Westmeath V Dublin

Right so.. I don't want to get into a championship structures debate, its been done and redone hundreds of times on here.

What I will say is, All the grief that the game is getting today is ironic considering everyone sat down and watched it, or at least enough of it to form opinions on what had happened, and are spending more of their evening talking about such a "poor game".

Listen, It wasn't a very good spectacle as a neutral, But then did any of ye really.....like, really really expect anything else ? If you did despite the not too distant history of Leinster football then your only getting your own hopes up.

On the game itself, and more so, on Westmeath, there was a lot of talk pre game about how they would set up. Go down swinging by coming out and attacking us, or to just limit the damage ? I haven't watched the game back I'm just putting it on now, But from being there I cant tell what way they set up. I didn't think they got men back, but then I didn't think they really attacked either bar the first 10 or 12 minutes.

As for Dublin, look I know that they weren't up against a Kerry or a Mayo so I wouldn't be screaming from the rooftops, but look I don't care about the opposition, 4-22 from 4-29 from play is serious scoring. They are so professional in their approach, The way they played today, some of it was absolutely breath taking. A lot of players out there looked as though they had points to prove, Their application was 100% and the fact they kept wanting to put scores on the scoreboard as oppose to just taking pity on the opposition and going through the motions was indicative of a panel of players who spot serious opportunities to stake a place in that 15.

Mannion, 0-8 from play. 1-04 from Con. Berno coming on and scoring 0-02, Kev Mc scored 1-2 I think from the bench, O'Gara scored a goal and set another up. Some of the build up play albeit against a demoralized team was magnificent. It was gorgeous to watch and I loved every second of it. Obviously id have preferred a closer game, But it was still lovely to see lads clearly hungry with a lot of them with a point to prove.

We were exceptional from their kick outs, we won everything or broke it down.

Super. We go on to Kildare, they will put up more of a challenge but play like that again and another double digits end scoreline in favour of the Dubs is on the cards

Finally.....UM, you are muppet!!

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 25/06/2017 20:13:28    2005005

Replying To LLG:  "If we don't play at least one sweeper and possibly two next Sunday, we will lose by 25 points. This would demoralise everybody and give us no chance in the qualifiers. So we have everything to lose by simply "going for it". The game plan has to be keep it tight for as long as possible, and if the game breaks in our favour, take any opportunities that are presented. There are some deluded Westmeath fans out there advocating all out attack. Do you remember what happened to us in 2009 or to Longford two years ago?"
Hate to say I told you so.......

LLG (Westmeath) - Posts: 52 - 25/06/2017 20:28:45    2005024

Fantastic display from the lads and missing so many allstars too. Clever boxing from Gavin in the league and in the early rounds now. Players like Lowndes, Scully and King Con maturing fast. Much bigger hurdles ahead though so need to keep the head down but they appear to have shifted from 1st gear league football to 3rd gear championship effortlessly. Need to find another level outside of Leinster though.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 25/06/2017 20:43:24    2005044

Replying To KerryAnimal37:  "Thats because all of those teams named wouldn't get to play at home , haven't ridiculous populations or haven't received an extortionate amount of funding allied with sponsorship benefits etc"
What are you talking about? All this bleating about Dublin getting more funding is nonsense. In the latest figures released, Mayo spent more on their teams in the year than Dublin. And a lot of non-dual counties weren't far behind.

HurlingSnob (Dublin) - Posts: 220 - 25/06/2017 20:49:29    2005050

Replying To ziggy32001:  "it is killing the game in leinster. young lads in other counties see what is happening with dublin and drift away from the game sadly.."
I don't think it's just Leinster, I think the game is suffering right across the island. I can understand the GAA wanting a strong Dublin but their focus on one county has really harmed Gaelic Games everywhere else.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9702 - 25/06/2017 21:05:22    2005068

Replying To rossy15:  "Why exactly is this being shown live"
Because they knew that you and thousands and thousands like you would watch.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 25/06/2017 21:11:31    2005079

Rode by the ref!

