Does GAA get fair coverage compared to soccer and rugby

more sports programmes less cookery programmes i say!!

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 21/06/2016 23:35:55    1870547

I think it's laughable here people giving out about 'negative' coverage on RTE yet we have now had in the last three weeks the Antrim/Meath hurling match debacle and now the Laois/Armagh subs issue. The focus should be on eliminating these type of cock-ups from our games and worrying afterwards about how it is portrayed.

jimski (Kildare) - Posts: 381 - 22/06/2016 00:02:16    1870549

Replying To jimski:  "I think it's laughable here people giving out about 'negative' coverage on RTE yet we have now had in the last three weeks the Antrim/Meath hurling match debacle and now the Laois/Armagh subs issue. The focus should be on eliminating these type of cock-ups from our games and worrying afterwards about how it is portrayed."
Jimski,

You can hardly blame the GAA for Laois' cock-up!!!

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 22/06/2016 11:26:43    1870660

Whammo,

"It's not the cost of the rights that I was thinking about really.

It's the cost of providing the actual footage I'm talking about. Camera crews and the like. I'm not an expert on it but I'd imagine those are pretty significant costs."

Will ya stop. Setanta & TG4 are the ones who send cameras to the league matches. RTE are either covering live championship games or providing highlights on the Sunday Game or League Sunday anyway so there's no additional costs involved in showing footage on Six One News & Sport. Jeez!

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 22/06/2016 11:43:59    1870668

My big thing is this whole discussion is why is the six one so important to you all.

GAA is still covered, it's coming in 3rd behind soccer and rugby.

In isolation that seems wrong.

GAA and soccer seem to be quite clearly the 2 most popular sports. So GAA is probably under represented.

My point is that the six one news isn't particularly important, that the actual coverage of matches is way more important and that RTE are spending considerably to cover those matches.

It winds me up also that GAA pieces are consistently negative. I think it reeks of South Dublin condescension. I think if I were mediaman this is where I'd focus my attention.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4215 - 22/06/2016 13:56:10    1870740

The point is that it's being shown that Gaelic Games are underrepresented on Six One News & Sport & it's often only deemed newsworthy when it's highlighting a negative incident. It seems you've accepted these points but still don't agree...?

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 22/06/2016 14:40:04    1870771

Replying To keeper7:  "The point is that it's being shown that Gaelic Games are underrepresented on Six One News & Sport & it's often only deemed newsworthy when it's highlighting a negative incident. It seems you've accepted these points but still don't agree...?"
The title of the thread is does GAA get fair coverage compared to soccer and rugby.

Based solely on the six one I'd agree that it is being under represented.

The six one is fair from being the entirety of RTEs sports coverage though.

When I take into account all the other coverage provided by rte for GAA I don't agree that it is being under represented.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4215 - 22/06/2016 15:01:51    1870785

Grand. Admin has my blessing to lock up this thread now on that technicality.

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 22/06/2016 15:37:02    1870795

Replying To keeper7:  "Grand. Admin has my blessing to lock up this thread now on that technicality."
It's not a technicality.

I really don't understand why the six one news is being used as the metric to determine that RTE aren't providing ample coverage.

I can't see how that is more important than the roughly 6 hours a week that they're providing in their regular programming.

The tone of their reporting does seem to be a cause for concern.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4215 - 22/06/2016 15:57:56    1870802

Right now the only coverage that I can see on the RTE sports website for the Monaghan v Donegal game is a mention of Neil McGee's red card appeal (failing). This is a huge game between 2 top 8 teams with a provincial final at stake and a very awkward qualifier route for the loser. There is a good chance of a very close exciting game. It'll be interesting whatever happens. This is hardly the level of coverage I'd expect even if it's on a rival broadcaster and it is early in the week. No doubt we'll be "treated" to Bernard Flynn or Martin Carney's "analysis" later on to keep us happy. As for the indo website - they don't even pretend anymore. In fact I was surprised that they are giving Euro 2016 large coverage (seeing as it's not a rugby competition), but on a closer look it's mostly of the "happy idiot fan" type with no real interest in the games. I know RTE and the indo aren't the only media outlets but it seems for them it's all rugby (and cricket)... one nearly unwatchable and you stand a good chance of being killed playing it (not to mention the while British Lions thing), and the other will bore you to death. Is this the future?

rcarragh (Dublin) - Posts: 305 - 22/06/2016 16:27:33    1870816

The headline article is about the Neil McGee red card decision. Is there any other team news announced they are missing??

