Have you ever been wrong ?

2001 - Galway for the senior double. So close though

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 705 - 23/03/2017 14:00:21    1970397

You are correct noelnyc

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8586 - 23/03/2017 14:54:21    1970429

'Realdub' at least I can say I wasn't wrong regards something :) Great run by yer team over the last few years, records are made to be broken!!!

noelnyc (Kerry) - Posts: 82 - 24/03/2017 09:48:56    1970615

Was wrong re womens boxing , never thought in a million years Id watch one , then K Taylor came along , last pro fight a masterclass
Wrong re Dublin hurling many years ago , knew nothing about the sport never thought it would take off in the capital

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 24/03/2017 10:19:49    1970626

Prior to the National league final there posts on the Kerry page looking for EF to be replaced by the Kerry under 21 management team, now that to me was foolish then and even more so given results recently,
as this thread proved our Kerry friends are a little shy in openly admitting to being wrong on anything, so no names attached but an admittance on their behalf from yours truly you were wrong.

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 18/04/2017 08:58:36    1980320

Replying To Damothedub:  "Hoganstand is a great place for lads coming on to say I told you so , some I believe have a bank of old posts to lay their hands on just in case , however as in life everyone is wrong as often as right , so tongue in cheek what's your worst gaff ever , keep it GAA or sport related..
GAA completely wrong on Michael Fitzsimonns , never thought he'd amount to much last year .
About six seven years ago I said B Cody and Kilkenny were finished.
But my biggest misjudgement I told all my mates when a certain Tiger Woods turned professional that he was overrated all hype opps."
I was wrong about Kerry this year. I believed they would be very dominant in two or three years and thought they may have had a year or two where they fade away to third or fourth best(before they come back better than before)...but (so far) seem to be slowly picking up pace and I still feel they will be dominant in three years time with all that youth and a slightly older Dublin team...That been said Dublin may have a crop of U-21's this year and Mayo just never seem to go away but in the long term I think Kerry will have a few consistent good years in the future.

Could be wrong about us too this year(with Donegal's new youth) but I still reckon either us or Monaghan will get Ulster. Something about that Monaghan team this year.

GameOfTyrones (Tyrone) - Posts: 469 - 18/04/2017 10:06:07    1980344

No

kikfada (Louth) - Posts: 2091 - 18/04/2017 12:43:04    1980411

At the beginning of the year I completely wrote Donegal off due to retirements and because a few players had made themselves unavailable, I thought it would be years before we saw Donegal back as a serious team.

They've proved me wrong with their league form and how they've blooded so many younger players and I can see them winning an Ulster title and making the last 4.

TheWestIsAwake (UK) - Posts: 529 - 18/04/2017 13:58:48    1980446

No, never. Well, I am a female and we are NEVER wrong!:)

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 18/04/2017 14:45:41    1980466

Replying To Jackeen:  "No, never. Well, I am a female and we are NEVER wrong!:)"
My wife was wrong in 2008 , or so I thought turns out it was a mistake on my behalf hasn't happened since

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 18/04/2017 16:11:18    1980492

Replying To jimbodub:  "Whoops wrong again

Just remeasured

It's actually 10.8 inches"
Jaysus Jimbo that's an awful small hurley!

DUBJOHN (Dublin) - Posts: 932 - 18/04/2017 18:28:09    1980540

Replying To noelnyc:  "I was convinced that Dublin would beat Kerry in 1975, 1978, 1979, 1984, 1985, 2001 and 2009. So, so wrong was I :)"
Snap! I was convinced Kerry would beat Dublin in 2011,2013,2015and 2016! How wrong was I?

DUBJOHN (Dublin) - Posts: 932 - 18/04/2017 18:32:11    1980542

Just wondering anyone fancy revaluating their opinions on Davy Fitzs coaching abilities , think its fair to say he out smarted the great one , been a fair whack of lads with strong opinions on him,any takers?