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 25/06/2017 21:12:19    2005080

Apart from the posts of dublin money , westmeath being passive in that momement where they did defend or WM tatics in the game. All of which are maybe valid but dublins pace and aggression in attack has to be commended. The way they attacked WM kickouts was in he killing of the game but we probably won't hear it. Mannion struggling to get in the team over last couple pf years brought a serious pace to the forwward line . Fenton won nearly all kickouts from either side that he contested. Subs showed a hunger we haven't seen all year. 4 goals , all different in how they were worked but lets talk about the trivial stuff

ctowers (Dublin) - Posts: 99 - 25/06/2017 21:12:41    2005081

Replying To Ban:  "Rode by the ref!"
What you get up to in your spare time with Conor Lane is your own business.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 25/06/2017 21:21:13    2005086

Replying To waynoI:  "Right so.. I don't want to get into a championship structures debate, its been done and redone hundreds of times on here.

What I will say is, All the grief that the game is getting today is ironic considering everyone sat down and watched it, or at least enough of it to form opinions on what had happened, and are spending more of their evening talking about such a "poor game".

Listen, It wasn't a very good spectacle as a neutral, But then did any of ye really.....like, really really expect anything else ? If you did despite the not too distant history of Leinster football then your only getting your own hopes up.

On the game itself, and more so, on Westmeath, there was a lot of talk pre game about how they would set up. Go down swinging by coming out and attacking us, or to just limit the damage ? I haven't watched the game back I'm just putting it on now, But from being there I cant tell what way they set up. I didn't think they got men back, but then I didn't think they really attacked either bar the first 10 or 12 minutes.

As for Dublin, look I know that they weren't up against a Kerry or a Mayo so I wouldn't be screaming from the rooftops, but look I don't care about the opposition, 4-22 from 4-29 from play is serious scoring. They are so professional in their approach, The way they played today, some of it was absolutely breath taking. A lot of players out there looked as though they had points to prove, Their application was 100% and the fact they kept wanting to put scores on the scoreboard as oppose to just taking pity on the opposition and going through the motions was indicative of a panel of players who spot serious opportunities to stake a place in that 15.

Mannion, 0-8 from play. 1-04 from Con. Berno coming on and scoring 0-02, Kev Mc scored 1-2 I think from the bench, O'Gara scored a goal and set another up. Some of the build up play albeit against a demoralized team was magnificent. It was gorgeous to watch and I loved every second of it. Obviously id have preferred a closer game, But it was still lovely to see lads clearly hungry with a lot of them with a point to prove.

We were exceptional from their kick outs, we won everything or broke it down.

Super. We go on to Kildare, they will put up more of a challenge but play like that again and another double digits end scoreline in favour of the Dubs is on the cards

Finally.....UM, you are muppet!!"
Exactly well said, I have never seen a team play like that they were a machine.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 25/06/2017 21:24:52    2005090

I thoroughly enjoyed watching the range of skills Dublin put on show today. They were superb. Mannion's point taking the highlight. Why all the moaning about Dublin? Kilkenny in the 2000s got the same treatment. Up to the rest of us to aspire to their level.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 25/06/2017 21:28:25    2005094

Replying To ctowers:  "Apart from the posts of dublin money , westmeath being passive in that momement where they did defend or WM tatics in the game. All of which are maybe valid but dublins pace and aggression in attack has to be commended. The way they attacked WM kickouts was in he killing of the game but we probably won't hear it. Mannion struggling to get in the team over last couple pf years brought a serious pace to the forwward line . Fenton won nearly all kickouts from either side that he contested. Subs showed a hunger we haven't seen all year. 4 goals , all different in how they were worked but lets talk about the trivial stuff"
Impressive scoreline with 11 different Dubs on the score sheet.
Still not converting the majority of our goal opportunities though.
But without Connolly, McAuley, Flynn, Philly, Costello, Small McHugh and Bastick we still have a lot to improve on.

Impressed by Con and Mannion today and Scully put in a good shift. Daly also deserves a good mention.

Each game gets more difficult from here on and by the sounds of many posters most are looking forward to us fail....!

Wagons well and truly circled and hopefully a message of our intentions was sent out loud and clear today.

To all the regular whingers on here moaning about the Dubs - please change the record and enjoy fast flowing attacking football on show while you can.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3732 - 25/06/2017 21:32:35    2005099

Replying To Laois76:  "I thoroughly enjoyed watching the range of skills Dublin put on show today. They were superb. Mannion's point taking the highlight. Why all the moaning about Dublin? Kilkenny in the 2000s got the same treatment. Up to the rest of us to aspire to their level."
Spot on, you can whinge about the deck being stacked against you or you can take the Jim McGuiness approach to life.

