Mayo vs Roscommon

Replying To OhtobeARossie:  "Lets all be friends to early in the week to be revved up by Friday there'll be all out war the way she's warming up."
Ah to hell with it
Bring it on..

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 25/07/2017 17:34:51    2023376

The warning signs are there for Mayo all year. They can't keep pulling it out of the fire. I fully expect a Roscommon victory.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 25/07/2017 17:46:36    2023387

Replying To john1971:  "Cork scored 2.15 in normal time . Do you think our defence will let in 21 points in normal time ?? And do you think our defence will stand of like cork or our forwards let us waltz the ball out like he did with cork??. Do the maths. Cork did us a massive favour massive . Predictions 3.17 to 14 points.:-) Ros win"
This year alone Roscommon conceded 1-19 twice and one of those games was against Mayo,2-17,2-29 and in all of those games Roscommon stood off their men and defended as poorly as Cork did last weekend. I know you are little giddy about this game but try to compose yourself a little.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3346 - 25/07/2017 17:47:15    2023388

" I expect them win by 4-6 points without having to bring any real intensity to the game."

Thats a ridiculous statement to make. Roscommon are in the Q/F on merit.
McStay and McHale know Mayo inside out. They will have a detail tactical plan to expose
Mayos weaknesses. FB in peticular. Rochford has struggled on the line more often than not.

If Rochford gets his match ups right and mayo bring their A game i think they will win but anything
less and i expect Ross to do it.

Mayo by 3 ..

Ah_Here (Mayo) - Posts: 42 - 25/07/2017 18:04:50    2023396

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "This year alone Roscommon conceded 1-19 twice and one of those games was against Mayo,2-17,2-29 and in all of those games Roscommon stood off their men and defended as poorly as Cork did last weekend. I know you are little giddy about this game but try to compose yourself a little."
I don't know do you get gaa news in the states but we didn't train much during the spring as we wanted to peak for championship unlike the previous year where we were bouncing off the ground in February/March

golfcar (Roscommon) - Posts: 60 - 25/07/2017 18:29:09    2023406

Replying To theblackcard:  "Mayo will win by as much as they want. They are 4-5 points the better team in Croker. I expect them win by 4-6 points without having to bring any real intensity to the game."
If Mayo don't bring any intensity to the game then Roscommon will win. They have had two letoffs already in the Championship. I can't see them surviving a third time if the game is close, particularly if Roscommon show the same intensity as they did in the Connacht final.

lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 2990 - 25/07/2017 19:01:24    2023425

Roscommon need to be wary of giving away frees as Mayo get a lot of scores through OConnor and are well able to play for them when within shooting distance.
I reckon Roscommon will give them a real test and I wouldn't bet against them pulling it off if they can be disciplined.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 25/07/2017 19:16:22    2023430

Replying To OverBlackSpot:  "Well I certainly enjoy hearing all about this fascinating "5-6 points better off in Croke Park" chat that Mayo have. Will have to get on the phone to Mystic Meg to figure that one out.

But sure hey what do I know if Cillian O Connor slots over ten 13 meter frees in front of the posts why wouldnt he get man of the match, fair play to him. I would reckon the county have already booked their accommodation in September for the big one only to be let down again. Ye have a tough life I have to say"
Wow. That's not so much a chip on your shoulder but a sack of spuds! Like all Mayo men I have plenty of deep scars when it comes to All Ireland Finals. You clearly have the same issue when it comes to playing Mayo.

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 25/07/2017 19:53:53    2023443

Replying To OhtobeARossie:  "Lets all be friends to early in the week to be revved up by Friday there'll be all out war the way she's warming up."
There will be some craic in Ballaghaderreen this week!

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 25/07/2017 20:00:54    2023447

Replying To Ros2013:  "Hope to god we remain competitive in this game. Hopefully mayos legs will be hurting in the last ten minutes but doubt it. I can see Aidan o shea dominating and creating two goal chances. If Conor devaney is on keegan well we are going to be treated to some battle. Can see cillian o Connor being held scoreless from play"
Ah, the "Cillian does nothing from play" shtick again.

Let's review Cillian's performances in the championship over the past few years. To my recollection, he has goaled from play against Donegal, Dublin, Kerry, Galway, all of whom are viewed as All-Ireland contenders. He also scored two of the finest points of the championship season against Tyrone and Dublin (drawn game) last season, and scored two beautiful points off his weaker foot against Cork last weekend.

People see what they want to see when it comes down to him, probably because he gets involved in too many unnecessary incidents around the field.

But don't take my word for it, read Oisín McConville's take on him here: https://www.balls.ie/gaa/cillian-oconnor-369954

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 25/07/2017 20:18:19    2023458

COC's record in finals is poor for a player with his ability, he's been held scoreless from play in 3 out of 4 finals.

He's got time on his side to put that record straight as he's still only 25, don't know why Mayo fans get so uptight when the rest of us criticise him. He's a brilliant footballer but just a bit of the likes of Geaney, JOD when fully fit & McManus.

TheWestIsAwake (UK) - Posts: 529 - 25/07/2017 20:29:25    2023463

Replying To Cuckoosinging:  "Have you a crystal ball? You seem to be able to see a lot of things"
No I just go to matches, coach teams and play so might be a bit more informed than you.

Ros2013 (Roscommon) - Posts: 519 - 25/07/2017 20:31:37    2023464

Replying To OverBlackSpot:  "Well I certainly enjoy hearing all about this fascinating "5-6 points better off in Croke Park" chat that Mayo have. Will have to get on the phone to Mystic Meg to figure that one out.

