Can the GAA survive the Rugby onslaught

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Where have I gone on to defend RTE policy ? Giving my opinion on how RTE broadcast rugby or that IRFU are good marketeers means I am defending them?

Again if you actually do have a problem with RTE broadcasting rugby I can't help you. Probably no posters here can help you. Somehow I don't think you'll actually try to do something constructive and raise it with those that matter, just continue reacting to other posters."
then why arent you calling rte out for being biased to one sport?..it isnt acceptable...you are constantly trying to dismiss people and being disingenuous on the viewership camogie and ladies gaa gets when the information is pretty easily available..why do you bother posting on this thread if you have such issue with what a lot of people are talking about?...its already being raised with those who matter but nothing is done about it...you moan about this threads like this but you post as much as anyone on them..why is that?

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 12/02/2017 17:31:45    1955383

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Where have I gone on to defend RTE policy ? Giving my opinion on how RTE broadcast rugby or that IRFU are good marketeers means I am defending them?

Again if you actually do have a problem with RTE broadcasting rugby I can't help you. Probably no posters here can help you. Somehow I don't think you'll actually try to do something constructive and raise it with those that matter, just continue reacting to other posters."
and dismissing people with legitimate points isnt very constructive now is it?...if you dont like what i have to post then dont respond

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 12/02/2017 17:35:33    1955387

Replying To alano12:  "in fairness there is but its concentrated into 1 particular area where the average income is quite high, and its much smaller than dublin gaa which covers most of the city"
It is usually a surprise to people outside Dublin that there is huge parts of the county with no GAA especially on the Southside - the whole South East with a massive population 250k there are 2 clubs -Crokes & Cuala. The whole south central area which is even bigger - 2/3 clubs - Olafs, Johns and maybe Ballyboden could be included. There are massive areas with no GAA clubs at all Dun Laoghaire, Terenure, Rathmines , Milltown, Blackrock, Dundrum, Ranelagh (although did have country lads team - Gaels? Not sure if they still going) ..etc

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4624 - 12/02/2017 18:03:31    1955424

Replying To alano12:  "then why arent you calling rte out for being biased to one sport?..it isnt acceptable...you are constantly trying to dismiss people and being disingenuous on the viewership camogie and ladies gaa gets when the information is pretty easily available..why do you bother posting on this thread if you have such issue with what a lot of people are talking about?...its already being raised with those who matter but nothing is done about it...you moan about this threads like this but you post as much as anyone on them..why is that?"
I posted on camogie and women's GAA figures and disingenuously no less ? Use the link URL and show me where ? I post because I disagree with some of the anti-rugby stuff here.

https://youtu.be/GFTgkibl7DU

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7344 - 12/02/2017 18:11:42    1955432

Replying To bad.monkey:  "It is usually a surprise to people outside Dublin that there is huge parts of the county with no GAA especially on the Southside - the whole South East with a massive population 250k there are 2 clubs -Crokes & Cuala. The whole south central area which is even bigger - 2/3 clubs - Olafs, Johns and maybe Ballyboden could be included. There are massive areas with no GAA clubs at all Dun Laoghaire, Terenure, Rathmines , Milltown, Blackrock, Dundrum, Ranelagh (although did have country lads team - Gaels? Not sure if they still going) ..etc"
Three of those clubs you mentioned in them aread kilmacud crokes, ballyboden and cuala are three of the largest clubs in the country for membership though is what your not pointing out. One of them clubs alone could make up probably four clubs in another area so it's a bit of a loose comment without pointing out the actual facts

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 12/02/2017 19:38:49    1955525

Well there are several hundred thousand people in these areas so of course they are bigger than rural clubs but for the 5 GAA clubs in the same areas there would be dozens of soccer, rugby, tennis and other clubs. In south Dublin GAA would be well behind soccer and rugby. Tallaght would be stronger with Davis , Marks and CRO but soccer would still be well ahead. South city are soccer dominated too . It surprises our country cousins who move up

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4624 - 12/02/2017 20:37:05    1955589

