Can the GAA survive the Rugby onslaught

Replying To tonydoranfan:  "is the great Mick O'Connell not from the Kingdom of kerry, hardly a weak football county, he does not even look at kerry playing now.
lads sorry but football is a bore to watch!!!!"
Don't bother watching it then.There will be plenty of other people who can't wait for the season to start

gunman (Donegal) - Posts: 1056 - 13/01/2017 19:33:11    1945529

far from everyone but a lot of people giving out about football now do seem to be from counties who have had success but have fallen on hard times being replaced by the likes of tyrone, donegal etc as regular contenders...i think of the likes of meath, galway and derry especially...think of joe brolly, colm o rourke...'traditional football' type nonsense

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 13/01/2017 20:16:29    1945539

Replying To alano12:  "far from everyone but a lot of people giving out about football now do seem to be from counties who have had success but have fallen on hard times being replaced by the likes of tyrone, donegal etc as regular contenders...i think of the likes of meath, galway and derry especially...think of joe brolly, colm o rourke...'traditional football' type nonsense"
We shall see who has fallen this year me auld mate,

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 13/01/2017 21:17:05    1945558

Replying To tonydoranfan:  "is the great Mick O'Connell not from the Kingdom of kerry, hardly a weak football county, he does not even look at kerry playing now.
lads sorry but football is a bore to watch!!!!"
Rubbish. The attendances even last Sunday in Cavan on a very cold day was nearly 5K for a meaningless Dr Mc Kenna Cup match.
Rugby will never replace Gaelic Football. Unlike Gaelic it has no soul. Garrison game.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 13/01/2017 21:32:46    1945563

Replying To Cavan_Slasher:  "Rubbish. The attendances even last Sunday in Cavan on a very cold day was nearly 5K for a meaningless Dr Mc Kenna Cup match.
Rugby will never replace Gaelic Football. Unlike Gaelic it has no soul. Garrison game."
No soul, that's a bit of a stupid statement, every sport has a soul just because you don't support it, GAA hard-core fans seem to think that gaelic games are the only games in the world that has passion, I'm as passionate to Munster Rugby as I am for Cork GAA

rebelfan (Cork) - Posts: 70 - 13/01/2017 22:35:22    1945573

Replying To Cavan_Slasher:  "Rubbish. The attendances even last Sunday in Cavan on a very cold day was nearly 5K for a meaningless Dr Mc Kenna Cup match.
Rugby will never replace Gaelic Football. Unlike Gaelic it has no soul. Garrison game."
It's a game of ball not feckin Motown!

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7337 - 13/01/2017 23:48:01    1945583

Replying To royaldunne:  "We shall see who has fallen this year me auld mate,"
No matter how amazing Andy is going to get Meath playing this year you can't dispute that Meath did fall.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13705 - 14/01/2017 10:43:24    1945606

Replying To MesAmis:  "No matter how amazing Andy is going to get Meath playing this year you can't dispute that Meath did fall."
Oh we did, but now the only way is up, and we are rising

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 14/01/2017 11:29:18    1945612

I've no axe to grind but for me if I was being honest I enjoy watching sport in the following order. Hurling, rugby, gaelic, soccer. I wonder are more people turning away from gaelic due to its change in style and reduction in excitement

christy sting (Derry) - Posts: 262 - 14/01/2017 11:43:25    1945616

A typical Irish Times sports "hatchet job" in the Weekend section. Donal Reid, an ex Donegal senior footballer has written a book. Instead of focusing on his inter country career the I.T journalist Keith Duggan focuses on one violent incident that happened in an inter club match in 1992. Dont get me wrong it was a sickening punch that laid Mr Reid low and left him with broken teeth and stitches.
But why does the article just focus on GAA on field violence?

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2517 - 14/01/2017 16:40:19    1945665

Replying To galwayford:  "A typical Irish Times sports "hatchet job" in the Weekend section. Donal Reid, an ex Donegal senior footballer has written a book. Instead of focusing on his inter country career the I.T journalist Keith Duggan focuses on one violent incident that happened in an inter club match in 1992. Dont get me wrong it was a sickening punch that laid Mr Reid low and left him with broken teeth and stitches.
But why does the article just focus on GAA on field violence?"
Because the Gaa ignores them & sweeps them under the carpet.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 14/01/2017 19:38:46    1945696

Replying To galwayford:  "A typical Irish Times sports "hatchet job" in the Weekend section. Donal Reid, an ex Donegal senior footballer has written a book. Instead of focusing on his inter country career the I.T journalist Keith Duggan focuses on one violent incident that happened in an inter club match in 1992. Dont get me wrong it was a sickening punch that laid Mr Reid low and left him with broken teeth and stitches.
http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/donal-reid-has-been-there-done-that-and-bears-the-scars-1.2933417

The article doesn't just focus on GAA on field violence. He was assaulted in a game and it had a profound affect on him. Nice story about watching the Sunday Game while his teammates were at the banquet.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7337 - 14/01/2017 19:40:19    1945698

I read a profile on Keith Duggan some years ago and as I recall it, he's a Kerryman and I think has a family background that is steeped in the GAA.

