Kerry v Mayo

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "wasn't the voice over done by yer man from Republic of Tele?
Kevin McGahern? Am nearly sure it was?"
I'd believe you Liam you seem to be obsessed with it. The ad seems to have done the trick for Eir. Alot on here reacting to it. Job done.

Weary (None) - Posts: 249 - 24/08/2017 16:36:36    2037250

Replying To TheHermit:  "Relax man, it's just a good humored observation - no need to take such umbrage at something so trivial ..."
I know. Sure you're great craic.

Weary (None) - Posts: 249 - 24/08/2017 17:06:29    2037258

Replying To IrishGael3:  "I would drop Seamus O'Shea - not great footballer - gave away the ball the goal came from. Not near good enough - what about that big lad Barry whatever his name is?"
Jesus - do you want to start a players' strike???

opa01 (Cavan) - Posts: 500 - 24/08/2017 17:17:08    2037261

Replying To Weary:  "I know. Sure you're great craic."
Another reason to hope for a Kerry win, your face come full time ;D

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 24/08/2017 18:02:55    2037279

Replying To nextyear:  "The joke there was that the voice-over was done by Chris o dowd, a roscommon comedian who played county minor. So it was a bit of a dig at the neighbouring rivals in mayo in jest. The snowflakes were outraged and it got removed"
Ah sure the TV top brass were worried about losing their customers with strong Mayo connection there's a lot of us you know! And we go everywhere in the county colours!

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 24/08/2017 20:32:33    2037312

Mayo can finish the job. The are improving with every game since they hit croker. If only they had more forward power of the bench I'd be more confident, loftus and Regan haven't cut it for me. Need durcan up front from the start.

salvador (Roscommon) - Posts: 439 - 24/08/2017 22:02:54    2037340

Replying To salvador:  "Mayo can finish the job. The are improving with every game since they hit croker. If only they had more forward power of the bench I'd be more confident, loftus and Regan haven't cut it for me. Need durcan up front from the start."
I think he looks more assured kicking points than any of the backs. Is quick but doesn't rely on his pace to get free to get a shot off but can also score running from deep. He'll keep his head and keep looking for a score even if he's missed a few.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7337 - 24/08/2017 22:38:55    2037359

Regan left the panel last week and Boland left the panel also..

tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 601 - 25/08/2017 02:35:02    2037386

Replying To tommy132:  "Regan left the panel last week and Boland left the panel also.."
They didnt make the 26, Big bird and Conor O Shea were named on the bench instead. They are still on the panel

unclegerry (Mayo) - Posts: 1222 - 25/08/2017 11:16:43    2037463

Can not wait till this, Going for a Mayo win.
Mayo 2+
Come on Mayo!!!

oakleafersir (Derry) - Posts: 808 - 25/08/2017 11:25:17    2037469

Replying To unclegerry:  "They didnt make the 26, Big bird and Conor O Shea were named on the bench instead. They are still on the panel"
Who's big bird?! Ideal for marking Donaghy ;)

Presume Big Bird is Barry Moran?

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 25/08/2017 11:57:12    2037491

Mayo by 3 points. Is that heart over head... No think they'll do it. Mayo to go for it down the final straight with eye balls out intensity, in athletics parlance.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 25/08/2017 12:00:42    2037493

Went for Mayo by 4 the last day, will stay with that.

moylagh (Meath) - Posts: 484 - 25/08/2017 12:06:24    2037495

It's do or die for mayo now in my opinion they have to get over the line tomorrow or it will i fear the lack of ruthlessness that let kerry off the hook last Sunday and Dublin last year could return to haunt them. I love this team for the unquenchable spirit and the excitement they bring but i wonder if all the narrow losses over the years have drained them of the belief to see games out against the likes of Kerry and Dublin. I admire and respect Kerry football but even if they lost tomorrow they will be soon winning all Ireland's again with the talent in their ranks. Another replay defeat will be very hard to come back from for Mayo as there is only so many times you can go to the well with the same players without success hopefully that may drive them on to get over the line. The last thing mayo need is another winter been patronized about how close ye are to getting over the line that must be soul destroying at this stage. Best of luck mayo

green.and.gold (Leitrim) - Posts: 427 - 25/08/2017 13:04:12    2037539

Seems the tide is turning and most people fancy Mayo which is understandable. We all knew that there was nothing between these two teams even before last Sunday.

