NHL 1A & 1B

Replying To 73forever:  "The newly 'ultra competitive' cut throat league might be great for spectators and TV but is a disaster from a player welfare point of view - its forcing managers to start 'pre season' training for the league in November when the league was supposed to be the pre season training for the championship but because the 'suits' decided the league needed to be another knock out competition and played in February and March its been made into a must win competition(or not be relegated/promoted) in its own right managers are under pressure to deliver results straight away. What happened to the league being a way to introduce guys into senior inter county hurling...now the munster league is being used for that.
Basically Limerick lost out by a goal away to Wexford, were done out of a stone wall penaly and find the 'league' has lost all meaning after 2 games."
I see where you are coming from but why should the league allow teams to prepare for cship? The NFL is the same.
Tipp have already either blooded players or given players that have only played a few games more experience. In fact nearly all teams in 1A have done this. Dublin being a good example.
Each to their own but I like the current format but I see your frustrations

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 20/02/2017 16:14:21    1958759

Replying To suckvalleypaddy:  "Galway in same quandary as Limerick but look we lost to WX. Should be a real battle to finish in second place between us and have a go at the playoffs. Many teams in contention for Liam this year."
But really there's no difference between 2nd and 3rd now as both get to a quarter final, if there was a final place at stake there would be some bite..any league that basically has 2 meaningful rounds has to be seriously looked...that's not taking away from Wexford as they done great to identify the games they wanted to win and proceeded to do it...in another year they could have well been sitting at the bottom with no points yet.

73forever (Limerick) - Posts: 89 - 20/02/2017 16:17:54    1958763

well in other years limerick would have beaten wexford and been in a great position after 4-5 games only to blow it.
the best team in the league should get promoted,i will make no apologies for enjoying this year because i have often seen our league gone up in smoke after 1-2 games,but you got to keep on trucking.
ultra competitive,how it should be.

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 20/02/2017 16:35:26    1958776

If this is rock-an-roll then I want my money back.

Fair play to Wexford on the win yesterday, it was deserved (Galway cant be outscored by that amount in the final quarter and expect to win the game).

Great to host the Wexford gang - might craic outta them throughout the match.

Disappointing from a Galway perspective however, Cunningham must feel somewhat vindicated. They need big Johhny Glynn back badly

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 706 - 20/02/2017 16:38:35    1958778

Replying To preddan:  "Oldtourman
Is mossie dowling still going strong down there"
As far as I know he is fine. He is from Killmallock and as I live outside the county I have not seen him for a number of years.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4318 - 20/02/2017 18:03:57    1958814

Replying To ColinWex:  "Don't jinx us!"
Colin
I could not jinx Wexford even I wanted to in this case. All that can happen is that the lower team in 1A will stay up and the top 2 in 1B would go up, if there is any change at all

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4318 - 20/02/2017 18:08:22    1958817

Replying To The_DOC:  "If this is rock-an-roll then I want my money back.

Fair play to Wexford on the win yesterday, it was deserved (Galway cant be outscored by that amount in the final quarter and expect to win the game).

Great to host the Wexford gang - might craic outta them throughout the match.

Disappointing from a Galway perspective however, Cunningham must feel somewhat vindicated. They need big Johhny Glynn back badly"
Great to be playing a top county like galway, great weekend for family in the city and hurling win really made the week end, my young lad a real Joe canning fan and not having him fit was the only negative of the game as you would pay money to watch talent like him on the hurling field.
The structure of the league is OK but two teams have to be promoted/ relegated!!!! Keeps leagues refreshing and gives ever county a chance to improve. One simple change is all that is needed!!
There is every chance that galway and limerick could be stuck in 1b for a few years, what way is that to promote hurling. My son has not seen wexford play league hurling against tipp or the cats!!! I grew up on them games with wexford park buzzing.
Offaly have been left to rott in that division and look like getting relegated.. just like Antrim before them. Wexford very lucky same has not happened to them.

tonydoranfan (Wexford) - Posts: 550 - 20/02/2017 18:33:11    1958827

Hurling is about the big three, outside of them the gaa does not really care bout hurling and league structure clearly defines that logic.
Has to be two up and two down to keep things fresh.
Only hope is that cats are relegated and then all structures will change to suit, some fun next year with possible galway limerick and killkenny looking for one promotion spot.. gaa won't allow it !!!!!

