Can the GAA survive the Rugby onslaught

That's called bandwagon stuff but funnily enough I have never seen kids with a rugby ball in the public park by me.
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts:11585 - 30/01/2017 19:19:13

but if you go down to a rugby club some saturday or sunday morning you probably will!!!!!!!

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 30/01/2017 20:38:05    1950322

3 Connacht players retire with concussion in last year. Yet all we ever see is "GAA violence" in the media.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2517 - 31/01/2017 17:09:22    1950635

Must admit i'm finding it ever more difficult(but not impossible) to avoid rugger coverage on radio.A ridiculous amount of time devoted to it on Newstalk and RTE.And this for the club games.I've no doubt it will get even worse for the Five Nations so i will have to be quick on the radio diall to avoid this game-of-the-privileged hyperbole infiltrating my ears.Rugger buggers are head melters!

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 31/01/2017 17:33:54    1950640

Replying To galwayford:  "3 Connacht players retire with concussion in last year. Yet all we ever see is "GAA violence" in the media."
Ah but in rugby its different it doesn't mean the same thing hahahahaha we are not rugby people we don't understand how rugby people view it

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 31/01/2017 17:47:16    1950642

The national team is one thing but when your county GAA matches clash with pro 12 or European rugby matches attendance for rugby will fall, it's a small crowd that attend club rugby games as it is, I wouldn't worry too much about rugby over GAA

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 31/01/2017 19:09:14    1950667

Replying To hill16no1man:  "Ah but in rugby its different it doesn't mean the same thing hahahahaha we are not rugby people we don't understand how rugby people view it"
Probably some truth in that. A 26 year old man having to retire from complications following a concussion that happened 11 months ago is incredibly sad. Played until halftime in that game and was then taken off. Signed a new contract a week later but never played since I believe. Best of luck to him with whatever he does next.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 31/01/2017 21:00:59    1950699

Drinks on paddy power tonight
132 thousand euro pay out on two accumalators

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 31/01/2017 21:42:48    1950721

Replying To hill16no1man:  "Drinks on paddy power tonight
132 thousand euro pay out on two accumalators"
You could cashed out for 33,000.Happy Days!

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 31/01/2017 21:51:02    1950722

Replying To hill16no1man:  "Drinks on paddy power tonight
132 thousand euro pay out on two accumalators"
they love hyping up their payouts..good pr for them..speaking as someone in the industry

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 31/01/2017 22:04:06    1950723

Replying To cuederocket:  "Must admit i'm finding it ever more difficult(but not impossible) to avoid rugger coverage on radio.A ridiculous amount of time devoted to it on Newstalk and RTE.And this for the club games.I've no doubt it will get even worse for the Five Nations so i will have to be quick on the radio diall to avoid this game-of-the-privileged hyperbole infiltrating my ears.Rugger buggers are head melters!"
Why bother avoiding it when you have a dedicated thread on it right here???

jimski (Kildare) - Posts: 381 - 31/01/2017 22:58:56    1950751

Replying To jimski:  "Why bother avoiding it when you have a dedicated thread on it right here???"
I avoid it here also jimski!Haven't looked at this thread in weeks and am surprised it is still going.If i had a magic button to delete the thread i would,believe me.

Egg ball is the preserve of the silver-spooned,eliteist,private schooled south county Dublin posh boys and the less of it anywhere the better.In the capital,GAA folk and eggball folk are chalk and cheese.Zero in common.Always has been and always will be.Lets stop giving the Ireland's Call brigade anymore airtime on here.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 31/01/2017 23:21:12    1950755

I'm starting a partition to have this thread closed or moved to other sports section!!!!!!

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 01/02/2017 12:22:27    1950846

Replying To hill16no1man:  "I'm starting a partition to have this thread closed or moved to other sports section!!!!!!"
Sign me up pal!

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 01/02/2017 13:06:51    1950858

Replying To hill16no1man:  "I'm starting a partition to have this thread closed or moved to other sports section!!!!!!"
Replying To rebelfan: "Will this thread ever die"
Will this thread ever die

rebelfan (Cork) - Posts:39

Tomsmith from Cavan here

Rebel fan from County Cork you and your 38 sorry 39 posts
How could you ever be so arrogant as to ask why /query why a post that has 35,000 views and around 800 replied from all over Ireland should be deleted.
In future get some pre=posting advice from a good friend before your deride Tomsmiths posts
tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts:2884

HILL 16 Dublin Tomsmith here

See my response above to rebel fan from County Cork
The same advice goes to you in relation to your arrogance in calling for an end to aPOst that has been viewd 35000 times an responded to by over800 people. So is the 35000 people that viewed this all wrong and Hill 16 is right . I rest my case and let you figure it out for yourself. Or as the great Mrs T says about youse away up in Dublin*** Sure some of them away up there think that they are better than us here** My advice to yous is also get some good preposting advice from agood friend

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 3855 - 01/02/2017 21:20:33    1951063

Replying To cuederocket:  "Sign me up pal!"
Walls are not the way to go when dealing with such issues.

sceptical (Cavan) - Posts: 544 - 01/02/2017 21:57:05    1951066

Hill16no1man here
tomsmith nearly every thread goes off topic and is closed down if they weren't they would have the same amount id views and replies as this one.
This topic has gone off topic almost as many times as there is posts on it, it was debated the actual topic at the start then just escalated into something not even close to the title so therefore it has every reason to be closed down just like all the others before it.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 01/02/2017 22:30:16    1951071

