Give us the old knockout Championship & League?

all this debate about fixtures has me thinking why not revert back to the old knock out Championship and League for a year and see what happens...if Kilkenny get beaten in Leinster Hurling, and Dublin in football and maybe Kerry so be it...all this back door lark now and qualifiers what has it really achieved?..most county that cannot win a provincial havent a hope in hell of winning the All Ireland anyway....a good run in the qualifiers is all very grand but sure who remembers that in a few years time...Tipp got a great run last year...Fermanagh a few years ago...without googling who can tell me all the teams Fermanagh beat in the qualifiers??..you will get over the Connaught or Leinster finalists in football but sure now adays thats no great shakes..hurling the same..let the big guns get beaten if possible and so be it..stick Galway in the first Sunday in August against either Munster or Leinster Champions..they either sink or swim...how long are they in Leinster now...ok they won Leinster..have they been any different in the All Ireland semi finals of finals they got to?..no..they stilll came up that bit short...I know my own Offaly won in 1998 through the back door but that was an exception...Offaly had a decent squad and Kilkennny were in decline...Kilkenny beat Offaly well in the Leinster final that year I think...anyway what do ye think...revert back and see how it would go??

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 08/05/2017 22:16:30    1985329

Replying To Fairplayalways:  "all this debate about fixtures has me thinking why not revert back to the old knock out Championship and League for a year and see what happens...if Kilkenny get beaten in Leinster Hurling, and Dublin in football and maybe Kerry so be it...all this back door lark now and qualifiers what has it really achieved?..most county that cannot win a provincial havent a hope in hell of winning the All Ireland anyway....a good run in the qualifiers is all very grand but sure who remembers that in a few years time...Tipp got a great run last year...Fermanagh a few years ago...without googling who can tell me all the teams Fermanagh beat in the qualifiers??..you will get over the Connaught or Leinster finalists in football but sure now adays thats no great shakes..hurling the same..let the big guns get beaten if possible and so be it..stick Galway in the first Sunday in August against either Munster or Leinster Champions..they either sink or swim...how long are they in Leinster now...ok they won Leinster..have they been any different in the All Ireland semi finals of finals they got to?..no..they stilll came up that bit short...I know my own Offaly won in 1998 through the back door but that was an exception...Offaly had a decent squad and Kilkennny were in decline...Kilkenny beat Offaly well in the Leinster final that year I think...anyway what do ye think...revert back and see how it would go??"
Offaly did win Liam McCarthy that year, nothing since. You have an interesting proposal, the bigger counties usually emerge from the qualifiers.
Next year the Munster and Leinster hurting championships will be played on a round robin system, with home and away games. What happens to the present round robin in Leinster,will those teams be allowed into the new type championship?
I think all provinces should operate a round robin system in hurling and football, no back door.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1741 - 09/05/2017 09:15:36    1985369

It's only fair if you scrap the Provincials altogether and make it an open draw straight knockout. no messing.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 09/05/2017 09:29:41    1985374

Replying To Fairplayalways:  "all this debate about fixtures has me thinking why not revert back to the old knock out Championship and League for a year and see what happens...if Kilkenny get beaten in Leinster Hurling, and Dublin in football and maybe Kerry so be it...all this back door lark now and qualifiers what has it really achieved?..most county that cannot win a provincial havent a hope in hell of winning the All Ireland anyway....a good run in the qualifiers is all very grand but sure who remembers that in a few years time...Tipp got a great run last year...Fermanagh a few years ago...without googling who can tell me all the teams Fermanagh beat in the qualifiers??..you will get over the Connaught or Leinster finalists in football but sure now adays thats no great shakes..hurling the same..let the big guns get beaten if possible and so be it..stick Galway in the first Sunday in August against either Munster or Leinster Champions..they either sink or swim...how long are they in Leinster now...ok they won Leinster..have they been any different in the All Ireland semi finals of finals they got to?..no..they stilll came up that bit short...I know my own Offaly won in 1998 through the back door but that was an exception...Offaly had a decent squad and Kilkennny were in decline...Kilkenny beat Offaly well in the Leinster final that year I think...anyway what do ye think...revert back and see how it would go??"
I'd love to see it because there are a lot of uncompetitive games before August and
the backdoor hasn't benefitted too many of the so-called lesser counties by guaranteeing them at least two championship games. Probably won't ever happen because less games means less money for the GAA.

I'd like to see them scrap the provincial league competitions in January and start the league then. Have open draw knockout provincials in April and May and open draw knockout All Ireland starting in June.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7344 - 09/05/2017 09:32:58    1985375

I would like to see the old knockout championship but with the league as the backdoor. All Ireland quarter finals would be made up of 4 provincial winners + top 4 league positions (excluding the provincial winners).

