Leinster football championship

Replying To OLLIE:  "You can also add in if you said that Meath would win the All Ireland in 1996 after they were hammered by the Dubs by ten points in 1995."
Oh I remember that' well, we had a indifferent league, and was by many expected to be beat in first round by Carlow, Geraghty Giles, fay, McDermott kelly were all unheard of, Boylan had narrowly remained in charge at agm , more so that they wanted him to stay on until Mattie Kerrigan would take over. That game v Carlow was one of the lowest Meath crowds I had seen in years, but there was a few (myself included) who said if those young lads can buy into seans new vision we would do something. The rest as they say is history

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 18/04/2017 16:44:45    1980514

Replying To royaldunne:  "Oh I remember that' well, we had a indifferent league, and was by many expected to be beat in first round by Carlow, Geraghty Giles, fay, McDermott kelly were all unheard of, Boylan had narrowly remained in charge at agm , more so that they wanted him to stay on until Mattie Kerrigan would take over. That game v Carlow was one of the lowest Meath crowds I had seen in years, but there was a few (myself included) who said if those young lads can buy into seans new vision we would do something. The rest as they say is history"
Eire Og from Carlow had reached the All Ireland Club Final that year. Meath beat Carlow handy in the end. That was probably Boylan's sweetest All Ireland. To come from no where and win it in 1996.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 18/04/2017 16:55:53    1980517

Replying To Kingoreilly:  "Fully agree with some of the Meath posters Kildare have always lacked self believe particularly against Dublin, who ever faces Dublin it be either Kildare or Meath in the Leinster final must approach the game with the believe that they will win, and who knows maybe they will just do that"
It's good to hear a Kildare man admit they lack self believe v Dublin. It would be great to see teams in leinster putting up to Dublin. I know Dublin are strong at moment. But there has always been a fear towards and aura surrounding Dublin in leinster . Just look at the below stats.
1 Kildare have only beaten Dublin twice in 45 years.
2 Louth have not beaten Dublin in over 40 years.
3 Offaly have not beaten Dublin in 35 years.
4 Laois have only beaten Dublin twice in 50 years and only 6 times in their history.
5 Westmeath have only beaten Dublin once in the last 50 years.
6 longford have not beaten Dublin in 50 years. I think they have only won once or maybe twice v Dublin.
7 Wexford have not beaten Dublin in 70 years.
8 Wicklow have not beaten Dublin in 70 years. Their only win v Dublin.
The above stats are really poor. It would be great to see teams in leinster putting it up to Dublin. I remeber Louth in Navan in the 90s when a Joe McNally goal saved Dublin. Louth tore into Dublin that day and it was brillant to see. Or Offaly in the early 80s. When it was just 15 Offaly men possessed tearing into Dublin like their lifes depended on it and winning . Or Kildare in 98 and 2000 beating Dublin. I remeber Glen Ryan scoring a winning point in 98. It was like he was says Dublin your not going to bully us anymore. Or what about Laois and Westmeath great victories in early noughties. It was wonderful to see.

But it is interesting to see all those victories were under Kerry managers. The last time a leinster team other then Meath defeated Dublin in leinster managed by a leinster manager was Offaly in 1982 managed by Eugene McGee. And the last time a leinster manager other then a Meath manager , managed his own county to defeat Dublin was 1981 when Laois defeated Dublin. I just wish counties would tear into Dublin more. Take the fight to them more. The Dubs never like it up them . Never have , never will.

Kildare have real talent at the moment. Players like Kelly Feehily McCormack Flynn and Doyle are the best young talent Kildare have produced in a long time. All the above have potential to be All stars. If this Kildare team don't win 2 leinsters in the next 5, 6 years it would be travesty. They are good enough to win 2 leinsters and push for Sam. But even this talent group who were successful at underage , could not beat Dublin. Louth have some good players. And a real good manager in Kelly. I wouldn't be surprised to see Louth in Division 1 and reach a leinster final in the next 3 to 4 years . Their good enough to reach the super 8. But when it comes to Dublin again there is that lack of believe.

