Kerry v Mayo

Replying To seanie_boy:  "........I was trying to give Colm,Pat and Joe the chance to show that they are fair and consistent when it comes to scathing criticism and personal attacks on certain players and teams,but not to my surprise they have again shown their disgusting bias against some teams and players,by their complete failure to acknowledge what happened in that game today. As I said earlier it was a well deserved win to Mayo but that game was riddled with fouling,pulling and dragging,men wrestling on the ground and to finish it all of there was a nice punch to the face for the finale. Now I don't need to name players as we all seen what went on out on that pitch today. There was,I think, 3 red cards and 2 blacks. Fouls were coming fast and steady for most of the game. If certain other teams offered up what these 2 teams did today they would have been ripped to shreds by these 3 toolbags in the post match commentary. Today though not a peep about cynicism,fouling or punches to the face. Please do not insult the intelligence of people who question the integrity of these 3 to analyze games fairly.Today they once again showed that they are infact a very biased group of commentators and Lyster is also implicit in all of this as he is the lead commentator. In my own opinion just let me say that most of it was oul hand bags stuff for the most part and should be left on the field. See no need to make national news of most of it. That's football sometimes. Wasn't a pretty game to watch at times but that happens in games where passions are soaring. If it had been other teams and players though they would have been roasted by these guys and it's nauseating to hear them say nothing on this occasion. If they could at least carry todays inconsistency forward then it wouldn't be so bad,but I doubt that very much. The only thing they were honest about,and because it was undeniable,was the limited challenge offered by the Kerry team."
Whilst I agree with the comments re Kerry's approach to the game and the fact that they get an easy ride from pundits in this regard, it makes me smile to see Tyrone posters come on here giving out about it.
Sorry lads two wrongs do not make a right so if you want to take the high moral ground then change your own approach to the game, Forget the cynical approach to the game, forget about the play acting and diving and sledging and play the game in the spirit it was meant to be played in and then you can come on and express your moral indignation but until then maybe it might be wiser to keep quiet.

For what its worth I thought Kerry's approach was poor today and they looked like a team spoiling for a fight and I do not think that is the way to beat this Mayo team as to be fair to them they rose above it and gave Kerry a lesson today.

What I found interesting today was that the general feeling in the media in the build up to the game was that it was Mayo and Rochford who were under pressure to devise a plan to deal with Kerry and much was made of the Aidan O'Shea situation. There was less importance put on what Kerry needed to do and how they were going to protect their full back line. In the end Mayo got it spot on and the changes Kerry made both in personnel and their general approach to the game resulted in a worse performance today than in the drawn game.

In my opinion Kerry went backwards whilst Mayo did'nt have to improve, I would say they performed close to what they did in the drawn game.

Finally congratulations to the Mayo team, if ever a squad of players deserved an All Ireland then this team does. Yes they still have issues and whoever wins tomorrow will prove a huge test in the final, but this team is a joy to watch and I for one hope they go all the way this Year.

ROYALOPTIMIST (Meath) - Posts: 179 - 26/08/2017 18:20:11    2038138

Well done to the ref today for referring Kerry the way every other county are refed, you could see Kerry management and players didn't understand not giving them everything as usual

updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 817 - 26/08/2017 18:21:50    2038139

RTE sports news on Donaghy punch..

'Donaghy showing McGregor some moves for later'

The flippant way they dealt with a punch from a media darling compared to it was some unknow fella from a smaller county. Bullsh*t.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 26/08/2017 18:22:54    2038140

Thoroughly deserved win for Mayo. Should have won last week, were more than good enough today. Kick outs won, all round play, they were just so much better than Kerry in nearly every department, Boyle was electric today, showing it was idiotic to sub him last week. Kerry were a joke, their defensive sweeper system and all round play was very poor. It was puke football at times. Apart from Geaney they would have been so far behind. They have finally been shown up to be a dirty cynical team. They've got away with so much over the years. Gough may have looked hard on them, but that's because they never stopped fouling off the ball and then on the ball carrier. Can't blame the ref for not letting the game flow if they are fouling all the time. I'd rather have a fair game that a free flowing one and letting things go. And if you balance out the cards, 8 yellow, 2 red and 1 black for Kerry against 6 yellow, 1 red and 1 black for Mayo. Not that much difference card wise. But I suppose if you've got away with so much over the years, then it will look harsh if you're reffed properly.

Only decision that I could say would be harsh is O'Sullivans black card, but can't seem to find a view of it even after rewinding back to it.

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2383 - 26/08/2017 18:26:12    2038142

Replying To jimbodub:  "What a massive win for Mayo GAA

I had hoped Mayo could turn over Kerry as I feel that if the Dubs get by Tyrone that we have all the attributes to beat Mayo once again.

And boy did they beat Kerry...

But I didn't see it coming... I didn't see the Kerry management being so completely inept and destroying the team with their awful tactics.

Well done to Mayo and Kerry got what their "performance" deserved.

Nothing.

If Dublin weren't left in it I'd shout for Mayo. They have changed my mind and I was shouting them on from a far today and had a nice few pints with a bunch of Mayo lads in Amsterdam today!

