Official Connacht Football Championship Thread

I'm not surprised a leitrim man said that, for some reason ye don't like us? i always had a soft spot for Leitrim & don't let a few bad eggs give you the opinion all roscommon fans are sore losers & worse winners.

ispeakwisdom (Roscommon) - Posts: 2487 - 18/05/2011 18:12:28    933980

Very young Leitrim side named for Sunday. They're not lacking in the skill department but inexperience could cost them dear. Midfield could also be a struggle.

I see rain is forecast for Sunday. When we last played in Markievicz in 2002 the heavens opened. Don't mind a repeat as long as the result is different, we were hockeyed 2-13 to 2-4!

Tiger (Leitrim) - Posts: 204 - 19/05/2011 11:03:11    934420

as a Rossie we have have plenty of players that are hard to like as well. Hope Leitrim can pull it off on Sun, think with Sligo's injuries they have a chance, if Mulligan is on form it should be tight. Will be a good day in Carrick June 12th if they do.

Rosineri1 (UK) - Posts: 2099 - 19/05/2011 11:48:20    934462

Supporters are lovely people...sure you've more than a few eejits in every county! Sligo supporters werent so perfect where i was sitting at the CF last year..poor donie got awful abuse! :(

Rossies4life (Roscommon) - Posts: 178 - 19/05/2011 11:58:38    934474

Sligo 0-09 Leitrim 1-09

About five minutes left.

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 22/05/2011 16:53:00    936942

Thats the Connacht championship for you. Leitrim 1-10 Sligo 0-10. The most competitive province in the country by a country mile.

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 22/05/2011 17:14:07    936961

Well done Leitrim, great result. Fair play to em.

Tongo (UK) - Posts: 1795 - 22/05/2011 19:24:09    937087

Well done to leitrim. I didnt see that result coming but at the end of the day any connacht team can beat another on a given day.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 22/05/2011 19:43:39    937112

Fair play to Leitrim. Further proof you can predict nothing in Connacht. Great result for them and i doubt the Rossies will fancy the trip to Carrick.

tribeinbrum (Galway) - Posts: 4155 - 23/05/2011 11:01:41    937456

Congrats to Mickey Moran and his players. Leitrim were impressive. Sligo need to regroup and with Kelly and a fit Brehony back will fancy a run in the qualifiers. If not it might be the end for Walsh. Leitrim have every chance against the Rossies

unclegerry (Mayo) - Posts: 1222 - 23/05/2011 11:13:17    937477

Thanks for all the supportive comments, appreciated.

Young and capable Leitrim and Roscommon teams, a talented and now wounded Sligo which means Galway and Mayo will be getting their fill of it in Connacht for a few years - which can be nothing but good all round for the province.

Excellent provincial championship last year in terms of both competitiveness and entertainment, seems to be same for 2011.

Solo Run (None) - Posts: 316 - 23/05/2011 11:35:04    937515

Well done to Leitrim, great result yesterday and the first shock of the ch'ship. I wonder what the off the ball team will have to say tonight after they were very sneery and patronising towards Leitrim in the build up to the game.

PK57 (Louth) - Posts: 1653 - 23/05/2011 12:07:25    937564

Well my prediction of a Mayo and Sligo provincial final didn't last long then :-)

Congrats to Leitrim, a great win yesterday against the odds. With so many new players on show it could have gone one or two ways for a fairly inexperienced team. In the end Leitrim were the ones that played with the greater hunger and displayed the greater will-to-win which told in the end. Leitrim and Roscommon will be hard to call the next day.

eviemonkey (Cork) - Posts: 308 - 23/05/2011 12:44:25    937614

We will fancy the trip to Carrick, our record there is very good, not lost a championship games for a few decades there I think. But that has to end sometime I guess, but will be a great occasion, hopefully be as good a the game two years ago.

Rosineri1 (UK) - Posts: 2099 - 23/05/2011 12:59:30    937649

17/05/2011 15:48:09
FrChewyLooey
County: Leitrim

932958 50 on leitrim to progress to connacht semi final at 9/2...

Sore head today

FrChewyLooey (Leitrim) - Posts: 123 - 23/05/2011 13:01:59    937653

I agree with the above comments "The most competitive province" fair play to Leitrim we'll have to be our best to beat them in carrick! i hope Sligo can pick themselves up the back door route.

If Leitrim make the final where will it be played?

ispeakwisdom (Roscommon) - Posts: 2487 - 23/05/2011 17:20:12    938051

For the third year in a row we play each other!! :) Hopefully we'll be as successful as the last two years. Although if Senan and Donie are on form we should beat Leitrim, however ya never know in carrick! Fair play Leitrim! :)

Rossies4life (Roscommon) - Posts: 178 - 23/05/2011 17:31:17    938076

Connacht is one unpredictable and interesting championship; I enjoyed last year with Joyce, O Hara, David Kelly and Shine....now Leitrum is producing shocks....Mayo with James Horan is looking good...........who knows what will happen

kerrykerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1779 - 23/05/2011 17:35:20    938085

I think Roscommon supporters get a hard time, I don't think we're as bad as some people are making out. You get a few tossers everywhere. Anyway fair play to Leitrim, was delighted to see them get the win yesterday, Sligo might have been victims of their own longsightedness, everyone was so busy talking about them looking for revenge against Roscommon that I think a few of them forgot about Leitrim. Something similiar to the Connacht final last year. Roll on June 12, as a few people have said here already we'll need to be at our best if we're to progress.

decky (Roscommon) - Posts: 384 - 23/05/2011 17:35:43    938087

The liver took a fair beating last night! What a day. Travelled to Markievicz in hope rather than expectation, but was blown away by our performance.

Roll on the Rossies on June 12. Should be a great crowd in Pairc Sean for it.

Tiger (Leitrim) - Posts: 204 - 23/05/2011 17:37:55    938093