Mayo vs Roscommon

Mayo will bring aggression and intensity to Croke Park , can only see the Rossies taking a serious tonking here.

Vishred (Mayo) - Posts: 303 - 28/07/2017 05:33:15    2024735

Replying To Vishred:  "Mayo will bring aggression and intensity to Croke Park , can only see the Rossies taking a serious tonking here."
We will tonk after Sunday
We have the fork ready to make sure ye are done

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1760 - 28/07/2017 10:47:42    2024801

Replying To OhtobeARossie:  "We will tonk after Sunday
We have the fork ready to make sure ye are done"
The Rossies have the match ups :) Murray is a fine corner back who will handle Andy M pretty easy.. Mullouly will enjoy the physical battle with AoS. Rossies #3 (Cant remember his name) will match up with Cillian.. Who else do you need to worry about for mayo.. they do not have other scoring forwards. The rossies on the other hand have much more acute scoring forwards.. The grave is dug for this mayo team.. the rossies can roll them over :)

Toothless (Dublin) - Posts: 38 - 28/07/2017 11:28:56    2024818

Slightly off-topic but nice to see former Mayo players Detective Garda John Morley and Garda Henry Byrne, who were murdered by the IRA in Ballaghaderreen, Co Roscommon 37 years ago being remembered with a memorial at Shannon's Cross in Loughglynn today.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11225 - 28/07/2017 12:51:53    2024849

Replying To yew_tree:  "Slightly off-topic but nice to see former Mayo players Detective Garda John Morley and Garda Henry Byrne, who were murdered by the IRA in Ballaghaderreen, Co Roscommon 37 years ago being remembered with a memorial at Shannon's Cross in Loughglynn today."
Good to see alright. But the IRA were not involved. It was some splinter group from INLA or some such.

Manstein (Roscommon) - Posts: 43 - 28/07/2017 13:09:06    2024852

Replying To Vishred:  "Mayo will bring aggression and intensity to Croke Park , can only see the Rossies taking a serious tonking here."
Tonking? Whats that like?

Chops (Westmeath) - Posts: 775 - 28/07/2017 13:48:58    2024878

Replying To the_walls:  "Any thoughts on the JFK assassination, the moon landings or 9/11 while you're on the subject of conspiracy theories.

Just out of curiosity, where would have played that game in 2001?"
Sligo? Carrick on Shannon? Croker itself would've been nice given we'd won a Connaught title. Any other neutral venue other than Castlebar. Hell hole.

Headhunter85 (Roscommon) - Posts: 30 - 28/07/2017 13:58:11    2024883

Rossies have to be realistic, Mayo are a seasoned outfit with plenty of Croke Park experience. We are a young team that have only played Leitrim and a very poor Galway team on the day. Hope the hype doesn't get to the players or we could take yet another tanking from Mayo on Sunday. I just hope Roscommon are competitive and gain good experience from it. That being said it is a good chance for McStay and McHale to prove to the Mayo county board that they deserved a chance. It'll be an interesting game, just wish I was at home for it!!

Headhunter85 (Roscommon) - Posts: 30 - 28/07/2017 14:06:28    2024887

Replying To yew_tree:  "Slightly off-topic but nice to see former Mayo players Detective Garda John Morley and Garda Henry Byrne, who were murdered by the IRA in Ballaghaderreen, Co Roscommon 37 years ago being remembered with a memorial at Shannon's Cross in Loughglynn today."
Nice tribute by the GAA, the troubles touched every family on the island really, RIP to those young men taken in an appalling act.

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1196 - 28/07/2017 14:07:24    2024888

Replying To Toothless:  "The Rossies have the match ups :) Murray is a fine corner back who will handle Andy M pretty easy.. Mullouly will enjoy the physical battle with AoS. Rossies #3 (Cant remember his name) will match up with Cillian.. Who else do you need to worry about for mayo.. they do not have other scoring forwards. The rossies on the other hand have much more acute scoring forwards.. The grave is dug for this mayo team.. the rossies can roll them over :)"
Toothless and headless

BuffyBoffy (Mayo) - Posts: 244 - 28/07/2017 14:18:18    2024891

Replying To Manstein:  "Good to see alright. But the IRA were not involved. It was some splinter group from INLA or some such."
you are right, the INLA were responsible, they also killed Mountbatten the Summer before in Sligo. Rest In Peace to those innocent Gardai Siochana, sickening days but a welcome tribute by the GAA

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1667 - 28/07/2017 14:20:01    2024893

Replying To Headhunter85:  "Sligo? Carrick on Shannon? Croker itself would've been nice given we'd won a Connaught title. Any other neutral venue other than Castlebar. Hell hole."
If the game wasn't going to be played in Dublin I don't see from a distance point of view any fairer ground than McHale Park. Sligo and Carrick would have favoured Roscommon over Galway.

What makes Castlebar a hellhole (I do love when lads try to emotive words like this to wind up others) in your view?

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 28/07/2017 14:48:11    2024906

Replying To Chops:  "Tonking? Whats that like?"
A form of twirking

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11225 - 28/07/2017 14:51:33    2024907

Replying To yew_tree:  "A form of twirking"
Thought it was something that happened at the end of a good night in a Mayo pub with the keys in the ashtray.

Chops (Westmeath) - Posts: 775 - 28/07/2017 14:59:56    2024923

Replying To Chops:  "Thought it was something that happened at the end of a good night in a Mayo pub with the keys in the ashtray."
End of night....? Whats that man? ;)

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11225 - 28/07/2017 15:19:25    2024945

Replying To GameOfTyrones:  "Jesus there is believers. I would bet my mortgage on Kerry winning. Hope they don't but I don't think there's even a slim chance they will lose."
I know - me too. But I just couldn't resist...

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 705 - 28/07/2017 16:36:14    2025000

Replying To yew_tree:  "End of night....? Whats that man? ;)"
The end of the night? Is that midnight, because technically its morning once it goes past 24:00 right?

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 705 - 28/07/2017 16:40:14    2025004

Replying To yew_tree:  "End of night....? Whats that man? ;)"
Ironic your user name is a restaurant in Lecarrow, Co.Roscommon!

Chops (Westmeath) - Posts: 775 - 28/07/2017 16:42:15    2025005

Ciaran Whelan after giving the thumbs up to a comfortable Mayo victory. According to the main pundits/analysts we haven't a hope at all. The reality is though that Ros won't be taken seriously until they take a big scalp in Croke Park....so the scene is set. ...

moros (Roscommon) - Posts: 1075 - 28/07/2017 16:58:54    2025017

Rossies would want to be be at full strength with all their resources at hand to beat Mayo in Croke Park. If i'm proven wrong i'll gladly eat humble pie. Have been bigger shocks in the quarter finals.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 28/07/2017 17:25:23    2025036