Galway v Tipperary

Replying To WildPundit:  "Fair play buddy they went down fighting. We didn't let Galway run all over us I'm proud of the lads and I know I'm critical of them here most of the time but I'd support them through thick and thin.
We've had many great days since 2014 but one thing about Tipp we seem be always on the wrong end of a classic!!
Fair play our boys looking forward to the bounce back in 2018."
It's a killer to lose a game like that but when it's so close a one or two point lead is massive. Galway were 2 up with 10 - 15 to go and that was huge. We were left chasing the game, not the position you want to be in heading into the home strait.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 07/08/2017 13:57:49    2030227

Anyone else think that canning should have received a second yellow long before he had a chance to get any winning scores?

890202 (Wexford) - Posts: 1278 - 07/08/2017 14:30:04    2030243

Replying To 890202:  "Anyone else think that canning should have received a second yellow long before he had a chance to get any winning scores?"
If today's referees were in charge of the Tipp vs Galway games of the late 80s they would had ended 4 a side.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 07/08/2017 14:52:17    2030268

Replying To skillet:  "Super post mate.. Very well articulated and agree with all the sentiment expressed.
Sad to admit I grew up with a bit of a pathological hatred of Tipp, growing up on the Limerick/Tipp border, with a long and miserable history of underachievement, I was fed a diet of nonsense about Tipp arrogance, basically excuses about why my county can't ever get over the finishing line.
Point is simply this.. The admiration I have for the current Tipp side is unparalleled..
I thought they were fantastic yesterday, despite their Limitations they took an excellent Galway team to the wire. Could have snatched a draw at the end and it would have been fully deserved.. I would love to see my own county able to challenge as consistently as Tipp and Galway.. A great game, had everything. Hurling played well is unsurpassed as a sport."
We're not a bad crowd in fairness!! I'd love to see Limerick challenge too I'm on the border too and have lived and I work in Limerick. Socialize there many good mates in the treaty as well as family.
Hopefully ye can get a few lads from the u21 panel blooded fast next 3 years in hurling could be excellent times if Limerick ,Clare and Wexford keep bringing on young lads who hold no fear.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 07/08/2017 15:38:02    2030311

And just one final point on Galway I feel the last 3 years they have been the best team in the country to watch but just came up short against KK in 2015 and Tipp 2016 who were at their peak.
I wouldn't begrudge any of the 3 teams left an all Ireland looking forward to watching the final on the box for a change!!

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 07/08/2017 15:41:24    2030315

anybody know if Mick Ryan will stay on?

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 07/08/2017 19:29:10    2030538

Of course mick will stay,winnersast year on his first year,only piped in the semi of his second year,Ryan is a driven man,and will have tipp back again in 2018

Tipptipp (Tipperary) - Posts: 62 - 07/08/2017 19:31:59    2030542

Replying To SaffronDon:  "anybody know if Mick Ryan will stay on?"
As far as I know he is, fingers crossed.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 07/08/2017 19:52:03    2030557

Well done to Galway. The best team undoubtedly won the game. Tipp had more than enough chances to win it but it was a game riddled with errors and probably didn't live up to expectations. The Galway backs hurled pretty well but tipp has enough chances to win it. I haven't seen the match back on tv but their were some decisions I was annoyed with at the time.
The Galway management made the right calls in the end. I was sure joe would be taken off as he was extremely poor for most of the game as was david Burke and daithi Burke was also very nervy at full back. All that though is a good sign for Galway that their three leaders were completely off form for most of the game and still won.
From a tipp point of view I thought McCormack had a brilliant game and Brendan maher as was ever immense in the big game. Paudie was once again the best player on the field. He's well on the way to being tipps greatest every player in my opinion.
Galway will need to cut out the errors to win the final but they won't be far away that's for sure.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 07/08/2017 19:59:30    2030562

Replying To Tipptipp:  "Of course mick will stay,winnersast year on his first year,only piped in the semi of his second year,Ryan is a driven man,and will have tipp back again in 2018"
relax im only asking because i dont know and nothing official seems to have come out yet. I think he's a top manager and hope he does stay on

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 07/08/2017 20:07:38    2030571

Also it's almost certain Tuohy will now miss the final. I think it's a very harsh rule but their was clear intent. Do Galway now need to shuffle their pack to replace him? He's a huge loss to Galway. They've a very settled side this year and his loss shouldn't be underestimated.
I haven't seen the game back on to but at the time I was sure canning would be cited for his high tackle on maher. Was it as bad as it looked?
Not sour grapes by the way...as I said the best team won!

