MDMA out for season?

Rumours that fortmer FOTY MDMA will miss the season due to a foot injury.

From the great team of a few years back now we will be short Alan, MDMA, Rory and Jayo

ok....maybe not Jayo....

Huge loss tho.

Might see Jimmy Mc move into his club role in MF
Could be made for him, or maybe young Reddin will get a go

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 16/05/2017 20:31:20    1987281

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Rumours that fortmer FOTY MDMA will miss the season due to a foot injury.

From the great team of a few years back now we will be short Alan, MDMA, Rory and Jayo

ok....maybe not Jayo....

Huge loss tho.

Could be made for him, or maybe young Reddin will get a go"
Jays that's rough on him Liam if it's true but ye have young reddin ready to take over now.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 16/05/2017 21:23:59    1987303

suddenly our "super bench" aint so super lads

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 17/05/2017 10:41:40    1987424

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "suddenly our "super bench" aint so super lads"
Yeah Mick was a big part of the impact from the bench in recent years. Last year's final as well as the replayed semi-final against Mayo in 2015 too. If memory serves he came in against Kerry in 2015 and did very well too.

He's a force of nature coming in running at tired legs but he hasn't had the same impact of late when starting games. Flynn, Reddin, McCarthy can all do a very good job in midfield but no one will match Mick's impact off the bench imo.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13705 - 17/05/2017 11:38:50    1987444

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Rumours that fortmer FOTY MDMA will miss the season due to a foot injury.

ok....maybe not Jayo....

Huge loss tho.

Don't forget Ger Brennan. I don't think Donegal would have turned us over in 2014 if he'd been minding the house at no. 6

MDMA loss would be a serious blow to Dublin. He causes havoc when he makes those runs at defenses.

Mickmick (Dublin) - Posts: 104 - 17/05/2017 13:11:29    1987497

A lot of ifs buts and maybes in the report. Ill wait until its verified.

In terms of depth we have Reddin breaking through and Denis (4 All Irelands). Or we can take from the half forward or half forward lines, Flynn has won an All Ireland final there, so has Cian O' Sullivan. The emergence of Scully could see any of Flynn or Killkenny who plays there for his club drop back. Jimmy Mac also plays there for his club and Small could go in at 5 with Jack back and Jimmy pushed forward.

If true it will be his energy from the bench we will miss.

Surely to early for any of the U21 All Ireland winners.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 17/05/2017 13:17:45    1987507

Replying To TheUsername:  "A lot of ifs buts and maybes in the report. Ill wait until its verified.

In terms of depth we have Reddin breaking through and Denis (4 All Irelands). Or we can take from the half forward or half forward lines, Flynn has won an All Ireland final there, so has Cian O' Sullivan. The emergence of Scully could see any of Flynn or Killkenny who plays there for his club drop back. Jimmy Mac also plays there for his club and Small could go in at 5 with Jack back and Jimmy pushed forward.

If true it will be his energy from the bench we will miss.

Surely to early for any of the U21 All Ireland winners."
Sorry but this Scully emergence is a bit of a myth.....

People would want to calm down about him, he was very average for the second half of the league, and the only game he really stood out was Cavan

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 17/05/2017 13:48:01    1987518

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Sorry but this Scully emergence is a bit of a myth.....

People would want to calm down about him, he was very average for the second half of the league, and the only game he really stood out was Cavan"
A bit harsh mate, i think up to the league final he was excellent, he is a very balanced player both in attack and defense, clever player as well and is intelligently involved in the build up play.

Granted its a tough line to break into but thats the challenge. Definitely feel he should be competitive for a spot, whether he gets one or not or is used as a sub is a different thing. I certainly wouldn't be writing him of.

The league final passed him by a bit but which of the front six did it not really.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 17/05/2017 14:08:10    1987531

I'd imagine James McCarthy would fill midfield role if it's worst case scenario for MDMCA as John Small form would make him a see starter

theshamen (Mayo) - Posts: 129 - 17/05/2017 14:13:01    1987533

I think its safe to say we all know are aware of possible permutations and partnerships the likes of Flynn McCarty has been bandied about for years , from my point of view we don't have a sustainable combination that would consistently compete with the best , that said Jim is a fantastic tactician and will look at all permutations , pushing up on Cluxton to force a duel in the middle is definitely going to be on the agenda for many teams and would have been regardless of MDM situation , a lot of responsibility on young Fenton who I think is more than able to stand up to it , the one scenario I would not like to see is bringing COS anywhere out further in the park as he is the best at what he does .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 17/05/2017 14:13:13    1987534

The Cavelry may be arriving in the form of Mark Schutte, hes jacking up Hurling and Switching codes:

It's looking very likely that former Dublin Hurling star Mark Schutte will become the latest small ball player to switch codes and throw his lot in with the Dublin senior football panel.

Mark Schutte along with his brother Paul decided after Cuala's All Ireland Club SHC success to not to rejoin Ger Cunningham's squad for the up coming Leinster SHC campaign.

The Cuala man trained with Jim Gavin's squad on Monday night as the Dubs returned to training after a five week break following their loss to Kerry in the Allianz Football League Final and it's now looking very likely that Schutte will become part of Jim Gavin's squad as they bid to retain their Leinster title and claim three All Ireland titles in a row.

Schutte although better known for his exploits as a key member of the Dublin senior hurling attack under Anthony Daly and Ger Cunningham is also an accomplished footballer.

He was a member of Pat Gilroy's 2011 championship Panel, but he decided that summer to leave the panel to solely concentrate all his efforts for the Dublin U21 Hurlers.

Mark is also no stranger to Jim Gavin as he starred at wing-forward on the senior bosses U21 All Ireland winning 2012 squad and Gavin will know exactly what Schutte can offer his panel in this year's championship.

At just 25 years of age and towering in at 6' 4'' the dual player would certainly add a new dimension to Gavin's attack or midfield and with the news this week that Michael Darragh Macauley may miss most or all of this years championship campaign because of a knee injury, Schutte's addition may be very welcome new option for the Dubs boss.

Schutte is not the first talented hurler to choose Football over Hurling and he joins a list of names that include, Conal Keaney, Shane Ryan, Ciarán Kilkenny, Cormac Costello and Tomás Brady.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 18/05/2017 18:54:16    1988067

ok....maybe not Jayo....

Huge loss tho.

Maybe he is waiting to see who dubs get in Leinster final. After all he might not want to play against a team managed by the greatest manager he ever played under. :)
All joking aside its hard luck on him and I wish him a speedy recovery.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 18/05/2017 19:29:30    1988080

Replying To Mickmick:  "Don't forget Ger Brennan. I don't think Donegal would have turned us over in 2014 if he'd been minding the house at no. 6

MDMA loss would be a serious blow to Dublin. He causes havoc when he makes those runs at defenses."
Ger Brennan can prove himself in 2017. 2014 is an impossibile​ argument.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 18/05/2017 22:05:14    1988134

in fairness the dubs tend to get a bit of luck when it comes to injuries and they also have the best squad in the land..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 18/05/2017 22:33:27    1988145