Replying To bad.monkey:  "Well there are several hundred thousand people in these areas so of course they are bigger than rural clubs but for the 5 GAA clubs in the same areas there would be dozens of soccer, rugby, tennis and other clubs. In south Dublin GAA would be well behind soccer and rugby. Tallaght would be stronger with Davis , Marks and CRO but soccer would still be well ahead. South city are soccer dominated too . It surprises our country cousins who move up"
Why would it surprise us? Do you think that when people move to Dublin from the country that they're not aware about what sports are popular in certain areas? And vice-versa for Dubs moving to the country.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7344 - 12/02/2017 21:21:12    1955673

Replying To bad.monkey:  "It is usually a surprise to people outside Dublin that there is huge parts of the county with no GAA especially on the Southside - the whole South East with a massive population 250k there are 2 clubs -Crokes & Cuala. The whole south central area which is even bigger - 2/3 clubs - Olafs, Johns and maybe Ballyboden could be included. There are massive areas with no GAA clubs at all Dun Laoghaire, Terenure, Rathmines , Milltown, Blackrock, Dundrum, Ranelagh (although did have country lads team - Gaels? Not sure if they still going) ..etc"
historically yes gaa wasnt strong in dublin on the southside but things are improving a lot on the south side in relation to gaa yes

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 12/02/2017 22:05:14    1955719

Replying To GreenandRed:  "I posted on camogie and women's GAA figures and disingenuously no less ? Use the link URL and show me where ? I post because I disagree with some of the anti-rugby stuff here.

https://youtu.be/GFTgkibl7DU"
a lot of it isnt anti rugby..its anti rte and how it treats one sport compared to others...i regularly comment on rugby in another thread and watch the sport

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 12/02/2017 22:06:50    1955723

was at limerick v westmeath today lost, had walkman for hurlers game lost ,munsters lost to terenure yesterday this sport caper is depressing, on way home from game had scots v france gamein car via bbc scotland - looked like the scots could do it a redeem the day a bit ,but no, promised my self i wouldnt but i watch the highlights onleague sunday (woo mad rte show gaa) , grand for ye dubliners ye are winning but when you aint - the last thing you want on any tv station is the higlights you promise yourself you wont watch it , but you do it compounds the misery, i know its only the league but to say im gutted and cranky is an understatement ,

mind you missus j and kids still love me !

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 12/02/2017 23:33:29    1955812

Replying To alano12:  "a lot of it isnt anti rugby..its anti rte and how it treats one sport compared to others...i regularly comment on rugby in another thread and watch the sport"
I posted on camogie and women's GAA figures and disingenuously no less ? Use the link URL and show me where ?

Are you going to reply to my post ?

I didn't say you posted anti-rugby comments here, but some do. I know rightly you post on the rugby threads here.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7344 - 13/02/2017 01:08:47    1955851

Replying To janesboro:  "was at limerick v westmeath today lost, had walkman for hurlers game lost ,munsters lost to terenure yesterday this sport caper is depressing, on way home from game had scots v france gamein car via bbc scotland - looked like the scots could do it a redeem the day a bit ,but no, promised my self i wouldnt but i watch the highlights onleague sunday (woo mad rte show gaa) , grand for ye dubliners ye are winning but when you aint - the last thing you want on any tv station is the higlights you promise yourself you wont watch it , but you do it compounds the misery, i know its only the league but to say im gutted and cranky is an understatement ,

mind you missus j and kids still love me !"
We love you too Janesboro! Keep the faith. Probably didn't help that Davy Fitz is the Wexford manager though. On an upnote though Radio 1 had reports from Mullane and Lodge in Wexford. They were deadly as ever. Mullane never mincing his words and seemed genuinely happy that Fitzgerald lead the Wexicans, his words, to victory.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7344 - 13/02/2017 01:14:22    1955852

hillman out of interest what size crowd was at the hurling , 28k is a fine crowd, thats very near what musnter game for a game that you describe as nothing but an auld challenge game on an equally wet night. but bear in mind dublin has 1.3 million people, look at the crowds may are getting with 1/10 of the population, kerrys 9k for the mayo game pro rata would be the equivalent of around 78k at a dublin game. Dublin getting 28k is the equivalent of liemrick getting around 4-4500 k - we have got that in recent years for midweek minor hurling semi finals. Still 28k is a great crowd for a game - will be more id say for the mayo game

I bet the 28k that wentwere die hard fans too and werent interested in posting on this site when the game was on

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 13/02/2017 10:08:13    1955953

