Dublin v Kildare

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Ah come on now wayno in 2013 the game was level going into injury time and a couple of mistakes by a tired Kerry team which in fairness to ye ye took full advantage of and got a couple of goals one which was an attempt at a point but dropped in over keally.

2015 ye won 12 points to 9 and ye scored 4/5 points from play.
But fitzmaurice got his team badly wrong that day and only for killian young dropping a slippery ball in the last few mins we could easily have had a draw.

2016 we were were ahead all the way to the end and only for a couple of dodgy decisions by the reff we would have more than likely won.

The thing is this is the best Dub team ever according to ye dub fans but our Kerry team that's been in deep transition for years now can always put it up to ye.

And if Kildare can match ye'r Dubs athletically they can beat ye imo."
so you reckon the only difference between us and the dubs is athleticism? I thought kerry lads knew their football oh dear

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 07/07/2017 19:58:54    2012116

Replying To waynoI:  "To those saying Dublin are getting carried away by their 31 point win. Don't think so. My confidence is based on losing 1 game in 2 years. Winning Leinster every year under gavin. 3 of the last 4 all Irelands and generally watching this Dublin team in years gone by, up until and including Westmeath last week

People are also very quick to talk up Kildare putting it up to Dublin on the back of a handy victory over a very average Meath team who where absolutely out on their feet very early doors in their game. Not exactly a great acid test. Also didn't help that all of Meaths restarts where at pedestrian pace being lauched into the middle where Kildare quite clearly had the advantage of two better and bigger fielders over Meath, Tactically Meath where so niave at times it was actually frightening to witness first hand. Dublin wont allow Kildare that luxury. Dublin have played much better teams than Kildare consistently for years now, They are well ahead in terms of fitness, class, power, experience, know how, game intelligence etc and no amount of mickey mouse fads like those goggle things will be able to prepare Kildare for this Dublin side... Or even a Tyrone or a Kerry. Its alright beating fellow D2 teams in scintillating heat who clearly aren't a match for ya, but doing it to the best team there is this year, With a bunch of players who are trying to prove their worth, players like Lowndes, Mannion, Scully, etc, a Team who are so professional in their whole mentality and approach, well, that's a different ball game altogether.

Dublin are what they are, a machine. A well oiled, machine. They wont be getting distracted by any media talk or any outside influence, They will go into the game like they do any other and they wont treat Kildare any different to Kerry, Mayo et al, They will prepare diligently, there will be ZERO chance of complacency, every aspect of Kildares gameplan will be methodically prepared for and they wont be shocked by anything Kildare throw at them and will simply adapt to what they put up against us. They will have prepared for every scenario, And they will just take it and respond in kind. You want to get men back ? Fine we will be patient and go over you. Wanna attack us ? We will just outscore you. Itll be like a giant snake that's just caught a family pet, ultimately the beast will overpower and strangle the life out of its prey. No matter how much of a fight the little pet puts up, ultimately itll be in vein because the beast is just too strong, Right now, Dublin are that beast.

This Dublin team are not unbeatable. We are not superhuman. We may not even win the all Ireland infact I expect we wont, But Itll take an exceptional team to beat us, Kildare.. while they are progressing, they are still miles off us, and will likely be looking at the qualifers after July 16. It wont be a 31 point win, but Dublin will comfortably prevail in the end and that's not a dig at Kildare, its just in my opinion a view on where both teams are at right now. No doubt Kildare are going in the right direction but Dublin are still absolutely worlds apart. People may not like me saying that but its the truth."
Brilliant post..

GGdub (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 07/07/2017 21:11:56    2012152

Replying To lilypad:  "so you reckon the only difference between us and the dubs is athleticism? I thought kerry lads knew their football oh dear"
He's listening to Spillane a bit too much i'd say. "Tis all about passion, intensity, and pace to bate the Dubs"

Hill16Army (Dublin) - Posts: 88 - 07/07/2017 21:14:56    2012154

Replying To lilypad:  "so you reckon the only difference between us and the dubs is athleticism? I thought kerry lads knew their football oh dear"
Well lily unlike a lot of lads on here if I'm wrong then il apologise.

And we'll find out Sunday week ;-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 07/07/2017 21:52:14    2012167

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Well lily unlike a lot of lads on here if I'm wrong then il apologise.