But sure hey what do I know if Cillian O Connor slots over ten 13 meter frees in front of the posts why wouldnt he get man of the match, fair play to him. I would reckon the county have already booked their accommodation in September for the big one only to be let down again. Ye have a tough life I have to say"
As an impartial observer (and I really am, I couldn't care less who wins your game, I just hope it's a good one), if we use a snooker analogy and call Mayo the Jimmy White of the GAA (I realise I'm losing this in translation to anyone not yet at least in their mid 30s here), with the greatest respect, doesn't that make you some qualifier who has one decent tournament? Just saying.

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 25/07/2017 20:54:36    2023477

Replying To TheWestIsAwake:  "COC's record in finals is poor for a player with his ability, he's been held scoreless from play in 3 out of 4 finals.

He's got time on his side to put that record straight as he's still only 25, don't know why Mayo fans get so uptight when the rest of us criticise him. He's a brilliant footballer but just a bit of the likes of Geaney, JOD when fully fit & McManus."
I don't think it's a case of being uptight....their is a narrative there. Mayo are viewed as a tough, physical team but nobody ever mentions skill and Mayo in the same sentenance. Roscommon are flavour of the month after one big performance against Galway. A well deserved win and I get it...it's natural people want to see new teams emerging but people are forgetting this Mayo team have excellent footballers with big game experience. Roscommon haven't won a championship game since in Croke Park since what 1980?

I except Mayo to win but IF the worst (from our perspective) were to happen you won't find me hiding away and il congratulate our neighbours.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 25/07/2017 20:54:45    2023478

Replying To MedwayIrish:  "As an impartial observer (and I really am, I couldn't care less who wins your game, I just hope it's a good one), if we use a snooker analogy and call Mayo the Jimmy White of the GAA (I realise I'm losing this in translation to anyone not yet at least in their mid 30s here), with the greatest respect, doesn't that make you some qualifier who has one decent tournament? Just saying."
That'll make Ros the Joe Johnson this year so! The Jimmy White of GAA can go ahead and miss another black ball off its spot for glory sure.

Sure maybe we can lend Mayo a few more players like Andy Moran, I reckon theyll win a few All-Irelands with our help. Have to make sure they wear the crest with honour and kiss the crest like their lives depended on it also!

OverBlackSpot (Roscommon) - Posts: 47 - 25/07/2017 21:34:21    2023493

Replying To Gleebo:  "Ah, the "Cillian does nothing from play" shtick again.

Let's review Cillian's performances in the championship over the past few years. To my recollection, he has goaled from play against Donegal, Dublin, Kerry, Galway, all of whom are viewed as All-Ireland contenders. He also scored two of the finest points of the championship season against Tyrone and Dublin (drawn game) last season, and scored two beautiful points off his weaker foot against Cork last weekend.

People see what they want to see when it comes down to him, probably because he gets involved in too many unnecessary incidents around the field.

But don't take my word for it, read Oisín McConville's take on him here: https://www.balls.ie/gaa/cillian-oconnor-369954"
Ah yes the same Oisin McConville that talked about how great Armagh's forward line was before Down beat them handy? Whatever he says is pure Gospel, why don't we all just listen to him from now on

OverBlackSpot (Roscommon) - Posts: 47 - 25/07/2017 21:38:25    2023495

IF the worst (from our perspective) were to happen you won't find me hiding away and il congratulate our neighbours.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts:8451 - 25/07/2017 20:54:45
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Good to hear and if the worst does happen and Mayo do lose try not to come home via Cloonfad this time ;)

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3755 - 25/07/2017 21:51:16    2023501

Replying To OverBlackSpot:  "That'll make Ros the Joe Johnson this year so! The Jimmy White of GAA can go ahead and miss another black ball off its spot for glory sure.

Sure maybe we can lend Mayo a few more players like Andy Moran, I reckon theyll win a few All-Irelands with our help. Have to make sure they wear the crest with honour and kiss the crest like their lives depended on it also!"
Buddy you're embarrassing yourself now.

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 25/07/2017 22:41:10    2023538

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "I cut back on the old fertiliser this year, with the price of it, but I'm sure I can spare you a few. Will you bring the bottles of tea?"
Tis true, God be with the days when the Net Nitrate or 10-10-20 bags were in plentiful supply.

I will indeed bring the tae, it will be freshly made that morning ! Hard to beat the tae that is drank in the bog.

We'll be home in time to find out how many of that dirty Mayo shower have been sent off...

county man (Limerick) - Posts: 1102 - 25/07/2017 22:41:51    2023540

Replying To OverBlackSpot:  "That'll make Ros the Joe Johnson this year so! The Jimmy White of GAA can go ahead and miss another black ball off its spot for glory sure.

Sure maybe we can lend Mayo a few more players like Andy Moran, I reckon theyll win a few All-Irelands with our help. Have to make sure they wear the crest with honour and kiss the crest like their lives depended on it also!"
Joe Johnson, that takes me back! I remember him bring a cup of tea out into the arena which was a rarity among the pints being sunk around the table in those days.

Mind you, he reached the final the following year so your analogy might end there(!)

Didn't realise at the time but he wore a "Bradford's bouncing back" t shirt about the place when he wasn't playing. Tribute to those who lost their lives at the soccer stadium fire disaster so fair play to him for that. Remember that unfolding live on Grandstand. Awful scenes altogether.

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 25/07/2017 22:58:05    2023551