Down v Tyrone

Replying To cavanman47:  "Engrained in their psyche.

It seens to be systematically encouraged and applauded in Tyrone unfortunately."
Embarassing post - if you think all Tyrone players behave this way and all supporters support it shows your absolute ignorance - as a fellow Ulster man do you comment when other counties do it? Probably not - think before you post buddy. Most Tyrone fans are already messaging their absolute distain on what Morgan did!!!

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 16/07/2017 18:46:47    2017577

Yes tyrone as predicted won this match. Goodluck to them.. It is better for our boys to be in the ulster final than sitting at home watching it. I did see some hope from the first half performance but we learned that we still need to strengthen the panel if we are to get success again. I think we are going in right direction and team and management must stick together and learn from this.

downtothecore (Down) - Posts: 349 - 16/07/2017 19:17:48    2017618

Replying To downtothecore:  "Yes tyrone as predicted won this match. Goodluck to them.. It is better for our boys to be in the ulster final than sitting at home watching it. I did see some hope from the first half performance but we learned that we still need to strengthen the panel if we are to get success again. I think we are going in right direction and team and management must stick together and learn from this."
Agree Down have made a massive transformation over past 6 months - Down have always had the players they need the organisation - with McGrath now departing Fermanagh would you have him back - no disrespect to current management but what he did with Fermanagh has been awesome.

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 16/07/2017 19:25:29    2017624

Replying To IrishGael3:  "Agree Down have made a massive transformation over past 6 months - Down have always had the players they need the organisation - with McGrath now departing Fermanagh would you have him back - no disrespect to current management but what he did with Fermanagh has been awesome."
It would be great to have Pete involved though I would keep existing management.... maybe it's possible he could work with eamon and cathal. Pete would have so much to offer. A Great person and great communicator which would benefit the team....

downtothecore (Down) - Posts: 349 - 16/07/2017 21:11:30    2017697

Replying To Wally:  "Totally agree.

Not called for at all.

It's not like they were having a battle throughout the game or a continuous war of words.

Just childish really"
Completely agree

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 16/07/2017 21:15:07    2017701

Replying To IrishGael3:  "Even Tyrone people don't like Morgan apparently - Mickey Oneill better keeper is the general consensus !"
Incorrect

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 16/07/2017 21:16:37    2017705

Replying To downtothecore:  "Yes tyrone as predicted won this match. Goodluck to them.. It is better for our boys to be in the ulster final than sitting at home watching it. I did see some hope from the first half performance but we learned that we still need to strengthen the panel if we are to get success again. I think we are going in right direction and team and management must stick together and learn from this."
Lots of positives to take. If Down re group quarter final place up for grabs.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 16/07/2017 21:19:28    2017707

I personally think Down had no confidence today . As they ran forward the just kept heading to the corners then turning and coming back out or taking ball into the tackle then Tyrone broke at speed ,, no one seemed to want the take the game by the stuff of the neck and shoot for distance , hopefully this is something they can address

topdownfan (Down) - Posts: 555 - 16/07/2017 21:21:30    2017708

Declan McClure had a fine game today! He may be the solution to the tricky midfield issue that Tyrone has!

sam2008 (Tyrone) - Posts: 797 - 16/07/2017 23:34:02    2017777

So much for Ulster been a competitive province Tyrone thoroughly dominant in what must be one of the easiest won Ulster titles in history. The county are really lucky to have a manager of the caliber of Mickey Harte remain for so long and he has rebuilt another excellent bunch of players. I think in most years pre the Dublin Jim Gavin dominance this Tyrone team would be rightful favourites to win Sam but the quality at the top level is very high. Looking forward I have no doubts Tyrone are on for a collision course with the aforementioned Jim Gavin's Dublin. I fully expect Tyrone to really put it up to them in what should be an enthralling game. One thing is for sure Dublin will not waltz in for the 2 easy goals like they did today against Tyrone. Lets hope whoever is reffing the game knows how to count steps as there seems to be a 8-10 step rule in operation for the Dubs. Tyrone seem to be finding scores more easily this year but the Dubs will be the true acid test. The outlook for the other teams is not looking great as this Tyrone team has the potential to put a few back to back Ulster titles together. Especially with Monaghan and Donegal regressing with both being very one dimensional. I would be hopeful of Donegal coming again and giving Tyrone plenty in a couple of years but not until they have a management team that can compete with Tyrone's.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 17/07/2017 01:22:10    2017794

Down battled gamely but ultimately Tyrone's well oiled system, know-how and all round better players meant they were always going to win this one.
It must be a nightmare to play against. They wait and wait, inviting you in before eventually someone will lose concentration, take the ball into a tackle or play a risky pass. Then bang! Tyrone are away on the counter at a ridiculous pace with runners from all angles. Down managed a few lovely long range points which is one of the only ways to counter Tyrone's system. But as bodies and minds tire, this tactic becomes unsustainable over 70 plus minutes.

