Dubs and Kerry on TV?

Replying To waynoI:  "just home .. delighted with the draw. fair result I feel. great atmosphere. tense right up until the end, brilliant. won't get drawn into all the shite that goes on here, the holier than thou Muppet's need to get a life. just let it go for God sake. it was a tough battle for both sides. two great counties. was a pleasure to be there and witness another brilliant game between the sides. Thanks to the kerry people for their hospitality, thanks to every dub on the hill (as we call it) behind the goal tonight who where phenomenal. great travelling support"
Are you running for election..!!!

On Dubs page you say different things than on the main page or other counties pages which you seem to love to post on.

You are missing the whole point - it is their holier than thou attitude and comments that riles people. They go on like they are football purists yet are worse than most Ulster teams with negative off the ball and anti football tactics at times.

Yes, every county does it but not every county go on like they are the untouchables aristocrats of football.
Them having to resort to this and not just play football just shows how far they have fallen off their pedestal.

Rant over. :o)

Draw was a fair result and Kerry will be a force this season but play football lads..!

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3723 - 19/03/2017 12:05:51    1968437

Replying To westkerry:  "Think this is the best comment I've read on this game.
Kerry really should have seen it out and we didn't.
Fair play to Dublin they stuck at it and never gave up.
On a separate note if we get games like that in the super 8 then it will be brilliant.
Dublin away from home with a sell out fixture will be brilliant."
Kerry have some amount of young talent coming through and will be much stronger for it.
2nd half was much better than the nonsense that we witnessed in the 1st half.
I agree about the super 8 - it will provide some real crackers of games.

Hopefully a great Summer of football ahead.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3723 - 19/03/2017 12:11:26    1968441

Replying To waynoI:  "just home .. delighted with the draw. fair result I feel. great atmosphere. tense right up until the end, brilliant. won't get drawn into all the shite that goes on here, the holier than thou Muppet's need to get a life. just let it go for God sake. it was a tough battle for both sides. two great counties. was a pleasure to be there and witness another brilliant game between the sides. Thanks to the kerry people for their hospitality, thanks to every dub on the hill (as we call it) behind the goal tonight who where phenomenal. great travelling support"
Another brilliant game are you for real. ?The first half was apsolutely brutal because of the Kerry tactics of fouling at every opportunity. Tell it like it is and stop sucking up to the opposition .Kerry were very cynical a blind man could see that last night .At the moment they know they can't play football with this Dublin team and hope to win hence the tactics we witnessed last. The only thing that I find funny is how so many on here seem so shocked by their tactics .

dubarra (Wicklow) - Posts: 541 - 19/03/2017 12:22:38    1968449

Replying To Fionn:  "Are you running for election..!!!

On Dubs page you say different things than on the main page or other counties pages which you seem to love to post on.

You are missing the whole point - it is their holier than thou attitude and comments that riles people. They go on like they are football purists yet are worse than most Ulster teams with negative off the ball and anti football tactics at times.

Yes, every county does it but not every county go on like they are the untouchables aristocrats of football.
Them having to resort to this and not just play football just shows how far they have fallen off their pedestal.

Draw was a fair result and Kerry will be a force this season but play football lads..!"
what did I say on the dubs page about the match last night ? I haven't been on it ?

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 19/03/2017 12:31:46    1968451

On reflection after the game im very pleased. We've played with the tiger a few times now this decade, pulled the whiskers and tickled the belly and still live to climb the steps in Hogan stand to lift silverware come the end of September. Always nice to get a result in a small county in a small rural county in the southwest.

I know their is much criticism of the spectacle, but the very least you demand from your county is passion and Kerry certainly showed that, they were determined to get a positive result and this was one for them. I often find it hard to know were Kerry are at, whether their league form is a true reflection of their potential and Munster has very little to offer in terms of judgement (as leinstier). You have to be encouraged by the will, passion and determination last night and that a positive for Kerry. Fitzgerald is a good manager i think, maybe the style of football needs to be accepted as the best Kerry can do with this group and hope for/if the talented young lads to come through. I expected to see more this year have an impact certainly from their first minor winning team, Donegal seem to be the pace setters on this score. If i was a Kerry fan i would be concerned about the environment these lads are coming into, seems their is an atmosphere of disciplined, contained football with not much freedom for attacking or creative football within the system as opposed to the traditional Kerry way of expansive creative football. A concern would be in these formative years of development in this structure will lads develop these traits to become inter-county success of renown. A little it of soul and identity searching is needed in Kerry, not just lats night but since performances since 2013 to be honest.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 19/03/2017 12:37:37    1968454

Moving onto Dublin and despite having my heart in my mouth going into injury time (surprised how much i wanted the record when it as on the line), it has been a hugely beneficial league campaign thus far. Ive been surprised by the mental resolve of this young team in particular during the campaign with so many senior lads out. Lads clearly are battling tooth and nail just to be on the panel. We have had some really tough games against teams that are tough as iron in Donegal, Tyrone and Kerry. Being on the Ulster side of the draw for a semi if we get there and with two of Monaghan, Donegal and Tyrone likely candidates for a quarterfinal these games will have given they young lads huge experience.

