Can the GAA survive the Rugby onslaught

Replying To bad.monkey:  "
Replying To GreenandRed:  "[quote=bad.monkey:  "[quote=browncows:  "[quote=bad.monkey:  "Aidan O'Shea "'I've been concussed a lot. The first time I got it was when I was 16. I didn't even know what it was back then. I've been concussed in Connacht finals. It happens quite easily to me. I'm not a doctor but I think the more you get concussed the easier is to happen."

1 in 4 GAA players admit playing on with a concussion
link"
Was he also concussed in both the drawn final? - a couple of his shot decision would suggest he could have been!. Even you should know that most players do not know when they are concussed and it takes someone with medical expertise to decide on such incidents- You post does not add up. Your quote of 1 in 4- what did you get that quote from or was it made up by someone, somewhere, who likes a good story."
The research was carried out by NUI Galway and published in the International Journal of Adolescent Mental Health in 2016

The original link didnt work . Here is another

I agree players cant assess concussion which teally was my original point. If a player in any sport is suspected of being concussed they should be substituted immediately. Not 'assessed' as these tests are inconclusive and told to toughen up as was another posters experience

Its a problem in GAA. Anyone who has played decent club level will have seen and experienced it"]It may well be a problem in GAA. But the very nature of rugby is to physically hurt your opponent. 'Hit the fkr hard enough so he won't get up so quick. Hit the fkrs they're no relations' as we were told. It can be a dangerousvgame ifcplayers are reckless. And we were the bottom of the rung of junior rugby in Connacht 20 years ago. Imagine the hits nowadays at top level! They've introduced a new tackle rule In rugby that they hope will lessen the concussion injuries. Remains to be seen if It will. Might even reduce crowds who like to see bIg hits but probably bring in more who should see the ball thrown around a bit more.

Anyways. GAA and Rugby seasons dovetail nicely. Either should talk up the other to get new players in rather than finding faults with the other."]Yes fully agree. I guess the 'big hit' brigade can watch MMA ."]Just wonder how you come to the conclusion that the GAA and rugby seasons " dovetail nicely". As far as I can see the rugby season lasts 9 months (and at least 10 in a World Cup year) and the GAA season lasts 9 months or more as well. Yes of course some people want to squeeze all relevant GAA action into the months of June July and August which will mean the Gaa and rugby seasons would "dovetail nicely" but from a GAA point of view it would be funny if it wasn't so stupid!

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1903 - 08/01/2017 16:00:33    1943972

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "
Replying To bad.monkey:  "[quote=GreenandRed:  "[quote=bad.monkey:  "[quote=browncows:  "[quote=bad.monkey:  "Aidan O'Shea "'I've been concussed a lot. The first time I got it was when I was 16. I didn't even know what it was back then. I've been concussed in Connacht finals. It happens quite easily to me. I'm not a doctor but I think the more you get concussed the easier is to happen."

1 in 4 GAA players admit playing on with a concussion
link"
Was he also concussed in both the drawn final? - a couple of his shot decision would suggest he could have been!. Even you should know that most players do not know when they are concussed and it takes someone with medical expertise to decide on such incidents- You post does not add up. Your quote of 1 in 4- what did you get that quote from or was it made up by someone, somewhere, who likes a good story."
The research was carried out by NUI Galway and published in the International Journal of Adolescent Mental Health in 2016

The original link didnt work . Here is another

I agree players cant assess concussion which teally was my original point. If a player in any sport is suspected of being concussed they should be substituted immediately. Not 'assessed' as these tests are inconclusive and told to toughen up as was another posters experience

Its a problem in GAA. Anyone who has played decent club level will have seen and experienced it"]It may well be a problem in GAA. But the very nature of rugby is to physically hurt your opponent. 'Hit the fkr hard enough so he won't get up so quick. Hit the fkrs they're no relations' as we were told. It can be a dangerousvgame ifcplayers are reckless. And we were the bottom of the rung of junior rugby in Connacht 20 years ago. Imagine the hits nowadays at top level! They've introduced a new tackle rule In rugby that they hope will lessen the concussion injuries. Remains to be seen if It will. Might even reduce crowds who like to see bIg hits but probably bring in more who should see the ball thrown around a bit more.

Anyways. GAA and Rugby seasons dovetail nicely. Either should talk up the other to get new players in rather than finding faults with the other."]Yes fully agree. I guess the 'big hit' brigade can watch MMA ."]Just wonder how you come to the conclusion that the GAA and rugby seasons " dovetail nicely". As far as I can see the rugby season lasts 9 months (and at least 10 in a World Cup year) and the GAA season lasts 9 months or more as well. Yes of course some people want to squeeze all relevant GAA action into the months of June July and August which will mean the Gaa and rugby seasons would "dovetail nicely" but from a GAA point of view it would be funny if it wasn't so stupid!"]From playing rugby and football with teammates who played both. I played rugby against Pete Finnerty a couple of times. You might have heard of him? Many's the club rugby player that play's rugby and GAA sports, met many of them from Gort, Ballinrobe, Loughrea, Tuam, Headford etc. Maybe you misunderstood my post? GAA and Rugby clubs looking for each other to share players at a lower amateur level in each other's off-season. GAA clubs are hardly looking for rugby players playing a 9 or 10 month season as they tend to be professional, and rugby clubs are unlikely to be ringing Jim Gavin asking him if Philly McMahon will tog for them in the winter. As far as I can see you didn't look too far beyond having a go at a non-GAA sport.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7344 - 08/01/2017 18:32:05    1944050

