Can the GAA survive the Rugby onslaught

it still seems pretty elitist that IRFU would encourage concentration of talent in these particular schools rather than encouraging player development via local clubs which any person can access

himachechy (Donegal) - Posts:63 - 09/02/2017 17:30:55 1954089

thats the point i have continually made -anybody who wants to can go to a rugby club- i do every week and am working class and didnt go to a fee paying school

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 09/02/2017 19:57:38    1954152

Replying To if_in_doubt:  "Well numbers in that article are distorted by fact many kids moved to fee paying schools for 5th/6th year sometimes on scholarship from the school simply to play rugby and they are only listed as attending the fee paying school

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts:12722 - 09/02/2017

You know those rating systems are flawed. They don't take in account houses that have more than two television sets and other things of that nature..."
I guess I have to take you at your word,!!!

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 09/02/2017 19:58:31    1954154

Replying To hill16no1man:  "See a schools match in rugby had three concussions and munchins college choose to pull the plug on the game"
yep but apparently all the general public want is for increased coverage of womens rugby judging by rtes news...lets hope we get some balance

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 09/02/2017 20:02:33    1954157

Replying To alano12:  "yep but apparently all the general public want is for increased coverage of womens rugby judging by rtes news...lets hope we get some balance"
tweets from the rtepress twitter account- they are average figures - while i am sure you will question the integrity of the figures - i would assume the figure were got from the independent tam ratings and would also assume that there would be reprecussions if inaccurate viewing figures were given - you can google these for your own verification

1. RTÉ Press Office ‏@RTEPress 24 Feb 2014
Saturday's coverage of England Women v Ireland Women on @rte Two attracted an average of 291,900 viewers with a share of 18%. #rterugby

RTÉ Press Office‏@RTEPress - March 2013
An average of 160,000 viewers watched @irfurugby Women's team Grand Slam #6Nations win live on RTE Two on Sunday #rterugby

the womens football is well covered by tg4 who do a very good job, the camogie is not very well covered and needs more matches shown on the box by either rte or tg4 or even online - saw limerick camogie couple of times last year - good matches skill eevel high
maybe some camogie/hurling double headers would help - then best covered womens sports are th ones usually run in conjunction with the male counterparts i.e athletics/tennis//olympic sports,maybe a separate midweek highlight programme for ladies football and camogie worth a shot?

the womens world cup will be the last rugby on rte for a while - six nations on tv3 next year

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 09/02/2017 20:32:25    1954177

Replying To janesboro:  "it still seems pretty elitist that IRFU would encourage concentration of talent in these particular schools rather than encouraging player development via local clubs which any person can access

himachechy (Donegal) - Posts:63 - 09/02/2017 17:30:55 1954089

thats the point i have continually made -anybody who wants to can go to a rugby club- i do every week and am working class and didnt go to a fee paying school"
and thats the way it should be for any sport..in dublin it isnt the case largely due to the big fee paying schools influence

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 09/02/2017 20:38:05    1954181

Replying To janesboro:  "tweets from the rtepress twitter account- they are average figures - while i am sure you will question the integrity of the figures - i would assume the figure were got from the independent tam ratings and would also assume that there would be reprecussions if inaccurate viewing figures were given - you can google these for your own verification

Saturday's coverage of England Women v Ireland Women on @rte Two attracted an average of 291,900 viewers with a share of 18%. #rterugby

RTÉ Press Office‏@RTEPress - March 2013
An average of 160,000 viewers watched @irfurugby Women's team Grand Slam #6Nations win live on RTE Two on Sunday #rterugby

the womens football is well covered by tg4 who do a very good job, the camogie is not very well covered and needs more matches shown on the box by either rte or tg4 or even online - saw limerick camogie couple of times last year - good matches skill eevel high
maybe some camogie/hurling double headers would help - then best covered womens sports are th ones usually run in conjunction with the male counterparts i.e athletics/tennis//olympic sports,maybe a separate midweek highlight programme for ladies football and camogie worth a shot?

the womens world cup will be the last rugby on rte for a while - six nations on tv3 next year"
you are posting viewing figures from 3 years ago and 4 years ago?..hardly massive stuff now...iv yet to see rte make an effort to acquire ladies football rights or womens soccer..both with way higher participation numbers in ireland and in the case of ladies football some huge attendances also and a proven track record of getting viewership

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 09/02/2017 21:57:38    1954213