And we'll find out Sunday week ;-)"
You do not have to wait until Sunday week to apologise. Dublin are a superb football team winning
four of the last six All- Irelands and four National Leagues in a row. They are wonderful ambassadors
of Gaelic Football. Pat Spillane has recently said that Dublin are the second best football team that he
has ever seen. You are obviously a lover of Gaelic Football so I thought you would be a little gracious
in acknowledging the true worth of Dublin. Dublin has raised the profile of Gaelic Football. If Dublin
are defeated on Sunday week, ( I do not believe they will be defeated) they will go down regardless
as one of the great football teams.

fainleog (Limerick) - Posts: 597 - 07/07/2017 22:56:21    2012198

Replying To waynoI:  "To those saying Dublin are getting carried away by their 31 point win. Don't think so. My confidence is based on losing 1 game in 2 years. Winning Leinster every year under gavin. 3 of the last 4 all Irelands and generally watching this Dublin team in years gone by, up until and including Westmeath last week

People are also very quick to talk up Kildare putting it up to Dublin on the back of a handy victory over a very average Meath team who where absolutely out on their feet very early doors in their game. Not exactly a great acid test. Also didn't help that all of Meaths restarts where at pedestrian pace being lauched into the middle where Kildare quite clearly had the advantage of two better and bigger fielders over Meath, Tactically Meath where so niave at times it was actually frightening to witness first hand. Dublin wont allow Kildare that luxury. Dublin have played much better teams than Kildare consistently for years now, They are well ahead in terms of fitness, class, power, experience, know how, game intelligence etc and no amount of mickey mouse fads like those goggle things will be able to prepare Kildare for this Dublin side... Or even a Tyrone or a Kerry. Its alright beating fellow D2 teams in scintillating heat who clearly aren't a match for ya, but doing it to the best team there is this year, With a bunch of players who are trying to prove their worth, players like Lowndes, Mannion, Scully, etc, a Team who are so professional in their whole mentality and approach, well, that's a different ball game altogether.

Dublin are what they are, a machine. A well oiled, machine. They wont be getting distracted by any media talk or any outside influence, They will go into the game like they do any other and they wont treat Kildare any different to Kerry, Mayo et al, They will prepare diligently, there will be ZERO chance of complacency, every aspect of Kildares gameplan will be methodically prepared for and they wont be shocked by anything Kildare throw at them and will simply adapt to what they put up against us. They will have prepared for every scenario, And they will just take it and respond in kind. You want to get men back ? Fine we will be patient and go over you. Wanna attack us ? We will just outscore you. Itll be like a giant snake that's just caught a family pet, ultimately the beast will overpower and strangle the life out of its prey. No matter how much of a fight the little pet puts up, ultimately itll be in vein because the beast is just too strong, Right now, Dublin are that beast.

This Dublin team are not unbeatable. We are not superhuman. We may not even win the all Ireland infact I expect we wont, But Itll take an exceptional team to beat us, Kildare.. while they are progressing, they are still miles off us, and will likely be looking at the qualifers after July 16. It wont be a 31 point win, but Dublin will comfortably prevail in the end and that's not a dig at Kildare, its just in my opinion a view on where both teams are at right now. No doubt Kildare are going in the right direction but Dublin are still absolutely worlds apart. People may not like me saying that but its the truth."
I think that's a fair assessment.

Dublin the standard bearers, and while they might not win the All Ireland, they still certainly the best team in Leinster.

We are moving in the right direction. Really impressed with performances this year and all the young blood that has been introduced.

(someone said we have the lowest average age in the championship - no idea how true that is!!)

Anyway, can't see us beating Dublin but hopefully put in a good performance and carry it through to Qualifiers.

Dr.Watson (Kildare) - Posts: 208 - 08/07/2017 00:11:50    2012228

Replying To Dr.Watson:  "I think that's a fair assessment.

Dublin the standard bearers, and while they might not win the All Ireland, they still certainly the best team in Leinster.

We are moving in the right direction. Really impressed with performances this year and all the young blood that has been introduced.

(someone said we have the lowest average age in the championship - no idea how true that is!!)