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 07/08/2017 20:09:09    2030573

Replying To tiobraid:  "Well done to Galway. The best team undoubtedly won the game. Tipp had more than enough chances to win it but it was a game riddled with errors and probably didn't live up to expectations. The Galway backs hurled pretty well but tipp has enough chances to win it. I haven't seen the match back on tv but their were some decisions I was annoyed with at the time.
The Galway management made the right calls in the end. I was sure joe would be taken off as he was extremely poor for most of the game as was david Burke and daithi Burke was also very nervy at full back. All that though is a good sign for Galway that their three leaders were completely off form for most of the game and still won.
From a tipp point of view I thought McCormack had a brilliant game and Brendan maher as was ever immense in the big game. Paudie was once again the best player on the field. He's well on the way to being tipps greatest every player in my opinion.
Galway will need to cut out the errors to win the final but they won't be far away that's for sure."
Perfect way for Galway to qualify for the Final.Semis are there to be won.I think Galway will beat the winners of Cork/Waterford in the Final.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2162 - 07/08/2017 20:22:57    2030582

Replying To endgame:  "Perfect way for Galway to qualify for the Final.Semis are there to be won.I think Galway will beat the winners of Cork/Waterford in the Final."
Yes I agree 100%. Tipp were poor and lucky last year in the semi but my point is they will need to improve significantly to win it. Personally I still think cork are the team to beat and if they get through and Tuohy is out they could certainly win it. Tuohys loss may not be felt as badly against Waterford but don't forgot galway have frozen a few times against Waterford in the last 10
Years or so
far from a forgone conclusion which galway are well aware of

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 07/08/2017 20:45:28    2030596

I hope the Deise win it, if not Galway, Cork are the bronze option not out of any disrespect to the Rebels or Tribesmen but I'd love a side to win it who hasn't since the 50s

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 07/08/2017 20:52:26    2030600

Replying To tiobraid:  "Also it's almost certain Tuohy will now miss the final. I think it's a very harsh rule but their was clear intent. Do Galway now need to shuffle their pack to replace him? He's a huge loss to Galway. They've a very settled side this year and his loss shouldn't be underestimated.
I haven't seen the game back on to but at the time I was sure canning would be cited for his high tackle on maher. Was it as bad as it looked?
Not sour grapes by the way...as I said the best team won!"
There's another thread on the Tuohy incident but I can't agree with you that a suspension is almost certain and that you can be so sure there was intent considering he was facing the opposite direction. A suspension in the circumstances would be more than harsh -- in my opinion, of itself it doesn't warrant one but of course the powers that be could go down that route simply to legitimise the TDB suspension. Personally I think the deBurca one is harsh as well but the difference is that one was dealt with on the field of play and a red card issued for it, it was in the refs report and therefore the sanction was/is unavoidable for that reason. In Touhy's case no action was taken on the field and I would be fairly sure Kelly will not be mentioning it in his report as he's not the kind of man to be swayed by media reactions. It would be going down a very murky route indeed if video evidence was used to convict a player in the absence of it being mentioned in the refs report. Btw it would be the height of madness for any player to deliberately interfere with a helmet in front of TV cameras given the severe punishment for doing so, so if intent is the criteria under the microscope I would argue that the DeBurca suspension should be rescinded too.

Don't know where you were seeing the high tackle by Canning...unless you mean the yellow card incident which was dealt with by the referee as he saw fit, I can only presume you mean the shoulder to shoulder charge on Breen (?) which was fair and most certainly wasn't high and I think was more accurately executed that Bonnar Maher's tackle on Canning in last year's game.