Rugby in Dublin is dominated by the fee paying schools no doubt but isnt it up to the other schools to offer it as an option if kids want it? Not much equipment needed. All the big rugby schools now have GAA - a couple of the current Dublin team are ex Blackrock College. The more sports the better for kids. Rugby is good in that it was specifically designed for an average class of school boys - big short lads front row, tall gangly ones second row, biggest back row, small quick lads scrum half and wingers, most athletic at 10 12 13 15. This thread is nonsense. Kids are not playing enough sport as it is. Any should be encouaged. And GAA doesnt suit everyone

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4624 - 10/02/2017 08:59:05    1954258

Replying To ormondbannerman:  "I'd be interested to see what the numbers are for that scenario. I can't see the fee paying schools dishing out too many free spaces. Even if that did account for a good number of these guys, it still seems pretty elitist that IRFU would encourage concentration of talent in these particular schools rather than encouraging player development via local clubs which any person can access
himachechy (Donegal) - Posts:63 - 09/02/2017 17:30:55
There would be quite a few and then there is a lot of kids whose parents will have them at school at home for junior cycle and save up over those years and they move for senior cycle
IRFU don't encourage the concentration of talent in these schools. Never have and never will."
Ah here, you really are reaching Ormo. Home schooled for Junior cert then rugby scholarship for the leaving? what percentage of the population would fall into that category you reckon? You should change your name to Pravda... or whatever the north Korean news agency is called

himachechy (Donegal) - Posts: 293 - 10/02/2017 09:21:58    1954266

How many go to watch the games around the country live- answer on the back of stamp! probably about 2 dozen. RTE showing matches where only a handful turn up to watch. There would be more at any GAA club match over any weekend throughout the country. I encourage all sports but see no point in television coverage where so few attend live.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 10/02/2017 10:01:56    1954278

I don't think rugby is for girls myself. Astonishing if 292 thousand want to watch them at it. Why are women aping all men's sports and competition? Why don't they invent a few sports & events of their own, and see if men will want to ape them at it.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3420 - 10/02/2017 10:41:09    1954295

Replying To browncows:  "1. RTÉ Press Office ‏@RTEPress 24 Feb 2014

How many go to watch the games around the country live- answer on the back of stamp! probably about 2 dozen. RTE showing matches where only a handful turn up to watch. There would be more at any GAA club match over any weekend throughout the country. I encourage all sports but see no point in television coverage where so few attend live."
RTE show live sports because they have an audience who want to watch them regardless of the attendance at the games. They broadcast live because that's their business. They're not running the live sporting events or selling tickets for it. They're getting revenue either or from the sports sponsor, from an organisation sponsoring the broadcast or from advertising revenue during breaks in broadcast or a combination of the three. They could possibly get a TV audience of 500,000 for a Pro 12 game with just 10,000 at it but a TV audience of 100,000 for Wexford v Galway in a hurling championship with 20,000 at it. The number of playing members of sports clubs and the number of supporters going to games isn't always reflected by it's TV audience. Rugby has more armchair supporters than GAA I reckon. And if your attending a game you can't be at home and part of the TV audience figures.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7344 - 10/02/2017 10:55:41    1954300

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "I don't think rugby is for girls myself. Astonishing if 292 thousand want to watch them at it. Why are women aping all men's sports and competition? Why don't they invent a few sports & events of their own, and see if men will want to ape them at it."
Hilarious.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7344 - 10/02/2017 11:01:20    1954301

Someone shut this pointless thread down please.

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 10/02/2017 12:16:27    1954332

Replying To GreenandRed:  "RTE show live sports because they have an audience who want to watch them regardless of the attendance at the games. They broadcast live because that's their business. They're not running the live sporting events or selling tickets for it. They're getting revenue either or from the sports sponsor, from an organisation sponsoring the broadcast or from advertising revenue during breaks in broadcast or a combination of the three. They could possibly get a TV audience of 500,000 for a Pro 12 game with just 10,000 at it but a TV audience of 100,000 for Wexford v Galway in a hurling championship with 20,000 at it. The number of playing members of sports clubs and the number of supporters going to games isn't always reflected by it's TV audience. Rugby has more armchair supporters than GAA I reckon. And if your attending a game you can't be at home and part of the TV audience figures."
If that was true then why don't they show boxing anymore, they had huge figures during the Bernard Dunne days and then mr Nugent pulled the plug despite an appetite from the public to see boxing live on tv. Just like theirs an appetite for seo spoirt but the new guys running tg4 had a different vision to the public.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 10/02/2017 12:34:18    1954342