tonydoranfan (Wexford) - Posts: 550 - 20/02/2017 18:39:59    1958831

Replying To tonydoranfan:  "Hurling is about the big three, outside of them the gaa does not really care bout hurling and league structure clearly defines that logic.
Has to be two up and two down to keep things fresh.
Only hope is that cats are relegated and then all structures will change to suit, some fun next year with possible galway limerick and killkenny looking for one promotion spot.. gaa won't allow it !!!!!"
Absolutely agree with of the above. I would go farther and say the back door system was introduced in the nineties, when Clare, Offaly and Wexford were breaking the mould in hurling and Galway Limerick also looked threathening. Football was suffering a similiar 'malaise' with Kerry and Dublin struggling and only winning one All Ireland in that decade.
Well we could not let that trend develop now, could we. It was a case of down with that sort of thing.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4318 - 20/02/2017 21:32:32    1958904

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Absolutely agree with of the above. I would go farther and say the back door system was introduced in the nineties, when Clare, Offaly and Wexford were breaking the mould in hurling and Galway Limerick also looked threathening. Football was suffering a similiar 'malaise' with Kerry and Dublin struggling and only winning one All Ireland in that decade.
Well we could not let that trend develop now, could we. It was a case of down with that sort of thing."
Offaly left to rot in 1b and wexford lucky they did not go the same way. Who next galway?????
All the money pumped in to Dublin hurling and the likes of offaly wexford laois and Westmeath treated like rural backwaters . Poor Antrim hurling a thorn in the side of the gaa, forget bout them and they might go away attitude!!!!
Dublin is where the money is and the gaa know that!!!! Not knocking Dublin hurling as it's great to have them strong but fair is fair
96 final should of been wexford and clare!!!

tonydoranfan (Wexford) - Posts: 550 - 20/02/2017 21:55:05    1958917

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Absolutely agree with of the above. I would go farther and say the back door system was introduced in the nineties, when Clare, Offaly and Wexford were breaking the mould in hurling and Galway Limerick also looked threathening. Football was suffering a similiar 'malaise' with Kerry and Dublin struggling and only winning one All Ireland in that decade.
Well we could not let that trend develop now, could we. It was a case of down with that sort of thing."
Offaly left to rot in 1b and wexford lucky they did not go the same way. Who next galway?????
All the money pumped in to Dublin hurling and the likes of offaly wexford laois and Westmeath treated like rural backwaters . Poor Antrim hurling a thorn in the side of the gaa, forget bout them and they might go away attitude!!!!
Dublin is where the money is and the gaa know that!!!! Not knocking Dublin hurling as it's great to have them strong but fair is fair
96 final should of been wexford and clare!!!

tonydoranfan (Wexford) - Posts: 550 - 20/02/2017 21:56:39    1958918

Replying To tonydoranfan:  "Offaly left to rot in 1b and wexford lucky they did not go the same way. Who next galway?????
96 final should of been wexford and clare!!!"
Tipp beat wexford in semi after coming through back door in its first year

tonydoranfan (Wexford) - Posts: 550 - 20/02/2017 22:01:53    1958922

Some truth in this, but the likes of Limerick, Wexford and Offaly to a lesser extent given the small number of clubs, can't just blame "the GAA" for us being in division 2 for years and doing nothing in the championship (except 2014 for us). We need to look at our own counties structures & failings there too. There have been years when Dublin, Clare & Waterford have been in division 2 and we weren't good enough to beat them.

We are not as big cash cows for the GAA as the big 3 but neither are Waterford and Clare and look how much they've done and how far they are ahead of us.

county man (Limerick) - Posts: 1102 - 20/02/2017 22:17:34    1958931

Replying To tonydoranfan:  "Offaly left to rot in 1b and wexford lucky they did not go the same way. Who next galway?????
As if throwing money at something is a 'cure all'? Just take a look at the HSE. Weren't those counties you mentioned not ratified for special funding a short while ago specifically to help redevelop hurling?

