Tyrone v Donegal

Well done Tyrone on destroying us on all fronts today .

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 18/06/2017 18:16:49    2001257

Replying To border Gael:  "Donegal should have got 3 black cards today. Mark Bradley got a lot of attention including 2 trips and the ref ignored him. I said on Friday night that Tyrone are most dangerous when they're written off and the sure were for this one"
I am reading most of you're posts with bemusement here. The one about Tyrone been written off? Like who was writing them off? In all of the prematch previews I have read or listened to opinion was generally split as to who would win. I heard or read nobody writing off Tyrone but what some pundits were pointing out was that their transition period was over and now was the time to kick on and really challenge outside of Ulster.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2781 - 18/06/2017 18:30:47    2001272

Replying To benjyyy:  "High tackles are not a black card offence."
Is it red then. I understood it was part of the reason why the black card was brought in.

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 894 - 18/06/2017 18:40:25    2001276

Replying To panamasam:  "I am reading most of you're posts with bemusement here. The one about Tyrone been written off? Like who was writing them off? In all of the prematch previews I have read or listened to opinion was generally split as to who would win. I heard or read nobody writing off Tyrone but what some pundits were pointing out was that their transition period was over and now was the time to kick on and really challenge outside of Ulster."
All the sports analysts here in Ireland. Read the sports pages in all the Irish newspapers from last week and from today. Then come back and name those who gave Tyrone any hope of winning today?? Peter Canavan gave them the nod to win as did Colm Parkinson and Stevie Mc Donnell. All else wrote them off.

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 894 - 18/06/2017 18:45:30    2001280

I was at this game as a neutral.

It should end the myth that all ulster football is dour and low scoring.

There was plenty of goal chances in the game as well.

Great tension in the air before the game.

Real championship atmosphere.

Some of the scores in the game were fantastic particularly one of Mattie Donnelly's he should get the man of the match for that alone.

I don't know what happened Donegal in the later stages of the first half.
Tyrone put a complete stop to thier gallop.
It was over as a contest at half time.

gormdubhgorm (Dublin) - Posts: 990 - 18/06/2017 18:48:04    2001283

Replying To benjyyy:  "High tackles are not a black card offence."
High tackles are black cards if the intention is to deliberately drag someone to the ground as they were today, meant nothing at that stage , not up to the ref to decide not to enforce the rules just because of the scoreboard

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 18/06/2017 18:53:02    2001286

Congratulations to Tyrone today on an excellent performance and dishing out what was an emphatic drubbing. If someone had suggested this outcome to me 20 mins into the match I would have been a bit worried about their mental state. This was a real statement of intent from Tyrone today and I think the rest of the country will really have taken note. It reminded me of Donegal in 2012 where they got their provincial title the previous year and then evolved their game to another level. I thought Tyrone would win by the odd point or 2 but I did not ever foresee such a battering. Tactically they were on a different dimension to Donegal and even though both got bodies back it was like chalk and cheese in terms of defending and intensity. Tyrone mixed up their play really well not just depending on hand passing. Their kickouts were excellent and the fulcrum from which alot of attacks were built. The runners in support and point taking was exceptional. While I think Monaghan will provide much sterner opposition than Donegal did today I fully expect Tyrone to enter the AI series as Ulster champions and now must be considered very serious contenders to lift Sam this year.

From a Donegal perspective another thoroughly disappointing day out which is sadly all too common under the current management regime. Credit to RG for bringing in so much youth but like has been pointed out here on various forums some of these players should have been integrated a year or 2 ago already. Also one or two players have been alienated away from the set up leaving a situation were there was not many other options than to go for the youthful option. Today was a real reality check that while there is no doubt there is plenty talented young players emerging in the county the step up to senior football at the upper echelons is a huge one. Physically alot of these lads are 2 or 3 years behind Tyrone and this was blatantly obvious today. RG has got a 3 year contract and while some of the faces in the team and set up have changed he has not evolved as a manager himself. Again Donegal showed themselves to be one trick ponies and even with the younger legs the predictable transitioning was ponderous to say the least. Yes the league was promising but that was against half fit teams with their eyes on the summer ahead. The most worrying aspect of today was the defending. All these bodies back yet Tyrone just ran up through the middle at ease with none of the Donegal players showing leadership and intensity to go to the man with the ball. I have gone on record saying that the qualifier route would be no bad thing for this young squad certainly done Tyrone no harm in 2015 but after such a battering I would not be overly optimistic.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2781 - 18/06/2017 19:00:23    2001293

Congrats to Tyrone, they were brilliant today and the scoreline didn't flatter them at all, they probably could have won by far more if they hadn't taken their foot off the pedal in the second half. Great performances from Colm Cavanagh and Mattie Donnelly.

