Dublin v Mayo. Who will win the 2017 All Ireland football final?

Replying To Ah_Here:  "Jim and his team have been keeping a close eye on Mayo all year, as they have Kerry and Tyrone.
And like wise. All 4 teams have been watching each other.

Dublin looked awesome against Tyrone. They are starting to do in the All Ireland series what they have been
doing in Leinster for a decade. Crushing teams.

If they crush Mayo in the AI it will be a significant indicator as to what might happen for the next decade.

There is a possibility it will happen.

The most likely scenario is that it will be tight and the Dubs will roll the Calvary off the bench.

In soccer terms Mayo bench has a couple of €10Million players on it, The Dubs have €50million on their bench and more of them.

It will have to be an exceptional performance from Mayo to win. Not impossible but unlikely .."
" If they crush Mayo in the AI it will be a significant indicator as to what might happen for the next decade"

Then , it would be like an affair . You spend all that time wanting & chasing , then you get it time & time again , take your thrills , play around with it & then get bored & toss it aside :) Then Kerry will get it again , maybe even Mayo .... & then Dublin will want it back again !

Rubberbandit (Clare) - Posts: 2 - 01/09/2017 14:39:43    2041608

I think the bookies are getting it wrong:
Dublin 2/7
Mayo 3/1
Crazy odds.
We should remember Donegal 2014

There could be some wealthy Mayo lads out there in just over 2 weeks....!

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3732 - 01/09/2017 21:30:26    2041709

Replying To cavanman47:  "Jim is absolutely and totally condescending towards opponents - not the slightest bit respectful!

He claims to have not watched Mayo since Dublin played them in March. Does anyone really believe that!?? He said the same about Tyrone. . . .as if to say "Mayo? Tyrone? Why would I bother wasting my time watching those teams?""
Cavanman speak for yourself, sure Gavin said after the Monaghah game that he had not watched Tyrone, and then after the Tyrone game that he had not watched Mayo, this shows the utmost respect for the opposition i.e. Jim takes one game at a time and won't jump the next hurdle till he he tackles the one in front of him, smart man.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 677 - 01/09/2017 22:39:09    2041725

Replying To Rubberbandit:  "" If they crush Mayo in the AI it will be a significant indicator as to what might happen for the next decade"

Then , it would be like an affair . You spend all that time wanting & chasing , then you get it time & time again , take your thrills , play around with it & then get bored & toss it aside :) Then Kerry will get it again , maybe even Mayo .... & then Dublin will want it back again !"
The thing is though, Dublin won't get the same game they got against Tyrone. Tyrone were terrible and Kerry not much better and Mayo will bring a much harsher test for Dublin in the final.
Wouldn't guage the outcome on how the semifinals went at all as both teams will be much more tested in the final.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 02/09/2017 09:13:52    2041753

Replying To cavanman47:  "Jim is absolutely and totally condescending towards opponents - not the slightest bit respectful!

He claims to have not watched Mayo since Dublin played them in March. Does anyone really believe that!?? He said the same about Tyrone. . . .as if to say "Mayo? Tyrone? Why would I bother wasting my time watching those teams?""
That's a crazy statement and goes against everything the man himself is telling us. So are you saying he is condescending and a liar? He has never been anything but respectful and gracious in victory or defeat.

Marse (Dublin) - Posts: 217 - 02/09/2017 12:40:55    2041786

All we want is a good ref not like last year where one was easily influenced by social media

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 02/09/2017 14:18:42    2041815

I think Mayo might win this, the lack of challenge provided by Tyrone did Dublin no favours.

Mayo have battled along, started off playing poorly in Connacht, but have seriously improved along the way and may just be about to peak at the right moment.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 02/09/2017 19:45:26    2041934

All we ask for is that Mayo take their hammering like men this year and no crying like last year. Last years ref did everything in his power to get Mayo the draw and they were still crying after.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 02/09/2017 21:07:40    2041976

Replying To clondalkindub:  "All we ask for is that Mayo take their hammering like men this year and no crying like last year. Last years ref did everything in his power to get Mayo the draw and they were still crying after."
Lets see,,

Vishred (Mayo) - Posts: 303 - 02/09/2017 21:14:20    2041981

Replying To clondalkindub:  "All we ask for is that Mayo take their hammering like men this year and no crying like last year. Last years ref did everything in his power to get Mayo the draw and they were still crying after."
Stop trash talking your a better poster than that

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 03/09/2017 14:01:35    2042143

Replying To yew_tree:  "Stop trash talking your a better poster than that"
You're being disrespectful

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 03/09/2017 14:53:40    2042156

Replying To clondalkindub:  "You're being disrespectful"
Get up the yard Clondalkin!

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 03/09/2017 15:24:55    2042168

While I'd love to see Mayo lift Sam I don't think they will.
Mayo will go down as one of the great teams to never win the All Ireland. ( hope I'm wrong )
Dublin are a machine, completely different animal to any other team out there.
Will Mayo get the easy scores like they did against us? No chance.
I can't think of an All Ireland final that this Dublin team actually played to their potential in yet they won them all.
I think this year they will show up and win by 5/6.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 03/09/2017 15:41:49    2042173

You mean like when he let John Small get away with a blatant black card offence and then gave Mayo's best player a black card for nothing?

Gaillimh_Abu (Galway) - Posts: 996 - 03/09/2017 19:36:09    2042274

I'm sure what Jim Gavin says would always have some meaning behind it in one way or another all part of the psychology involved in gaa management. Like many managers out there.

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 03/09/2017 20:10:44    2042299

Replying To Gaillimh_Abu:  "You mean like when he let John Small get away with a blatant black card offence and then gave Mayo's best player a black card for nothing?"
Ah here.... Galway men and women should be rejoicing after winning the Liam McCarthy Cup for the first time in 3 decades and a Galway poster takes time out to retort a post about the ref in the Dublin v Mayo replay last Sept.
Unbelievable. There is always one.
For heavens sake enjoy your night.....

ps. Keegan deserved a Black Card.
As did Small.
As did others on the day.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3732 - 03/09/2017 20:17:09    2042303

Replying To Gaillimh_Abu:  "You mean like when he let John Small get away with a blatant black card offence and then gave Mayo's best player a black card for nothing?"
James McCarthys black card the first day must never have happened? Jonny Cooper the same? John Small was brutal the second day he would of done us a favour black carding him. In real time the whole stadium knew keegan was a goner. SLO Mo replays after tell a different story but in real time not one mayo supporter complained.

Trust me in two weeks when we win by 10+ there will be no crying (I hope)

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 03/09/2017 20:20:08    2042305

Mayo to win
Of course they are the team who physically match Dublin and all they want to do is stop giving away silly goals. Two own goals last year tells its own story.

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 03/09/2017 21:05:21    2042327

Replying To SamOnErrigal:  "Mayo to win
Of course they are the team who physically match Dublin and all they want to do is stop giving away silly goals. Two own goals last year tells its own story."
Two own goals doesn't really tell the story, both conceded in the first half of a two-game decider, loads of time for either team to put their imprint on the game, Dubs won, end of story, new game in two weeks, may the best team take Sam

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 677 - 03/09/2017 21:59:19    2042345

What did you think of Jim Gavin's comment's about the referee after this year's league final?

glasagusdhearg (Mayo) - Posts: 55 - 03/09/2017 22:56:35    2042368