Dark Horses Football Championship 2017

I think everyone agrees with the favorites Dublin, Kerry and Mayo given how close they have come last year. Outside of that who could cause an upset, get to a semi final or a final?

Remember Down a few years back? No one saw that coming. It's amazing how one shock puts a big gun in the opposite side of the draw leaving a relatively straight forward path to a final. Last year if Galway beat Tipp they would have only Mayo standing in front of them having already beaten them.....yes they would be outsiders but they as they proved very winnable.

I like the look of Monaghan. they have to win a lot of games with their draw but I think they are games they should be winning and will actually prepare them better for an Ulster final than weeks off training. Probably have Dublin in a semi final if they progress....

What do ye think???

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1826 - 16/05/2017 16:01:59    1987171

Royaldunne in 3...2...1...

RoyalBadger (Meath) - Posts: 571 - 16/05/2017 16:12:23    1987177

Suppose if we knew who they were then by default they are not really dark horses, if I had to look into my crystal ball I could see a decent run from Galway or Tipp again I don't consider any team in Div 1 as a real dark horse

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 16/05/2017 16:24:00    1987183

Meath might scrape a shock or two, but semi finals? Id love to think so but unfortunately I doubt it this year. Now next? I would be firmly expecting it.
This year , Galway to get to semis.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 16/05/2017 16:24:56    1987184

Well Tipp got to a semi final last year and nobody predicted that.

It might not happen this year but if I was betting on it I reckon Monaghan might reach a semi or Galway might but I still think it might be a year to early.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 16/05/2017 16:48:18    1987194

Don't think any dark horse can win it. One might get to the semi-finals though.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2208 - 16/05/2017 16:52:02    1987195

Kildare
Donegal
Monaghan

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 16/05/2017 16:59:06    1987201

No dark horses.

Infact all the horses will be multi-colored glowing horses ..

They will be so feckin bright Stevie Wonder would see them.

Dublin, Kerry, Mayo, Donegal, Tyrone.......

That's all.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 16/05/2017 17:11:54    1987210

I actually had a dream last night that Galway done the double. very strange....... It must have been a feed of cheese i ate rather than a premonition. nonetheless I'll tip Galway....in both :)

theweanling (Cavan) - Posts: 414 - 16/05/2017 17:15:32    1987212

Replying To theweanling:  "I actually had a dream last night that Galway done the double. very strange....... It must have been a feed of cheese i ate rather than a premonition. nonetheless I'll tip Galway....in both :)"
I must start eating a bit more of the stuff before bed if they are the kinda dreams you'd be having!

Listen - no one (that knows their stuff) in Galway are getting ahead of themselves. I know I jest on here sometimes but hopefully that is taken in the spirit of the craic its intended to be. We've seen it (in both codes) for long enough that underage success does not guarantee senior success.

Gone also is the day that a new manager (John O Mahony esc) can come in and with a good panel in place and turn into All Ireland winners.

HOWEVER, Kevin Walsh has made steady progress (as had Donoghue with the hurlers) and build on the strength of the existing panel and introduce younger players gradually (instead of panic dropping young lads in and them miles off senior and doing more bad than good).

Anyway people in Galway might disagree with me but I think a 1/4 final would be good and then it all depends on that 1/4 final draw and who turns up/is most in tune on the day. But first.....I see a real battle in Pearse stadium first of all.

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 705 - 16/05/2017 17:43:06    1987230

Meath were flying by the end of the league. Could they do something??

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1826 - 16/05/2017 17:46:28    1987232

Replying To RoyalBadger:  "Royaldunne in 3...2...1..."
Took me bit longer than that, had a long lunch :)

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 16/05/2017 17:55:05    1987237

Replying To Mayonman:  "Meath were flying by the end of the league. Could they do something??"
Id say last 8 is probably our level this year, maybe a Leinster who knows.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 16/05/2017 18:38:02    1987249

We will see the first shock this Sunday.. Sligo will beat Mayo...

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 16/05/2017 19:26:11    1987259

I generally consider a dark horse to be any team who didn't play division 1 football in that particular year. So a dark horse for All-Ireland 2017 = none, absolutely none........well except for Meath of course ;-)

Ok ok, the winner will come from Div1 no doubt about that, but who can go on a run? well who knows, given favourable draws, a bit of luck and stuff just happening (very scientific that) you could pick any amount of unfancied teams to reach an AI quarter or semi final.

So basically= who the fcuk knows!

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 16/05/2017 19:43:59    1987261

Replying To Belclare1:  "We will see the first shock this Sunday.. Sligo will beat Mayo..."
No. But not lose by 12+ points you were predicting elsewhere.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7335 - 16/05/2017 19:47:00    1987262

Replying To Htaem:  "I generally consider a dark horse to be any team who didn't play division 1 football in that particular year. So a dark horse for All-Ireland 2017 = none, absolutely none........well except for Meath of course ;-)

Ok ok, the winner will come from Div1 no doubt about that, but who can go on a run? well who knows, given favourable draws, a bit of luck and stuff just happening (very scientific that) you could pick any amount of unfancied teams to reach an AI quarter or semi final.

So basically= who the fcuk knows!"
Htaem your beautiful Wee neighbours from across the Boyne will be dark horses.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 16/05/2017 20:35:18    1987284

Replying To GreenandRed:  "No. But not lose by 12+ points you were predicting elsewhere."
I'm a very indecisive person, or am I ?

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 16/05/2017 21:17:36    1987300

Replying To Belclare1:  "I'm a very indecisive person, or am I ?"
I'm not sure. Possibly.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7335 - 16/05/2017 21:35:14    1987307

Replying To OLLIE:  "Htaem your beautiful Wee neighbours from across the Boyne will be dark horses."
Could be OLLIE and I wouldn't begrudge our Wee neighbours either, I think Louth have every chance of making another Leinster final this year. Kildare and Meath both operated at a higher level this year but Louth are well capable of beating both (you've already put us to the sword this year, in Navan aswell).

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 16/05/2017 21:41:58    1987309