Can the GAA survive the Rugby onslaught

Replying To hill16no1man:  "Of course there's non county people and non nationals in all counties but your the one quoting the population of Dublin as all born and bred dublin people not me quoting any figures for other counties.
plus you know full well that the numbers who move to Dublin dwarf the numbers moving to other counties .the number of non nationals and people born in the other 31 counties living in dublin probably make up half the population if not more than that i would hazard a guess."
yep, would be way more non nationals in dub compared to rest of the country...28k for a league game considering the weather is very strong number, and this sort of ballpark figure has been drawn on a consistent basis the last few years in croker for league matches

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 13/02/2017 20:12:07    1956371

Over 1000 posts about Rugby in a GAA website, if you dont care about rugby then why are ye always talking about it

rebelfan (Cork) - Posts: 70 - 13/02/2017 20:54:45    1956397

Replying To rebelfan:  "Over 1000 posts about Rugby in a GAA website, if you dont care about rugby then why are ye always talking about it"
and you seem to constantly feel the need to chime in about people caring about it

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 13/02/2017 23:32:46    1956471

160k viewers in primetime on rte is awful viewership
alano12 (Dublin) - Posts:1652 - 11/02/2017 17:33:11 1954789

is it, thought it was a decent figure myself, what does rte two normally get on a friday night

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 14/02/2017 09:57:45    1956535

Replying To hill16no1man: s .the number of non nationals and people born in the other 31 counties living in dublin probably make up half the population if not more than that i would hazard a guess."
so Of the 1.3million odd people living in dublin around 650k of them are non dubliners - would have thought it less than that,

also bear in imnd huge numbers of dubliners living in bordering counties - 28 is still and excellent crowd but its akin to what other top football counties get -- mayo with a population of 130k got 10k for their home game with monaghan - probably with greater travel distance too

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 14/02/2017 10:05:02    1956537

look at the sheer lengths you are going to to defend bias over and over..it isnt acceptable..unfortunately i am in the uk for the weekend so was unable to attend the tyrone game, im most certainly not a vincents man!
alano12 (Dublin) - Posts:1652 - 12/02/2017 13:13:19 1955120

if limerick were playing tipp and tyrone in gaelic grounds double header i know where i would be - at the game not in the uk, if i had to be in the uk i would either watch the games somewhere , get them on radio , or follow them on twitter i certainly would not be posting here about rugby during the game , id be taking more interest in my team

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 14/02/2017 10:11:24    1956546

Replying To janesboro:  "look at the sheer lengths you are going to to defend bias over and over..it isnt acceptable..unfortunately i am in the uk for the weekend so was unable to attend the tyrone game, im most certainly not a vincents man!
alano12 (Dublin) - Posts:1652 - 12/02/2017 13:13:19 1955120

if limerick were playing tipp and tyrone in gaelic grounds double header i know where i would be - at the game not in the uk, if i had to be in the uk i would either watch the games somewhere , get them on radio , or follow them on twitter i certainly would not be posting here about rugby during the game , id be taking more interest in my team"
i had to be in the uk, you speak as if i wasnt able to actively follow the game?...stop trying to deflect from the issue...we got away with it big time and showed great character to comeback although sludden looks like a real player...160k is not good viewership on primetime on rte on a friday night...in what world is that a good number?

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 14/02/2017 17:45:50    1956750

i had to be in the uk, you speak as if i wasnt able to actively follow the game?...stop trying to deflect from the issue...we got away with it big time and showed great character to comeback although sludden looks like a real player...160k is not good viewership on primetime on rte on a friday night...in what world is that a good number?
alano12 (Dublin) - Posts:1654 - 14/02/2017 17:45:50

at 1733 on saturday your team dublin were playing tipperary - yet you were more interested in posting on this site the when the game was on - at 1433 on sunday limerick were playing westmeath in division 4 football - i was there and at that time i had no interest in posting ,yes given the way it went i could have done with the distraction --- - i was was more interested in following my team ---- you are giving out about media bias towards rugby yet when your team are playing you are more interested in posting on this site than following your team against the all ireland champions