I have seen some brillant performances by Louth v Meath in the last 20 years. Even this year in the Byrne cup. They were brillant and it was like watching Kerry. But then they played Dublin second team in the final. I know people will say Dublin second team are leinster second best team. But the fact is the intensity Louth performed v Dublin was nothing like the aggression and intensity they perform v Meath. I would love to see all leinster counties take the fight to Dublin. Play with a bit of believe.

Lyons2000 (Meath) - Posts: 101 - 18/04/2017 16:57:09    1980518

Leinster is a great footballing area. The are so many great football counties with great tradition and great support in leinster. But there needs to be more fight taken to Dublin. Men like Mick Lyons Glen Ryan Matt Connor and Dessie Dolan all had the right attitude and mentality when it came to Dublin. I believe Meath will beat Dublin under the McEntees very soon . Definitely in the next 2 -3 years and I give us a chance this year. But I would love to see every county in the east take the fight to them. For when the hay is saved and the Dubs are beaten by any team in leinster it is a great day for that county. But it is an even mightier day for leinster football as a a whole.

Lyons2000 (Meath) - Posts: 101 - 18/04/2017 17:07:44    1980522

Replying To HighKings:  "It's far too early to say if we're improving. We looked a little bit more consistent towards the end of the league but it's stretching it to say we've improved a lot. Kildare deservedly topped the table and I think it's fair to say they are ahead of us in Leinster based on performances so far this year. We still haven't had any success at minor or under 21 level for a long time so our foundations are poor. While Dublin look a little more vulnerable Kerry still needed an Anthony Maher rugby tackle to win the League Final so I think it will still be a few years before ourselves or Kildare can challenge them."
It's simple to explain. Unbelievabley Meath have not been in Division 1 in 16 years. The last time Meath were in Division 1 they played in All Ireland final. The last time Meath were in Division 1 for a period of time was the late 90s. The last time they were the best team in the land. So its easy get into Division 1 and stay there and sucess will follow. Okay that will be tough but

1Meath have finished 3rd place 3 times in the last 4 year's in div 2. They have lost out on point difference, scoring difference and head to head. With one of the youngest teams in country Meath have to be favourites to go up next year. It would not be impossible for McEntee to push Meath from third to first place in Division 2 and get promoted. It's very achievable.

2 We go up and play in Division 1 in 2019. The average age of the Meath team in 2019 will be 25. A lot of these players will be starting to come to their peak as footballers. While physically they will be much stronger to deal with Division 1 as they enter their mid 20s to late 20s. In two years time a lot of Dublin greats will be well and I mean well into their 30s. Maybe Brogan and Cluxton will be winning All Ireland at 50. But let say like every other team in every other sport if a team has a lot player into their 30s there will be retirements. Yes they have a conveyor belt of talent. But do they all time greats to replace their current all time greats. Kilkenny replaced Carey with Shefflin. Kerry replaced Fitzgerald with Cooper. Can Dublin replace Cluxton with Cluxton mark 2. Do they have a footballer as talented as Connolly coming through. Do they another Brogan . Basically another all time great /one Dublin best forwards ever waiting in the wings. It's tough to get to the top of pedestal but it is even tougher to stay there.

So its simple, get into Division 1 and stay there. Yes thats difficult, but not impossible. And if a Meath stay in Division 1 a leinster title and a victory over Dublin will happen. No ifs no buts no maybesense, it will just happen. Then the question is can we become the dominant force in leinster again. We need leaders . A lot of them. Question mark? do we have them. Time will tell. But a leinster title is coming to Meath in the next 2 -3 years . And I give us a fighting chance this year. I have them backed heavily already .
But we do need to be patient . Remeber it took Boylan 4 years to defeat Dublin. But by golly when he did beat Dublin he couldnr stop beaten them . With 10 wins and 4 draws in a 15 year period v the Dubs. He rocked them to their very oundations and it took years for them to deal with us and to recover from Boylan great teams
We can do it again. We are Meath. And we put on this earth for one thing and one thing only? to knock Dublin from their pedestal. It's going to happen.

