Leinster football championship

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "RD, this is the same Dublin with 4 of the last 6 all ireland's and Leinsters, thats who I am talking about buddy

:)"
Oh ok then so it is the same one that struggled to beat the mighty Carlow for 50 mins. Ahh you poor things, sure either Meath or Kildare will be a dawdle after that. :)

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 08/06/2017 19:13:41    1997071

Replying To royaldunne:  "Oh ok then so it is the same one that struggled to beat the mighty Carlow for 50 mins. Ahh you poor things, sure either Meath or Kildare will be a dawdle after that. :)"
They should give meath the Leinster medals now - will beat Kildare imo, and the Dubs are past thier sell by date and without DC until 2018.

Easy peasy...... especially looking at our performance v those Carlow men.

Get down to PP straight away...

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3723 - 08/06/2017 22:35:14    1997137

Reading through all the posts and i am miffed by some of the comments. Meath ALMOST through the game away V Louth. We were poor for 50-55 minutes. Apart from the Dodgy penalty the other two goals would be a massive worry going forward. POR cannot kick the ball short and should never do it again. He hasn't got the Talent to pick a man out with a short kick out. A Poor team like Louth cut us open 4 or 5 times very easily during the game. Should have had a goal in the first half as well but Louth player put the ball over the bar when he should have buried it. POR had to make a save right on Half time as well. Better teams will take them chances and the game will be over before we know it. We finished the game well and showed great fitness compared to the last few years which is a positive. To score 27 points in any game is great BUT when you break the game down it was an unsatisfactory win for me. With Keoghan playing Centre back and McGill gone off with a black card we were weak in the FB line and it showed. Our Movement up front was excellent and the scores we took were very good. Midfield was good. Jones looks like a good player. Menton is huge in there so hopefully his injury is not too much of a concern. They are the positives.

People talking about Dublin bla bla bla. Playing like we did on Sunday we won't get near Kildare and won't last long in the qualifiers. No point having a good forward line racking up a good score if the backs can't keep the ball out of the net at the other end. Kildare will be the interesting game to see if we have moved forward much. Kildare are going well and have been for months. I fear if we make the same mistakes as Sunday against Kildare there will be no coming back from it

chriscart580 (Meath) - Posts: 376 - 09/06/2017 09:00:35    1997193

Replying To chriscart580:  "Reading through all the posts and i am miffed by some of the comments. Meath ALMOST through the game away V Louth. We were poor for 50-55 minutes. Apart from the Dodgy penalty the other two goals would be a massive worry going forward. POR cannot kick the ball short and should never do it again. He hasn't got the Talent to pick a man out with a short kick out. A Poor team like Louth cut us open 4 or 5 times very easily during the game. Should have had a goal in the first half as well but Louth player put the ball over the bar when he should have buried it. POR had to make a save right on Half time as well. Better teams will take them chances and the game will be over before we know it. We finished the game well and showed great fitness compared to the last few years which is a positive. To score 27 points in any game is great BUT when you break the game down it was an unsatisfactory win for me. With Keoghan playing Centre back and McGill gone off with a black card we were weak in the FB line and it showed. Our Movement up front was excellent and the scores we took were very good. Midfield was good. Jones looks like a good player. Menton is huge in there so hopefully his injury is not too much of a concern. They are the positives.

People talking about Dublin bla bla bla. Playing like we did on Sunday we won't get near Kildare and won't last long in the qualifiers. No point having a good forward line racking up a good score if the backs can't keep the ball out of the net at the other end. Kildare will be the interesting game to see if we have moved forward much. Kildare are going well and have been for months. I fear if we make the same mistakes as Sunday against Kildare there will be no coming back from it"
Didnt you get the memo, we HAVE to be optimistic! 'Andy' is turning them into real men, Louth are a bigger worry than Kildare and Dublin (who won by 12) struggled against Carlow.

RoyalBadger (Meath) - Posts: 571 - 09/06/2017 09:21:02    1997198

Replying To RoyalBadger:  "Didnt you get the memo, we HAVE to be optimistic! 'Andy' is turning them into real men, Louth are a bigger worry than Kildare and Dublin (who won by 12) struggled against Carlow."
I really like the optimism and i hope it comes to bare, a week Leinster help no one, Dublin may be back to back all Ireland winners, of the back of 5 NFL leagues and unbeaten until very recently for a couple of years. But every year everyone starts at scratch and Dublin have no divine right to presume t beat anyone, you always have to earn the right.