I dont believe for one second rte is biased towards rugby over gaa as rte shows a lot more ;live gaa than rugby plus the various programmes of which no rugby equivalent is shown e.g. toughest trade the geansai marty squad, champiionship draw all stars, sunday game thank gaa its friday up for the match - have increased radio coverage this year

rte dont show world cup, 20s world cup, pro12, champions cup , and from nexxt year next year rte wont have the six nations they only have autumn games up to this year so thats now up for grab , if they are so biased how come they dont show these games, and dont give me this "oh they were outbid nonsense" they only have to outbid tg4 for pro12 and champions cup, i bet next year with little or no rugby being shown there will still be posters whinging about coverage and the like of tomsmith telling us that all rugby fans eat parsley or whatever ( i grow my own and am proud of it grrrrr!!!)

the arguement that "oh rte hate gaa and love rugby coz they show the under20s" has been blown away - s4c, fr4 and sky show 20s as well - i suppose they are anti gaa as well

and i dont know whether of not 160k on a friday is a good number relative to whats normally watched on a friday night -maybe you might tell us whats the normal -and i wasnt one of the 160k watching the game - i was at a club game that night with 2000 others (sure oooh the club game is dead !!!!!) - watched it during the week on the recorder

what i do love about this thread is that it give me a vehicle, a sanctuary to quote frank underwood, from limericks struggles at the moment, so keep it up lads i need the cheering up!!!

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 14/02/2017 18:56:03    1956775

Replying To janesboro:  "i had to be in the uk, you speak as if i wasnt able to actively follow the game?...stop trying to deflect from the issue...we got away with it big time and showed great character to comeback although sludden looks like a real player...160k is not good viewership on primetime on rte on a friday night...in what world is that a good number?

at 1733 on saturday your team dublin were playing tipperary - yet you were more interested in posting on this site the when the game was on - at 1433 on sunday limerick were playing westmeath in division 4 football - i was there and at that time i had no interest in posting ,yes given the way it went i could have done with the distraction --- - i was was more interested in following my team ---- you are giving out about media bias towards rugby yet when your team are playing you are more interested in posting on this site than following your team against the all ireland champions

I dont believe for one second rte is biased towards rugby over gaa as rte shows a lot more ;live gaa than rugby plus the various programmes of which no rugby equivalent is shown e.g. toughest trade the geansai marty squad, champiionship draw all stars, sunday game thank gaa its friday up for the match - have increased radio coverage this year

rte dont show world cup, 20s world cup, pro12, champions cup , and from nexxt year next year rte wont have the six nations they only have autumn games up to this year so thats now up for grab , if they are so biased how come they dont show these games, and dont give me this "oh they were outbid nonsense" they only have to outbid tg4 for pro12 and champions cup, i bet next year with little or no rugby being shown there will still be posters whinging about coverage and the like of tomsmith telling us that all rugby fans eat parsley or whatever ( i grow my own and am proud of it grrrrr!!!)

the arguement that "oh rte hate gaa and love rugby coz they show the under20s" has been blown away - s4c, fr4 and sky show 20s as well - i suppose they are anti gaa as well

and i dont know whether of not 160k on a friday is a good number relative to whats normally watched on a friday night -maybe you might tell us whats the normal -and i wasnt one of the 160k watching the game - i was at a club game that night with 2000 others (sure oooh the club game is dead !!!!!) - watched it during the week on the recorder

what i do love about this thread is that it give me a vehicle, a sanctuary to quote frank underwood, from limericks struggles at the moment, so keep it up lads i need the cheering up!!!"
im not really into hurling so there goes that point...somebody can easily post on a site and watch a game and this is done very often....do we want to hear how good a supporter you are?..your points ignore all context as rte dont show rugby as they dont have the rights to show them. they would if they could but they were outbid..simple stuff, stop being disingenuous...they are competing with the likes of sky and bt for the champions cup not tg4...gaa is a much more popular sport than rugby

