Dublin v Mayo. Who will win the 2017 All Ireland football final?

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Baire,
just for the record, your stance that Hurling is the greatest game in the world, and far superior to football....thats just your OPINION. Nothing more. nothing less.
You have no facts or stats that can prove this, none.
Your giving an opinion, nothing more.
Its your opinion, and that is all.

It is my opinion that football is a better game and judging by the amt of people who follow both, its clear to see which is more popular nationwide. This very forum is proof positive of that. 10 football threads to every hurling one.

But, football being better is only my opinion and my opinion is no more valid than yours or anyone elses. So when I say football is better and you say hurling is better, neither or us are stating a fact, just personal opinions.

For what it's worth, for me, football is FAR superior."
Ok, fair enough.
I see what you mean there alright.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 05/09/2017 18:49:08    2043133

Baire, u say hurling is ancient going back to cu chuaillin

ok, not to be pedantic, but cu chuailinn is a myth...a folklore legend....ya know...
also, there is documented evidence from the MIDDLE AGES of villages in ireland playing a form of what became gaelic football on roads between the villages, No rules the way there is now but football none the less
Rules weren't formed in both games until much more recently...like when "cu cuhailinn"

Like when your boy Cu was lobbing the sliothar into the hounds mouth, I doubt Ferdia or Grainne were in his ear shouting "steps lad, steps"

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 05/09/2017 18:51:21    2043134

i really really hope Mayo play AOS at 14!!! But surely to God they wont...!!!

This myth about a vulnerable Dubs FB line is hilarious!!! I'd say its maybe our strongest line to be honest

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 05/09/2017 18:52:31    2043135

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "i really really hope Mayo play AOS at 14!!! But surely to God they wont...!!!

This myth about a vulnerable Dubs FB line is hilarious!!! I'd say its maybe our strongest line to be honest"
Cleanest line too Liam ...

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 05/09/2017 19:17:08    2043141

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "i really really hope Mayo play AOS at 14!!! But surely to God they wont...!!!

This myth about a vulnerable Dubs FB line is hilarious!!! I'd say its maybe our strongest line to be honest"
Play O Gara on him at full back, that would put Keegan and Connolly in the happeny place.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 05/09/2017 19:29:42    2043144

Replying To westkerry:  "Cleanest line too Liam ..."
Now now westie :)

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 05/09/2017 20:11:22    2043149

Replying To clondalkindub:  "All we ask for is that Mayo take their hammering like men this year and no crying like last year. Last years ref did everything in his power to get Mayo the draw and they were still crying after."
I am enjoying craic, your some 'character'. Talking about crying I am a amazed some lads in the capital have spent 6 years crying constantly even after see their county win 4 all Ireland's.

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 05/09/2017 23:47:30    2043227

Dublin back are at times looking more flustered than any other place. Not sure if I'd call it a weakness as such just more so that their very best players are else where.It's funny I actually think Mayo's backs are more dodge and their full forward line is very decent. Although their back line has improved a lot since dropping Cafferky...And Yet the marque forward stuff has been ranted on by the media since 2012 or so.

GameOfTyrones (Tyrone) - Posts: 469 - 06/09/2017 00:45:56    2043240

Replying To GameOfTyrones:  "Dublin back are at times looking more flustered than any other place. Not sure if I'd call it a weakness as such just more so that their very best players are else where.It's funny I actually think Mayo's backs are more dodge and their full forward line is very decent. Although their back line has improved a lot since dropping Cafferky...And Yet the marque forward stuff has been ranted on by the media since 2012 or so."
nonsense
sorry GOT but utter nonsense.
Our FB line of Philly, Cooper and Mick Fitz is the best FB line in the country and if you were to pick a "best of " 15 from the country, Philly and JC would be on that team, and then with Cluxton behind them....
nonsense

Dublin's defending is the rock this great team is built on, not our forwards which are fare more interchagable
The absolute CORE of this team is
Cluxton, Cooper, McMahon, COS, McCarthy

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 06/09/2017 09:23:10    2043277

The funny thing with Mayo is that they get credit for how brave they are but almost never for how good they are. You'd think by now, after all these years, people would be wise to the quality they have. But no. It's always guts and character and all that kind of thing that people go to first.

An extract from Darragh O Se today and one which I have alluded to here a few times over the years.....I have yet to see people say Mayo have good footballers, they have great skill etc etc....it's always our resilience or character or physical presence.....every team we beat is not good after.

But having said that I guess you have to win an All Ireland to be taken seriously.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 06/09/2017 09:43:45    2043287

Its Dublin's to loose.

cavan97 (Cavan) - Posts: 369 - 06/09/2017 10:07:58    2043298

Replying To yew_tree:  "The funny thing with Mayo is that they get credit for how brave they are but almost never for how good they are. You'd think by now, after all these years, people would be wise to the quality they have. But no. It's always guts and character and all that kind of thing that people go to first.