Lyons2000 (Meath) - Posts: 101 - 18/04/2017 17:35:42    1980531

Replying To OLLIE:  "Eire Og from Carlow had reached the All Ireland Club Final that year. Meath beat Carlow handy in the end. That was probably Boylan's sweetest All Ireland. To come from no where and win it in 1996."
It was a managerial piece of genius what Boylan pulled off in 96. You don't win All Irelands with kids, basically under 21 players . And you don't come from nowhere to win an All Ireland. It rarely happens. Must teams take 3 to 4 years to build to an All Ireland and rarely do a young team backboned by under 21s win Sam. The only 3 occasion this has happened in the last 60 years that under 21 players have won an All Ireland were Kerry in 75 Meath in 96 and Galway in 98. Meath had 7 under 21 back boning that team. And only Dublin in 1974 and Meath in 1996 came from nowhere and I mean nowhere to win an All Ireland in the last 60 years.

They defeated the reigning champions in leinster final. That was a tough Dublin team with allot of warriors and should have won more Sams. But those young Meath players came off age in that leinster final. It was a carbon copy of 86 final. Rain soaked Meath figthing for every ball like their lifes depended. Dublin not backing down. That's the day men like Giles and Fay showed their first signs of greatness and became Men.

The semi final over Tyrone had a few controversial moments which Tyrone over complained about. The simple fact is that Meath was a much superior team to Tyrone in every level. Meath had a better defence better midfield and better forwardsoon. Tyrone were very much a one man team. That Meath team played in 3 finals winning 2 Sams. Tyrone only played in 1 final and lost. That Tyrone team could not beat anyone strong outside Ulster. While Meath of the late 90s were undefeated v Dublin in 4 games in 6 years and also defeated Tyrone Armagh Cork and beat Kerry by the biggest margin Kerry have lost in 100 years. Tyrone of the noughties is one of the greatest teams to ever come oUtd of of Ulster. One of the best teams I have ever seen. The 90s was not. They were beaten by the better side. And Meath were on fire that day. And there was many performance by Meath under Boylan that they blew opposition with unbelievable skill and passion eg Dublin 88 league final Offaly 1998 and 1999 and Kerry 2001 and yes Tyrone in 96.
Mick O Connell said at the time that Meaths performance v Tyrone was up to then the best gaelic football performance of the 1990s. I think Mick O Connell knows something about skill and talent.

Lyons2000 (Meath) - Posts: 101 - 18/04/2017 18:00:49    1980537

Then it came to Mayo in the final. Basically the young Meath players heads were gone. The county went berserk. No one thought we would get to the final . Not even the Meath supporters . The hype got to players. While in 99 they won the All Ireland with one stellar performance after another. In 96 they were excellent v Laois and Carlow. Heroic v Dublin. And played one of the best performance ever in Croke Park by Meath team v Tyrone in the semi final.

They were a little more nervous in the final. That Mayo team were very fit, very well drilled and very well organised. But we're not a patch on the current team .They kind of overachieved getting to two finals. They had a good manager. A good defence, a strong midfield but no forwards. They had McMemanin, a hard working half forward. Horan, a good wing forward and Finnerty a decent goalscorer. Their best forward was Casey who was a solid forward. If Mayo won in 96 it would have been worst forward line ever to win Sam . It is impossible to win an All Ireland without 1 top class forward. Meath had a better defence a better midfield and much superior forward line, a different class of a forward line. The Meath forward line in 96 is as good as any in the last 30 years. It contained Tommy Dowd, Tevour Giles , Graham Geraghty, Evan Kelly , Brendan Reilly and Ollie Murphy. Actually Ollie Murphy could not get on the team. That Meath played in 3 finals winning 2 Sam's. Mayo played 2 finals and lost 2 finals. The Meath team of the late 90s was simply a better team then Mayo of the late 90s.