Anyway, can't see us beating Dublin but hopefully put in a good performance and carry it through to Qualifiers."
The one area where I think Kildare will be close to par with Dublin is their fitness levels. Having seen them first hand, Kildare throughout the season so far are very fit and I spoke to someone who is close to the camp and he said that in his opinion this is the fittest Kildare team in years. This team is a work in progress and realistically we need a season in Division 1 next year before they can be judged on their ability to compete with the top teams.

I think most supporters would agree now that we are in bonus territory now. Promotion to Division 1 and a place in the Leinster final secured. That would have seemed highly unlikely just two seasons ago. A good performance against Dublin and good draw for the 4th Round qualifers and who knows we could make the last 8.One thing I can say with confidence is that the best of this young team is yet to come.

lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 2986 - 08/07/2017 12:04:18    2012310

Replying To lilywhite1:  "The one area where I think Kildare will be close to par with Dublin is their fitness levels. Having seen them first hand, Kildare throughout the season so far are very fit and I spoke to someone who is close to the camp and he said that in his opinion this is the fittest Kildare team in years. This team is a work in progress and realistically we need a season in Division 1 next year before they can be judged on their ability to compete with the top teams.

I think most supporters would agree now that we are in bonus territory now. Promotion to Division 1 and a place in the Leinster final secured. That would have seemed highly unlikely just two seasons ago. A good performance against Dublin and good draw for the 4th Round qualifers and who knows we could make the last 8.One thing I can say with confidence is that the best of this young team is yet to come."
I don't know if id agree that Kildare's physical fitness will be close to par. Probably depend on the weather. If its a scorcher then I'd worry about Kildares physical fitness. Now I know they played in unreal temperatures in Tullamore, but as mentioned before, Meath didn't half help them with their naïve, stupid tactics. Its likely Kildare will be doing a lot more running against the Dubs. Id be surprised to see Kildare physically put it to Dublin for 50 of the 70 minutes but even if they do match Dublin for physical fitness, Its their mental fitness that could be their downfall.

What will happen to this young Kildare team if they go 5 or 6 down at any stage but particularly early on ? How will the confidence hold against an insanely motivated Dublin panel who have serious competition for places. We generally get purple patches and make hay, how will kildare fare with that ?

How will they cope knowing that potentially at some point they could be a few points down, and a Con O'Callaghan may come off, and a Bernard Brogan may come on ?

Mentally how do you prepare yourself to chase one of the games stars like say, Ciaran Kilkenny, Only for him to see the line and a potential rocket like Kevin McManamon come on in his place ?

Or if you have Mick Fitz up your bonnet and youre getting very little change, seeing him make way and Philly McMahon coming in.

Fellas who have All Ireland medals coming out of their ears in recent years, All stars. You name it, they got it.

Its a totally different proposition for the likes of Kildare coming up against the Dublin and Kerrys of this world, than beating teams in D2.

Kildare's physical and mental fitness has to be on point for 70 minutes and Dublin will still hold the aces of know how, experience, confidence of champions to keep eating away.

And to twist it. IF Kildare take a lead at some point, Dublin wont fall away like Meath did and just take it on the chin. Will they have the resolve to hold Dublin out if they do get into a winning position.

Youre right though, its a decent young team and this game will bring them on.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 08/07/2017 13:33:41    2012327

Replying To waynoI:  "I don't know if id agree that Kildare's physical fitness will be close to par. Probably depend on the weather. If its a scorcher then I'd worry about Kildares physical fitness. Now I know they played in unreal temperatures in Tullamore, but as mentioned before, Meath didn't half help them with their naïve, stupid tactics. Its likely Kildare will be doing a lot more running against the Dubs. Id be surprised to see Kildare physically put it to Dublin for 50 of the 70 minutes but even if they do match Dublin for physical fitness, Its their mental fitness that could be their downfall.

What will happen to this young Kildare team if they go 5 or 6 down at any stage but particularly early on ? How will the confidence hold against an insanely motivated Dublin panel who have serious competition for places. We generally get purple patches and make hay, how will kildare fare with that ?

How will they cope knowing that potentially at some point they could be a few points down, and a Con O'Callaghan may come off, and a Bernard Brogan may come on ?

Mentally how do you prepare yourself to chase one of the games stars like say, Ciaran Kilkenny, Only for him to see the line and a potential rocket like Kevin McManamon come on in his place ?

Or if you have Mick Fitz up your bonnet and youre getting very little change, seeing him make way and Philly McMahon coming in.