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 14/02/2017 19:37:18    1956795

Replying To janesboro:  "i had to be in the uk, you speak as if i wasnt able to actively follow the game?...stop trying to deflect from the issue...we got away with it big time and showed great character to comeback although sludden looks like a real player...160k is not good viewership on primetime on rte on a friday night...in what world is that a good number?

what i do love about this thread is that it give me a vehicle, a sanctuary to quote frank underwood, from limericks struggles at the moment, so keep it up lads i need the cheering up!!!"
,,dont show similar shows...then what is the vodafone documentary over the summer about?..what about against the head?'blown away'...if they werent biased then name another womens sport which receives anywhere near the same level of coverage womens rugby gets on rte?..you are behaving like a fanboy.....the club game is dead....look at what the late late shows draws for instance on a friday and what our match against wales will do in the mens for instance....500-600k plus id imagine.....rte would show as much rugby as they could if they werent constantly getting outbid by tv3 and others...they cant compete with the likes of sky and bt and you know it...and you shouldnt have to quote tv viewership from 3 and 4 years ago unless you were getting desperate...there is no basis for showing womens rugby live on rte..its bias...its amazing the lengths some people go to to try and dismiss blatant examples of bias just because they are into a particular sport.....how much of womens athletics, gaa, or womens soccer are shown by the national broadcaster compared to womens rugby?...where would womens rugby even rank in terms of womens sports in ireland?..id imagine those 3 mentioned plus basketball and others would all be more popular

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 14/02/2017 19:39:12    1956796

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts:1656 - 14/02/2017 19:37:18
im not really into hurling so there goes that point..

so how can you complain about rte showing rugby over hurling when you cant even be bothered to watch it yourself

tg4 have the right to pro 12 and champions cup highlights , rte can easily afford to out bid them - so how on earth can you say that rte is not competing with tg4 for these events

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 14/02/2017 19:52:53    1956805

Great post

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4624 - 14/02/2017 19:56:23    1956808

alano dont show similar shows...then what is the vodafone documentary over the summer about?..what about against the head?'
for against the head read allianz league sunday or sunday game - lot more the the gaa ones show
ok rte show the all stars - do they show rugby equivalent, they show championship draw - do the show rugby equivalent
they show the geansai , thank gaa its friday -- whats the rugby equivalent come on im dying to find out !!!!!

rte would show as much rugby as they could if they werent constantly getting outbid by tv3 and others...they cant compete with the likes of sky and bt and you know it..

yes but they can comete with tg4 for pro12, under 20 world cup and champions cup highlights - they dont
how come rte dont get outbid by tv3 or tg4 or championship gaa
.the club game is dead.... no it isnt 2500 at musnter va garryowen - it aint dead how any clubs games have you been to this year
where did carbery, john ryan, sweetenam, goggin etc come from - wait for it wait for it .... clubs!!!!!!!!

and you shouldnt have to quote tv viewership from 3 and 4 years ago unless you were getting desperate...there is no basis for showing womens rugby live on rte..its bias.
Eh i quoted figures from friday of last week , -eir sport

When rte are showing no 6 nations next year will you still besaying they are biased

you seem very concerned about womens sport yet - when i made a few suggestions about improving camogie coverage- your answers -nothing ..the inside of a doughnut!!

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 14/02/2017 20:03:04    1956810

You know that in order to show the 6 nations RTE have to show the womens and u20 right ? Its part of the deal

If rte were so pro rugby would they dropped GAA, soccer and use that money to show rugby ? Instead they are somehow biased by continually showing less rugby . Tin hat sales must be soaring

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4624 - 14/02/2017 20:09:08    1956813

Aboy Da Kid!