This would bring back the cut and trust of championship also give the league real meaning. Every team would play 7 to 10 meaningful matches.

Of course this would require the league to finish around the same time as the provincial finals, maybe a week or 2 after which would be hard to marry with the club game. It is very hard to square that circle.

dahayeser (Cork) - Posts: 337 - 09/05/2017 09:35:33    1985376

Knockout was great I think , huge pressure to win each game which gave games a great bite. You actually went to a match with excitement knowing it was do or die.

ke40 (Kildare) - Posts: 209 - 09/05/2017 10:10:31    1985388

Replying To dahayeser:  "I would like to see the old knockout championship but with the league as the backdoor. All Ireland quarter finals would be made up of 4 provincial winners + top 4 league positions (excluding the provincial winners).

This would bring back the cut and trust of championship also give the league real meaning. Every team would play 7 to 10 meaningful matches.

Of course this would require the league to finish around the same time as the provincial finals, maybe a week or 2 after which would be hard to marry with the club game. It is very hard to square that circle."
That is all very easy.

You only play 7 league games and 4 Provincial championship games. Just have designated club weekends or finish the intercounty season in good time.

In South American soccer they run their seasons interestingly. Where they have an opening league and a closing league each with 1 winner. If you win both a season you are the overall champion, if there are different winners they playoff for the title.

It could be interesting to run the National league and an old school straight knockout championship.

If a team wins both the league and championship they win the San Maguire otherwise there is a playoff between the league and championship winner to determine the overall AI champion.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4222 - 09/05/2017 10:27:57    1985398

Never will happen, they would make less money

TrevorPhillips (Cork) - Posts: 28 - 09/05/2017 10:33:55    1985400

Replying To TrevorPhillips:  "Never will happen, they would make less money"
This is the only reason for any change in a format unfortunately!

thesilverfox (Tipperary) - Posts: 94 - 09/05/2017 10:49:31    1985411

I don't think it's about money as such because most of those back door games don't draw big crowds and I wouldn't say TV viewing figures are that great either (though of course they're sold as a package so the dross can be thrown in with the juicier ones to increase their marketability). But it is very much about keeping GAA in the shop window and to the forefront of the public's mind. Some people are on here all the time talking about rugby getting wall to wall media coverage and the GAA being neglected and the games not getting their fair share of exposure. You can imagine the moaning that would go on if we were back to the days when there were far fewer matches. Inevitably there would be a vacuum which the media would fill by covering other sports.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1903 - 09/05/2017 10:58:03    1985413

Lost in the first round of the USFC 1-13 - 12 against Tyrone
Bye against Tipp in the first round (Tipp pulled out)
Second round beat meath 19-2-12 (AET in Brewster)
Round 3 beat cork 18-12 in the first of a double header in Croker, Liam McBarron was put on a helicopter by Sean Quinn straight after to get him to his wedding
Round 4 Beat donegal 1-10 to 12 points again AET in Clones. Devenny I believe got the line that day for Donegal.
QF beat Armagh 12-11 with Tom Brewster scoring the point to win it. Armagh went 4 points up that day and Marsden hit the bar for Armagh. Honestly think that Armagh side was the best in the country that year.
Semi final drew 9-9 against Mayo the first day. Stephen Maguire equalised with a free. Lost the replay by 2 points 16-1-11 if memory serves me correct. James Sherry got the goal in the first half.

2015:
Beat Antrim in round 1 of the championship by 8 points in Brewster
Lost to monaghan in the semi by 10 points. Only got to that margin due to a dodgy sending off with about 10 minutes to go. This game was in Breffni

Round 2 of the qualifiers hammered Antrim in Brewster 1-21 - 11 points. Quigley hit 14 points that day
Round 3: Beat Roscommon 1-14-16 in Brewster again. Last kick of the game to win it in stoppage time
Round 4: Beat Westmeath in Breffni 1-13-0-07

AI QF: Beat by Dublin by 8 points. 2-15-2-23

Scores might be off slightly but I think you will find that teams and venues are all 100% correct.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 09/05/2017 11:32:24    1985420

Yeah I would happily revert back to the old way so that I can get my whatwasnearannual trip down to Croker for the All-Ireland Hurling Semi Final. We mightn't have won a lot of them but the craic was mighty and I really believe it led to a better standard of hurling in Antrim as it was something for the wee lads in the streets/fields to aim for. From they did away with the Ulster Route the standard/passion has dropped I believe.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 09/05/2017 12:15:09    1985441

Picture it: the new straight knockout championship draw is in October, Carlow draw Dublin in the Leinster QF. The Carlow manager's phone suddenly lights up with messages from half the Carlow panel saying they've retired, are going travelling next year, or are taking a year out. It'd be a waste of a year for them and would cast a shadow over their entire preparations.