GreenandRed, don't know why you are so sensitive about this. In my last post I was NOT having a go at a non-GAA sport. I'm merely pointing out the fact that in terms of the bigger picture the GAA and rugby seasons do not "dovetail nicely" since both are 9 to 10 months long. In terms of playing GAA and rugby at an amateur level, no doubt it can be done like many others combine playing soccer and GAA.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1903 - 08/01/2017 20:24:12    1944098

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "GreenandRed, don't know why you are so sensitive about this. In my last post I was NOT having a go at a non-GAA sport. I'm merely pointing out the fact that in terms of the bigger picture the GAA and rugby seasons do not "dovetail nicely" since both are 9 to 10 months long. In terms of playing GAA and rugby at an amateur level, no doubt it can be done like many others combine playing soccer and GAA."
Apologies Poolsturgeon for saying you're having a go at rugby. I know well that elite GAA and rugby have long seasons and they couldn't play both games. But I think both GAA and rugby clubs are and should continue to welcome players from both games and from other sports.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7344 - 08/01/2017 21:11:31    1944117

Interesting article from Joe brolly in yesterday's independent comparing how rugby implement rules to keep their game as spectacle compared to the gaa and gaelic football.
Attended double header in gorey, first up hurling, very one sided game but at least the 30 players on the field played to the basic principles of hurling, football next up and had to leave before half as did 3/4 of the crowd..
Pure bore, hand passing and defensive play@!??
Really enjoyed playing football when I was younger but only for hurling now I would find it very difficult to be a gaa supporter.. as a spectator game rugby is far easier on the eye to match that gaelic football but really should not be. Gaa decision makers should note what Joe brolly is trying to preach for the sake of gaelic and before its takes hurling down with it....

tonydoranfan (Wexford) - Posts: 550 - 09/01/2017 20:39:25    1944394

Replying To tonydoranfan:  "Interesting article from Joe brolly in yesterday's independent comparing how rugby implement rules to keep their game as spectacle compared to the gaa and gaelic football.
Attended double header in gorey, first up hurling, very one sided game but at least the 30 players on the field played to the basic principles of hurling, football next up and had to leave before half as did 3/4 of the crowd..
Pure bore, hand passing and defensive play@!??
Really enjoyed playing football when I was younger but only for hurling now I would find it very difficult to be a gaa supporter.. as a spectator game rugby is far easier on the eye to match that gaelic football but really should not be. Gaa decision makers should note what Joe brolly is trying to preach for the sake of gaelic and before its takes hurling down with it...."
I thought the standard of Football is ok. To me a lot of problems come from Media pundits slagging off the game. Especially the Indo and it's journos.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2519 - 10/01/2017 20:10:27    1944688

I have noticed that the main critics of football come from counties that are bad at it. Like say Colm O Rourke of Meath, to a lesser degree Joe Brolly of Derry. Hardly football strongholds. On this site Ormandbannerman from Limerick/Clare is a well known critic of Gaelic football. From Limerick/Clare who have not won Football titles for 50 odd years.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2519 - 10/01/2017 22:19:22    1944728

Replying To ormondbannerman:  "I didnt say you had"nt drink spilled on you,I said I have never seen drinking in the stands or had drink spilled on me and I attend a lot of games there
mooncat (Kilkenny) - Posts:350 - 30/12/2016 19:06:38
any and every game ive been to in Croke Park there has been drinking at the seats be that all ireland quarters, semis, finals or qualifiers"
You are wrong. You are telling lies here. Not the first time either.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 10/01/2017 23:00:23    1944739

Replying To galwayford:  "I have noticed that the main critics of football come from counties that are bad at it. Like say Colm O Rourke of Meath, to a lesser degree Joe Brolly of Derry. Hardly football strongholds. On this site Ormandbannerman from Limerick/Clare is a well known critic of Gaelic football. From Limerick/Clare who have not won Football titles for 50 odd years."
Just because someone likes rugby doesn't mean they're a critic of Gaelic football.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7344 - 10/01/2017 23:59:38    1944750

Replying To galwayford:  "I thought the standard of Football is ok. To me a lot of problems come from Media pundits slagging off the game. Especially the Indo and it's journos."
Article was total BS from Brolly. Rugby attendances in France and Sourthern Hemisphere are dropping big time. As well as TV audiences. Pro12 are stable at an avg of 8.5K per match. Only in England are things growing.

Brolly writes articles to promote himself and therefore facts are not important

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 11/01/2017 08:51:17    1944762

Replying To witnof:  "Article was total BS from Brolly. Rugby attendances in France and Sourthern Hemisphere are dropping big time. As well as TV audiences. Pro12 are stable at an avg of 8.5K per match. Only in England are things growing.

