Bernard Flynn's comments on refs

Writing in the Mirror today Bernard Flynn says, ' It has to be said that referees have buckled under pressure in big games involving Dublin at Croke Park. Kerry have paid the price more than anyone else'. What do posters think?

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 08/04/2017 12:22:28    1977105

Replying To neverright:  "Writing in the Mirror today Bernard Flynn says, ' It has to be said that referees have buckled under pressure in big games involving Dublin at Croke Park. Kerry have paid the price more than anyone else'. What do posters think?"
TBH I'm getting tired about all the white noise surrounding referee's and big decisions going for Dubs in Croke Park.

I've got no great gra for the Dubs but teams havnt beating them because they are just not good enough on the day.

IMO teams need to bring controlled aggression, ala Tyrone 00's to beat this Dublin team and not worry about key dexisions going for or against them.

DLlegends (Donegal) - Posts: 503 - 08/04/2017 12:55:14    1977109

Replying To neverright:  "Writing in the Mirror today Bernard Flynn says, ' It has to be said that referees have buckled under pressure in big games involving Dublin at Croke Park. Kerry have paid the price more than anyone else'. What do posters think?"
I think as long as all these folk keep talking about Dublin in this way, we must still be successful so long may it last :))

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 08/04/2017 13:02:24    1977110

Replying To Jackeen:  "I think as long as all these folk keep talking about Dublin in this way, we must still be successful so long may it last :))"
They'll miss us when we're gone :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8584 - 08/04/2017 13:34:58    1977113

Meath man (well, Louth man who pretended to be from Meath) wants Dubs to lose...........

IMAGINE!!!

Culchies getting all the excuses in before May eve !!

This is gas.....

Hon da Dubs

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 08/04/2017 13:35:38    1977114

Bernard's playing colleagues are lucky the refs ignored stuff back in the day, or they'd be left with about 6 or 7 players on the park. The stuff some of those lads used to get up to, cynical is too nice a word :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8584 - 08/04/2017 14:42:44    1977121

I doubt that management and players will give too much time thinking about what BF or any other pundit says to be perfectly honest.
Kerry , Tyrone ,Donegal and now Dublin are in their sights.Matters not a jot what they say at the end of the day.It's simply a feeding frenzy for them and they'll be getting fat on someone else next week.
These lads get paid to have an opinion and they often have little more common sense ,if at all,than the ordinary fella in the street.
They all have their own angle on every team or the next game and rarely do you see any of the make their fortune on the back of their knowledge or insight into the outcome of a game never mind a season.
If Kerry win tomorrow it'll give them something else to rave about for a day or two.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 08/04/2017 14:52:37    1977127

Replying To realdub:  "Bernard's playing colleagues are lucky the refs ignored stuff back in the day, or they'd be left with about 6 or 7 players on the park. The stuff some of those lads used to get up to, cynical is too nice a word :D"
Oh yeah the words pot, kettle and black spring to mind. Ye weren't too shy yourselves at any stage of your history

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 08/04/2017 15:41:25    1977135

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Meath man (well, Louth man who pretended to be from Meath) wants Dubs to lose...........

IMAGINE!!!

Culchies getting all the excuses in before May eve !!

This is gas.....

Hon da Dubs"
Flynn is anti-dub in my opinion.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3724 - 08/04/2017 16:30:13    1977146

Replying To Richieq:  "Oh yeah the words pot, kettle and black spring to mind. Ye weren't too shy yourselves at any stage of your history"
We were just protecting ourselves from those rough Meath boys :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8584 - 08/04/2017 16:30:37    1977147

Replying To Richieq:  "Oh yeah the words pot, kettle and black spring to mind. Ye weren't too shy yourselves at any stage of your history"
ya but the difference is/was, I don't and never have seen any Dubs bitching and moaning about Meath being rough....have you?
Ever?

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 08/04/2017 16:42:26    1977148

Replying To realdub:  "Bernard's playing colleagues are lucky the refs ignored stuff back in the day, or they'd be left with about 6 or 7 players on the park. The stuff some of those lads used to get up to, cynical is too nice a word :D"
Well they didn't bite or eye gouge anyone ..so what nasty incidents are you talking about? Your big decisions goes way back to 2011 at the start of your boom robbing Kildare with a mystery free awarded at the end ..similar free against tyrone this year ..free on the 59th minute vs kerry in tralee was one of the worst favouritism I've seen ..ye wouldn't see that with the blinkers though ..trust me though lad it's sweeter winning all Irelands with a good manager (not someone on a microphone to the 200 backroom staff) the whole game..along with ridiculous funding and ridiculous decisions ..but you'll never know ;)

royal7 (Meath) - Posts: 156 - 08/04/2017 16:44:16    1977149

Replying To royal7:  "Well they didn't bite or eye gouge anyone ..so what nasty incidents are you talking about? Your big decisions goes way back to 2011 at the start of your boom robbing Kildare with a mystery free awarded at the end ..similar free against tyrone this year ..free on the 59th minute vs kerry in tralee was one of the worst favouritism I've seen ..ye wouldn't see that with the blinkers though ..trust me though lad it's sweeter winning all Irelands with a good manager (not someone on a microphone to the 200 backroom staff) the whole game..along with ridiculous funding and ridiculous decisions ..but you'll never know ;)"
Deary me, a Meath man unhappy with us winning, get used to it, I'm sure you are already. Believe me, that Meath team were filthy, but we never complained we just gave it back to them.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8584 - 08/04/2017 17:22:57    1977156

Meath lads

Enjoy Div 2 again next year

I'm sure Flynn would be talking about Meath this weekend if they had of been good enough to reach a Div 2 final, instead of talking about Dublin.

Whinging about Dublin when you can't beat Kildare.

Hopefully our paths cross again in Leinster, and ur boys have a chance of being relevant for a little bit during the build up

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 08/04/2017 17:33:57    1977157

He talks about us just a bit too much doesn't he?

Hill16Army (Dublin) - Posts: 88 - 08/04/2017 17:35:47    1977159

Replying To Fionn:  "Flynn is anti-dub in my opinion."
My post/s above has been so heavily edited it is ridiculous.....

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3724 - 08/04/2017 17:47:34    1977161

What would the posts here be like if we were winning by playing puke football in a nasty dirty fashion. My oh my....

The anti Dublin feeling is fairly ramping up these days.

Time for Jim to circle the wagons and not got involved in any of this nonsense. Total focus required and don't feed these fires coming at us from every angle.

Believe me, when Kerry start dominating again you will know all about it.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3724 - 08/04/2017 17:55:44    1977163

I love this to be honest. If counties really believe they are close and they are victims of bad ref decisions, I'm all for it. Self improvement comes from within and if a county thinks they have been beaten by Dublin by a ref decision they are just fooling themselves and never improve, hopefully this is the case.

There is no self improvement in approaching games with a victim mentality.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 08/04/2017 18:09:11    1977165

Replying To Fionn:  "What would the posts here be like if we were winning by playing puke football in a nasty dirty fashion. My oh my....

The anti Dublin feeling is fairly ramping up these days.

Time for Jim to circle the wagons and not got involved in any of this nonsense. Total focus required and don't feed these fires coming at us from every angle.

Believe me, when Kerry start dominating again you will know all about it."
That's why if/when Steo goes up to lift 5 in a row, savour it, because the same culchies will have flicked over to watch Coronation street with steam coming out of their ears at that point

Or will be on here knit picking

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 08/04/2017 18:11:07    1977166

Lip it on on its head when the last time a big decision went against Dublin that cost them ?

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 08/04/2017 19:31:12    1977189