I don't have a problem at all with the article. The Donegal player has written a book and clearly this violent on field incident had a traumatic effect on him and has inflicted permanent damage on him. Would understand if it is one of the central issues in the book.

On field violence is despicable in any sport and needs to be rooted out. I think it is even worse when it happens in GAA for the simple reason that it is an amateur sport -- for me the thuggery of it is added to when the victim is someone who is just playing the sport because they love it. In professional sport all participants know it is "dog eat dog" and if a professional player is injured by a thuggish blow they have the solace of knowing that at least they are getting well paid to play the sport and they can also be certain that they will be well looked after and compensated by their club/organisation while they are injured. Seldom if ever are there such certainties for GAA players.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1902 - 14/01/2017 19:52:44    1945704

Great buzz around Galway City today for the Connacht match. What was most impressive was the traffic management plan in place, signs for extra car parking which were well stewarded, so traffic went smoothly, contrasts greatly with what happens in Pearse Stadium. Great atmosphere & they do the entertainment side for spectators well, that along with the 10 tries was great. For those of you like myself who were born Gaa heads for decades & never ever thought of going to a match, you should go up for a look & make your own mind up. Lot of ex well known Gaa players & administrators & Gaa families now at the games. I know why & it's simply because of the way they do things & run their organisation. When you see that you see to yourself things are changing & not for the better within the Gaa.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 14/01/2017 19:52:51    1945705

Hard to see what the big enthusiasm was for walloping hapless whipping boys from Italy. Would there be much of a carnival atmosphere for the Galway hurlers scoring 10 goals against one of Div 1B's lesser lights? I doubt it.

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 14/01/2017 20:21:19    1945718

Regarding on field violence this very week World rugby critiszed Northampton for letting George North play with concussion. Hardly good practice for a Professional sport or game. Also there is never any crowd trouble at GAA matches. There can be at Soccer. So any comments to make on this.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2517 - 14/01/2017 21:10:02    1945735

Under the 1998 Good Friday agreement there is supposed to be respect shown to both traditions and cultures on this island. We are in my opinion, showing lots and lots of respect to the British/Rugby/Football one. But not a lot is being shown to the GAA and Irish language. I mean the GAA is allowing Rugby into their grounds- the Sports ground not included- to play rugby.
Mr Mocdna: a question for you: If Sportsground is so great how come World Rugby did'nt chose it as one of the grounds. They chose Pearse stadium, Salthill, home of the Galway GAA!!!!!!

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2517 - 14/01/2017 21:13:53    1945736

You lot remind me of the unionist in the north. You fear Rugby the same way they fear unification. So ye try to belittle and make it an enemy instead of respecting the game and accepting that people may actually follow something other than your beloved games. It's time you all get over yourselves and learn to accept there is more than 2 field games in this country. If people like Gaelic or Hurling. If people like Rugby good for them. As long as we have children playing sports and not getting fat who cares what there playing.

SlasherMcGurk (Sligo) - Posts: 3 - 14/01/2017 23:41:53    1945769

Replying To galwayford:  "Under the 1998 Good Friday agreement there is supposed to be respect shown to both traditions and cultures on this island. We are in my opinion, showing lots and lots of respect to the British/Rugby/Football one. But not a lot is being shown to the GAA and Irish language. I mean the GAA is allowing Rugby into their grounds- the Sports ground not included- to play rugby.
Mr Mocdna: a question for you: If Sportsground is so great how come World Rugby did'nt chose it as one of the grounds. They chose Pearse stadium, Salthill, home of the Galway GAA!!!!!!"
Funny that you're asking questions you already know the answer to. Pearse Stadium is a more modern stadium, better access and higher capacity than The Sportsground.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7337 - 15/01/2017 09:58:09    1945777

Replying To galwayford:  "Under the 1998 Good Friday agreement there is supposed to be respect shown to both traditions and cultures on this island. We are in my opinion, showing lots and lots of respect to the British/Rugby/Football one. But not a lot is being shown to the GAA and Irish language. I mean the GAA is allowing Rugby into their grounds- the Sports ground not included- to play rugby.
Mr Mocdna: a question for you: If Sportsground is so great how come World Rugby did'nt chose it as one of the grounds. They chose Pearse stadium, Salthill, home of the Galway GAA!!!!!!"
You seem very confused, you are now quoting the Good Friday Agreement ? You have wrongly named me & accused me of being a Gaa administrator & that I should bring back my experiences of the Sportsground to the Pearse Stadium committee. My post was to contrast what I & others experienced as a fan between the traffic management plan in the Sportsground & Pearse Stadium & the atmosphere at the grounds & then you suggest I as a "Gaa administrator" bring this back to Pearse Stadium, you are very confused. You were the one who previously was on urging us all to support Connacht rugby & Galway Utd, then somewhere along the line you started criticising it, make your mind up. To answer your question as to why Pearse Stadium was chosen over the Sportsground by the RWC I could only imagine that it has do with the capacity been greater in Pearse Stadium.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 15/01/2017 10:54:03    1945791