I avoid it here also jimski!Haven't looked at this thread in weeks and am surprised it is still going.If i had a magic button to delete the thread i would,believe me.
Egg ball is the preserve of the silver-spooned,eliteist,private schooled south county Dublin posh boys and the less of it anywhere the better.In the capital,GAA folk and eggball folk are chalk and cheese.Zero in common.Always has been and always will be.Lets stop giving the Ireland's Call brigade anymore airtime on here.
cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts:4991 - 31/01/2017 23:21:12
Hahahaha the irony of this. Rugby is far from the "preserve" of elitist people. You just show yourself as elitist and ignorant with posts like that. There is thousands and thousands and thousands of people are both GAA and Rugby in Dublin and the country overall. Your bitterness is hilarious.

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 01/02/2017 22:56:07    1951086

Replying To ormondbannerman:  "I avoid it here also jimski!Haven't looked at this thread in weeks and am surprised it is still going.If i had a magic button to delete the thread i would,believe me.
Hahahaha the irony of this. Rugby is far from the "preserve" of elitist people. You just show yourself as elitist and ignorant with posts like that. There is thousands and thousands and thousands of people are both GAA and Rugby in Dublin and the country overall. Your bitterness is hilarious."
Haha ormonde,you could be right there.I was down in Tipp last week at my Gran's funeral and was talking to a couple of my Kilfeacle cousins.They love the rugby and reckon another cousin,International rugby ref John Lacey from Tipp town will be getting some big games this year.

I'm winding a few up on here with my dissing of all things rugby.I don't hate it.Never have.I didn't like the way it was in Dublin growing up (non existant out my way) but i always enjoyed watching it.

I bunked off school in 1st year in Clondalkin and me and a pal got the bus into Landsdowne Rd to watch a rugby world cup group game with Ireland v Japan.It remains the only game i ever attended.

I never missed a 5 nations game on the box with me Dad.I used love that old scottish commentator on BBC and players like Gavin Hastings and some Hendry lad.I remember leapin round the sittin room when Ireland beat England in '85 with a last gasp drop goal.

Also,for over 10 years ive worked around the city for every single rugby international and big Leinster games and had manys a good conversation with fans from all over.

There is no doubting though that rugby was only played in the private schools and affluent areas of Dublin when i was growing up.No one i ever knew played it.It was all GAA and soccer.To be honest i would have liked to have given it a go.Me cousins in Tipp say id have made a good front row.However due to the geography and circumstance it was never an option.Thankfully it does seem to be changing for the better now.

It's good to rile the rugby toffs who have a bit of an attitude.Believe me,i've encountered a few,but most the rugby lads on here seem to be genuine and have a passion for it(even if it is a GAA forum!).It will always be down the list of favourite sports for me but when you get a good international game it makes for good viewing.That's the final comment i'll be making on rugby on here.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 02/02/2017 01:44:18    1951102

Replying To cuederocket:  "
Replying To ormondbannerman:  "I avoid it here also jimski!Haven't looked at this thread in weeks and am surprised it is still going.If i had a magic button to delete the thread i would,believe me.
Hahahaha the irony of this. Rugby is far from the "preserve" of elitist people. You just show yourself as elitist and ignorant with posts like that. There is thousands and thousands and thousands of people are both GAA and Rugby in Dublin and the country overall. Your bitterness is hilarious."
Haha ormonde,you could be right there.I was down in Tipp last week at my Gran's funeral and was talking to a couple of my Kilfeacle cousins.They love the rugby and reckon another cousin,International rugby ref John Lacey from Tipp town will be getting some big games this year.

I'm winding a few up on here with my dissing of all things rugby.I don't hate it.Never have.I didn't like the way it was in Dublin growing up (non existant out my way) but i always enjoyed watching it.

I bunked off school in 1st year in Clondalkin and me and a pal got the bus into Landsdowne Rd to watch a rugby world cup group game with Ireland v Japan.It remains the only game i ever attended.

I never missed a 5 nations game on the box with me Dad.I used love that old scottish commentator on BBC and players like Gavin Hastings and some Hendry lad.I remember leapin round the sittin room when Ireland beat England in '85 with a last gasp drop goal.

Also,for over 10 years ive worked around the city for every single rugby international and big Leinster games and had manys a good conversation with fans from all over.

There is no doubting though that rugby was only played in the private schools and affluent areas of Dublin when i was growing up.No one i ever knew played it.It was all GAA and soccer.To be honest i would have liked to have given it a go.Me cousins in Tipp say id have made a good front row.However due to the geography and circumstance it was never an option.Thankfully it does seem to be changing for the better now.

It's good to rile the rugby toffs who have a bit of an attitude.Believe me,i've encountered a few,but most the rugby lads on here seem to be genuine and have a passion for it(even if it is a GAA forum!).It will always be down the list of favourite sports for me but when you get a good international game it makes for good viewing.That's the final comment i'll be making on rugby on here."
Cued, have you seen any of the Ronnie hustling in America program yet? Is it worth looking out for? I heard him talking about it. Said no top pool player would ever make it in snooker but that it would take him about a year to be a top pool player. I was thinking it'd take him less than a year.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7336 - 02/02/2017 07:42:12    1951109

cue - sorry to hear about the loss of your gran

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 02/02/2017 09:25:41    1951129