Ye seem to be making out that currently a load of underdogs and small teams are winning the provincial championships, but are then being beaten in the All Ireland series by strong teams coming through the qualifiers. That couldn't be further from the truth considering the strong teams are hoovering up the provincial titles too.

Some people just can't handle the idea that strong teams are strong no matter what the championship looks like, whether the format is straight knockout, double elimination or round robin.

As for the notion that huge crowds will flock to "hard, do or die, knockout football". That's clearly untrue considering we have dozens of straight knockout, do or die games in the qualifiers and the crowds are pretty middling.

CastleBravo (Meath) - Posts: 1643 - 09/05/2017 12:40:29    1985450

Just responding from a players point of view , back in the day there was a commitment of course but nothing like today , its completely unrealistic to put that Jeanie back in the bottle , in other words you would expect lads to commit and be out after pone game????
Things have moved on and for good reason ,
Having said all of the above if I put on both my nostalgia and selfish hats the excitement of pure knock out was just fantastic , every game mattered

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 09/05/2017 12:42:33    1985452

Replying To CastleBravo:  "Picture it: the new straight knockout championship draw is in October, Carlow draw Dublin in the Leinster QF. The Carlow manager's phone suddenly lights up with messages from half the Carlow panel saying they've retired, are going travelling next year, or are taking a year out. It'd be a waste of a year for them and would cast a shadow over their entire preparations.

Ye seem to be making out that currently a load of underdogs and small teams are winning the provincial championships, but are then being beaten in the All Ireland series by strong teams coming through the qualifiers. That couldn't be further from the truth considering the strong teams are hoovering up the provincial titles too.

Some people just can't handle the idea that strong teams are strong no matter what the championship looks like, whether the format is straight knockout, double elimination or round robin.

As for the notion that huge crowds will flock to "hard, do or die, knockout football". That's clearly untrue considering we have dozens of straight knockout, do or die games in the qualifiers and the crowds are pretty middling."
Who claimed that 'huge crowds will flock to hard, do or die, knockout football'?

Would you rather watch a game between two teams with a backdoor chance if they lose or a game between two teams where the winner progresses to the next round and the loser leaves the championship?

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7344 - 09/05/2017 15:05:45    1985489

Going back to the old style championship would mean only 2 semis rather than 4 quarters and 2 semis. There is your problem. Money.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 09/05/2017 15:36:12    1985494

When it was pure knock out the strongest teams still won the All irelands ...
ud still be looking at a core of 3 r 4 teams likely to win sam

rossy15 (Roscommon) - Posts: 617 - 09/05/2017 15:48:59    1985497

I would have a two tier championship and play the league along side the championship. The two tier championship would have 16 teams in each grade. There would be four groups of four and each team would play would play each each other once so they would get three matches each. The top two would go through to the quarter-finals and the bottom teams in each group would play-off in a relegation play-off. The team that would be lose would be relegated to the bottom tier and would be replaced by the team that wins the second tier championship. I would get rid of replays bar the final. If a match ends after 70 mins, it goes to extra-time and then it goes to a free kick shoot out until there is a winner. The Inter County season would start in April and finish in Aug. I would also go back to the old fashion league where there was quarter-finals. But instead of having the top four in Division One, top two in Division Two, and top team in Division three and four, I would have the top two teams in each Division in the quarter-finals. I would scrap all the winter competitions such as O'Byrne Cup etc. Here is my proposal if it happened this year.

Apr 2: League Round 1
Apr 9: League Round 2
Apr 16: Easter Bank Hol (No matches)
Apr 23: League Round 3
Apr 30: May Bank Hol (No matches)
May 7: Championship Group Stage Match 1
May 14: League Round 4
May 21: Championship Group Stage Match 2
May 28: League Round 5
June 4: June Bank Hol (No matches)
June 11: Championship Group Stage Match 3
June 18: League Round 6
June 25: Championship Quarter-Finals/Relegation Play-Offs S/F
July 2: League Round 7
July 9: Championship Semi-Finals/Relegation Play-Off Final
July 16: League Q/F
July 23: League S/F
July 30: Championship Finals
Aug 6: Aug Bank Hol (No matches)
Aug 13: League Final

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 09/05/2017 15:58:50    1985502

What do successfully run sporting organisations do in other Countries?

Surely somebody out there has a solution on how run structure a season of competition and games!

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 09/05/2017 16:25:18    1985510

Replying To Ban:  "What do successfully run sporting organisations do in other Countries?

Surely somebody out there has a solution on how run structure a season of competition and games!"
The problem was the season did make sense for the GAA in the past.

It just hasn't evolved very well and the association keeps making minor adjustments when a complete overhaul is required.

The league moving and the introduction of the qualifiers changed the way that players trained with the county teams.

The balance was lost then between club and county.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4222 - 09/05/2017 18:53:35    1985520