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 20/02/2017 22:59:25    1958950

In 1996 Clare were three points up with a few minutes to go and were beaten. Tipp were ten points up with fifteen minutes to go and their opponents scored ten unanswered points in a row and then beat them in the replay..
Cork were also beaten at home for the first time in 73 years and by a huge margin at that.
The teams that contested the 96 final were both there on merit.
I might add that Wexford and Waterford should have contested the 2004 All Ireland, instead two beaten teams played in it.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4318 - 20/02/2017 23:52:48    1958961

Replying To Oldtourman:  "LRH
Please do not tell any supporters of teams that have been down for six (Wexford) or seven (limerick) years that promotion does not matter. Even on its own it is a massive achievement for Wexford."
Sorry, I didnt mean to come across as undermining the league. I have previously stated that Limerick in particular should give it 100% to get out of that division as it is hurting them in the long term. What I meant by the post was that while promotion is great for Wexford, if they are burnt out and loose in Leinster and are eiminated early in the qualifiers would this be seen as a sucessful year? Davy has already publicly stated he is going harded this year for the league than we may have with Clare in the past (which to me is crap as he always seemed to have us peaking for the league and had nohting else to thorw at teams come first round of the championship. We won a league and All Ireland in the time Davy was in charge but only won 1 Munster championship game in that time - this tells its own story).

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2479 - 21/02/2017 02:09:02    1958970

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Be careful there. Davy has a tendency to let his teams peak to early. Its great to see ye on the cusp of promotion though but June/July is when it matters. Looking at KK, ye have a good chance of being very competitive in Leinster this year."
Agree there is a chance, but when the fixtures dealt Wexford Limerick and Galway in the opening 2 rounds, of course Davy was going to target those 2 games as our league season depended on it.
Regarding Kilkenny, I think people should realise that they don't peak for the league, there are lads in Kilkenny with 10 league medals, and Cody was always going to experiment to try to find a new full and centre back, I would never rule them out and still think we are really up against it.

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 21/02/2017 08:08:52    1958986

Replying To Oldtourman:  "In 1996 Clare were three points up with a few minutes to go and were beaten. Tipp were ten points up with fifteen minutes to go and their opponents scored ten unanswered points in a row and then beat them in the replay..
Cork were also beaten at home for the first time in 73 years and by a huge margin at that.
The teams that contested the 96 final were both there on merit.
I might add that Wexford and Waterford should have contested the 2004 All Ireland, instead two beaten teams played in it."
sorry, 1997 all ireland final was the first back door year not 96 as i stated.
97 should of been clare and wexford. Tipp beat wexford in semi final after clare beat them in munster.

wexford offaly clare and limerick contested three finals in a row between them from 94 to 96, pity limerick didnt win at least one final as Carey played his heart out in two finals, some hurler

tonydoranfan (Wexford) - Posts: 550 - 21/02/2017 08:30:38    1958997

Replying To county man:  "Some truth in this, but the likes of Limerick, Wexford and Offaly to a lesser extent given the small number of clubs, can't just blame "the GAA" for us being in division 2 for years and doing nothing in the championship (except 2014 for us). We need to look at our own counties structures & failings there too. There have been years when Dublin, Clare & Waterford have been in division 2 and we weren't good enough to beat them.

We are not as big cash cows for the GAA as the big 3 but neither are Waterford and Clare and look how much they've done and how far they are ahead of us."
the big three can regroup a lot quicker than the rest after a lean period but we cant. we just dont have the number of players.
when we go down we find it harder to get back up and same will happen to waterford and clare over time

tonydoranfan (Wexford) - Posts: 550 - 21/02/2017 08:35:48    1958999

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Sorry, I didnt mean to come across as undermining the league. I have previously stated that Limerick in particular should give it 100% to get out of that division as it is hurting them in the long term. What I meant by the post was that while promotion is great for Wexford, if they are burnt out and loose in Leinster and are eiminated early in the qualifiers would this be seen as a sucessful year? Davy has already publicly stated he is going harded this year for the league than we may have with Clare in the past (which to me is crap as he always seemed to have us peaking for the league and had nohting else to thorw at teams come first round of the championship. We won a league and All Ireland in the time Davy was in charge but only won 1 Munster championship game in that time - this tells its own story)."
You're right. Promotion means feck all if you go out early in the championship. I'd take beating ye in a few months over promotion any day of the week. And I'm guessing likewise you'd take a decent Summer over winning the league last year. The league only matters while it's on because it gives fellas something to talk about. But in the bigger scheme of things form and results in Feb and March aren't even thought about come June. I couldn't care less if we are another 100 years in 1b. Championship is all that matters.

mike03 (Limerick) - Posts: 2000 - 21/02/2017 09:45:14    1959014