As for Donegal, I thought it was very poor. We are just so one-dimensional, trying to run the ball from front to back all the time and trying to force our way through a blanket of Tyrone players around the 45. Once teams push up on our kick outs and we can't take short ones, we are all at sea. I would blame the management rather than the players. Not too sure where we go form here but Rory will be under serious pressure now.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1874 - 18/06/2017 19:34:10    2001321

Replying To border Gael:  "Is it red then. I understood it was part of the reason why the black card was brought in."
Until the rules change expect only a yellow for a high tackle. Same with a knee in the back, ie the kildare player on the meath player yesterday in the 2nd half. The ref can only enforce according to the rulebook, not bring his own version on the day of a game.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 18/06/2017 19:34:19    2001322

Replying To border Gael:  "All the sports analysts here in Ireland. Read the sports pages in all the Irish newspapers from last week and from today. Then come back and name those who gave Tyrone any hope of winning today?? Peter Canavan gave them the nod to win as did Colm Parkinson and Stevie Mc Donnell. All else wrote them off."
Include Dara OCinnidhe for tipping Tyrone, I read his article pre match. In fairness, before this game, anyone who was tipping either team was reluctant to call it definitively one way or the other.

I would guess that Tyrone will go in as red hot favorites for the Ulster final on the back of todays performance.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 18/06/2017 19:51:44    2001333

Replying To border Gael:  "All the sports analysts here in Ireland. Read the sports pages in all the Irish newspapers from last week and from today. Then come back and name those who gave Tyrone any hope of winning today?? Peter Canavan gave them the nod to win as did Colm Parkinson and Stevie Mc Donnell. All else wrote them off."
Absolute nonsense. I listened to all the same podcasts and it was absolutely split in opinion. I don't read the press so much because of some of the blatant bias and anti Ulster undercurrents.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2781 - 18/06/2017 19:55:35    2001340

Replying To Green_Gold:  "Congrats to Tyrone, they were brilliant today and the scoreline didn't flatter them at all, they probably could have won by far more if they hadn't taken their foot off the pedal in the second half. Great performances from Colm Cavanagh and Mattie Donnelly.

As for Donegal, I thought it was very poor. We are just so one-dimensional, trying to run the ball from front to back all the time and trying to force our way through a blanket of Tyrone players around the 45. Once teams push up on our kick outs and we can't take short ones, we are all at sea. I would blame the management rather than the players. Not too sure where we go form here but Rory will be under serious pressure now."
Will he though? He got a 3 year contract which in truth was unwarranted. He obviously talks a good game and has big influence with the board. What is most worrying is how his ego is now effecting the underage set ups. This year we had the scandalous situation where U-21 players were still been asked to play in league games after survival was guaranteed even though it was to the detriment of their own championship restricting their recovery time. Even Cavan who Donegal beat in the Ulster semi final allowed their U-21 players concentrate on that championship which was the same with the other main players like Tyrone, Dublin, Kerry and Galway. I am seriously worried about Donegal's prospects in next years inaugural U-20 championship if Gallagher involves most of the best players in his squad even though they will most likely not be involved yet still rule them out of playing for the U-20 team. One big lesson today was that our young players are miles off in terms of conditioning and physical strength when it comes to the upper echelons of senior championship football.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2781 - 18/06/2017 20:09:48    2001349

Replying To Donegalman:  "Include Dara OCinnidhe for tipping Tyrone, I read his article pre match. In fairness, before this game, anyone who was tipping either team was reluctant to call it definitively one way or the other.

