Kerry v Mayo

As I alluded to earlier in the week Mayo are getting into their groove with all the games they are playing this view has been backed up by Eamon Fitzmaurice

He also disregarded the notion that Mayo are finished so hopefully people will take note and treat them with the respect they deserve, we damn sure do as his comments prove

AgainstTheOdds (Kerry) - Posts: 47 - 11/08/2017 18:11:24    2032430

Replying To Belclare1:  "
Replying To yew_tree:  "Mayo are a seasoned team

Mayo were a finished team before be walloped Roscommon in the replay. Perceptions and sports fans including the media are as fickle as they come."
If ye get bet by Kerry we will all be saying that again. Ye are not finished in relation to beating lower division teams but it comes to the big important games ie semi and finals time is running out.."
Whereas in other counties it isn't running at all...

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 11/08/2017 18:15:59    2032432

If he plays at all Belclare he'll more likely play a sweeper role with someone else, Harrison, Vaughan or Caff at FB. As the Kerry lads will tell you Paul Geaney's aerial capabilities will also need to be countered, so Barry or someone else will need to play from the front and make the ball in unprofitable. I suspect that Kerry mightn't even start Donaghy, so tactically Mayo aren't going to structure their defence rigidly to counter one player or one attacking tactic. Mayo aren't the only side who can run the ball, plus Kerry have their kick passing game too. The teams starting could be quite different from the teams announced and both sides can vary their approach, plus the have the depth to alter things as the game goes on.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 11/08/2017 19:25:43    2032441

Replying To AgainstTheOdds:  "As I alluded to earlier in the week Mayo are getting into their groove with all the games they are playing this view has been backed up by Eamon Fitzmaurice

He also disregarded the notion that Mayo are finished so hopefully people will take note and treat them with the respect they deserve, we damn sure do as his comments prove"
This post is comical. To the poster thanks, I get a good laugh out of this guff! It takes a bit of effort but if ya can keep them coming.

Equineburger (Mayo) - Posts: 30 - 11/08/2017 20:57:52    2032457

Mayo to win by a couple of points..

GGdub (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 12/08/2017 16:03:26    2032601

Hard to know where Mayo are at this point
Roscommon gave up by half time

We will find out on Sunday

Scarabin (Dublin) - Posts: 116 - 14/08/2017 10:23:49    2033103

my big worry for mayo is if we dnt win the midfield battle we will be in big trouble

kevinmayo (Mayo) - Posts: 10 - 14/08/2017 14:02:30    2033255

Replying To kevinmayo:  "my big worry for mayo is if we dnt win the midfield battle we will be in big trouble"
To be fair Kevin, I think Kerry will have the same worry. Both teams have a lot of strength and options in that area and I reckon both will try to press the kickouts. Conditions could dictate a lot. Whoever wins the toss would be advised to play with them for the first half. A good start will be important and hopefully our lads will be going for that and not snoozing for the first quarter.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 14/08/2017 16:40:27    2033347

Replying To Pericles:  "To be fair Kevin, I think Kerry will have the same worry. Both teams have a lot of strength and options in that area and I reckon both will try to press the kickouts. Conditions could dictate a lot. Whoever wins the toss would be advised to play with them for the first half. A good start will be important and hopefully our lads will be going for that and not snoozing for the first quarter."
Exactly and we don't have a running game like the Big 3 have so we heavily rely on our high fielding and kicking abilities and if either are compromised then we are in serious trouble............

AgainstTheOdds (Kerry) - Posts: 47 - 14/08/2017 18:34:14    2033398

For me this is a 50/50 game. And it's about who might have a chance v Dublin ( no offence to Tyrone, I just can't see you beating dubs). While conventional wisdom would say Kerry have better chance with there tradition and league final win. I'm not so sure. I think there is a element of fear that has developed in the Kerry mindset over past few years. And that could reemerge in a all ore final. Mayo while having the curse or whatever reasons for not winning one is of course a factor, yet If they actually forget about the final hoodoo I think they better placed than any other county to beat Dublin. Looking forward to this game. I might even travel up.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 14/08/2017 20:39:37    2033429

Replying To royaldunne:  "For me this is a 50/50 game. And it's about who might have a chance v Dublin ( no offence to Tyrone, I just can't see you beating dubs). While conventional wisdom would say Kerry have better chance with there tradition and league final win. I'm not so sure. I think there is a element of fear that has developed in the Kerry mindset over past few years. And that could reemerge in a all ore final. Mayo while having the curse or whatever reasons for not winning one is of course a factor, yet If they actually forget about the final hoodoo I think they better placed than any other county to beat Dublin. Looking forward to this game. I might even travel up."
Meath might cower at the thought of Dublin, but if you think the Kingdom is afraid of any county in this land you need your head examined.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 14/08/2017 21:18:25    2033440

Replying To TheHermit:  "Meath might cower at the thought of Dublin, but if you think the Kingdom is afraid of any county in this land you need your head examined."
37 senior All-Ireland titles proves that in fairness.No argument there.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2156 - 14/08/2017 21:34:40    2033443

