Kerry v Mayo

Replying To GreenandRed:  "It's easy to understand what you're trying to stay. Such spin must make you dizzy. I stated a fact, 14 + 8. It'll be tough for us to guard against complacency knowing the mighty Kingdom have fallen on hard times having only won one Sam in 8 years. Maybe not as bad a trough for Kerry as when Maurice Fitzgerald was majestic when ye beat us and ended the famine.

Nor as good as the first Kerry team as I saw in Croke Park in '81 after we had broken our own Connacht famine. Ye had some good lads in that team!

Sooooo excited....."
Well i guess your a glass half full kinda guy, I wish I could be as optimistic but you could say we are both right in a wrong kinda way -;)

Yes thank god for Maurice to end our famine in 97, we are in trouble of another dry spell but hopefully we can scrape one in the next few years.

Yes exciting week in Kerry GAA, it has only taken 11 months since our last exciting game but next year we might get to see some more games hopefully. Heres hoping Mayo or Kerry will be celebrating in a few short weeks in the final.

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 16/08/2017 14:19:33    2034232

Replying To AgainstTheOdds:  "This week's Jim McGuinness article reflects the widely held national view that it is the game on Sunday week is the de facto Final and that this game doesn't matter. It's all about next week's game with a cursory mention of Mayo - what will he write about next week.............."
What version of the Irish Times do ye get in Kerry? try reading the thing before talking nonsense on here.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2739 - 16/08/2017 20:04:06    2034429

Kerry by 4 points.

More forward power. They're just too cute, too cunning, too quiet this year, play yerra better than anyone else, Donaghy is sharper than he has been since his 20s. Mayo have given forward warning that they are not finished in the Rossie replay. Fitzmaurice or Rochford as a manager?? Fitzmaurice everytime. Everything points to Kerry bar a few crumbs. Mayo have a relatively good record in semi finals, they are experienced and so spirited and committed.

But beat Kerry, who always do enough, always do what it takes? Even when Tyrone and Dublin have proven Kerry are not invincible over the last 15 years Mayo have never taken advantage of this.

We have to go back to an August day in 1996 for a Mayo win over Kerry in a senior semi..

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 16/08/2017 20:44:07    2034441

Mayo have taken the long route and have struggled to get over some of their opponents and have looked vulnerable at times. They came out with all guns blazing the last day against a Roscommon team that were taken to the cleaners in so many ways. Would that performance be sufficient to beat Kerry - I don't think so. Will Kerry be a different proposition to all of Mayo's other opponents this year? I think so - they were sluggish against Monaghan but they have had a few weeks to sharpen up and I expect them to be ready for Mayo on Sunday. I think that Fitzmaurice has prepared his team be sharp for this Sunday and the All irl itself. He will have a hungry and sharp team for Sunday.
Rochford has an inexperienced team but I think their forwards are not as sharp as they have in the past and I expect Mayo to be beaten by around 5 points.

carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1820 - 16/08/2017 22:08:31    2034494

Replying To carlowman:  "Mayo have taken the long route and have struggled to get over some of their opponents and have looked vulnerable at times. They came out with all guns blazing the last day against a Roscommon team that were taken to the cleaners in so many ways. Would that performance be sufficient to beat Kerry - I don't think so. Will Kerry be a different proposition to all of Mayo's other opponents this year? I think so - they were sluggish against Monaghan but they have had a few weeks to sharpen up and I expect them to be ready for Mayo on Sunday. I think that Fitzmaurice has prepared his team be sharp for this Sunday and the All irl itself. He will have a hungry and sharp team for Sunday.
Rochford has an inexperienced team but I think their forwards are not as sharp as they have in the past and I expect Mayo to be beaten by around 5 points."
Ya Kerry looked sluggish alright against Monaghan....haha what? I presume you mean Galway?

Mayo come alive at this time of year so I wouldn't be so confident with the point margin. Galway really could have got some where in that first half but didn't take their chances...but Mayo were poor all year I guess ...anyway it's all buts and ifs.

I remember everyone around me telling me the same thing last year when we were up against them in the 1/4s and look how that turned out.

Kerry can obviously beat them but honestly I think if Mayo turn up with that running came that was reminiscent of Mayo 2013/2014 then I'd go as far to say Mayo by 5 but that also big ifs. I'm still going to stick with Mayo by one as I'm not sure they can hold a full game performance like that against a strong team but if Tyrone win if much rather meet Kerry.