So what happened in the final . Mayo played well. Very fit, very organised team. The young Meath players were nervous. But in the last 15 minutes of the drawn game and replay the Meath youngsters took control. In the drawn game , Mayo got nervous and in last 15 minutes Meath scored 6 points one after another while Mayo scored nothing. It was one of the greatest performance of courage and holding your nerve showing by a young team ever in Croke Park in such a big match. A bunch of under 21s held their nerve and with 15 left while 6 points down . And drew the game. Now that takes bottle.
And again in the replay an even greater performance of courage and holding your nerve under pressure was performed by this very young team .Meath found themselves well behind in the replay. Yet again in the final 15 minutes took total control of the match and won the All Ireland.

While Brendan Reilly scored the winning point which is the best winning score to win All Ireland in the last 40 years. We never hear that ,but it was. In the dying seconds of the game with basically the last kick of the game from a very difficult angle he beautifully slotted an exquisite point. The only point that is comparable was Cluxton in 2011. But that was from a free. Reillys was from play.

So Mayo couldnt take the beaten. Hogged the headline afterwards. The silly brawl took centre stage and one of the bravest performances ever in Croke Park by a young team in a final ever was ignored.
While the same as Tyrone, Mayo could not take their beaten from Meath. Looked for excuses so to give them the feeling they did not telly lose
For me when teams are beaten by Kerry and Dublin. They kind of take their beaten . They accept if Kerry or Dublin win. But when Meath win they see an average Midlands county and cannot understand why they are beaten. And unbelievablly within ten years Tyrone were the new Meath. Winning All Irelands but getting a bad name. Because like Meath, Tyrone is seen as average Ulster county, Meath seen as an average Midlands county. Counties take their beaten from Dublin Galway Kerry and Down. And the big three in hurling. But when someone different wins or is not a standout county in Irish society people don't accept their credentials as much and they are giving a bad name.

Lyons2000 (Meath) - Posts: 101 - 18/04/2017 18:43:22    1980545

Simply 96 was an example of the genius of Boylan and group of some of talented and bravest young players ever to play the game.

Lyons2000 (Meath) - Posts: 101 - 18/04/2017 18:45:06    1980546

Replying To Kingoreilly:  "Fully agree with some of the Meath posters Kildare have always lacked self believe particularly against Dublin, who ever faces Dublin it be either Kildare or Meath in the Leinster final must approach the game with the believe that they will win, and who knows maybe they will just do that"
RD again!!

What has Kingoreilly contributed to any discussion on any of our league games this year or indeed on kildare forums. Bit obvious to be popping up now in support of Meath posters. Too obvious

St.Conleth (Kildare) - Posts: 1700 - 18/04/2017 19:24:15    1980553

Replying To waynoI:  "I'm totally with Jimbo.

I completely dismiss Meath, Kildare and Louth. Disrespectful ? Maybe, whatever.... But its an honest assessment based on what ive seen over the past few years and even this league campaign despite Dublin being poor.

Whatever about Kildare and Louth, I don't see where this confidence in Meath is coming from.

Ok with a new manager it looks like they are showing a little bit of fighting spirit associated with Meath teams of the 90s, but this isn't the 90s anymore.

You wont beat Dublin just by having a fighting spirit. You need the players, And that panel just isn't comparable to Dublin.

I know people don't put a lot of emphasis on the league, but the stats don't like, The best teams who make it far all play in division one. Sometimes there are exceptions to the rule, but the cream rises to the top.

Meath are seriously handicapped by the fact they haven't played a division one team since they last met and caved in against Dublin. Its all well and good smashing Fermanagh and Clare off the field, Try doing that to a far superior opposition in Croke park and you will be embarrassed. Naïve thing to do and I'm sure the messiah McEntee knows this.

Dublin are playing far superior teams to Meath all year, with many first team lads out and still ended up with more points than anyone else at the end of the 7 games. Granted we were lucky but up until the final Kerry, Tyrone, Donegal, Mayo, Monaghan, none of them beat us.

Meath are a team at the beginning of a long road to make them COMPETITIVE again. Dublin are the kings on their pedestal.