I would guess that Tyrone will go in as red hot favorites for the Ulster final on the back of todays performance."
Exactly. Anything I listened to or odd bit of press I read had the same sentiments. If they went for one or the other it was still not with absolute conviction. I thought Tyrone would win today by the odd score but was far from convinced in my opinion. Maybe some elements of the media were writing off in terms of the AI but definitely not for the game today or winning an Ulster title.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2781 - 18/06/2017 20:26:51    2001360

Replying To benched:  "High tackles are black cards if the intention is to deliberately drag someone to the ground as they were today, meant nothing at that stage , not up to the ref to decide not to enforce the rules just because of the scoreboard"
Wrong. They were not black cards. Holding someone back is not a black card whether high or low. Stupid but that is the rules. For the one at the end over at the Gerry Arthur it looked like the Tyrone player grabbed the arm and went to ground.

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1422 - 18/06/2017 20:46:27    2001371

Replying To benjyyy:  "People talking as if Tyrone did something different today. They were as defensive as always but just very clinical. I think only 1 wide in the 1st half and that was with a lot of long range efforts.

I thought we were far too 'fair' in the tackle. Tyrone were hitting us harder and I thought Gough let them get away with a lot of stuff before getting frees. I think we only got 6 frees in the whole game. But we didn't tackle with the same intensity at all.

The game was over at half time really."
Benny catch a grip lad. Gough was very fair today, every Donegal person I talked to had no complaints but you clearly do.
You have Tyrone blood in you. You know the better team won.
Donegal will be a fine team in years to come and I feel they could make a good run in the qualifiers.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 18/06/2017 20:58:13    2001382

Just in the door and all I have to say is it was Men against boys today on the pitch and also on the sidelines.

Well done Tyrone.

InishowenMan (Donegal) - Posts: 216 - 18/06/2017 21:03:33    2001389

If tackles round the neck bringing players down are not black cards (at least) why did Gough give Sean Cavanaqgh a black card against Mayo last year?

That aside the Tyrone team played with a freedom (while still, rightly, within their great defensive framework ) not seen in a Tyrone team for nearly 10 years. Free at last great godamighty mebbe free at last. Talent will eventually out!

Really can't see Down or Monaghan beating Tyrone if they keep this free spirit now the genie is starting to come out of the bottle at last.

cjx (Tyrone) - Posts: 270 - 18/06/2017 21:25:49    2001405

Replying To benjyyy:  "Wrong. They were not black cards. Holding someone back is not a black card whether high or low. Stupid but that is the rules. For the one at the end over at the Gerry Arthur it looked like the Tyrone player grabbed the arm and went to ground."
Wrong you, deliberately drag someone to the ground black card, should it be by neck, arm, foot, leg or any other part of the body you want, simple as that. I'll leave it there, not going to get dragged into an argument over black card decisions tonight

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 18/06/2017 21:28:22    2001407

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Benny catch a grip lad. Gough was very fair today, every Donegal person I talked to had no complaints but you clearly do.
You have Tyrone blood in you. You know the better team won.
Donegal will be a fine team in years to come and I feel they could make a good run in the qualifiers."
These things are not mutually exclusive.Tyrone were really better in every aspect and in some aspects by a long, long way. That doesn't mean the ref had a great game. In saying that I've seen a lot worse. Listen its bitterly disappointing but no denying the better team by a mile won today.

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1422 - 18/06/2017 21:38:21    2001417

Congrats Tyrone on a very good performance today. In reality we were never in it. From back to front you look a very organised and calm team. Each player know their roles and the use of the long and short game was in stark contrast to our one dimensional running game. We continued to run the ball out of defence as Tyrone retreated in front of the ball. Our young lads don't have the strength to break the tackle yet we had no tactic to avoid it. Rory Gallagher was made look very amateur on the tactics side today.
Tyrone are a contender and good luck to them but be aware that we were useless today and stiffer challenges await. Certainly a top 4 side however and will have Kerry and Dublin sitting up straight after today. Well done again.
As for us, school day for the young lads, school day for Rory, tough day for the older lads, sun burn for the supporters and back door for all.

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 18/06/2017 21:39:09    2001418