There are signs that Dublins squad is transitioning, their are players with a lot of experience and players breaking through who will be the core of years to come, that mixture could mean anything.

But as a successful team and to finish top of the pile you have to welcome every challenge, so i wish everyone in Leinster well i hope Kildare, Meath and WM/Offaly have kicked on.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 09/06/2017 10:00:39    1997208

Reading through all the posts and i am miffed by some of the comments. Meath ALMOST through the game away V Louth. We were poor for 50-55 minutes. Apart from the Dodgy penalty the other two goals would be a massive worry going forward. POR cannot kick the ball short and should never do it again. He hasn't got the Talent to pick a man out with a short kick out. A Poor team like Louth cut us open 4 or 5 times very easily during the game. Should have had a goal in the first half as well but Louth player put the ball over the bar when he should have buried it. POR had to make a save right on Half time as well. Better teams will take them chances and the game will be over before we know it. We finished the game well and showed great fitness compared to the last few years which is a positive. To score 27 points in any game is great BUT when you break the game down it was an unsatisfactory win for me. With Keoghan playing Centre back and McGill gone off with a black card we were weak in the FB line and it showed. Our Movement up front was excellent and the scores we took were very good. Midfield was good. Jones looks like a good player. Menton is huge in there so hopefully his injury is not too much of a concern. They are the positives.

People talking about Dublin bla bla bla. Playing like we did on Sunday we won't get near Kildare and won't last long in the qualifiers. No point having a good forward line racking up a good score if the backs can't keep the ball out of the net at the other end. Kildare will be the interesting game to see if we have moved forward much. Kildare are going well and have been for months. I fear if we make the same mistakes as Sunday against Kildare there will be no coming back from it

chriscart580 (Meath) - Posts:373 - 09/06/2017 09:00:35

Does anyone actually think that was a dodgy call?

I only saw it on the telly but it seemed as clear cut a decision as I've ever seen. Easily one of the stupidest bits of defending I've ever seen in a game. He just smashed the Louth player with a frontal shoulder when there was no danger! Idiotic defending of the highest order. As obvious a penalty as you'll ever see.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13704 - 09/06/2017 10:30:59    1997223

Replying To RoyalBadger:  "Didnt you get the memo, we HAVE to be optimistic! 'Andy' is turning them into real men, Louth are a bigger worry than Kildare and Dublin (who won by 12) struggled against Carlow."
hahahaha i think i was removed from the list. I'm a realist. I was disappointed with our performance on Sunday. Actually didn't feel to good leaving Parnell Park and i think we were lucky to come away with such a big win.

Optimism is great and its good to see but some people on here live in the Clouds with what they are saying. I will always get that tingle of hope, the just maybe or the what if we actually pull it off before a big game with Dublin or any other team for that matter. I think some people on here expect us to be world beaters every year and then the backlash afterwards is to sack every person who is involved with the panel. Let us build week on week, month on month and finally year on year. Andy is a realist, he knows things can't be fixed over night. He will have a 2 or 3 year plan in his head of where he wants us to be and i'm confident he will get us there in time

chriscart580 (Meath) - Posts: 376 - 09/06/2017 10:31:14    1997224

ok ok all joking aside

i am really looking forward to this game and no one would be happier than me to see Kildare and Me*th back in the big time
A competitive Leinster is brilliant and we all grew up on it
Winning Leinster in the 80's/90's was only barely eclipsed by a Sam

Some of my best and worst memories involve Kildare and Me*th!

Come back lads, its great fun!!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 09/06/2017 10:38:42    1997226

Replying To chriscart580:  "hahahaha i think i was removed from the list. I'm a realist. I was disappointed with our performance on Sunday. Actually didn't feel to good leaving Parnell Park and i think we were lucky to come away with such a big win.

Optimism is great and its good to see but some people on here live in the Clouds with what they are saying. I will always get that tingle of hope, the just maybe or the what if we actually pull it off before a big game with Dublin or any other team for that matter. I think some people on here expect us to be world beaters every year and then the backlash afterwards is to sack every person who is involved with the panel. Let us build week on week, month on month and finally year on year. Andy is a realist, he knows things can't be fixed over night. He will have a 2 or 3 year plan in his head of where he wants us to be and i'm confident he will get us there in time"
I was actually quite pumped leaving Parnell, enjoy putting a 9 point win over that lot. Enjoy the big wins when they happen anyway. And yeah left me feeling maybe....just maybe a tide is turning. BUT no way am I getting ahead of myself, we could easily lose to Kildare and find us on the same side of qualifiers as the losers of Mayo/Galway and Tyrone/Donegal. Round 3A will be a bottleneck.
Good to have a bit of optimism but what I read here sometimes is pure delusion.

