Official Connacht Football Championship Thread

Well, another weekend, more talking points for the best provincial championship there is.

Fair play to London. I for one did not see a performance like that coming from them and all the power to them. Best of luck in the qualifiers.

As for our nearest and dearest, i'll echo a lot of what has been said. They got out of London with a win. That was the objective and that is what happened, they got the shock of their lives though. It will be a different story on 26/06. Now i'm actually more wary than i was before because Mayo will not play as bad again and Horan will be after a reaction, and what is the one jersey any mayoman would be hoping and praying to be after next........That would be our fine selves.

You can say what you want about how strong our province is, the quality of the football, the fact no-one has done the business in the championship for years. It matters nothing. We're fierce pround of the Connacht championship and will defend our own to the hilt and will back whoever comes out of Connacht up too (Even the Sheepstealers). And this year you never do know what will happen, as we've seen so far.......

tribeinbrum (Galway) - Posts: 4155 - 31/05/2011 13:46:55    944373

yew_tree,

Unfortunately a 'one-liner' is all commenting on threads like this deserves!!!

Snufalufagus...Laochra Gael

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 31/05/2011 14:37:54    944432

How ironic that a certain jackeen poster polluting this topic is named after a make believe (and extinct) mammal that only children listen to on Sesame Street?

And as for claiming to be a Laochra Gael, well would a true Gaelic hero spend their time running down a provincial championship for no other reason than to be a wind up merchant?

Laochra Gael was a great show on TG4 & the programme highlighted such men as:

The Connolly clan, D Earley, J Cooney, S Purcell, M McDonagh, WJ Padden, J O'Mahony, M Kearns, T Keady & S Og de Paor. I wonder which province they were involved in?

Wests_Awake (Galway) - Posts: 877 - 31/05/2011 15:10:47    944492

i agree totally with ya west is awake im kinda getting sick of snufunglus whatever his name is

BETTER.THEN.YOU (Kilkenny) - Posts: 10 - 31/05/2011 16:22:28    944593

Well said westawake!

First 2 games in connacht certainly entertaining .. Gonna be an interesting summer!

mac21 (Leitrim) - Posts: 677 - 31/05/2011 16:59:25    944654

First 2 games in connacht certainly entertaining .. Gonna be an interesting summer!

Thats for sure!!

clubstar09 (Mayo) - Posts: 463 - 31/05/2011 17:22:35    944700

BETTER.THEN.YOU

Ha ha lad, "snufunglus"...! I nearly choked on my cup of tea! We should call him that from now on - its more appropiate!

Spuddy (Mayo) - Posts: 345 - 31/05/2011 20:17:30    944885

Leitrim V Roscommon this weekend then.

I'd love to see Leitrim winning and really hope they do, but for me the Sheep Stealers have come into this game under the radar. They are going to be quietly confident heading to Carrick and with Shine and McBride have two really good forwards. A lot of Leitrims shock value will be gone after the Sligo performance, but if any man is going to get the best of Leitrim it's Mickey Moran. It was criminal what happened to him in Mayo as he's a real quality coach.

Saying that, even though it's in Carrick and all the feel good factor about Leitrim, i think the Rossies will win by 3 points.

Should be another great game and great advertisement for Connacht football.

tribeinbrum (Galway) - Posts: 4155 - 09/06/2011 09:59:30    951250

Suprise surprise I'd love to see Roscommon winning and really hope they do, but the long wait since the new york game might not help us? off course the Leitrim lads will have the wind in their sails from the Sligo win & have the home support for this game.

It will be a tough and tight championship,if we can match Leitrim's passion & intensity we'll have a great chance of progressing to another Connacht final

P.S Senan Kilbride & not mcBride

ispeakwisdom (Roscommon) - Posts: 2487 - 09/06/2011 16:23:07    951686

Sorry Ispeakwisdom!!! My bad.....

tribeinbrum (Galway) - Posts: 4155 - 09/06/2011 16:36:56    951699

tribeinbrum
if any man is going to get the best of Leitrim it's Mickey Moran. It was criminal what happened to him in Mayo as he's a real quality coach.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Shly dig there mate! lol

killer_88_ (Mayo) - Posts: 2040 - 09/06/2011 16:37:27    951700

Can you explain why Moran was treated so badly Killer? sure he resigned but he jumped before he was pushed! getting what was a average Mayo team to All Ireland final should have given him more than one year??

ispeakwisdom (Roscommon) - Posts: 2487 - 09/06/2011 16:56:16    951718

I still can't fathom Killer how a lad that got Mayo to an All Ireland, in his first year can be let go. I mean fair enough the final was a disaster, but that semi final against Dublin, apart from Galway's All Ireland wins in 98 and 01 (which were absolutely brilliant matches, from what i remember :-) ) was the greatest game of football i have ever seen. Some performance from Mayo, yet a few months later he's out the door. And to be fair since then Mayo haven't recovered. Although Horan may turn the tide, hopefully starting next season and not in two weeks though :-).

tribeinbrum (Galway) - Posts: 4155 - 09/06/2011 17:08:18    951734

On word, POLITICS. It has torn Mayo football apart for years. The county board chased John O'Mahony for years without managing to snare him. After Morans brilliant first year in charge we were all looking forward to a fruitful few years under the Ulsterman. Then O'Mahony decides he wouldn't mind managing Mayo (it would enhance his chances of getting elected) and Moran was tossed aside like a bad egg by the blue-shirts at the top. There was uproar from many supporters regarding the treatment of M&M, but there was nothing we could do about it.

killer_88_ (Mayo) - Posts: 2040 - 09/06/2011 17:08:42    951735

I dont buy that politics story at all. JOM was, and is, a better manager than MM. The thinking was 'we got this far under MM, maybe a better manager can bring us over the line'. Surely appointing a better manager is a reasonable move. The truth is mayo were lucky to get to that final. The dubs were totally overhyped, and capitulated when they should have closed the game out. They were as terrible as mayo were good. That game made people believe we were better than we actually were. We played nobody of note to get to that final, it was a soft run.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 09/06/2011 19:23:07    951883

I thought you were better than that master, how can you say that it was the right move getting rid of Moran after such a successful first year. If O'Mahony hadn't come in for the job there wouldn't have even been a hint of M&M leaving, it was pure politics. Moran deserved at the very least one more craic at it. And by the way, there's no soft run to the All-Ireland. Every team in the All-Ireland series is there on merit and the two that make the final are more often than not the best two teams in the country that year.

killer_88_ (Mayo) - Posts: 2040 - 09/06/2011 19:35:56    951899

What is with that stupid camera angle for the Leitrim Roscommon match???

icehonesty (Wexford) - Posts: 2550 - 12/06/2011 14:24:18    953390

icehonesty
County: Wexford

What is with that stupid camera angle for the Leitrim Roscommon match???

Was wondering the same thing

hurlingguru (Carlow) - Posts: 1833 - 12/06/2011 14:45:12    953404

Ice and hurling.its awful stupid,seems like its positioned on the 45

dubs4eva (Dublin) - Posts: 484 - 12/06/2011 14:56:29    953414

Half time 1-07 Leitrim 0-02 great goal by shine took it well keeper lucky not to get save it...

DUB1 (Dublin) - Posts: 5583 - 12/06/2011 14:56:55    953415