Official Connacht Football Championship Thread

Spare a thought for Liathroidboy.

Mayo were 1/100 to win this. liathroid put his financial empire on them, simply to buy money.

He is now a pauper.....................................................

They really were 1/100.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 29/05/2011 17:24:25    942761

He certainly had a pair of liathroids to put cash on at that price......

sponger (Wicklow) - Posts: 2897 - 29/05/2011 17:29:23    942772

Fair play to London having seen them play in feb i didn't see that coming today, Mayo got the win & that's the main thing & if they beat Galway all this will be forgotten

ispeakwisdom (Roscommon) - Posts: 2487 - 29/05/2011 17:40:07    942791

29/05/2011 17:40:07
ispeakwisdom
County: Roscommon

942791 Fair play to London having seen them play in feb i didn't see that coming today, Mayo got the win & that's the main thing & if they beat Galway all this will be forgotten

Oh no it won't-Mayo footballers should hang their heads.

GrizzlyAdams (Tyrone) - Posts: 576 - 29/05/2011 17:44:20    942796

Whatever about the post mortem into Mayo's win, fair play to London for making a game of it.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7822 - 29/05/2011 17:52:22    942809

It wasn't too long ago that my county escaped from the Bronx by the skin of their teeth.

The job situation at home means that the exiles are only ever going to get a stronger panel to pick from. A good management team will see one of either London or New York take a scalp one of these days I reckon.

Wests_Awake (Galway) - Posts: 877 - 29/05/2011 18:35:09    942846

ispeakwisdom
County: Roscommon

Fair play to London having seen them play in feb i didn't see that coming today, Mayo got the win & that's the main thing & if they beat Galway all this will be forgotten

Listen to this man. He truly does speak wisdom. Nobody will remember it if Mayo get a run later in the championship. Summers can't be made in Ruislip in May but they can be broken. Mayo's summer is still intact... just.

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 29/05/2011 18:47:40    942862

Well Connacht football is at a very low ebb,yes it's very competitive,but the teams are very poor.. Mayo may beat Galway as Galway are poor enough at the moment too.. Mayo where beaten easily by Offaly in a recent challenge,Wexford destroyed Offaly yesterday. Wexford could win Leinster this year,but would no doubt win connacht. As soon as a team from the west gets a half decent team from outside the province it's bye bye. Leitrim may win over there who knows? The difference between Mayo and Galway is that Galway people have not been saying they have a very good side,could challenge for an all-Ireland this year,however Mayo people do,and this is why he get a backlash from people outside the county when things go wrong. But they where lucky to win today.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 29/05/2011 18:50:47    942867

ziggy32001

Well Connacht football is at a very low ebb,yes it's very competitive,but the teams are very poor.. Mayo may beat Galway as Galway are poor enough at the moment too.. Mayo where beaten easily by Offaly in a recent challenge,Wexford destroyed Offaly yesterday. Wexford could win Leinster this year,but would no doubt win connacht. As soon as a team from the west gets a half decent team from outside the province it's bye bye. Leitrim may win over there who knows? The difference between Mayo and Galway is that Galway people have not been saying they have a very good side,could challenge for an all-Ireland this year,however Mayo people do,and this is why he get a backlash from people outside the county when things go wrong. But they where lucky to win today.

How many Mayo people have you been talking to lately?

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 29/05/2011 18:59:57    942873

ziggy32001 - kind of ironic coming from a meath man when yer county set up is tearing itself apart. who here said mayo will win the all ireland? have u ever been in mayo? - id bet a million if you walked the streets of castlebar not one person will say we can win sam and thats before todays result.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 29/05/2011 19:13:21    942881

ziggy32001

Do you live in reality Ziggy?....or do you make all you assumptions from what you see on this forum. Because 99% of mayo know that we dont have a very got panel. But you continue to make these assumptions from some of the Mayo WUM on this website....which i may add are other are multiple users which love to wind people up. But you obviously live in a cyber world and think all Mayo people are like that.

clubstar09 (Mayo) - Posts: 463 - 29/05/2011 19:13:35    942882

On the forums very often shouting up their chances..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 29/05/2011 19:14:36    942884

clubstar..