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 15/06/2017 13:40:03    1999931

Replying To realdub:  "G'wan outta that Jimbo, bet its the other way around, and its only 8.1 inches"
Or 1.08 inches...

dubdec99 (Dublin) - Posts: 180 - 15/06/2017 14:18:42    1999951

Yes I'll hold my hands up. Sometimes I have been ultra defensive and maybe a bit over sensitive to any criticism of Ulster teams and players. While I still believe some of it was parochial and partitionist driven I also accept that a good part of was just honest and sport related.
I have no problems with teams employing good, well organised defensive strategies but sitting back all the time won't win you trophies. Tyrone of 2002 - 2010 were defensively brilliant but could also be excellent on the break; Dublin and Kerry are now like that great Tyrone side.
The first half of the Down/Armagh game was excellent and an example of the way football can be played.
The best Ulster Championship games, while tough and uncompromising, always contained periods of super attacking football and great scores. It needs to get back to that, the possession, backwards and sideways handpassing, 15 men behind the ball is neither attractive nor productive.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9697 - 15/06/2017 14:20:39    1999954

Replying To Ulsterman:  "Yes I'll hold my hands up. Sometimes I have been ultra defensive and maybe a bit over sensitive to any criticism of Ulster teams and players. While I still believe some of it was parochial and partitionist driven I also accept that a good part of was just honest and sport related.
I have no problems with teams employing good, well organised defensive strategies but sitting back all the time won't win you trophies. Tyrone of 2002 - 2010 were defensively brilliant but could also be excellent on the break; Dublin and Kerry are now like that great Tyrone side.
The first half of the Down/Armagh game was excellent and an example of the way football can be played.
The best Ulster Championship games, while tough and uncompromising, always contained periods of super attacking football and great scores. It needs to get back to that, the possession, backwards and sideways handpassing, 15 men behind the ball is neither attractive nor productive."
Good piece

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 15/06/2017 15:15:17    1999976

Replying To Damothedub:  "Just wondering anyone fancy revaluating their opinions on Davy Fitzs coaching abilities , think its fair to say he out smarted the great one , been a fair whack of lads with strong opinions on him,any takers?"
Davy Fitz is just one of those characters that will always divide opinions.
Some lads love that sort of manager other just can't stand it. I think you'll find that's the case even in Clare with Davy.
He has success in short bursts but I doubt he'll ever stay anywhere long as eventually the rousing the troops effect will die out. Now , I know he brings more than just that and can play a tactical game too but without the players that only has so much of an effect and I think Kk and Cody are probably finding that out now. We'll see how he gets on as the championship progresses but I wouldn't think too many lads will change their view of him just yet. Good times for Wexford though and I'd say they love him right now.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 15/06/2017 16:19:17    2000012

Replying To catch22:  "Davy Fitz is just one of those characters that will always divide opinions.
Some lads love that sort of manager other just can't stand it. I think you'll find that's the case even in Clare with Davy.
He has success in short bursts but I doubt he'll ever stay anywhere long as eventually the rousing the troops effect will die out. Now , I know he brings more than just that and can play a tactical game too but without the players that only has so much of an effect and I think Kk and Cody are probably finding that out now. We'll see how he gets on as the championship progresses but I wouldn't think too many lads will change their view of him just yet. Good times for Wexford though and I'd say they love him right now."
Your right in a lot of what you say , could we do with him waving his magic for sure, it there's one thing about Davey his team believe and go out to perform , our sorry lot fail on both scores at the moment

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 15/06/2017 16:37:58    2000020

I just read this quote about being wrong:

"Being wrong is acceptable, staying wrong is unacceptable."

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 15/06/2017 17:14:58    2000037

Replying To Damothedub:  "Your right in a lot of what you say , could we do with him waving his magic for sure, it there's one thing about Davey his team believe and go out to perform , our sorry lot fail on both scores at the moment"
Dublin are at a low point that's for sure and since Cunningham took the reins it appears as though all the progress that came with Daly has been completely wiped out.
All this for me just goes to confirm the importance of the right man at the helm and Fitzgerald no doubt would have done a better job had he been in the position.Hindsight is a great thing of course but it will be vital for Dublin who they appoint next.The wrong option could spell disaster.Who's the best man for the job though and who wants it ?

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 15/06/2017 18:42:04    2000073