Liam Rushe setting a fashion trend ?

Ankle socks??

I'm no Gok Wan but I cant see it catching on.

What the hell is this all about I wonder ?

Done nothing for his individual performance cause he was poor enough like.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 29/05/2017 11:15:45    1991761

I am quite sure I saw some of the more dedicated followers of fashion within our adult teams wearing these at training over the last few seasons so don't think they are some new fad. I have never seen them been worn on the field of play before and if I was in charge of a team the player wouldn't be stepping outside the changing room door with them on match day until they are replaced and he'd be getting a kick on the arse for good measure.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 29/05/2017 11:31:18    1991767

Replying To waynoI:  "Ankle socks??

I'm no Gok Wan but I cant see it catching on.

What the hell is this all about I wonder ?

Done nothing for his individual performance cause he was poor enough like."
Very strange look to be fair. I would of thought the boot would of cut into his ankle with no sock to protect his ankle.
Anyway if he was comfortable that's all that matters I suppose

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 29/05/2017 11:42:06    1991769

Safe to say ankle socks don't aid performance improvement anyway.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1568 - 29/05/2017 11:47:05    1991771

Safe to say ankle socks don't aid performance improvement anyway.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1568 - 29/05/2017 11:53:01    1991774

Yeah he shouldn't be wearing them. No male should wear ankle socks. I don't know what happened, but im sure ankle socks started off as a female item of clothing. But everywhere you go now you see teenage young lads wearing ankle socks. I don't get it.

HurlingSnob (Dublin) - Posts: 220 - 29/05/2017 11:58:22    1991775

Imagine if a Mayo player wore ankle socks...social media would implode.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 29/05/2017 12:03:23    1991778

Replying To ahsure.:  "Safe to say ankle socks don't aid performance improvement anyway."
It would be a fool that would think they would.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 29/05/2017 12:11:49    1991780

Replying To HurlingSnob:  "Yeah he shouldn't be wearing them. No male should wear ankle socks. I don't know what happened, but im sure ankle socks started off as a female item of clothing. But everywhere you go now you see teenage young lads wearing ankle socks. I don't get it."
Ankle socks and skinny trousers, tight tops today and then in a few years time as your average male sits in the hospital delivery suite, awaiting to go through childbirth (which thanks to modern advances is now possible in males) scratching his head wondering how did it all come to this.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 29/05/2017 12:21:50    1991785

If he's comfortable with them i see no big deal. But as another poster pointed out you'd imagine they's slip down and the boot would cut the heal.

Also Liam Rushe never struck me as a showy type of player.

Remember the talk when Gerry McInerney came back with white boots from the US in the mid 80s :)

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 29/05/2017 12:51:24    1991795

I'm a huge fan of Liam Rushe but I thought it looked bad, it completely stood out for what is a team game.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1898 - 29/05/2017 13:08:02    1991798

Wat ye missed were his nude leggings lads.....

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 29/05/2017 13:09:32    1991799

AOS missed a trick to truly rile up Bernard et Co,

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 29/05/2017 13:09:49    1991800

Replying To Offside_Rule:  "Ankle socks and skinny trousers, tight tops today and then in a few years time as your average male sits in the hospital delivery suite, awaiting to go through childbirth (which thanks to modern advances is now possible in males) scratching his head wondering how did it all come to this."
I said it before and I'll say it again: the world is gone to the dogs altogether.

HurlingSnob (Dublin) - Posts: 220 - 29/05/2017 13:11:14    1991803

Its hard to imagine a Dublin footballer breaking ranks , its no surprise that a hurler does , and that sums up were the collective is with Dublin hurling , personally couldn't care less if he worse fish net tights as long as he does the business , fact is he didn't

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 29/05/2017 13:19:03    1991807

We always rolled our socks down to our ankles anyway

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8586 - 29/05/2017 13:43:41    1991816

Regardless of fashion - I'll stay away from things I've no experience in!

Are socks not team kit? Is he breaking some kind of rule by not wearing team kit? If no rules being broken then its shows poor team spirit - sure why not wear a pair of non branded white basketball shorts?

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 705 - 29/05/2017 13:46:08    1991817

Replying To HurlingSnob:  "Yeah he shouldn't be wearing them. No male should wear ankle socks. I don't know what happened, but im sure ankle socks started off as a female item of clothing. But everywhere you go now you see teenage young lads wearing ankle socks. I don't get it."
You can't be wearing normal socks with shorts in everyday life. Thats ridiculous looking. Not as bad as socks and sandals but still not great.

I didn't like the look of what Rushe had on him and I hate when a team isn't coordinated looking. It really irritates me even when a guy wears a different pair of shorts from the rest of the group.

While we're broadly on this topic. Lads tanning their legs is something I find really embarrassing.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4210 - 29/05/2017 13:51:31    1991818

I just think that if you are playing a team sport and there is a team kit then that's what all the panel wear with the only things that should be down to the individual are their boots, gloves/hurls/helmets and whatever way they fancy wearing their hair!

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 29/05/2017 13:53:29    1991821

Guys, they are not a fashion statement. Did it ever occur to anybody that perhaps they are a necessity? They may prevent blisters, and it's impossible to get the product as a long, football type sock.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 29/05/2017 14:22:44    1991834