GameOfTyrones (Tyrone) - Posts: 469 - 16/08/2017 22:29:03    2034501

I'd wager Kerry fans are well nervous about this one. Its hard to tell just where Kerry are at right at this minute and they've played nobody of substance. Its also difficult to say whether Mayo are still capable of competing the way they have down the last few years.

It really is open if Mayo can still produce their A game, guess we'll just have to wait and see.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8585 - 16/08/2017 23:53:15    2034528

Replying To GameOfTyrones:  "Ya Kerry looked sluggish alright against Monaghan....haha what? I presume you mean Galway?

Mayo come alive at this time of year so I wouldn't be so confident with the point margin. Galway really could have got some where in that first half but didn't take their chances...but Mayo were poor all year I guess ...anyway it's all buts and ifs.

I remember everyone around me telling me the same thing last year when we were up against them in the 1/4s and look how that turned out.

Kerry can obviously beat them but honestly I think if Mayo turn up with that running came that was reminiscent of Mayo 2013/2014 then I'd go as far to say Mayo by 5 but that also big ifs. I'm still going to stick with Mayo by one as I'm not sure they can hold a full game performance like that against a strong team but if Tyrone win if much rather meet Kerry."
Shocking that Tyrone lost to Mayo last year
They should have won by five or six points
Mayo disappeared for the last 15 minutes
They stakes are raised on Sunday. This is when Mayo start to pick up a few injuries

Scarabin (Dublin) - Posts: 116 - 17/08/2017 09:05:55    2034560

Replying To realdub:  "I'd wager Kerry fans are well nervous about this one. Its hard to tell just where Kerry are at right at this minute and they've played nobody of substance. Its also difficult to say whether Mayo are still capable of competing the way they have down the last few years.

It really is open if Mayo can still produce their A game, guess we'll just have to wait and see."
Yeah we are nervous but then we are accused of playing the "Yerrah" card so we can't win!!!

surfdude62 (Kerry) - Posts: 46 - 17/08/2017 10:09:25    2034583

When did Mayo beat Kerry in the championship last? I think Mayo peaked in their game v Ros and i believe Kerry will be ready for the runners.. Kerry have really top forwards who have constantly performed and in Donaghy have a major plan B . Kerry by 6

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 17/08/2017 10:44:41    2034597

Replying To surfdude62:  "Yeah we are nervous but then we are accused of playing the "Yerrah" card so we can't win!!!"
I'm not nervous I think Kerry will win by -4.
Kerry have a stronger FF line and midfield in my opinion.
But when the final 20 come around I think Kerry have the stronger subs to come on.
I expect a big performance from a fully fit JOD who I think will torment the Mayo FB line.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 17/08/2017 10:47:31    2034599

With Hurrican Gert set to arrive with full force on Sunday; do Kerry fans in any way feel it throws a spanner in their long "accurate" kick passing game.

theblackcard (Mayo) - Posts: 47 - 17/08/2017 10:57:03    2034605

Replying To realdub:  "I'd wager Kerry fans are well nervous about this one. Its hard to tell just where Kerry are at right at this minute and they've played nobody of substance. Its also difficult to say whether Mayo are still capable of competing the way they have down the last few years.

It really is open if Mayo can still produce their A game, guess we'll just have to wait and see."
I'd say nervous and excited realdub, nervous coz I got to see mayo live against our selves in Tralee in the league and against cork in limerick and against the rossies in the drawn game and the physicality and intensity they bring to games is like nothing I've seen since Tyrone of naughties, plus I haven't seen our lads do much since the league final so I'm "hoping " we have a big performance in us.

Excited , coz we don't get to see our team as much as we used to since they shut down the open training sessions, we have excellent footballers who are capable of magnificence and total football on their day.

The one thing is I think mayo will not feel comfortable even if they're 5/6 points up coming into the last 10 mins and they're trying to close out the game, and flashbacks of 2014 start running through their minds.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 17/08/2017 11:12:08    2034614

Mayo have earned the reputation for any team to be nervous playing them at this stage.

They've beaten Dublin in a few memorable semi-finals over the years and could well have done so again in 2015 when it went to a reply.