Anyone who thinks that Meath team will beat Dublin is doing one of two things, theyre either on the wind up, or they are talking through their holes. Cause its not happening this year.

Dublin are just far too good, I'm not saying that Meath/Kildare/Louth wont win a leinster ever again, It just wont happen this year."
Why not.u must not remember when it was other way around.might not b this year but it will b soon.Ah use were the same in 95.I'll say one things about the Dublin posters use give the rest of the country a laugh.thank you.

Kc77 (Meath) - Posts: 36 - 18/04/2017 19:29:14    1980555

Replying To beir_bua:  "2009 Kildare played Laois in a standalone fixture on a Saturday night in Tullamore.

The big question is whether Meath will be peaking for Leinster ahead of their inevitable assault on Sam."
Correct and right and probaly the reason only dublin and meath aim for Sam in Leinster.hope some day u get to c it.unlikely

Kc77 (Meath) - Posts: 36 - 18/04/2017 19:31:45    1980556

Replying To Fionn:  "Give it a rest RD....

I know for a fact the Meath lads are receiving many perks across the board...!

As for meeting us and letting us know we were in a game - that is about all ye are good for. Laying down markers...
Nothing new there.

Be careful what you wish for though.

Hate to see you with egg on your face yet again. ;o)"
What perks.let's b having them then r did u just make that up in your own little world.

Kc77 (Meath) - Posts: 36 - 18/04/2017 19:33:46    1980558

I don't what your on about. O'reilly supporting Meath.
Its simply not about supporting Meath . Its Kildare do lack believe when comes to beaten Dublin . 1 leinster final victory over Dublin in 90 years shows that. When kildare play Meath they throw the kitchen sink and play like all stars .eg 97 98 2003 2010 2011. But when they play Dublin they throw in the towel. The level of intensity and aggression is not there. I would like to see Kildare beating Dublin. It would be great for leinster football . I doubt you wud find kildare supporters who would like to see Meath beat Dublin. If Kildare concentrate more on Dublin it would be better for Kildare and Meath and all of leinster.

Lyons2000 (Meath) - Posts: 101 - 18/04/2017 19:41:47    1980561

Replying To OLLIE:  "Eire Og from Carlow had reached the All Ireland Club Final that year. Meath beat Carlow handy in the end. That was probably Boylan's sweetest All Ireland. To come from no where and win it in 1996."
I think it was 12/13 players from eire og on that Carlow team that day.
I would actually say that winning all ire was perhaps one of the best ever, they were underdogs in every single game they played in. I recall pat spillane in paper that morning saying Carlow would win and sean should have retired , and that there was not one on the team that could play or even compared to O'Rourke Flynn Stafford Lyons or McEntee, only a aging martin O'Connell who had past his best. Shows what pat knew lol.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 18/04/2017 20:03:58    1980563

Replying To Kc77:  "What perks.let's b having them then r did u just make that up in your own little world."
We all know Meath players dont get any perks. That post was utter bs.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 18/04/2017 20:16:00    1980567

This is fast becoming my favourite thread ever.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 18/04/2017 20:46:59    1980572

Replying To Lyons2000:  "It's good to hear a Kildare man admit they lack self believe v Dublin. It would be great to see teams in leinster putting up to Dublin. I know Dublin are strong at moment. But there has always been a fear towards and aura surrounding Dublin in leinster . Just look at the below stats.
1 Kildare have only beaten Dublin twice in 45 years.
2 Louth have not beaten Dublin in over 40 years.
3 Offaly have not beaten Dublin in 35 years.
4 Laois have only beaten Dublin twice in 50 years and only 6 times in their history.
5 Westmeath have only beaten Dublin once in the last 50 years.
6 longford have not beaten Dublin in 50 years. I think they have only won once or maybe twice v Dublin.
7 Wexford have not beaten Dublin in 70 years.
8 Wicklow have not beaten Dublin in 70 years. Their only win v Dublin.
The above stats are really poor. It would be great to see teams in leinster putting it up to Dublin. I remeber Louth in Navan in the 90s when a Joe McNally goal saved Dublin. Louth tore into Dublin that day and it was brillant to see. Or Offaly in the early 80s. When it was just 15 Offaly men possessed tearing into Dublin like their lifes depended on it and winning . Or Kildare in 98 and 2000 beating Dublin. I remeber Glen Ryan scoring a winning point in 98. It was like he was says Dublin your not going to bully us anymore. Or what about Laois and Westmeath great victories in early noughties. It was wonderful to see.