Tyrone advance to the AI series with some questions still surrounding them however. When they start meeting teams who can match their fitness, pace and physicality do they have enough 'marquee' players to make a decisive difference? I'm not so sure just yet. Tyrone fans will know more than me - but do you think there's a chance Harte will unleash young Brennan now that they've successfully navigated their way through Ulster? Could he be the type of 'wildcard' player who will explode into life in the wide open spaces of Croke Park? Possibly giving the team the edge that Spillane and co seem to think they lack? Perhaps it is a bit soon for him yet but by all accounts he has been absolutely lethal in club football.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9135 - 17/07/2017 09:54:55    2017897

Very impressive Ulster Championship from Tyrone this year. They look as if they have progressed a lot from last year albeit the competition in Ulster has regressed somewhat but that's not Tyrone's fault. I actually see some similarities in this Tyrone team with Donegal's 2012 version. Neither put a whole pile of emphasis on the league and kept a few tricks up their sleeve for championship. I full expect Tyrone to reach the semi final where they will more than likely face Dublin and should be a really intriging game. The only disappointing thing to see from Tyrone yesterday was the actions of Niall Morgan after Down missed their goal chance just before halftime. I thought Tyrone and especially Morgan had moved on from this nonsence but obviously not. It would have be beneficial to Tyrone yesterday if Morgan had been black carded for the incident as it may have forced Morgan to stop this vile behaviour going forward.

Mobot (Donegal) - Posts: 459 - 17/07/2017 11:11:39    2017967

Replying To Mobot:  "Very impressive Ulster Championship from Tyrone this year. They look as if they have progressed a lot from last year albeit the competition in Ulster has regressed somewhat but that's not Tyrone's fault. I actually see some similarities in this Tyrone team with Donegal's 2012 version. Neither put a whole pile of emphasis on the league and kept a few tricks up their sleeve for championship. I full expect Tyrone to reach the semi final where they will more than likely face Dublin and should be a really intriging game. The only disappointing thing to see from Tyrone yesterday was the actions of Niall Morgan after Down missed their goal chance just before halftime. I thought Tyrone and especially Morgan had moved on from this nonsence but obviously not. It would have be beneficial to Tyrone yesterday if Morgan had been black carded for the incident as it may have forced Morgan to stop this vile behaviour going forward."
You are contradicting yourself - you say Morgan did it and then say you thought Morgan and Tyrone had moved on - surely the question is hasn't Morgan moved on as rest of Tyrone players didn't do this? I agree though I would have Mickey Oneill between the sticks - Morgan has this behaviour in his locker and is brittle when the heat is on - I know a lot of my Tyrone friends don't like him and are totally p1ssed off with his actions yesterday!!!

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 17/07/2017 11:35:33    2017990

Tyrone were notorious for goading down the years - it's probably the single worst thing that they done over the year and why a lot of counties don't like them; but the introduction of the black card seems largely to have eroded this behaviour from the game (probably the only good thing that has come out of the black card) and generally Tyrone don't do it anymore. Funny enough, with all the black cards we seen over the weekend, that incident is the biggest certainty of them all and it went unnoticed. If the officials begin to condone this behaviour again, it's going to creep back into football. The umpires usually have plenty to say about two lads pushing each other about but failed to bring this incident to the attention of the referee.

On Tyrone's style of play - it's very hard on the eye but is seriously effective. They do not engage with the opposing player until they enter inside their 45. Armagh tried this craic 2 years ago and Geezer got lambasted (largely because we couldn't transition quick enough if we turned over the ball). If a team had two or three lads that were prepared to take shots from 40 to 50 yards out, this could be the undoing of Tyrone because their whole game plan is built around dispossession's inside their 45 and then explosive counter-attacking (and they do explode on the counter-attack frighteningly quickly).

I am not overly sure Tyrone have two quality forwards that are going to get you 5 to 6 points a match (like Canavan or O'Neill down the years). I think Bradley might grow into that person but not just yet. They do get points from everywhere on the team, but in tight matches you need a classy player that will get you 5 or 6 points to win. Tyrone are hard to gauge at the minute. They played a very lackluster Derry, a strange match versus Donegal (expected a lot better from Donegal) and let's face it a relatively poor Down team. They will make it to the last 4 and, in my opinion, will be found out by the better class.

DooReg (Armagh) - Posts: 33 - 17/07/2017 13:45:32    2018131

Replying To IrishGael3:  "You are contradicting yourself - you say Morgan did it and then say you thought Morgan and Tyrone had moved on - surely the question is hasn't Morgan moved on as rest of Tyrone players didn't do this? I agree though I would have Mickey Oneill between the sticks - Morgan has this behaviour in his locker and is brittle when the heat is on - I know a lot of my Tyrone friends don't like him and are totally p1ssed off with his actions yesterday!!!"
Morgan actions reflects poorly on Tyrone not just on him. I mentioned that I thought Tyrone have left this nonsense behind them but their goalkeeper has let his teammates down again.