Similiar situation to 2014 with the dubs playing the day after. Looking forward to see what the Kerry team selection will be. Depending on injuries id expect 3 to 4 changes. I think Darran deserves a start and Barry will come into midfield. At least one change in the full back line as its hard to imagine Griffin starting again. I think Enright may start though as we dont have a whole pile of options to come in.

Mayo will probably start the same again even though im not sure why Durcan isnt playing as he is one of the Mayo players i enjoy watching. Id expect O Shea to stay full back as i dont see Mayo having any other options.

Im going for a draw after extra time, what happens then, another replay??

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 25/08/2017 13:10:39    2037541

Replying To KY4SAM2015:  "Seems the tide is turning and most people fancy Mayo which is understandable. We all knew that there was nothing between these two teams even before last Sunday.

Similiar situation to 2014 with the dubs playing the day after. Looking forward to see what the Kerry team selection will be. Depending on injuries id expect 3 to 4 changes. I think Darran deserves a start and Barry will come into midfield. At least one change in the full back line as its hard to imagine Griffin starting again. I think Enright may start though as we dont have a whole pile of options to come in.

Mayo will probably start the same again even though im not sure why Durcan isnt playing as he is one of the Mayo players i enjoy watching. Id expect O Shea to stay full back as i dont see Mayo having any other options.

Im going for a draw after extra time, what happens then, another replay??"
Bookies and many experts going for Kerry. Your average man on the street appears to have a fancy for Mayo.....does not matter what anyone says though....jesus another replay...don't say that.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 25/08/2017 13:50:27    2037569

Replying To Laois76:  "Who's big bird?! Ideal for marking Donaghy ;)

Presume Big Bird is Barry Moran?"
Ya Barry Moran. If he was fully fit he would be a serious option but he hasnt played 1 minute all year for mayo due to injury

unclegerry (Mayo) - Posts: 1222 - 25/08/2017 14:38:05    2037600

Replying To yew_tree:  "Bookies and many experts going for Kerry. Your average man on the street appears to have a fancy for Mayo.....does not matter what anyone says though....jesus another replay...don't say that."
Yeah thats for sure I dont think anyone has a clue what way the game will pan out, experts or not.

If it is another replay Mayo people will have dig deep into their pockets for another trip to croker especially tough on those bringing kids. It must come close to a record amount of games to reach an All Ireland final at this stage?

Im sure Tyrone/Armagh in the noughties had to win alot of games but Mayo have had a crazy amount of games this year as well as alot of replays the last few years. If ever a group of fans and players deserved success its Mayo so hopefully next year will be their time -)

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 25/08/2017 14:56:02    2037612

Replying To KY4SAM2015:  "Yeah thats for sure I dont think anyone has a clue what way the game will pan out, experts or not.

If it is another replay Mayo people will have dig deep into their pockets for another trip to croker especially tough on those bringing kids. It must come close to a record amount of games to reach an All Ireland final at this stage?

Im sure Tyrone/Armagh in the noughties had to win alot of games but Mayo have had a crazy amount of games this year as well as alot of replays the last few years. If ever a group of fans and players deserved success its Mayo so hopefully next year will be their time -)"
I think Tyrone played 10 games in 2008? But if we get to the final we will hold the record due to extra time etc I believe.

It has been some journey this year....will count for nothing if we don't win Sam and that is the stone cold reality. We need Sam. I have not done a tap at work today thinking about the game....mad to get going !!!

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 25/08/2017 15:40:44    2037632

Replying To yew_tree:  "I think Tyrone played 10 games in 2008? But if we get to the final we will hold the record due to extra time etc I believe.

It has been some journey this year....will count for nothing if we don't win Sam and that is the stone cold reality. We need Sam. I have not done a tap at work today thinking about the game....mad to get going !!!"
Same here and I have to come in for a few hours tomorrow morning. There won't be a tap done then either!

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 25/08/2017 16:00:48    2037638