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4624 - 22/06/2016 21:34:11    1870912

Replying To rcarragh:  "Right now the only coverage that I can see on the RTE sports website for the Monaghan v Donegal game is a mention of Neil McGee's red card appeal (failing). This is a huge game between 2 top 8 teams with a provincial final at stake and a very awkward qualifier route for the loser. There is a good chance of a very close exciting game. It'll be interesting whatever happens. This is hardly the level of coverage I'd expect even if it's on a rival broadcaster and it is early in the week. No doubt we'll be "treated" to Bernard Flynn or Martin Carney's "analysis" later on to keep us happy. As for the indo website - they don't even pretend anymore. In fact I was surprised that they are giving Euro 2016 large coverage (seeing as it's not a rugby competition), but on a closer look it's mostly of the "happy idiot fan" type with no real interest in the games. I know RTE and the indo aren't the only media outlets but it seems for them it's all rugby (and cricket)... one nearly unwatchable and you stand a good chance of being killed playing it (not to mention the while British Lions thing), and the other will bore you to death. Is this the future?"
Thankfully the soccer team will eclipse any result of the eggballers in their glorified friendly against 10% of South Africa. Great day ahead Sunday with dubs and meath preceeded by soccer then watch recording of kildare game. Not a sound of irelands call and dort accents.

sceptical (Cavan) - Posts: 544 - 22/06/2016 22:24:31    1870933

sceptical needless to say you wont be cheering on the 20s against england in world cup final , -that invitation to watch a club rugby game is still open - come down to young munster for a bit of a culture shock

im thrilled for ireland cheers me up after thurles on sunday

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 22/06/2016 23:08:38    1870963

On Sunday June 5th the RTE 6.01 News and Sport reported on the previous day's controversy over the result of the Christy Ring Cup Final between Meath and Antrim.
On Monday June 6th there was a second item on the controversy.
On Tuesday June 7th RTE broadcast a third item on the match including interviews obtained by sending a camera crew to Navan.
On Wednesday June 8th for the fourth evening in a row the 6.01 News and Sport referred to the same controversy.

The match is being replayed in Croke Park tomorrow. However the re-fixture didn't merit even one second of this evening's 6 minutes and 50 seconds 6.01 Sports bulletin. Another case of No Controversy No Coverage.

mediaman (Antrim) - Posts: 355 - 24/06/2016 21:13:27    1871709

If they had covered it this evening they would have had to mention the farcical outcome of the first game and you would be complaining about the negative coverage. You're never happy.

jimski (Kildare) - Posts: 381 - 24/06/2016 21:37:12    1871721

I heard that Newstalk Radio Breakfast show has a new "sports journalist". Guess who- Alan Quinlan the ex Munster rugby player. I hope he is friendly to the GAA.
When the Irish D4 media refer to sports they usually mean Rugby or often Football. So in my opinion, Sport journalist means Rugby/football journalist.
I wonder if the GAA will get a look in? Hopefully yes.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2518 - 29/06/2016 12:53:40    1873775

Replying To jimski:  "If they had covered it this evening they would have had to mention the farcical outcome of the first game and you would be complaining about the negative coverage. You're never happy."
That's a ridiculous statement, Jimski. How about mentioning the fact that it was an absolutely riproaring contest from start to finish? Meath retaining the trophy is 100% a good news story.

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 29/06/2016 13:14:26    1873785

Replying To galwayford:  "I heard that Newstalk Radio Breakfast show has a new "sports journalist". Guess who- Alan Quinlan the ex Munster rugby player. I hope he is friendly to the GAA.
When the Irish D4 media refer to sports they usually mean Rugby or often Football. So in my opinion, Sport journalist means Rugby/football journalist.
I wonder if the GAA will get a look in? Hopefully yes."
Seriously? Quinlan? Well he is from Tipp so he should be knowledgeable about Hurling and Football. But while he's very knowledgeable on the rugby and makes good points he sounds so serious in his delivery that I find him boring to listen to very little craic out of him. For a man who played at a top level with such desire and enthusiasm and an edge to his game it's hard to believe it's the same fella talking about rugby.

Why do most TV and radio stations and newspapers think that ex-players make the best sports journalists? For many of them it's just run-of-the-mill descriptions of players playing their old sport/job. They can can never decsribe the absolute awe that you and me and the average supporters have when watching these great games, be they hurling, football, soccer, rugby, boxing, snooker etc. It's like a jobs for the boys scheme for ex-sportspeople that are poor writers to begin with and don't get much better. There's lads posting here that can write better stuff in their sleep than most ex-player journalists.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7342 - 29/06/2016 14:09:45    1873827

George Hook is already a presenter with Newstalk & turns the conversation on his show to rugby as often as possible. Having said that, Off The Ball is a great show.

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 29/06/2016 15:06:08    1873853

Replying To keeper7:  "George Hook is already a presenter with Newstalk & turns the conversation on his show to rugby as often as possible. Having said that, Off The Ball is a great show."
Less craic since Wooly left though.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7342 - 29/06/2016 15:17:59    1873858