Division 1 2017

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Ah well there is a first time for every thing, there is a great spot in Tralee called the bullring you should definitely go there if you get a chance :-) hi and don't forget to bring plenty of that Dublin money now ;-)"
Yeah that dub should definitely head to the bullring Kb1 and he should bring some of his buddies :-0

TheGhost1 (Kerry) - Posts: 24 - 29/01/2017 12:39:41    1949706

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Ah chillout you sound like a right laugh.
Even the lads down south don't seem to get as wound up as you.Don't know what you are referring to in that post about statement about BS. We can talk GAA and have the crack tooyou should try it sometime."
Don't worry kid, I'm very chilled out. And I do have plenty of craic here but sometimes the name calling and piss taking is childish. Anyway let's left it at that and get bk on topic.
My final standings:
1. Dublin
2. Tyrone
3. Kerry
4. Monaghan
5. Mayo
6. Donegal
7. Roscommon
8. Cavan

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 29/01/2017 12:43:56    1949712

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Don't worry kid, I'm very chilled out. And I do have plenty of craic here but sometimes the name calling and piss taking is childish. Anyway let's left it at that and get bk on topic.
My final standings:
1. Dublin
2. Tyrone
3. Kerry
4. Monaghan
5. Mayo
6. Donegal
7. Roscommon
8. Cavan"
Will be very surprised if Dublin finish in the top 2
Tyrone and Kerry for the final .

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 29/01/2017 14:00:01    1949728

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Ah well there is a first time for every thing, there is a great spot in Tralee called the bullring you should definitely go there if you get a chance :-) hi and don't forget to bring plenty of that Dublin money now ;-)"
We'll give it a try so .you'll probably be conducting proceedings no doubt ;-).
We'll bring the silver with us don't worry sure we have plenty of it.We're going to win as much as possible before that new crop of Kerry talent comes online.All the best now.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 29/01/2017 14:16:37    1949731

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Don't worry kid, I'm very chilled out. And I do have plenty of craic here but sometimes the name calling and piss taking is childish. Anyway let's left it at that and get bk on topic.
My final standings:
1. Dublin
2. Tyrone
3. Kerry
4. Monaghan
5. Mayo
6. Donegal
7. Roscommon
8. Cavan"
It's only Craic sgam,relax.
As for the topic.I'll be amazed if Kerry and Tyrone don't make the final.We'll finish mid table I'd imagine.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 29/01/2017 14:48:32    1949739

I think Dublin will be happy with 3rd or 4th this year considering they have only fielded a 3rd string for O Byrne cup and none of their more season players are back yet. However the opening game to Cavan is probably the nicest they could have got.
Mayo should be both aiming to win this especially Mayo as they need some sort of national title at this stage.
I don't know what to expect from Tyrone I think they will be safe but will they go all out for a title or settle for 3rd or 4th
Relegation is a hard one to call Donegal, Cavan, Monaghan and Roscommon will all be in the mix down there and it will probably come down to the final day to see who goes down.
As for Kerry I would like to win this, we've had a strong enough team for the McGrath cup but it's just a question of how seriously Eamon takes the league.

1. Mayo
2. Kerry
3. Tyrone
4. Dublin
5. Monaghan
6. Donegal
7. Cavan
8. Roscommon

Jackos_Wacko (Kerry) - Posts: 417 - 29/01/2017 17:01:14    1949802

Hard to know what to expect this Sunday from our lads. We have a bad record in Letterkenny and with a young and inexperienced team expectations are low but the talent is certainly there and I just hope to see a glimmer of hope for the future. Hopefully it'll be more of a football match than last year!

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 02/02/2017 23:38:52    1951391

Replying To Tir Conaill Abu:  "Hard to know what to expect this Sunday from our lads. We have a bad record in Letterkenny and with a young and inexperienced team expectations are low but the talent is certainly there and I just hope to see a glimmer of hope for the future. Hopefully it'll be more of a football match than last year!"
Kerry team is being named tonight, when's Donegal being named. They'll probably be a lot of names on both people from outside won't know much about.

Hoping for a good, manly game anyway and hopefully a Kerry win. I actually thought we had a decent record in Donegal but turns out we havn't won up there since 2003, so a telling stat!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 03/02/2017 10:31:49    1951462

Replying To ROS1:  "I dont think aiming for a quarter final place is to much to aim for, it might not work out but every team has to have a target. Off course it is completely ignored that roscommon were missing more then half the best team in the championship but anyways i think you should talk to the Tryone poster who thinks no team will come near there team this year about having blind optimism."
I am a huge Roscommon supporter and i think we are going to go down in the league and lose a connacht final.
You cant lose as many players as we have and hope to compete in division one we have lost as many experienced heads as donegal and as far as i can see whats coming through for them is more positive. Roscommon have lost much experience this year they now lack size and will get ate in any midfield battle so i expect another short kick out wrong option sorta season for my home county. that been said i still wont miss a game. Time for roscommon people to stop building themselves up for a fall. We are still only the 3rd best team in connacht.