Oh come on janesboro that had to be the lamest argument ever from you trying to judge attendances based on pro eata and population based seriously sinking low.
Like all 1 million people in the census are born and bred dubs haha sure you must be one too so when you were living here you were counted in that figure like the other hundreds of thousands that reside here along with the massive non national based, I would love to see your figures for actual dublin born people id say cork has more cork born people living in cork than dublin has dublin born people living in dublin as dublin is the second smallest county in Ireland land wise

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 13/02/2017 15:29:19    1956213

hillman there are blow ins in all counties - - got lot of them in limerick too lots of tipp clare non nationals living here - -- - when i lived in dublin i went to every single dublin championship game in croke park and i supported the dubs, barney rock was my football idol as a kid, despite the fact that being from limerick i hate the place too much baggage, still cheer the dubs do but from afar unless they playing mayo , 28k is a fine attendance but pro rata tis akin tis most other div 1 teams ,but the mayo one last week was incredible

separately on the clare v cork anthem - the commentator on eir sport was limericks liam ahern - liam was doing the live95fm commentary on the wexford game (i was at the football) and as amhran na bhfiann he said something to the effect of "please dont tell me theyre gonna do it again" , ...comical

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 13/02/2017 16:06:06    1956235

Potentially there will be more at Dublin v Waterford and Mayo on March 4th than the quarter finals, not involving Dublin, on August Bank Holiday weekend. Would be interesting to see how much extra revenue that these night games bring in to Dublin and other towns from people spending on overnighters, socialising, shopping etc.

Arguably the league games, not just the night games, are more competitive than many provincial games which the backdoor has led to a lack of intensity in some games.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7344 - 13/02/2017 17:19:31    1956283

Replying To GreenandRed:  "I posted on camogie and women's GAA figures and disingenuously no less ? Use the link URL and show me where ?

I didn't say you posted anti-rugby comments here, but some do. I know rightly you post on the rugby threads here."
you never replied to my post in relation to camogie viwership figures so why would i?..the notion of womens rugby actually getting good viewership has already proven to be nonsense

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 13/02/2017 17:52:28    1956297

Replying To janesboro:  "hillman there are blow ins in all counties - - got lot of them in limerick too lots of tipp clare non nationals living here - -- - when i lived in dublin i went to every single dublin championship game in croke park and i supported the dubs, barney rock was my football idol as a kid, despite the fact that being from limerick i hate the place too much baggage, still cheer the dubs do but from afar unless they playing mayo , 28k is a fine attendance but pro rata tis akin tis most other div 1 teams ,but the mayo one last week was incredible

separately on the clare v cork anthem - the commentator on eir sport was limericks liam ahern - liam was doing the live95fm commentary on the wexford game (i was at the football) and as amhran na bhfiann he said something to the effect of "please dont tell me theyre gonna do it again" , ...comical"
Of course there's non county people and non nationals in all counties but your the one quoting the population of Dublin as all born and bred dublin people not me quoting any figures for other counties.
plus you know full well that the numbers who move to Dublin dwarf the numbers moving to other counties .the number of non nationals and people born in the other 31 counties living in dublin probably make up half the population if not more than that i would hazard a guess.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 13/02/2017 19:49:43    1956349

Replying To alano12:  "
Replying To GreenandRed:  "I posted on camogie and women's GAA figures and disingenuously no less ? Use the link URL and show me where ?

I didn't say you posted anti-rugby comments here, but some do. I know rightly you post on the rugby threads here."
you never replied to my post in relation to camogie viwership figures so why would i?..the notion of womens rugby actually getting good viewership has already proven to be nonsense"
Because you are lying claiming I have said things that I haven't.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7344 - 13/02/2017 20:00:43    1956359

Replying To hill16no1man:  "Of course there's non county people and non nationals in all counties but your the one quoting the population of Dublin as all born and bred dublin people not me quoting any figures for other counties.
plus you know full well that the numbers who move to Dublin dwarf the numbers moving to other counties .the number of non nationals and people born in the other 31 counties living in dublin probably make up half the population if not more than that i would hazard a guess."
Sure who cares where the crowd is from anyways? 28,000 is a mighty crowd any time of the year, mightier again in February.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7344 - 13/02/2017 20:09:18    1956368