I will concede we got 2 or 3 soft frees that I was not expecting us to get so if you want to feel sour about anything, you could have reason there. But by the same token we felt hard done by in a couple of decisions by the same ref in the corresponding game 12 months ago so there's an element of swings and roundabouts about it overall

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1903 - 07/08/2017 22:29:10    2030666

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "There's another thread on the Tuohy incident but I can't agree with you that a suspension is almost certain and that you can be so sure there was intent considering he was facing the opposite direction. A suspension in the circumstances would be more than harsh -- in my opinion, of itself it doesn't warrant one but of course the powers that be could go down that route simply to legitimise the TDB suspension. Personally I think the deBurca one is harsh as well but the difference is that one was dealt with on the field of play and a red card issued for it, it was in the refs report and therefore the sanction was/is unavoidable for that reason. In Touhy's case no action was taken on the field and I would be fairly sure Kelly will not be mentioning it in his report as he's not the kind of man to be swayed by media reactions. It would be going down a very murky route indeed if video evidence was used to convict a player in the absence of it being mentioned in the refs report. Btw it would be the height of madness for any player to deliberately interfere with a helmet in front of TV cameras given the severe punishment for doing so, so if intent is the criteria under the microscope I would argue that the DeBurca suspension should be rescinded too.

Don't know where you were seeing the high tackle by Canning...unless you mean the yellow card incident which was dealt with by the referee as he saw fit, I can only presume you mean the shoulder to shoulder charge on Breen (?) which was fair and most certainly wasn't high and I think was more accurately executed that Bonnar Maher's tackle on Canning in last year's game.

I will concede we got 2 or 3 soft frees that I was not expecting us to get so if you want to feel sour about anything, you could have reason there. But by the same token we felt hard done by in a couple of decisions by the same ref in the corresponding game 12 months ago so there's an element of swings and roundabouts about it overall"
Just watched the first half again and there was nothing in cannings tackle. I thought it was A Hurley to the face or neck area.
From the highlights on the Sunday game I think tuohys was certainly deliberate. Anyone who has played hurling knows its not natural to grab at a helmet and he made a few grabs at it.
Impossible for Kelly to see it tho and it'll be harsh but justified under current rules.
Few other decisions could've went our way but Kelly didn't cost us the game. We have been poor all year and despite a huge up in intensity we were quite poor yesterday also. Don't fault the players in any way. It's not easy to put back to back. Disappointed with some jibes fromgalway people about the one in a row specialists.
Galway have only won 20% of the finals they're in so I'd expect some more humility from that minority' of supporters.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 07/08/2017 23:33:34    2030706

Replying To tiobraid:  "Just watched the first half again and there was nothing in cannings tackle. I thought it was A Hurley to the face or neck area.
From the highlights on the Sunday game I think tuohys was certainly deliberate. Anyone who has played hurling knows its not natural to grab at a helmet and he made a few grabs at it.
Impossible for Kelly to see it tho and it'll be harsh but justified under current rules.
Few other decisions could've went our way but Kelly didn't cost us the game. We have been poor all year and despite a huge up in intensity we were quite poor yesterday also. Don't fault the players in any way. It's not easy to put back to back. Disappointed with some jibes fromgalway people about the one in a row specialists.
Galway have only won 20% of the finals they're in so I'd expect some more humility from that minority' of supporters."
Its hard to win back to back even in football. Look at the Dubs they won 2011 AI Final and lost semi by a point a year later.
They went onto win the AI again in 2013 but lost the AI Semi in 2014.
Now they have won 2 in a row and going for 3 and could win 5 in a row!!
Galway have been there or thereabouts since 2015 and consistently putting it up to Tipp & Kilkenny and this year they just peaked.
There's minority in every county even with our own supporters I'm sure Kilkenny lads have heard some guff from our crew over the years!!
I believe there is still another 2 all Ireland's in this Tipp team I dont expect any retirements this year unless Gleeson calls it a day but Darragh Mooney should have learned this year and he got game time under his belt so I wouldnt worry in that aspect.
One thing that did irk me on Sunday was that Tipp only made 2 changes and we didnt replace the players who were not in the game.
Sean Curran had a little cameo as a blood sub and did ok and when we were not winning ball Steven O'Brien should have been bought on.Big lad can win ball in the air no bother. How his still not starting is a mystery.
There's a good panel there and with a few minors awaiting to step up we'll be competitive for a few years.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 08/08/2017 11:25:43    2030877

