felt watching that we were on the edge of new era. I felt that this team would be the first Tipp team since the the 1960s to win back to back. The talent is still there to do it. I am less certain that they will do it now.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 31/05/2017 14:30:48    1992655

Replying To WildPundit:  "So the news has broke about a player being dropped from the panel for discipline reasons. Since the Wexford game in the league there have been numerous rumour's doing the rounds in Tipp GAA.
Could be a short summer for the All-Ireland Champions we are totally out of control and not focused."
Jaysus, the only one of these stories I heard was of a bust up between 2 players the week before the Cork game. One of the names was the same but I heard 5 other names for the other player who was seemingly involved!

Joe_Bloggs (Tipperary) - Posts: 186 - 31/05/2017 15:34:59    1992692

Replying To Joe_Bloggs:  "Jaysus, the only one of these stories I heard was of a bust up between 2 players the week before the Cork game. One of the names was the same but I heard 5 other names for the other player who was seemingly involved!"
I tell ya Mick Ryan has a right oul crew to handle all the same!! There's gonna be some personality clashes from now on!! The word on the street is Barrett had a few social ones with another Tipp player but somehow Barrett is paying the price. Something just doesn't add up!!

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 31/05/2017 17:25:17    1992750

Replying To WildPundit:  "I tell ya Mick Ryan has a right oul crew to handle all the same!! There's gonna be some personality clashes from now on!! The word on the street is Barrett had a few social ones with another Tipp player but somehow Barrett is paying the price. Something just doesn't add up!!"
Very interesting story..The truth won't come out in the papers no doubt, more likely to be spilled in a pub in Thurles or here on HS. It does seem strange that only one player was thrown off the team if two were on the lash. Can only speculate as to why when not in the know.

GameOfTyrones (Tyrone) - Posts: 469 - 31/05/2017 18:08:53    1992760

I hope Tipp sort this out and quickly mind as it's not the sort of vibe you want in a camp.I've always wondered how in the name of God Tipp cannot put a back to back together more often.Ok, it's not something that is easily done in the recent past with Kk at the height of their powers but for a county so steeped in hurling folklore it really is underachieving I feel.
What is it that seems to be such a problem in terms of consistency.The players are there no doubt about it but it just seems like they are happy to win one every now and again.Has discipline been part of the problem over the years.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 31/05/2017 18:16:02    1992762

Replying To WildPundit:  "I tell ya Mick Ryan has a right oul crew to handle all the same!! There's gonna be some personality clashes from now on!! The word on the street is Barrett had a few social ones with another Tipp player but somehow Barrett is paying the price. Something just doesn't add up!!"
All rumours outside of Barrett but hey you have your mind made up. Barrett was on last warning that's why he is gone another player is on final warning. I replied with the long version but mods blocked it as usual. I know for a fact the other personal rumour is untrue. Yes there was a bust up before Cork game but was over a wild pull.

therealtmo (Tipperary) - Posts: 1292 - 31/05/2017 18:19:26    1992763

Replying To Killarney.87:  "You can't hide from the truth Damo ;) Although on another thread posters from that county are in complete denial of hard facts.

It's an awful pity that Barrett is off the panel, he is a superb player and the sort of corner back you love watching playing because he is fearless and skillful. It's a massive call by Ryan and I hope for his sake it doesn't backfire on him cos he has given so much to Tipperary hurling over the past 30 years or more. I don't think Mick Ryan would make this decision lightly and I trust him as manager of our team that he is making the right decision.

There is one rumour floating around though that is very naughty and seems to have no substance at all. That rumour is not very nice because it is a slur on the good name of the parties involved.

One thing for sure is that all is not well in the Tipp camp and that's probably GAA understatement of the year. I only started to get worried about the state of things after Bergin walked off the panel, that is never a good sign. The Galway defeat in isolation wasn't as big a concern cos you can have off days and get a drubbing from a really talented team like Galway but the good news then and still the good news now after the Cork defeat is that neither blow is fatal, we are still in the championship. Granted, we are on the ropes and the losers of the Kilkenny/Wexford game will strike the killer blow in the qualifiers if we don't sort sh&t out over the next four weeks.

At the end of the day, we a down one player from our starting 15 because of a disciplinary issue. We have 14 more players that started last year's final and a strong panel to carry this forward."
"There is one rumour floating around though that is very naughty and seems to have no substance at all. That rumour is not very nice because it is a slur on the good name of the parties involved."

I'm working with a guy and he was telling me a rumour that was also very naughty which lead to a bust up between two players in training. I wonder is it the same one?

Jackos_Wacko (Kerry) - Posts: 417 - 31/05/2017 18:30:14    1992769

Replying To Jackos_Wacko:  ""There is one rumour floating around though that is very naughty and seems to have no substance at all. That rumour is not very nice because it is a slur on the good name of the parties involved."

I'm working with a guy and he was telling me a rumour that was also very naughty which lead to a bust up between two players in training. I wonder is it the same one?"
The naughty list is getting longer everyone is hearing the same rumour lads I know in KK ,Clare,Limerick,Cork and Waterford have all asked me if the same rumour is true. All we can do is speculate I suppose!!

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 31/05/2017 18:49:05    1992775

Replying To WildPundit:  "
Replying To Jackos_Wacko:  ""There is one rumour floating around though that is very naughty and seems to have no substance at all. That rumour is not very nice because it is a slur on the good name of the parties involved."

I'm working with a guy and he was telling me a rumour that was also very naughty which lead to a bust up between two players in training. I wonder is it the same one?"
The naughty list is getting longer everyone is hearing the same rumour lads I know in KK ,Clare,Limerick,Cork and Waterford have all asked me if the same rumour is true. All we can do is speculate I suppose!!"
Oh it must be true so cause everyone is hearing the same rumour that started from a club whatsapp group outside of Tipp. Has to be true. Get a grip.

therealtmo (Tipperary) - Posts: 1292 - 31/05/2017 19:14:20    1992783

Wild.
Did you actually see the fighting or read the text message etc?
Not having a go but then type of rumours flew about Tyrone after they lost a game, 99% been absolutely untrue. Same as every county.
If it is true sad to see.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 31/05/2017 19:50:42    1992797

Wild.
Not having a go but then type of rumours flew about Tyrone after they lost a game, 99% been absolutely untrue. Same as every county.
If it is true sad to see.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 31/05/2017 19:50:43    1992798

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Wild.
If it is true sad to see."
Fair play to you. Some of the rumours are disgraceful and totally untrue.

therealtmo (Tipperary) - Posts: 1292 - 31/05/2017 19:57:07    1992804

My brother in Australia heard the same rumours!!

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 31/05/2017 20:38:59    1992820

A bust up in training is pretty normal with most teams. No big deal at all.
The word is that Barrett was on a warning re having a few jars stepped out of line again & was dropped from the panel.
The other player I heard that was in a bit of bother was Bubbles but that seems to have been sorted for the moment at least.
We all love hurling & love good hurlers & nobody wants people getting dropped off panels.
I spoke today to the father of one of the squad & he seemed to think that things were settling down & that training was going well.
From on pitch performance Dublin seem to be in a bit of disarray themselves, on their performance against Galway the only banana skin in next round for Munster losers would be Wexford or Kilkenny.
Now back to watching Kilkenny v Dublin under 21s.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 31/05/2017 20:43:36    1992823