We have seen the emergence of real options in the summer from the 2014 U21 AI winning team in Scully, McHugh and Lowdnes as players of senior quality they have been blooded and developed and the panel just got a lot stronger. In addidtion to others who might struggle to make a claim in Carthy, Basquel and Whelan.

The senior players in the panel have gotten such a great break and prep for the summer will start with a wholly refreshed panel with Brogan, McCarthy, Cooper, McCarthy, Cian, Connolly, Costello and of course Jack being back gives us a whole new dimension. Also a side note for Con O' Callaghan as we all know is something very special.

Brilliant to see Cian back last night the one frailty i saw over the course of the league was penetration centrally through the half back line with CIan back im sure this will be resolved.

On reflection we are nicely placed heading into our two final games Vs Roscommon and Monaghan, you would have to be quietly confident about maybe contesting another league final. I hope Jim sticks with young lads for the duration of the campaign. They have proven competitive with what the country has offer thus far and deserve a tilt at a national title. The more experienced lads will benefit from the breather they have gotten during the league campaign and be nicely refreshed for the summer.

League couldn't be going any better really.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 19/03/2017 12:59:18    1968462

Replying To Fionn:  "Are you running for election..!!!

Draw was a fair result and Kerry will be a force this season but play football lads..!"
I agree with you 100% I tried to post something similar but for some reason it did not get through...some people trying to be all things to all people playing both sides and not calling it for what it was.

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 19/03/2017 13:15:13    1968466

Replying To TheUsername:  "Moving onto Dublin and despite having my heart in my mouth going into injury time (surprised how much i wanted the record when it as on the line), it has been a hugely beneficial league campaign thus far. Ive been surprised by the mental resolve of this young team in particular during the campaign with so many senior lads out. Lads clearly are battling tooth and nail just to be on the panel. We have had some really tough games against teams that are tough as iron in Donegal, Tyrone and Kerry. Being on the Ulster side of the draw for a semi if we get there and with two of Monaghan, Donegal and Tyrone likely candidates for a quarterfinal these games will have given they young lads huge experience.

We have seen the emergence of real options in the summer from the 2014 U21 AI winning team in Scully, McHugh and Lowdnes as players of senior quality they have been blooded and developed and the panel just got a lot stronger. In addidtion to others who might struggle to make a claim in Carthy, Basquel and Whelan.

The senior players in the panel have gotten such a great break and prep for the summer will start with a wholly refreshed panel with Brogan, McCarthy, Cooper, McCarthy, Cian, Connolly, Costello and of course Jack being back gives us a whole new dimension. Also a side note for Con O' Callaghan as we all know is something very special.

Brilliant to see Cian back last night the one frailty i saw over the course of the league was penetration centrally through the half back line with CIan back im sure this will be resolved.

On reflection we are nicely placed heading into our two final games Vs Roscommon and Monaghan, you would have to be quietly confident about maybe contesting another league final. I hope Jim sticks with young lads for the duration of the campaign. They have proven competitive with what the country has offer thus far and deserve a tilt at a national title. The more experienced lads will benefit from the breather they have gotten during the league campaign and be nicely refreshed for the summer.

League couldn't be going any better really."
Good posts Username.

I think Kerry mgt need to trust their players a bit more and play football. They have plenty of talent and need to try them out in League games playing the football many of them are capable of.

Curtailing them with negative tactics will do nothing for their development.
At the end of the day Kerry are only interested in Sam so why not use the league as a positive development tool.

Agree with you regarding our young lads - keep playing them in the League.
Last nights experience & battle and the more game time they get now, will be invaluable to them going forward.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3723 - 19/03/2017 13:28:34    1968469

I think the most salient point to make is this, posters from counties whose teams were playing last night are on their smart phones/laptops, whatever while this game is on to again give out about Kerry.

Hey lads I know ye hate Kerry but why don't you go and actually attend a game for a change?

As Horse said this forum is polluted with A-holes these days.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 19/03/2017 14:14:50    1968482

Thoughts both teams were cynical at times and both got men behind the ball. Kerry had an interesting tactic of covering that ball into the corners. Dublin are very good at drawing the defence out from there and opening up the middle. Referee gave equally soft frees for both teams. I did think he handled the flashpoints better than most though. If Kerry are to beat Dublin in August/September, they would need to get their matchups right. What is interesting is that Fenton cleaned Kerry in midfield in the last 2 champ games but this time himself and McAuley lost that battle? Can't see that happening again though.

breakingball22 (Louth) - Posts: 419 - 19/03/2017 14:46:40    1968491

Fionn,

I totally agree that they where cynical and without question they got under our skin and into our heads a little last night, But I don't know what people expect ?