Mobot (Donegal) - Posts: 459 - 17/07/2017 13:55:21    2018145

Why is everyone going on about Morgan?

The physical and verbal assaults that Sean Cavanagh had to indure were absolutely disgusting! Everybody in that ground could see what was going on except the officials. Are the officials turning a blind eye to the treatment he has to indure - as they see it as the norm?

Which is worse - one incident of sledging or 50 minutes of physical and verbal assault?

sam2008 (Tyrone) - Posts: 797 - 17/07/2017 14:25:37    2018170

Replying To DooReg:  "Tyrone were notorious for goading down the years - it's probably the single worst thing that they done over the year and why a lot of counties don't like them; but the introduction of the black card seems largely to have eroded this behaviour from the game (probably the only good thing that has come out of the black card) and generally Tyrone don't do it anymore. Funny enough, with all the black cards we seen over the weekend, that incident is the biggest certainty of them all and it went unnoticed. If the officials begin to condone this behaviour again, it's going to creep back into football. The umpires usually have plenty to say about two lads pushing each other about but failed to bring this incident to the attention of the referee.

On Tyrone's style of play - it's very hard on the eye but is seriously effective. They do not engage with the opposing player until they enter inside their 45. Armagh tried this craic 2 years ago and Geezer got lambasted (largely because we couldn't transition quick enough if we turned over the ball). If a team had two or three lads that were prepared to take shots from 40 to 50 yards out, this could be the undoing of Tyrone because their whole game plan is built around dispossession's inside their 45 and then explosive counter-attacking (and they do explode on the counter-attack frighteningly quickly).

I am not overly sure Tyrone have two quality forwards that are going to get you 5 to 6 points a match (like Canavan or O'Neill down the years). I think Bradley might grow into that person but not just yet. They do get points from everywhere on the team, but in tight matches you need a classy player that will get you 5 or 6 points to win. Tyrone are hard to gauge at the minute. They played a very lackluster Derry, a strange match versus Donegal (expected a lot better from Donegal) and let's face it a relatively poor Down team. They will make it to the last 4 and, in my opinion, will be found out by the better class."
I don't think Tyrone fans are going to worry about your naive opinion of them considering Armagh style is very one dimensional predictable and very boring - plus as serial perpetrators of the 3rd man tackle id be looking at your own style of play instead of ridiculing other counties.

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 17/07/2017 14:46:46    2018186

Replying To Mobot:  "Morgan actions reflects poorly on Tyrone not just on him. I mentioned that I thought Tyrone have left this nonsense behind them but their goalkeeper has let his teammates down again."
Are you saying Donegal aren't guilty of this at all???

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 17/07/2017 14:48:02    2018189

Congratulations to Tyrone on their victory yesterday they were deserving winners.
The system they play is not the best to watch but it is hugely effective. They have frightening pace on the counter attack.

As for Down commiserations to the players but they should hold their heads
high. They have performed admirably this
season. Fought really hard yesterday but
just lacked a bit of guile to break down
Tyrone's defensive system at times. I was confident going into the match as I felt
Harrison could cause problems but Tyrone
nullified his threat. A slight opportunity
missed as Tyrone seemed a bit off colour
in the first half but alas we live to fight
another day and the experience should stand the players in good stead going forward.

REDANDBLACK30 (Down) - Posts: 1617 - 17/07/2017 15:09:23    2018203

Replying To IrishGael3:  "I don't think Tyrone fans are going to worry about your naive opinion of them considering Armagh style is very one dimensional predictable and very boring - plus as serial perpetrators of the 3rd man tackle id be looking at your own style of play instead of ridiculing other counties."
Very boring? You are seriously having a laugh. If you consider every man behind the ball (the duvet defense - a blanket wouldn't be good enough) as an exciting brand of football then i think you need to go to specsavers. Armagh do try and play a more open brand of football and it's good to watch. Generally, that doesn't happen in Ulster but the Southern teams do generally like to play a bit - so, that suits us. Kildare will have a go and i expect that to be a good open match. Your view of the third man tackle and Armagh is incorrect - refs are clamping down big time on anything off the ball at all by flashing black cards all over the place. How many black cards did Armagh get versus Tipp? ZERO!

The sledging that goes on has to stop - but it won't when refs allow it to happen. I watched the Ulster Final from the comfort of my home so i didn't see what Sean Cavanagh had to deal with. Any sledging is disgusting, regardless of who does it.

DooReg (Armagh) - Posts: 33 - 17/07/2017 15:32:58    2018219