But it is interesting to see all those victories were under Kerry managers. The last time a leinster team other then Meath defeated Dublin in leinster managed by a leinster manager was Offaly in 1982 managed by Eugene McGee. And the last time a leinster manager other then a Meath manager , managed his own county to defeat Dublin was 1981 when Laois defeated Dublin. I just wish counties would tear into Dublin more. Take the fight to them more. The Dubs never like it up them . Never have , never will.

Kildare have real talent at the moment. Players like Kelly Feehily McCormack Flynn and Doyle are the best young talent Kildare have produced in a long time. All the above have potential to be All stars. If this Kildare team don't win 2 leinsters in the next 5, 6 years it would be travesty. They are good enough to win 2 leinsters and push for Sam. But even this talent group who were successful at underage , could not beat Dublin. Louth have some good players. And a real good manager in Kelly. I wouldn't be surprised to see Louth in Division 1 and reach a leinster final in the next 3 to 4 years . Their good enough to reach the super 8. But when it comes to Dublin again there is that lack of believe.

I have seen some brillant performances by Louth v Meath in the last 20 years. Even this year in the Byrne cup. They were brillant and it was like watching Kerry. But then they played Dublin second team in the final. I know people will say Dublin second team are leinster second best team. But the fact is the intensity Louth performed v Dublin was nothing like the aggression and intensity they perform v Meath. I would love to see all leinster counties take the fight to Dublin. Play with a bit of believe."
Lyons in all fairness the Dubs have had the upper hand on most counties they have played in the Championship. There are only two counties that the Dubs don't have the upper hand. One is Kerry and the other is Limerick who beat the Dubs in their only championship meeting. Antrim, Cavan, Clare, Fermanagh, Leitrim, London, Monaghan, Roscommon, Sligo, Waterford and Wicklow have never beaten the Dubs in the Championship.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 18/04/2017 20:58:41    1980578

Christ Lyons2000 they're some essays you're after writing. Initially I would have been inclined to think you Meath boys would be better keeping your power dry but fair play, great to see such pride and belief. I enjoyed the read immensely.

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 18/04/2017 21:00:32    1980580

Replying To TheUsername:  "This is fast becoming my favourite thread ever."
Dublin supporters were not as arrogant and precious in the 80s and 90s as they are now. They are UNBEARABLE at the moment . But youre always one step from a good kick up the backside. When they are beaten by Meath in the coming years. It would be our sweetest victory. I always loved when we defeat them the hill always stando still would sit no energy just a broken group of individuals . I remember lways 91 when we won . The hill stood in the sun not moving in total shock for a long time . It was like housands of people thinking the same thing to themselves, how the feck did Meath do that.

Lyons2000 (Meath) - Posts: 101 - 18/04/2017 21:01:33    1980581

Replying To OLLIE:  "Lyons in all fairness the Dubs have had the upper hand on most counties they have played in the Championship. There are only two counties that the Dubs don't have the upper hand. One is Kerry and the other is Limerick who beat the Dubs in their only championship meeting. Antrim, Cavan, Clare, Fermanagh, Leitrim, London, Monaghan, Roscommon, Sligo, Waterford and Wicklow have never beaten the Dubs in the Championship."
Just believe just believe Louth can beat Dublin. It's just a matter of believe and your half way there. Dublin are strong always have been . But my problem is the shrug the shoulders attitude of my many leinster counties. It's like we don't have a chance. So no aggression no fire. You tear into Dublin they don't like it up them . Never have never will.

Lyons2000 (Meath) - Posts: 101 - 18/04/2017 21:06:31    1980583