Replying To tiobraid:  "Just watched the first half again and there was nothing in cannings tackle. I thought it was A Hurley to the face or neck area.
Galway have only won 20% of the finals they're in so I'd expect some more humility from that minority' of supporters."
The thing is, if it was deliberate it would NOT be harsh. I just don't accept though that it was deliberate. If I did, I would have to question Tuohy's intelligence. You would need to be the most brainless hurler ever to interfere deliberately with an opponent's helmet these days. To get yourself a certain ban and for what immediate benefit? If a player wants to engage in dirty tricks there are far more subtle and more effective ways of doing so that will not get you a ban. The SG trio said it was not black and white. They are correct. It would need to be black and white before a ban could be justifiably enforced.

The one in a row jibers must be part of the juvenile set (even if some of them are supposed to be adults!) Presumably most of them reside along the Tipp border. Isn't there supposed to be a thread on PV about all the world events that have happened since Galway last won the All Ireland? I would suggest that it is more than likely in response to that. On the whole it is probably meant in the spirit of banter but I can well understand how it can rankle. Believe me, I've been on the receiving end of Tipp jibes in the past too! I remember particularly in 2010 when over in a quiet corner after the match and wanting time and space to lick our very raw wounds, the group I was with was sought out by a horde of Tipp youngsters who were very keen to rub salt into those wounds. Every county has a percentage of those kind of fans....I suppose it is something that goes hand in hand with an intense rivalry.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1903 - 08/08/2017 11:30:57    2030883

Replying To WildPundit:  "Its hard to win back to back even in football. Look at the Dubs they won 2011 AI Final and lost semi by a point a year later.
They went onto win the AI again in 2013 but lost the AI Semi in 2014.
Now they have won 2 in a row and going for 3 and could win 5 in a row!!
Galway have been there or thereabouts since 2015 and consistently putting it up to Tipp & Kilkenny and this year they just peaked.
There's minority in every county even with our own supporters I'm sure Kilkenny lads have heard some guff from our crew over the years!!
I believe there is still another 2 all Ireland's in this Tipp team I dont expect any retirements this year unless Gleeson calls it a day but Darragh Mooney should have learned this year and he got game time under his belt so I wouldnt worry in that aspect.
One thing that did irk me on Sunday was that Tipp only made 2 changes and we didnt replace the players who were not in the game.
Sean Curran had a little cameo as a blood sub and did ok and when we were not winning ball Steven O'Brien should have been bought on.Big lad can win ball in the air no bother. How his still not starting is a mystery.
There's a good panel there and with a few minors awaiting to step up we'll be competitive for a few years."
I'd fully agree on O'Brien. Bonner had to be replaced. Two other positional decisions probably cost us the game. The first was moving Noel from centre forward where he had Mcinerney in serious bother. The most baffling of all was putting Maher back on Glynn. Galway were clever then and moved Glynn into the corner which took Maher out of the game. I would've let Glynn win as much ball as he liked as he hasn't natural scoring ability unlike Canning.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 08/08/2017 11:52:18    2030902

Replying To tiobraid:  "Yes I agree 100%. Tipp were poor and lucky last year in the semi but my point is they will need to improve significantly to win it. Personally I still think cork are the team to beat and if they get through and Tuohy is out they could certainly win it. Tuohys loss may not be felt as badly against Waterford but don't forgot galway have frozen a few times against Waterford in the last 10
Years or so
far from a forgone conclusion which galway are well aware of"
Galway have never 'frozen' v Waterford imo, in the 3 occasions I've seen that championship matchup. We were too green '98, too 'rode' in '09, and way too soft/unfit/poor in '11. In actual fact, when McIntyre left after 3 yrs in charge in '11, his hilarious going away speech included the line that 'Galway were farther than ever away' from winning an all-ireland. Yet AC had us 'at the races' a mere 12 months later, and had a fine tenure imo, despite clearly alienating the players by the end of it!

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3419 - 08/08/2017 11:59:13    2030911