Mayo will be very very hard to beat now and Tyrone/Dublin will have to at their peak to beat them"
I presume you still think they should get rid of Rochford seeing as AOS spent most of his time on Donaghy again. That is what you called for after all.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7891 - 26/08/2017 18:31:07    2038147

Let's see what punishment is given 'Star' God I hate that name I know connolly or Keegan would be out for a while I also expect Donaghy to call it a day

cluichethar (Mayo) - Posts: 454 - 26/08/2017 18:32:07    2038148

Congrats to Mayo for a fully deserved victory. I hope to God Sam will be heading to Castlebar in a few weeks time

Forpucksake (UK) - Posts: 130 - 26/08/2017 18:38:49    2038149

I'd like to whole heartily congratulation Mayo on a fully deserved victory.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 26/08/2017 18:39:42    2038150

Well done to mayo today for the sheer hunger they showed for their victory.i thought they blew it the last day and wouldve lost today..kerry again showed their 1of the dirtiest teams out there when there on a losing ticket..if that was a northern team that carried on like that today there would be uproar.

GGdub (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 26/08/2017 18:39:56    2038151

Replying To TheFlaker:  "I presume you still think they should get rid of Rochford seeing as AOS spent most of his time on Donaghy again. That is what you called for after all."
The Flaker

Rochford won nothing today same as he's done thus far as Mayo manager

And AOS played a very different roll today compared to the daft position at almost full back the last day. Also you can thank Kerry being setup so poorly in the FF line.. so please.. go and enjoy the win and stop talking nonsense

I'm glad you won today and I was wrong to have doubted Mayo but massive question marks still float over Rochfords head for me..

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 26/08/2017 18:53:50    2038158

Replying To GGdub:  "Well done to mayo today for the sheer hunger they showed for their victory.i thought they blew it the last day and wouldve lost today..kerry again showed their 1of the dirtiest teams out there when there on a losing ticket..if that was a northern team that carried on like that today there would be uproar."
Totally agree - Was at the game and Mayo were awesome today and some of the Kerry antics were a disgrace - third man tackling, high tackling, off the ball rubbish - if it was Donegal then the book would be thrown at them in media - didn't hear SG panel said but guess they were quiet. Didn't think this Mayo team had it in them today but I've changed my mind - Boyle, Higgins, Parson and Moran were absolutely fantastic today - Parsons in particular got some serious dirty stuff today in midfield and to his credit he played a great game. But Boyle my MOTM - jeez that man can break a tackle!!!!

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 26/08/2017 18:56:23    2038161

Yeah well done Mayo. The bit i liked was they never relented even in the second half and had a answer no matter what Kerry done. I though loftus added much more options too when introduced. I though Parsons had a savage match, won a lot of primary possession and gave great support to the Mayo forwards.

Though the ref might have been a little harsh on Kerry early on but it general he just applied the letter of the law and its what we all cry out for. It means that there looked some soft frees but It didn't change the game for me. Kerry loosing the heads late on wasn't nice and looked like bad loosers, they have dished it out before and sometimes you just have to take it too.

ponger (Cavan) - Posts: 540 - 26/08/2017 18:59:21    2038163

Replying To Laois76:  "RTE sports news on Donaghy punch..

'Donaghy showing McGregor some moves for later'

The flippant way they dealt with a punch from a media darling compared to it was some unknow fella from a smaller county. Bullsh*t."
Jeez man you have some chip on your shoulder about Kerry. Even when they lose you are still not happy.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 26/08/2017 19:04:19    2038165

Well done Mayo - some team. Please, please, please go all the way this year!! Fantastic support. Fair play!!

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 26/08/2017 19:10:04    2038168

Replying To Laois76:  "Really glad for Mayo after the 2014 robbery in Limerick.

How do you like them apples Donaghy?!"
My thoughts exactly.

I suppose it's too much to hope that the latest antics from erm "Star" finally shake a few of the self appointed experts to their senses.

Congratulations Mayo.

Knoxboya (Monaghan) - Posts: 357 - 26/08/2017 19:10:17    2038170

Replying To Laois76:  "What are you talking about?"
I do often say the same thing reading your "contributions"

dakid (Australia) - Posts: 284 - 26/08/2017 19:18:45    2038175

Replying To jimbodub:  "The Flaker

Rochford won nothing today same as he's done thus far as Mayo manager

And AOS played a very different roll today compared to the daft position at almost full back the last day. Also you can thank Kerry being setup so poorly in the FF line.. so please.. go and enjoy the win and stop talking nonsense

I'm glad you won today and I was wrong to have doubted Mayo but massive question marks still float over Rochfords head for me.."
He's not perfect but you don't make 2 finals in a row unless you know what your are at. I have criticised him for things on here but in a fair way. The stuff thrown at him all week has been embarrassing from people who know zero about football or what it takes to manage at that level. AOS was still at full back for most of the day today, and you said Rochford should get the door if that happened. I am enjoying the victory thanks, nothing won but we keep going.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7891 - 26/08/2017 19:25:23    2038177

Congratulations Mayo and well done
Backed them last week £100 @13/2 to win Sam
Was lucky last week my bet did not go and I had £70 @2/1 and£40@21/10 on today's game
I am quite confident that if Tyrone beat Dublin tomorrow then Mayo will win Sam. Mind you they can still also beat Dublin
Anyway it was some performance and I thought that was some ball in from young Loftus for A Morans goal.
Good luck to Mayo

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 26/08/2017 19:27:47    2038178

Well done Mayo. Incredible performance. I really hope you go on an finish the business this year and I hope all Rossies will be shouting for you as I will.

Sindar (Roscommon) - Posts: 348 - 26/08/2017 19:28:06    2038180

Great win by Mayo. The next day is going to be tough either way because the Dubs are so good and if Tyrone win they will be gunning for Mayo after last year.

I thought Gough managed a very physically game really well. What I liked what his consistency in applying the rules, yellow cards for Crowley and Barrett instead of black cards stands out. If he had refereed the game to the letter of the law of McGee's black card rules we'd be left with 10 v 10 at the end. The black cards spoiled the semi finals last year.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 26/08/2017 19:37:20    2038183