Fellas who have All Ireland medals coming out of their ears in recent years, All stars. You name it, they got it.

Its a totally different proposition for the likes of Kildare coming up against the Dublin and Kerrys of this world, than beating teams in D2.

Kildare's physical and mental fitness has to be on point for 70 minutes and Dublin will still hold the aces of know how, experience, confidence of champions to keep eating away.

And to twist it. IF Kildare take a lead at some point, Dublin wont fall away like Meath did and just take it on the chin. Will they have the resolve to hold Dublin out if they do get into a winning position.

Youre right though, its a decent young team and this game will bring them on."
After reading that it's probably not worth our while turning up.

And as for your last comment - how patronising can you get!

jimski (Kildare) - Posts: 381 - 08/07/2017 13:46:26    2012331

After reading that it's probably not worth our while turning up.

jimski (Kildare) - Posts:294 - 08/07/2017

Ah won't it be nice for us to have a day out in the city and off the farm anyways?

Sure there'll be plenty of time for us to foot turf later in the summer once the football is all over with...

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 08/07/2017 14:12:29    2012336

Replying To if_in_doubt:  "After reading that it's probably not worth our while turning up.

jimski (Kildare) - Posts:294 - 08/07/2017

Ah won't it be nice for us to have a day out in the city and off the farm anyways?

Sure there'll be plenty of time for us to foot turf later in the summer once the football is all over with..."
Will there be anywhere at the Luas to tie up the horse??:)

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 08/07/2017 22:05:42    2012585

if I wasn't a dub the questions Im asking about kildare would be seen as genuine. Whatever about being patronising I thing the most patronising thing a person can do is to talk up the opposition knowing full well in their heart of hearts that what they are saying is not how they feel about the game at all. I'm just being honest and I don't feel I'm being patronising at all. if I'm wrong then tell me how. otherwise I feel all the questions I have going into the game regarding kildare and their mental fitness are absolutely legit

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 08/07/2017 22:43:48    2012626

Replying To waynoI:  "if I wasn't a dub the questions Im asking about kildare would be seen as genuine. Whatever about being patronising I thing the most patronising thing a person can do is to talk up the opposition knowing full well in their heart of hearts that what they are saying is not how they feel about the game at all. I'm just being honest and I don't feel I'm being patronising at all. if I'm wrong then tell me how. otherwise I feel all the questions I have going into the game regarding kildare and their mental fitness are absolutely legit"
At least you kept it short this time. I thought you were going for the cure for insomnia!

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 08/07/2017 22:55:55    2012641

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts:200 - 08/07/2017 22:05:42   2012585 

No problem bringing the horse onto the LUAS with you buddy ;)

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13704 - 09/07/2017 00:12:25    2012690

Replying To MesAmis:  "Will there be anywhere at the Luas to tie up the horse??:)

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts:200 - 08/07/2017 22:05:42   2012585 

No problem bringing the horse onto the LUAS with you buddy ;)"
No I can't bring him into the big smoke. His DOE and tax is out ;)

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 09/07/2017 02:22:18    2012736

Looking forward to this day week albeit i know from recent experience its rarely a good day out once the lilywhites reach croke park

11jm11 (Kildare) - Posts: 365 - 09/07/2017 08:41:33    2012774

Replying To 11jm11:  "Looking forward to this day week albeit i know from recent experience its rarely a good day out once the lilywhites reach croke park"
Me too. For different reasons. But you lads can at least get a gauge where O Neill has got yous. A good performance and decent draw in qualifiers ( I really can't see you beating us) and not bad Summer. Great to see a bit of colour down here. Yous have been in doldrums for too long.

Aido69 (Dublin) - Posts: 381 - 09/07/2017 10:53:31    2012842

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts:202 - 08/07/2017

Who's Luas?

Just head up the tow path along the canal and when ya get to a lock keeper throw him a few shillings and you'll be grand.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 09/07/2017 14:07:49    2012945

All quiet on the Eastern front.

lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 2986 - 10/07/2017 18:25:51    2014358

Replying To lilywhite1:  "All quiet on the Eastern front."
Don't want to wake the bear....not till 6 o clock on sunday!

St.Conleth (Kildare) - Posts: 1700 - 10/07/2017 18:48:57    2014377