Replying To hill16no1man:  "If that was true then why don't they show boxing anymore, they had huge figures during the Bernard Dunne days and then mr Nugent pulled the plug despite an appetite from the public to see boxing live on tv. Just like theirs an appetite for seo spoirt but the new guys running tg4 had a different vision to the public."
I have no idea why Hill, that's a very good point. Dunne's epic title fight was quickly forgotten as Ireland won the Grand Slam the same day.Back in the Sports Stadium days if you remember them there was racing nearly every Saturday, you'd get a few live English soccer games on a Saturday. Snooker was also shown quite a bit and that had very low attendances but high TV audience. There was more live rugby even back then during the 5 Nations than live senior Gaelic Football which was just the All Ireland semi finals and final.

I don't know how they decide policy of what to broadcast in RTE. I reckon they started off thinking they'd get more advertising/sponsorship revenue trying to sell BMWs to an historically wealthy rugby viewership than selling Toyotas to, what they might think, is a less lucrative GAA viewing audience. But whether RTE or other branch of media or the IRFU have created the rugby TV audience it's definitely there. Aldi and Lidl, not the outlets of choice for the Leapordstowners, sell more and more rugby merchandise year after year and it's not bad stuff. Aldi are one of the IRFU sponsors. They're doing this cos there are potential customers in that market and they see money to be made. Many of them might never play rugby or even go to a game but they'll watch it on telly and buy a jersey or top in Lidl or Aldi. They're still fair game for the GAA to get them and their kids involved in football or hurling.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7344 - 10/02/2017 17:17:07    1954466

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Each to their own. Soccer isn't only good when it's all out attacking for me. Can be some great defensive games. If you don't like 15-a-side go and watch League or 7s. Both good games to watch but the non-stop nature of those games at times can be boring to me. I'd prefer union because of the tactics. A team can have a lot of strengths in fast skilful backs but could be nullified by a team tactically slowing them down and rucking and mauling most of the game. I definitely see how that kind of play can be boring to some but I like it!"
I only like rugby union when it is running rugby. It is too stop start for me.
At least with soccer it is easier to understand the tactics (it is fairly simple)
But with rugby the tactics are more nuanced,

Funny enough I will be going to the Ireland v England game in March (English relations into it).

But what am I thinking about?

Will I watch the Dublin v Kerry game on the telly after or would there be enough time to tear down to Kerry?

gormdubhgorm (Dublin) - Posts: 990 - 10/02/2017 17:41:16    1954478

Replying To GreenandRed:  "RTE show live sports because they have an audience who want to watch them regardless of the attendance at the games. They broadcast live because that's their business. They're not running the live sporting events or selling tickets for it. They're getting revenue either or from the sports sponsor, from an organisation sponsoring the broadcast or from advertising revenue during breaks in broadcast or a combination of the three. They could possibly get a TV audience of 500,000 for a Pro 12 game with just 10,000 at it but a TV audience of 100,000 for Wexford v Galway in a hurling championship with 20,000 at it. The number of playing members of sports clubs and the number of supporters going to games isn't always reflected by it's TV audience. Rugby has more armchair supporters than GAA I reckon. And if your attending a game you can't be at home and part of the TV audience figures."
Then why do they not show a games of marbles- maybe 500,000 would watch that as well- do you have the figures to suggest otherwise.!

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 10/02/2017 17:58:44    1954485

Ryle Nugent has made it fairly clear that a deal has been done and RTE only get to show the Autumn Internationals if they also show live the U20 games from the 6nations. A similar deal is in place to explain why the women's games are shown. It has nothing to do with public interest despite what some on here would make you believe as there isn't really any, it was a deal done by the IRFU to ensure maximum exposure for the sport.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 10/02/2017 19:27:44    1954502

If 500k people were interested in seeing a game of marbles, browncow, you can be certain that RTE and every other media organisation in this land would be tripping over themselves to broadcast it. Money, in the form of potential advertising revenue, talks.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1903 - 10/02/2017 19:43:31    1954506

Replying To browncows:  "Then why do they not show a games of marbles- maybe 500,000 would watch that as well- do you have the figures to suggest otherwise.!"
Indeed and I do not! I'd rather watch marbles than the Voice of Ireland.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7344 - 10/02/2017 22:22:38    1954554