RoyalBadger (Meath) - Posts: 571 - 09/06/2017 10:50:35    1997232

Replying To chriscart580:  "hahahaha i think i was removed from the list. I'm a realist. I was disappointed with our performance on Sunday. Actually didn't feel to good leaving Parnell Park and i think we were lucky to come away with such a big win.

Optimism is great and its good to see but some people on here live in the Clouds with what they are saying. I will always get that tingle of hope, the just maybe or the what if we actually pull it off before a big game with Dublin or any other team for that matter. I think some people on here expect us to be world beaters every year and then the backlash afterwards is to sack every person who is involved with the panel. Let us build week on week, month on month and finally year on year. Andy is a realist, he knows things can't be fixed over night. He will have a 2 or 3 year plan in his head of where he wants us to be and i'm confident he will get us there in time"
are you mad??? louth were lucky to lose by 9! it was 27 scores to 12 afterall. a dodgy pen and a flukey goal and on another day,meath would/should have had at least 3 goals.
it was far more convincing than the win against louth last year. we won that by 4 points and looked out on our feet in the last 15 mins. fitness way better now and yes we still have alot of improving to do,but be happy with the win and 27 points..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 09/06/2017 11:23:42    1997243

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "ok ok all joking aside

i am really looking forward to this game and no one would be happier than me to see Kildare and Me*th back in the big time
A competitive Leinster is brilliant and we all grew up on it
Winning Leinster in the 80's/90's was only barely eclipsed by a Sam

Some of my best and worst memories involve Kildare and Me*th!

Come back lads, its great fun!!"
when were kildare in the big time? 2 leinsters since 1956 and 80 years or more since sam was won.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 09/06/2017 11:26:09    1997244

Replying To MesAmis:  "Reading through all the posts and i am miffed by some of the comments. Meath ALMOST through the game away V Louth. We were poor for 50-55 minutes. Apart from the Dodgy penalty the other two goals would be a massive worry going forward. POR cannot kick the ball short and should never do it again. He hasn't got the Talent to pick a man out with a short kick out. A Poor team like Louth cut us open 4 or 5 times very easily during the game. Should have had a goal in the first half as well but Louth player put the ball over the bar when he should have buried it. POR had to make a save right on Half time as well. Better teams will take them chances and the game will be over before we know it. We finished the game well and showed great fitness compared to the last few years which is a positive. To score 27 points in any game is great BUT when you break the game down it was an unsatisfactory win for me. With Keoghan playing Centre back and McGill gone off with a black card we were weak in the FB line and it showed. Our Movement up front was excellent and the scores we took were very good. Midfield was good. Jones looks like a good player. Menton is huge in there so hopefully his injury is not too much of a concern. They are the positives.

chriscart580 (Meath) - Posts:373 - 09/06/2017 09:00:35

Does anyone actually think that was a dodgy call?

I only saw it on the telly but it seemed as clear cut a decision as I've ever seen. Easily one of the stupidest bits of defending I've ever seen in a game. He just smashed the Louth player with a frontal shoulder when there was no danger! Idiotic defending of the highest order. As obvious a penalty as you'll ever see."
Ah come on MesAmis if it was one of your Lads who was black carded and a peno given you would be up in arms about it. It was a harsh Decision to say the least. From what i could see he stood his ground and ok fair enough he aimed to hit him with a shoulder but i think it was harsh to give it

chriscart580 (Meath) - Posts: 376 - 09/06/2017 11:46:57    1997253

Replying To ziggy32001:  "are you mad??? louth were lucky to lose by 9! it was 27 scores to 12 afterall. a dodgy pen and a flukey goal and on another day,meath would/should have had at least 3 goals.
it was far more convincing than the win against louth last year. we won that by 4 points and looked out on our feet in the last 15 mins. fitness way better now and yes we still have alot of improving to do,but be happy with the win and 27 points.."
I was and am happy with 27 points. My point is we gave away 3 goals and another 3 goal chances that should have been taken. yes we had goal chances and if they went in we would have won by more and if the silly goals weren't given away we would have won by more BUT they they didn't. We were far the better side but kept them in the game with mistakes. Thats my point. A win is a win and is always great to beat Louth but the game was there for the taking up to the 50-55 minute when we fell 2 behind i think. So thats my point. Louth are/were very poor and we kept them in the game for 55mins. Better teams will be out of sight by that stage

chriscart580 (Meath) - Posts: 376 - 09/06/2017 11:52:18    1997257

Replying To ziggy32001:  "when were kildare in the big time? 2 leinsters since 1956 and 80 years or more since sam was won."
in the mid to late 90's early 00's Dublin and Kilare had some epic battles
Kildare were a proper team back then
Some great players, huge support. The white jerseys had a special feel to them, youd walk into town and see these white jerseys everywhere.
To play them was an occasion. We beat them, they beat us.
Dubs Kildare was huge "back in the day"