This is a Kerry team that haven't beaten Dublin very often in recent years especially in the biggest games. Every man and his dog would tell you that if you go man on man against this Dublin team you will be beaten and in all likelihood, destroyed.. Its not bravery to go man v man against us, its naïve and stupid, And so teams will and should go ultra defensive against us and leave battle wounds and scars on us because as results will show so far this year, when you do try and frustrate Dublin and take us out of their rhythm we have struggled to pick up wins. Tyrone, Donegal and Kerry last night will show you that. These results are not coincidence. Take any brilliant team out of their comfort zone and they will find struggle, doesn't matter how good ya are.

This Kerry team are a proud team, like all Kerry teams. But football has moved on and people are too stuck in the old days of tradition and all that hulabaloo, Fact is we went down there last night unbeaten in 33 games, (The record obviously being 34 held by the team we where playing), as defending all Ireland champions, in their own back yard. What did people expect Kerry to do ? Come out and let us play our football ? If we are allowed to get into our stride against anyone early doors in particular then we will finish the game before its even started, The best way to eventually beat this Dublin team is to do what Donegal, Kerry and Tyrone have done this year, Irrespective of how brilliant and mentally strong we are, Irrespective of how many times we dig it out, A time will come when we don't get a bit of luck or win a breaking ball in the last few minutes and we will be on the end of a one point defeat. You can only go to the well so many times.

So this blueprint is the one that will eventually beat Dublin in my view (next week, next month, in the summer, next year, whenever it is), In many ways a "traditional" (hate that phrase) county like Kerry showed us the utmost respect and paid us the biggest compliment they could have by playing that way last night, They got a share of the spoils and well done to them, Their only regret will be that they didn't hold out and see it out because they did rattle us. Fortunately this team are f**kin amazing, They are the team that just keep on giving to us fans, and we are blessed to be alive witnessing them. Even when we don't play well, To go down there, against that team, who bullied us at times, and still not lie down, take it and give in is immense, and I'm so so proud of each and every one of them. They are a credit to themselves, their families, their clubs, their county, their city. Their commitment is beyond incredible and I'm so honoured that in years to come ill be able to tell my own stories to my own kids and grankids about this team, Because they are special.

However, The brilliant thing about us is that we can adapt, My issue is the people slaughtering Kerry for their cynicism, If you are going to criticize do it both ways, It bugs me coming on here and just seeing one team getting slaughtered by the opposing fans, Ciaran Kilkenny was very cynical in the 5th minute of IT last night, I remember Paddy Andrews literally getting a jockey back off a Kerry player trying to halt him in injury time in the 2013 semi final. We are no angels and I would hate us to be nicey nicey., We can play dirty as well as anyone, We can give it just as much as we can take it, To criticize Kerry when we ourselves do it (And, proper order too, ya gotta do what ya gotta do) is fundamentally wrong, I thought last night was tense and a ferocious battle, And a draw was probably lucky from our point of view but we take it and move on.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 19/03/2017 15:11:13    1968494

Replying To TheHermit:  "I think the most salient point to make is this, posters from counties whose teams were playing last night are on their smart phones/laptops, whatever while this game is on to again give out about Kerry.

Hey lads I know ye hate Kerry but why don't you go and actually attend a game for a change?

As Horse said this forum is polluted with A-holes these days."
I was at the game and you can only really see how cynical Kerry were by being at the game...the first half was a disgrace as I said Kerry nearly pulled it off by Fouling, dragging and fighting there way to a win but there was 7 officials who contributed to that first half by letting them away with. Anyway fair play to the Dublin players it would have been so easy to play into Kerry's hands and react.

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 19/03/2017 15:48:16    1968504

Replying To The_Fridge:  "#in league and championship. ;)"
yawn !

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 19/03/2017 16:33:35    1968540

Replying To jacktheDub:  "I was at the game and you can only really see how cynical Kerry were by being at the game...the first half was a disgrace as I said Kerry nearly pulled it off by Fouling, dragging and fighting there way to a win but there was 7 officials who contributed to that first half by letting them away with. Anyway fair play to the Dublin players it would have been so easy to play into Kerry's hands and react."
This is utter rubbish.
Two teams both guilty of off the ball stuff blocking runs etc.
I don't like it, it's a blight on the game however to say only one team were at it is just rubbish.
Great teams all have it in them and Dublin are no different, Just like us in the 2000s & Tyrone of that period.
Dublin are a fine team but please give up on the "we only play football line " you've 3/4 boys that well known for off the ball stuff .