Look at Kildare under Cian O'Neill, the level he goes to in preparing a team is unbelievable. Using occlusion goggles is one of the most innovative things I have ever heard a coach doing.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 25/06/2017 21:36:36    2005101

Great days work from dublin' no one does a massacre better.obviously it wasnt good for the westmeath fans who made the journey and credit to them' but sport can be ruthless and thats what it was today.i had a feeling all week that dublin were going to send out a message today especially after kildares display last week.so now our sights are on kildare in the final.will be very interesting to see how cian o neill sets up his team..

GGdub (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 25/06/2017 21:40:38    2005107

Replying To Killarney.87:  "What you get up to in your spare time with Conor Lane is your own business."
Lol!

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 25/06/2017 21:44:33    2005111

I thought Paul Mannion was excellent today....early contender for player of the year.

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 876 - 25/06/2017 21:47:01    2005116

It's Dublin FFS, it's what they do. Very uncouth and rough.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts:8536 - 25/06/2017 17:12:01

We've got a reputation to upkeep. Yous love it.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 25/06/2017 21:57:10    2005126

Replying To ziggy32001:  "would you agree that the gaa need to divide funds more fairly?"
I don't know how you can divide up GAA funds equally, does the GAA grant aid on per player basis? say 100 euro a head for every player in Leitrim and say only 10 euro a head for Dublin players? we know that won;t work at all. Even if the GAA gave Dublin no money they would still be entitled to tax payers money via Sports council and through their own sponsorships. No matter how much funds GAA spends on Leitrim they are never going to win All Ireland. So if you look at Ladies football finals or Camogie finals you will see three All Ireland championships, Senior, Junior and Inter and that is the way it has to be, it is nothing to do with funding and all to do with amazing structures in the clubs and competitions. The number of people playing the game is the true reflection of the health of a game in a county. How you cap and divide this up will never work because Dublin is Dublin and in two, ten years from now Dublin will be in the doldrums and some other county dominating.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 25/06/2017 22:03:02    2005136

Replying To Fionn:  "Impressive scoreline with 11 different Dubs on the score sheet.
Still not converting the majority of our goal opportunities though.
But without Connolly, McAuley, Flynn, Philly, Costello, Small McHugh and Bastick we still have a lot to improve on.

Impressed by Con and Mannion today and Scully put in a good shift. Daly also deserves a good mention.

Each game gets more difficult from here on and by the sounds of many posters most are looking forward to us fail....!

Wagons well and truly circled and hopefully a message of our intentions was sent out loud and clear today.

To all the regular whingers on here moaning about the Dubs - please change the record and enjoy fast flowing attacking football on show while you can."
Agree with majority of your post,thought Dublin looked a class act today even allowing for opposition. Kilkenny must be one of the most skillful and fittest players playing the game. However, I would direct you to Jim Gavins post match interview, ultimate defination of whinging. Cringeworthy

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2142 - 25/06/2017 22:12:36    2005142

Replying To arock:  "I don't know how you can divide up GAA funds equally, does the GAA grant aid on per player basis? say 100 euro a head for every player in Leitrim and say only 10 euro a head for Dublin players? we know that won;t work at all. Even if the GAA gave Dublin no money they would still be entitled to tax payers money via Sports council and through their own sponsorships. No matter how much funds GAA spends on Leitrim they are never going to win All Ireland. So if you look at Ladies football finals or Camogie finals you will see three All Ireland championships, Senior, Junior and Inter and that is the way it has to be, it is nothing to do with funding and all to do with amazing structures in the clubs and competitions. The number of people playing the game is the true reflection of the health of a game in a county. How you cap and divide this up will never work because Dublin is Dublin and in two, ten years from now Dublin will be in the doldrums and some other county dominating."
Ye received €275 per head between 2010-14 per head

WM got €33
Kerry €19
Cork €16
Galway €15
Mayo €22
Donegal €20
Tyrone €21
Kildare €18
Meath €21

Fermnaagh were the 2nd highest with €68

Anything but a level playing field