Replying To AgainstTheOdds:  "Exactly and we don't have a running game like the Big 3 have so we heavily rely on our high fielding and kicking abilities and if either are compromised then we are in serious trouble............"
The 'all we do is catch and kick mantra.' Kerry handpass the ball more than most teams, and have done for a quite a while. This isn't a dig, they're absolutely right, if they want to be successful. If anyone can dig out the numbers from the 2009 All-Ireland final, the ratio of handpass to kick was much higher than Cork's, who were a supposed team of runners and ball-carriers. The top 4 teams are the best at keeping possession and recycling it until a better option comes available.
I think this game will be competitive, but Kerry's greater scoring threat should be the difference.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2037 - 15/08/2017 08:50:16    2033494

Replying To royaldunne:  "For me this is a 50/50 game. And it's about who might have a chance v Dublin ( no offence to Tyrone, I just can't see you beating dubs). While conventional wisdom would say Kerry have better chance with there tradition and league final win. I'm not so sure. I think there is a element of fear that has developed in the Kerry mindset over past few years. And that could reemerge in a all ore final. Mayo while having the curse or whatever reasons for not winning one is of course a factor, yet If they actually forget about the final hoodoo I think they better placed than any other county to beat Dublin. Looking forward to this game. I might even travel up."
No surprise there then Royal - if Tyrone were playing a girls u12 team you'd go for the girls. On the Kerry's v Mayo game the former would have no fear of Mayo however I believe this game depends on what Mayo turn up - anything other than the replay performance, Kerry will anhilate Mayo. Mayo need to play on the offensive and really test this Kerry back line and put their team on the back foot. It's exactly the same as Tyrone - they need to go all out attack - I hate when teams finish games and say they didn't give it their best shot like Monaghan last day.

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 15/08/2017 09:08:00    2033500

Really looking forward to this game.
Sadly I haven't been that excited about a Kerry match since last year's AI semi final...only took a year to wait!
Mayo won't be afraid of Kerry so should be a cracker.

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 15/08/2017 09:22:29    2033505

A game well capable of making many posters look stupid , myself included , but hey that's the fun of predictions , if Mayo are within a point or two with ten mins to go I would fancy them , they will peak on Sunday of that I have no doubt , the back door has put some manners on them and I believe they are mentally ready for were they need to be , if they aren't they will be crushed .
Cant see the highball tactic to Star reaping the rewards it has done in previous matches , the midfield will be a fantastic area of play to watch great high fielding against high energy running , all in all really looking forward to this game rarely do I back against the Kingdom but just feel theres a bit of rope a dope about Mayo this year

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 15/08/2017 11:12:17    2033544

Replying To AgainstTheOdds:  "Exactly and we don't have a running game like the Big 3 have so we heavily rely on our high fielding and kicking abilities and if either are compromised then we are in serious trouble............"
I wasn't aware of that Againsttheodds... I must pass that intelligence on to Rochford. I think he might be under the impression that O'Brien, Murphy, Crowley etc are well able to run with the ball. It'd be a weight off him to have one means of attack off the table;)

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 15/08/2017 11:14:43    2033546

5 days till throw-in.
Expecting the kingdom Yerraing to go up a notch or two from now on.
Mayo by 4/5 points giving Spillane a full month to choose his shirt for All Ireland day.
Yerrrr!

Vishred (Mayo) - Posts: 303 - 15/08/2017 12:03:22    2033560

Replying To Pericles:  "I wasn't aware of that Againsttheodds... I must pass that intelligence on to Rochford. I think he might be under the impression that O'Brien, Murphy, Crowley etc are well able to run with the ball. It'd be a weight off him to have one means of attack off the table;)"
Oh don't worry a management team with the likes of Donie Buckley and Tony McEntee know all too well we are by far the weakest running team left at both attacking and defending against it. I've lost count how many pundits and posters on here have said 'If you run at Kerry' they all can't be wrong.......

If our high-fielding is negated (and Mayo have been consistently very strong in this area) all the natural foot-passing in the world isn't going to bail us out.......

AgainstTheOdds (Kerry) - Posts: 47 - 15/08/2017 12:09:20    2033566

Replying To AgainstTheOdds:  "Oh don't worry a management team with the likes of Donie Buckley and Tony McEntee know all too well we are by far the weakest running team left at both attacking and defending against it. I've lost count how many pundits and posters on here have said 'If you run at Kerry' they all can't be wrong.......

If our high-fielding is negated (and Mayo have been consistently very strong in this area) all the natural foot-passing in the world isn't going to bail us out......."
You could be right ATO, but the bookies don't share that perspective. A few posters in here are predicting that your lads will destroy us on Sunday, and the odd Kerry poster can't seem to help speculating about the Dubs in the final. Mayo focus is firmly on Kerry, we'll worry about Tyrone if your lads have the mother of all off days, Mo willing!

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 15/08/2017 13:28:21    2033606