I would only LOVE to see Kildare back in the big time

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 09/06/2017 12:03:05    1997264

The Kildare match is a 50/50 game which could go either way. The defence conceded 3 goals including a clear-cut penalty. I would put some of the blame on a defender with the goal keepers short kick out as he had his back to the play, which is not something a good defender should do. Louth had a couple of clear cut goal chances which should have been put away but for some very good goal keeping. On a very positive note 27 scores in normal time is a very big score in any context.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 09/06/2017 12:05:33    1997266

Ah come on MesAmis if it was one of your Lads who was black carded and a peno given you would be up in arms about it. It was a harsh Decision to say the least. From what i could see he stood his ground and ok fair enough he aimed to hit him with a shoulder but i think it was harsh to give it
chriscart580 (Meath) - Posts:376 - 09/06/2017 11:46:57

It's literally the foul that the black card was originally brought in for. A deliberate body check.

I'd be up in arms that the Dublin management had picked a player that could possibly think that it was a good idea to deliberately body check an opposition player in the square just as our keeper had collected the ball!! He did not just stand his ground.

It was a lucky peno in that Louth didn't earn it through their own good play but rather through the Meath defenders idiocy on the pitch. 100% a penalty and one of the least controversial penalty decisions I've ever seen. I suppose it ended up good for Meath as they got to replace that particular player.

If you wanted to show someone a textbook black card foul and penalty then you'd show them that clip.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13704 - 09/06/2017 12:12:12    1997268

Replying To chriscart580:  "I was and am happy with 27 points. My point is we gave away 3 goals and another 3 goal chances that should have been taken. yes we had goal chances and if they went in we would have won by more and if the silly goals weren't given away we would have won by more BUT they they didn't. We were far the better side but kept them in the game with mistakes. Thats my point. A win is a win and is always great to beat Louth but the game was there for the taking up to the 50-55 minute when we fell 2 behind i think. So thats my point. Louth are/were very poor and we kept them in the game for 55mins. Better teams will be out of sight by that stage"
27 points was a huge haul
Meath look to be getting their sh*t together
If i had to urge one note of caution it would be that Graham Reilly (Smallie isnt it RD?) seems to be the fulcrum of everything. An injury or a black card to him and you'd wonder how ye would fare

I expect Kildare to win but it wouldnt be a shock atall if Meath do it

Will be some crack if Meath win playing brilliantly and we fall into the LF to face ye. Christ we could have a REAL Leinster final back all of a sudden!!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 09/06/2017 12:16:58    1997270

Replying To royaldunne:  "Don't forget beating Galway too,
I will say this, no matter who is in Leinster final dubs will have to be good to win it on the day. Not saying they wont, but its not as foregone conclusion as other years, that's for sure."
Galway ?

Behave....

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 09/06/2017 12:38:54    1997281

Replying To chriscart580:  "I was and am happy with 27 points. My point is we gave away 3 goals and another 3 goal chances that should have been taken. yes we had goal chances and if they went in we would have won by more and if the silly goals weren't given away we would have won by more BUT they they didn't. We were far the better side but kept them in the game with mistakes. Thats my point. A win is a win and is always great to beat Louth but the game was there for the taking up to the 50-55 minute when we fell 2 behind i think. So thats my point. Louth are/were very poor and we kept them in the game for 55mins. Better teams will be out of sight by that stage"
yes you are right,but we are not a top team yet. we are on the right road though..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 09/06/2017 14:37:14    1997330

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "in the mid to late 90's early 00's Dublin and Kilare had some epic battles
Kildare were a proper team back then
Some great players, huge support. The white jerseys had a special feel to them, youd walk into town and see these white jerseys everywhere.
To play them was an occasion. We beat them, they beat us.
Dubs Kildare was huge "back in the day"

I would only LOVE to see Kildare back in the big time"
yes but they won feck all..

again 2 leinsters since 1956 and the last all-ireland was more than 80 years ago..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 09/06/2017 14:38:26    1997331