An extract from Darragh O Se today and one which I have alluded to here a few times over the years.....I have yet to see people say Mayo have good footballers, they have great skill etc etc....it's always our resilience or character or physical presence.....every team we beat is not good after.

But having said that I guess you have to win an All Ireland to be taken seriously."
I wouldn't agree with you or DÓS there yew, I have often heard people praising Mayo as a footballing team of great skill, power and tenacity.
It takes great guts, courage and skill to come back year after year like Mayo have done and the Galway hurlers have done - they would not be in All Irelands if they didn't have skill and all the other attributes that are needed to get to a final.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1785 - 06/09/2017 10:08:26    2043299

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Baire, u say hurling is ancient going back to cu chuaillin

ok, not to be pedantic, but cu chuailinn is a myth...a folklore legend....ya know...
also, there is documented evidence from the MIDDLE AGES of villages in ireland playing a form of what became gaelic football on roads between the villages, No rules the way there is now but football none the less
Rules weren't formed in both games until much more recently...like when "cu cuhailinn"

Like when your boy Cu was lobbing the sliothar into the hounds mouth, I doubt Ferdia or Grainne were in his ear shouting "steps lad, steps""
I never mentioned Cú Chulainn or mythology, you obviously didn't read my post. I was referring to historical facts. Forget it!

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1785 - 06/09/2017 10:10:49    2043300

Replying To cavan97:  "Its Dublin's to loose."
Have they been tested this year?

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1785 - 06/09/2017 10:15:54    2043308

Replying To baire:  "Have they been tested this year?"
That's a gas answer!
Say Dublin win by 6-10 points Sunday week. I am not saying they will....but say they do.....what will you say then?
They are not worthy because they beat everyone they met out the gate and were never tested?
Dublin have basically hammered every team that has come up to them this year but you see that as a flaw, as they have not been "tested"
Maybe its because no one has been good enough to test them................ya know........

For what it's worth, Mayo will test them
And Yew, on your point, i disagree completely.
David Clarke, Chris Barrett, Lee Keegan, Colm Boyle, Keith Higgins, Tom Parsons and Aidan O'Se are marvellous footballers. This is a fantastic Mayo team, the best team to come out of Connacht in 15 years and if the current Dubs team wasnt around ye would have 2/3 All Ireland's.
This Mayo team is a splendid team, and I will tell you what, had they been around from 2003-2010 when Kerry Armagh and Tyrone were doing the dog on it, ye would have won 2/3 of those All Ireland's too.
Mayo have my respect and the respect of any fella who know's the first thing about football.

The best compliment I can pay ye Yew Tree, as a Dub, and think about this, as a Dub, is I was roaring for Kerry in ye're semi, cos I know deep down we would have beaten Kerry out the gate, possibly embarrassed them.
I fear Mayo far more than Kerry.

May the best team win, and if that's Mayo, I will be first on here to congratulate you Yew, and I would'nt begrudge a second of it to you.
Ye deserve an AI, and that's a fact.
I would say this Mayo team is the second best team I have seen in 20 years.

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 06/09/2017 10:41:06    2043327

Yep, in the A Vs B Games. No-one else they've met yet is capable.

You can say what you want about Mayo, but they rarely loose due to the lack of fight in them.

Jaden (Dublin) - Posts: 139 - 06/09/2017 10:45:36    2043334

Who know's only the players themselves and that's the truth. Let's look at it another way though. Mayo have been brought to 3 replays. Derry, Roscommon and Kerry. Do you think Dublin would have needed a replay to see off the first two? Possibly Kerry. I dont believe so. So if being tested means not being able to put teams that are not as good as you away then no we haven't been tested. Thankfully.

DannyMcA (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 06/09/2017 11:13:05    2043354

Replying To DannyMcA:  "Who know's only the players themselves and that's the truth. Let's look at it another way though. Mayo have been brought to 3 replays. Derry, Roscommon and Kerry. Do you think Dublin would have needed a replay to see off the first two? Possibly Kerry. I dont believe so. So if being tested means not being able to put teams that are not as good as you away then no we haven't been tested. Thankfully."
Except in the league final when you couldn't put Kerry away!

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1785 - 06/09/2017 11:46:47    2043369

Replying To baire:  "Except in the league final when you couldn't put Kerry away!"
I thought the league didn't count

Now suddenly it does :-)

Scarabin (Dublin) - Posts: 116 - 06/09/2017 11:49:42    2043371

Replying To baire:  "Except in the league final when you couldn't put Kerry away!"
Kerry are a top 3 team so are as good as us.

DannyMcA (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 06/09/2017 11:49:43    2043372