Brolly writes articles to promote himself and therefore facts are not important"
Brolly's arguments don't stand up. There was an attendance of over 4000 at the McKenna cup game between Cavan and Tyrone last Sunday. If football was so bad, why would that many turn up for a pre-season game in early January? Football pundits larking back to some mythical golden era, and hurling snobs, do more damage to football than rugby ever will.

football first (None) - Posts: 1259 - 11/01/2017 10:08:05    1944772

It is nice to see the co-operation between Rugby and GAA to stage the bid for the Rugby World cup.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2519 - 11/01/2017 19:07:44    1944944

Replying To witnof:  "Article was total BS from Brolly. Rugby attendances in France and Sourthern Hemisphere are dropping big time. As well as TV audiences. Pro12 are stable at an avg of 8.5K per match. Only in England are things growing.

Brolly writes articles to promote himself and therefore facts are not important"
Witnof, to be fair to Joe Brolly he speaks his mind as he sees things. You or I may not agree with everything he says. But he has a right to his opinions the same as you or I have. For you to say that he is simply a self promoter is I feel disengenous on your behalf. All of us here on the Hogan Stand Forums have diverse opinions on many subjects as you are well aware, and are entitled to express them. Can you not say the same for Joe Brolly?

lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 2990 - 13/01/2017 02:18:28    1945370

Replying To lilywhite1:  "Witnof, to be fair to Joe Brolly he speaks his mind as he sees things. You or I may not agree with everything he says. But he has a right to his opinions the same as you or I have. For you to say that he is simply a self promoter is I feel disengenous on your behalf. All of us here on the Hogan Stand Forums have diverse opinions on many subjects as you are well aware, and are entitled to express them. Can you not say the same for Joe Brolly?"
Brolly article by numbers:

1. Pick a topic with an easy target (Mayo footballers, GAA hierarchy etc.)

2. Tell a story about his friends and people he likes (ex-teammates, 'true Gaels', Slaughtneill etc.)

3. Start an ad hominem tirade against the easy target, and how they pale in comparison to his friends.

4. Repeat

I used to agree with much of what he wrote, while disliking his painful, and frankly rude, mannerisms on television.
Almost everything he writes now is egotistical garbage.

cobby (Galway) - Posts: 27 - 13/01/2017 12:55:28    1945434

Replying To galwayford:  "I have noticed that the main critics of football come from counties that are bad at it. Like say Colm O Rourke of Meath, to a lesser degree Joe Brolly of Derry. Hardly football strongholds. On this site Ormandbannerman from Limerick/Clare is a well known critic of Gaelic football. From Limerick/Clare who have not won Football titles for 50 odd years."
is the great Mick O'Connell not from the Kingdom of kerry, hardly a weak football county, he does not even look at kerry playing now.
lads sorry but football is a bore to watch!!!!

tonydoranfan (Wexford) - Posts: 550 - 13/01/2017 14:18:21    1945454

Replying To tonydoranfan:  "is the great Mick O'Connell not from the Kingdom of kerry, hardly a weak football county, he does not even look at kerry playing now.
lads sorry but football is a bore to watch!!!!"
O'Connell added that the modern game doesn't appeal to him and he feels that the rules these days have changed the game completely.

"I call it Gaelic, not Gaelic football. I go to watch Valentia playing, and that's about it. I don't bother with Kerry games anymore. I don't blame the players; the game adapted to the rules that are there. But while I still enjoy watching sport, Gaelic does not hold any appeal to me. It's totally different to the game I know."

tonydoranfan (Wexford) - Posts: 550 - 13/01/2017 14:21:07    1945456

where is mick O'Connell from ??

''O'Connell added that the modern game doesn't appeal to him and he feels that the rules these days have changed the game completely.

"I call it Gaelic, not Gaelic football. I go to watch Valentia playing, and that's about it. I don't bother with Kerry games anymore. I don't blame the players; the game adapted to the rules that are there. But while I still enjoy watching sport, Gaelic does not hold any appeal to me. It's totally different to the game I know."

tonydoranfan (Wexford) - Posts: 550 - 13/01/2017 14:31:06    1945461

STOP THE PRESSES! Hurling Snob agrees Football is not what it used to be!

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12118 - 13/01/2017 16:16:32    1945488

Ye have not set the place alight yourselves even though Tipperary have an excellent team!. Brolly is correct in what he writes in the recent article. Most of the County matches are a complete bore to watch. Of course there are exceptions when you get to semi-finals /finals. The Conaught and Leinster finals were very difficult to watch.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 13/01/2017 16:49:07    1945502

Replying To football first:  "Brolly's arguments don't stand up. There was an attendance of over 4000 at the McKenna cup game between Cavan and Tyrone last Sunday. If football was so bad, why would that many turn up for a pre-season game in early January? Football pundits larking back to some mythical golden era, and hurling snobs, do more damage to football than rugby ever will."
Actually 4500 attended Meath v Wicklow in nqvan. Vast majority from Meath

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 13/01/2017 17:36:33    1945510