Tarismelting22 (Roscommon) - Posts: 760 - 03/02/2017 13:28:20    1951538

1. Tyrone
2. Monaghan
3. Kerry
4. Dublin
5. Mayo
6. Cavan
7. Donegal
8. Roscommon

Byanthon (Tyrone) - Posts: 1780 - 03/02/2017 13:30:28    1951541

Replying To TheHermit:  "Kerry team is being named tonight, when's Donegal being named. They'll probably be a lot of names on both people from outside won't know much about.

Hoping for a good, manly game anyway and hopefully a Kerry win. I actually thought we had a decent record in Donegal but turns out we havn't won up there since 2003, so a telling stat!"
Donegal team that has been named is:

1. McGinley
2. Eoin Ban Gallagher
3. Neil McGee
4. Paddy McGrath
5. Ryan McHugh
6. Caolan Ward
7. Paul Brennan
8. Hugh McFadden
9. Jason McGee
10. Ciaran Thompson
11. Michael Langan
12. Marty O'Reilly
13. Paddy McBrearty
14. Michael Murphy
15. Jamie Brennan

It's a very youthful side probably lacking in physical strength but has abundance of speed. Hopefully the weather is decent and it's a good game.

Mobot (Donegal) - Posts: 459 - 03/02/2017 15:36:43    1951589

Replying To realdub:  "Man you crack me up :D"
Just a trial run for Sunday.... ;)

http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=265766

ExiledCuCu (Cavan) - Posts: 225 - 03/02/2017 19:12:09    1951651

Jesus I accept it's only the first round of the league and Mayo will be fine but surely they should be trying someone else when the game is there to be won instead of Andy Moran all the bleeding time , I mean the whole country knows what he can do at this stage , where are the 21 lads from last year?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 04/02/2017 21:27:50    1951913

Good result our lads wanted it and probably needed it more.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1798 - 04/02/2017 21:36:30    1951918

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Jesus I accept it's only the first round of the league and Mayo will be fine but surely they should be trying someone else when the game is there to be won instead of Andy Moran all the bleeding time , I mean the whole country knows what he can do at this stage , where are the 21 lads from last year?"
Mayo should have been beaten tonight by 5 or 6 points had it not been for Monaghan's poor shooting and some very silly decision making and indiscipline in the second half. Some of their team (around the middle third) didn't show up and to make matters worse they involved themselves in a battle of niggle when they should have let football do the talking.
Monaghan will be better that that later on make no mistake as MOR clearly hinted at an expanding game plan in his post match interview. it was obvious that this match was targeted in terms of a result and with that in mind well done to all involved.

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 04/02/2017 21:45:21    1951925

Replying To mhunicean_abu:  "Mayo should have been beaten tonight by 5 or 6 points had it not been for Monaghan's poor shooting and some very silly decision making and indiscipline in the second half. Some of their team (around the middle third) didn't show up and to make matters worse they involved themselves in a battle of niggle when they should have let football do the talking.
Monaghan will be better that that later on make no mistake as MOR clearly hinted at an expanding game plan in his post match interview. it was obvious that this match was targeted in terms of a result and with that in mind well done to all involved."
Sorry I should of said well done Monaghan great win and well deserved.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 04/02/2017 21:56:47    1951935

Monaghan's rightly deserved their victory, apart from the last 10 mins in the first half where Mayo went from 5-1 down to lead 6-5 at halftime Monaghan never looked like losing, they were better in the tackles, better use of the ball, better off the ball running, better showing for the ball at kick outs, only for the poor kicking in the first half Monaghan should have gone in at halftime at least 5 or 6 pts up. Mayo were extremely poor and Monaghan punished them for that. Monaghan were 1 of the teams people were tipping for relegation but on tonight performance I can't see them going down. 1 main problem Monaghan have is poor discipline they need to concentrate on playing the game and forget about niggly things, keep your 15 men on the pitch

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 04/02/2017 23:49:35    1951966

Replying To mhunicean_abu:  "Mayo should have been beaten tonight by 5 or 6 points had it not been for Monaghan's poor shooting and some very silly decision making and indiscipline in the second half. Some of their team (around the middle third) didn't show up and to make matters worse they involved themselves in a battle of niggle when they should have let football do the talking.
Monaghan will be better that that later on make no mistake as MOR clearly hinted at an expanding game plan in his post match interview. it was obvious that this match was targeted in terms of a result and with that in mind well done to all involved."
I agree it should have been more comfortable than it was but great win all the same. The clincher from McManus was a beauty but then you be wondering how did he miss the free a few mins before that. Botched another goal too.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2779 - 05/02/2017 00:15:49    1951969

Fair play to Monaghan. Haven't a snowball's chance in hell of ever winning a first All Ireland but still come back every year and give it their best. Conor McManus definitely one of the top forwards in Ireland..

GallantJohnJoe (Cavan) - Posts: 329 - 05/02/2017 01:22:49    1951972

Mayo forward play was poor but the ref was awful, mayo should have had a free but red did not give it and Monaghan went down the field and got there goal..Mayo seemed to either have no plan or just were not bothered about Monaghans kickouts where they won maybe 7 or 8 marks, it was very poor by Mayo in the middle third..Agree with the comment about where are the u21 forwards from last year, they should be full of confidence and throw them in and see what they can do..

tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 600 - 05/02/2017 01:48:54    1951974