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7337 - 14/02/2017 20:18:52    1956816

Replying To janesboro:  "alano12 (Dublin) - Posts:1656 - 14/02/2017 19:37:18
im not really into hurling so there goes that point..

so how can you complain about rte showing rugby over hurling when you cant even be bothered to watch it yourself

tg4 have the right to pro 12 and champions cup highlights , rte can easily afford to out bid them - so how on earth can you say that rte is not competing with tg4 for these events"
highlights isnt the games and you know it.have you considered rte dont want highlights?..because hurling is a more popular sport than rugby, it was a league match at the start of the year, hardly anything major now in a sport iv only a casual interest in....im a huge basketball fan but i dont expect rte to cover it as it isnt that popular in ireland compared to gaa, rugby and soccer

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 14/02/2017 20:24:51    1956819

Replying To janesboro:  "alano dont show similar shows...then what is the vodafone documentary over the summer about?..what about against the head?'
for against the head read allianz league sunday or sunday game - lot more the the gaa ones show
ok rte show the all stars - do they show rugby equivalent, they show championship draw - do the show rugby equivalent
they show the geansai , thank gaa its friday -- whats the rugby equivalent come on im dying to find out !!!!!

rte would show as much rugby as they could if they werent constantly getting outbid by tv3 and others...they cant compete with the likes of sky and bt and you know it..

yes but they can comete with tg4 for pro12, under 20 world cup and champions cup highlights - they dont
.the club game is dead.... no it isnt 2500 at musnter va garryowen - it aint dead how any clubs games have you been to this year
where did carbery, john ryan, sweetenam, goggin etc come from - wait for it wait for it .... clubs!!!!!!!!

and you shouldnt have to quote tv viewership from 3 and 4 years ago unless you were getting desperate...there is no basis for showing womens rugby live on rte..its bias.

When rte are showing no 6 nations next year will you still besaying they are biased

you seem very concerned about womens sport yet - when i made a few suggestions about improving camogie coverage- your answers -nothing ..the inside of a doughnut!!"
and gaa is a much more popular sport than rugby, they show league highlights as they have 0 rights to the league..you seem to think rugby should get equal treatment with gaa?...what is the rugby equivalent thats as big as the all stars?..i am talking about rights to matches, you keep bringing up highlights..yet again will you stop being disingenuous.....yes it is....how many are attending club games around the country?..you quoted figures from 3 and 4 years ago..its there for all to see....why wont you answer the question instead of trying to deflect?..what other womens sports receive the same amount of coverage?...tg4 dont have the money for championship gaa...tv3 spent all their money on acquiring 6 nations rights and the world cup..again you know this but pretend not to..stop being disingenuous...rte are showing no 6 nations because they got outbid for rights, not because they didnt want it...this is common sense...stop acting like a child

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 14/02/2017 20:31:05    1956823

Replying To janesboro:  "alano dont show similar shows...then what is the vodafone documentary over the summer about?..what about against the head?'

you seem very concerned about womens sport yet - when i made a few suggestions about improving camogie coverage- your answers -nothing ..the inside of a doughnut!!"
what rugby draw is there to even show?...again you fail to compare like with like..there is no all stars or rugby draw to show.....it honestly amazes me how disingenuous and childish you get about numerous people pointing out the bias that exists in rte towards rugby

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 14/02/2017 20:34:51    1956828

1. RTÉ Press Office ‏@RTEPress 24 Feb 2014
Saturday's coverage of England Women v Ireland Women on @rte Two attracted an average of 291,900 viewers with a share of 18%. #rterugby

RTÉ Press Office‏@RTEPress - March 2013
An average of 160,000 viewers watched @irfurugby Women's team Grand Slam #6Nations win live on RTE Two on Sunday #rterugby

so again tell me, did you or did you not resort to posting figures from 3 and 4 years ago?

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 14/02/2017 20:38:20    1956829

sure they will be showing lots of womens rugby instead...as apparently its in the national interest and draws huge viewership so we have been told....oh and the tournament is being hosted here so thats why!..because no other womens sports are hosted in ireland...

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 14/02/2017 20:40:19    1956832