Any of the teams left can beat the other on a given day, that's why we should have two fascinating semi-finals to look forward to.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 17/08/2017 11:12:11    2034615

Both teams have not met as good as opposition to date this year but I am going for tyrone here. Dublin are a great team but tyrone have what it takes to bear them....

downtothecore (Down) - Posts: 349 - 17/08/2017 11:44:12    2034630

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I'd say nervous and excited realdub, nervous coz I got to see mayo live against our selves in Tralee in the league and against cork in limerick and against the rossies in the drawn game and the physicality and intensity they bring to games is like nothing I've seen since Tyrone of naughties, plus I haven't seen our lads do much since the league final so I'm "hoping " we have a big performance in us.

Excited , coz we don't get to see our team as much as we used to since they shut down the open training sessions, we have excellent footballers who are capable of magnificence and total football on their day.

The one thing is I think mayo will not feel comfortable even if they're 5/6 points up coming into the last 10 mins and they're trying to close out the game, and flashbacks of 2014 start running through their minds."
Ya it would almost be better for Mayo to be trailing by 2 points than being up 5/6 in the last ten going by their eastenders endings of late.

GameOfTyrones (Tyrone) - Posts: 469 - 17/08/2017 11:58:47    2034633

Replying To downtothecore:  "Both teams have not met as good as opposition to date this year but I am going for tyrone here. Dublin are a great team but tyrone have what it takes to bear them...."
Wrong thread there chief.

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 17/08/2017 12:01:06    2034636

Bookies and most pundits tipping Kerry so far. Mayo runners from deep could cause havoc if we don't shore things up a bit at the back, there is goals and soft frees aplenty to be got if you run at Kerry. In 2014 Mayo did this in the first game with 14 men and made hay, Kerry still have that same problem. I think the Donaghy factor is completely overplayed, I expect him to be well watched and have a relatively quiet afternoon. Mayo have good backs and will have a plan for Geaney and JOD, but i'd expect them to come away with 8-10 points between them at the same time.

The kick-outs will be huge, Kerry will push up on Clarke and hope to force him long, Kelly hasn't been under much pressure to date and it will be interesting to see how he copes with it when it undoubtedly comes. Kerry have good impact subs like O'Brien and BJK who are worth a couple of points each if things are tight towards the end, I am not sure Mayo can match that like for like.

All in all an intriguing contest. it's very hard to make any sort of prediction with Mayo's erratic form and Kerry's lack of any serious opposition to date. I do think Kerry will win but nothing would surprise me.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 17/08/2017 12:40:12    2034647

Replying To GameOfTyrones:  "Ya it would almost be better for Mayo to be trailing by 2 points than being up 5/6 in the last ten going by their eastenders endings of late."
Ha ha you're right there anyway.

mayo can never be accused of being boring , 9 times out of 10 they'll always keep the game interesting and that's for sure.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 17/08/2017 12:41:31    2034648

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "Bookies and most pundits tipping Kerry so far. Mayo runners from deep could cause havoc if we don't shore things up a bit at the back, there is goals and soft frees aplenty to be got if you run at Kerry. In 2014 Mayo did this in the first game with 14 men and made hay, Kerry still have that same problem. I think the Donaghy factor is completely overplayed, I expect him to be well watched and have a relatively quiet afternoon. Mayo have good backs and will have a plan for Geaney and JOD, but i'd expect them to come away with 8-10 points between them at the same time.

The kick-outs will be huge, Kerry will push up on Clarke and hope to force him long, Kelly hasn't been under much pressure to date and it will be interesting to see how he copes with it when it undoubtedly comes. Kerry have good impact subs like O'Brien and BJK who are worth a couple of points each if things are tight towards the end, I am not sure Mayo can match that like for like.

All in all an intriguing contest. it's very hard to make any sort of prediction with Mayo's erratic form and Kerry's lack of any serious opposition to date. I do think Kerry will win but nothing would surprise me."
What's the odds on Rochford starting the goalie from Breaffy again? or maybe he's saving him for the final.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2739 - 17/08/2017 13:48:56    2034679

I have been told 64,000 tickets have been sold for this game as of today. I don't know the breakdown but everyone I speak to this end seems to be going. Hurry up Sunday.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 17/08/2017 14:24:48    2034694