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 19/03/2017 16:47:09    1968558

Replying To jacktheDub:  "I was at the game and you can only really see how cynical Kerry were by being at the game...the first half was a disgrace as I said Kerry nearly pulled it off by Fouling, dragging and fighting there way to a win but there was 7 officials who contributed to that first half by letting them away with. Anyway fair play to the Dublin players it would have been so easy to play into Kerry's hands and react."
Both teams were at the cynical fouling buddy. If you're calling it call it fair anyway.
When maher came on Kilkenny ran 30 yards to start on him and jumped up on Maher's back. And constantly pulled and dragged him till he got the deserved red card.
Also it was nice that a reff pulled the Dublin players for all the over carrying they do.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 19/03/2017 16:57:53    1968565

17 minutes gone were 2-1 down shooting With the wind on our backs the referee blew the whistle for a hop ball for exactly what can someone please explain that one? Weirdest call I've ever seen. Great night down in the kingdom paying for it now but what a great day with the rugger then the record. Kerry were savage I wouldn't expect anything less and they should of won it only for Murphy at the end, listen we all make mistakes but to kick it across field with that wind was crazy. Great stuff from both teams I loved every minute of it , can we all shut up about soft frees both teams got soft frees. Watch it back without the blinkers on and we both got some soft calls. Anyway roll on next Saturday to make history and 35 unbeaten. Thank you the people of Kerry for a great weekend. Can't wait for these super 8 games next year in the middle of the summer away from home it's great craic.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 19/03/2017 17:26:56    1968588

Replying To clondalkindub:  "17 minutes gone were 2-1 down shooting With the wind on our backs the referee blew the whistle for a hop ball for exactly what can someone please explain that one? Weirdest call I've ever seen. Great night down in the kingdom paying for it now but what a great day with the rugger then the record. Kerry were savage I wouldn't expect anything less and they should of won it only for Murphy at the end, listen we all make mistakes but to kick it across field with that wind was crazy. Great stuff from both teams I loved every minute of it , can we all shut up about soft frees both teams got soft frees. Watch it back without the blinkers on and we both got some soft calls. Anyway roll on next Saturday to make history and 35 unbeaten. Thank you the people of Kerry for a great weekend. Can't wait for these super 8 games next year in the middle of the summer away from home it's great craic."
Good post Clondalkin, glad you enjoyed your visit.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 19/03/2017 17:37:06    1968598

Replying To realdub:  "Where would Dublin be without Rock eh, did he win us our recent trophies? No he didn't so I guess pretty much the same.
Surprised at that lazy inept question from a Kerryman!"
They managed 4 points from play in 70 minutes and really Didnt offer much at all IMO. To be fair Kerry were lucky to keep 15 on.

If Kerry can bring this level of intensity into the summer and get JOD fit there is no reason to fear anybody. Geaney is the best forward in the country at the minute and Moran can run things from midfield even though he is a little hot and cold. I'm not that bothered about the draw but Kerry really should have held on.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 19/03/2017 17:56:34    1968621

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "They managed 4 points from play in 70 minutes and really Didnt offer much at all IMO. To be fair Kerry were lucky to keep 15 on.

If Kerry can bring this level of intensity into the summer and get JOD fit there is no reason to fear anybody. Geaney is the best forward in the country at the minute and Moran can run things from midfield even though he is a little hot and cold. I'm not that bothered about the draw but Kerry really should have held on."
Agree Geaney is some player and with JOD fit will have some full forward line...with Gooch on the 40 similar to '13 Kerry won't be to far away..

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 19/03/2017 18:13:53    1968635

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "They managed 4 points from play in 70 minutes and really Didnt offer much at all IMO. To be fair Kerry were lucky to keep 15 on.

If Kerry can bring this level of intensity into the summer and get JOD fit there is no reason to fear anybody. Geaney is the best forward in the country at the minute and Moran can run things from midfield even though he is a little hot and cold. I'm not that bothered about the draw but Kerry really should have held on."
Not so sure your through the looking glass there mate, if you cant stop Dublin you have to foul them, if you foul them you perish on the Rock. :)

It's a pretty straight forward system teams just don't seem Savy too or finding a way to overcome it.

Personally I think Kerry are miles off Dublin. Maybe more so even then last year, the team last night was made up young lads from the O Byrne Cup squad, panel players, a couple of the first teams youngest and a couple of expierenced pros.

No disrespect to Kerry or the that team, but a side of Dublin odds and ends went down to Tralee and didn't look to exerted, extended or fussed and came home with another national title in the eyeline.

Anyhow a few other more obstacles for counties before Kerry get another chance to crack the Dublin code.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 19/03/2017 18:21:25    1968642