Ok fair enough I take your point. It's from some Mayo people on the forum,although I do know two lads from Mayo living in Meath and let me tell you they do live in dreamland.. They go on how bad Meath are and seem to think Mayo have been far better the last few years and EXPECT to be challenging at the top..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 29/05/2011 19:20:21    942886

Was at the game in Ruislip. London played as well as they could. Fitness, or Mayo's superior fitness, told in the end. Mayo were poor but it was a great performance from London and they should take heart from this as this is the closest they have come since the Rossies match in 2005.

Tongo (UK) - Posts: 1795 - 29/05/2011 19:21:15    942887

ziggy32001

On the forums very often shouting up their chances..

And do you have proof that these people are from Mayo? Do they actually believe it or are they just trying to snag naive individuals? You know that the internet is 90% porn and 9% rubbish right? Haven't met too many real Mayo people too optimistic about their chances of late.

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 29/05/2011 19:21:48    942889

clubstar09

In your opinion what are the main problems there? I know some people where saying it wasn't Mayo's best 15,but surely they should still account for London in normal time? Plus every county disagrees with line-ups and guys not in panels etc. Ye are doing well enough at under-age. Do the players show enough heart? Are ye struggling in every line on the field? Would love to know an honest opinion from a Mayo man.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 29/05/2011 19:24:35    942894

Tongo
County: UK

Was at the game in Ruislip. London played as well as they could. Fitness, or Mayo's superior fitness, told in the end. Mayo were poor but it was a great performance from London and they should take heart from this as this is the closest they have come since the Rossies match in 2005.

Did you happen to see half a helicopter taking off just before the end of normal time ? I heard there was one seen !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 29/05/2011 19:27:24    942900

It's not just Mayo in fairness Connacht football in the past few years has being at a low ebb(due to Galway and Mayo performing poorly),Sligo.Leitrim,Roscommon are ok sides but Mayo and Galway have come down to that level. Galway haven't beaten a team outside of the province since 2003 in the championship that tells it's own story. (p.s I lived in Galway for 2 years) They share a lot of comparisons with my native Meath. Galway and Mayo had poor years last year both beaten by Sligo and then by Wexford(although better than people give them credit for) and Longford respectively.. With all due respect to the other teams in connacht but the success that Roscommon had last year(winning it) and Sligo over the two giants had more to do with the demise of the "Big Two"

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 29/05/2011 19:29:56    942903

Being honest, i really dont know!! It starts at the top with the County Board. The same faces there for the last 20 years and many of them never kicking a football. (e.g) a strategic plan was set out to point out mayos failings last year and set things right and come at things from a different angle. It was edited to the balls!

Its easy to say that the correct players arent being picked....but the fact of the matter is Horan used I think up near 50 players in both FBD and League. Okay tthere are arguements that the likes of Aidan Kilcoyne and Mark Ronaldson should be there. In my opinion i think there should be an overhaul in the chapionship set-up in Mayo. I think we should adopt the style of Kerry and Cork where Both junior and Intermediate clubs join to enter into Senior Champioship. Im not saying tha many Junior and Intermediate players are up to the standard but there are sure to be one or two from each division. Look at the cork team that won the all-ireland last year, was it 8 Junior players or something like that (open for correction).

I believe we need David Clarke in Goal. He is an excellent orgainiser and very few goals have gone by him over the years and this defence needs organising. These are just my opinions on what is wrong with our county team at the moment and believe me there are many, many more!

Now today was a terrible day at the office. I still believe that the connacht champions will come from the semi-final between Mayo and Galway and that could go either way. Look at the end of the day we are still in the chapionship and there is a month until the showdown in mchale park and alot can change in that amount of time.

clubstar09 (Mayo) - Posts: 463 - 29/05/2011 20:00:01    942936

At least we learned one thing this weekend. Mayo will not be even outside contenders for Sam.

Sergeant_Slash (Cavan) - Posts: 2182 - 29/05/2011 20:08:51    942944