The Talent Drain

I know I keep commenting on it but is not fascinating that so many Kerry posters on here play the "poor me" card so often? Do they honestly expect people to feel sorry for them? Why? How?

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12115 - 15/05/2017 17:03:21    1986879

Replying To Breffni39:  "I know I keep commenting on it but is not fascinating that so many Kerry posters on here play the "poor me" card so often? Do they honestly expect people to feel sorry for them? Why? How?"
We just like to tell it as it is that we're punching above our weight big time and always have been.

We get no hand outs down here and our success is due to our own hard work.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 15/05/2017 17:16:48    1986884

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "We just like to tell it as it is that we're punching above our weight big time and always have been.

We get no hand outs down here and our success is due to our own hard work."
Apart from the three million handout by the GAA, Munster Council and Kerry Group, who gifted 1 million each for the COE. :)

*Nothing to see here! :)

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 15/05/2017 18:20:58    1986915

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "We just like to tell it as it is that we're punching above our weight big time and always have been.

We get no hand outs down here and our success is due to our own hard work."
Why is your legendary success not enough that you need delusions like this?

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12115 - 15/05/2017 19:01:54    1986923

Replying To Breffni39:  "Why is your legendary success not enough that you need delusions like this?"
What delusions? Explain please?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 15/05/2017 20:33:58    1986951

Replying To as_ky:  "It is every year and it's not just Oz we lose players to. Plenry have to move to find work"
Most of the lads that go over to Australia end up coming back as they were not good enough at the Aussie Rules like Clarke from Down, Sean Og O'halpin from Cork and Tommy Walsh from your own county.

How many fellas make it about 6/7 players?

gormdubhgorm (Dublin) - Posts: 990 - 15/05/2017 23:28:46    1986986

Replying To Breffni39:  "Why is your legendary success not enough that you need delusions like this?"
You come across as very bitter towards the kingdom breffni89.

What's the problem kid?
It's not like our counties even have a rivalry or anything.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 15/05/2017 23:37:32    1986989

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "You come across as very bitter towards the kingdom breffni89.

What's the problem kid?
It's not like our counties even have a rivalry or anything."
No i just don't understand a few posters like yourself constantly playing the poor me on here.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12115 - 16/05/2017 12:57:53    1987068

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "What delusions? Explain please?"
You're not punching above your weight big time. You're far better placed than the majority of counties.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12115 - 16/05/2017 12:59:21    1987070

The way yis go on you'd think yis were Leitrim.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12115 - 16/05/2017 13:22:38    1987080

When you actually drill in the figures Kerry are massively over funded especially in development funding, i know that ironic coming from a Dub but they are as over funded by head of population to funding as Dublin, about 35 %. When you compare that to the likes of arguably more successful GAA counties in Cork, Galway, Kilkenny and Tipperary its really unfair.

Donegal have matched Kerry achievements in recent years in silverware yet get half there funding as do Mayo. When you look at the populations of Down and Antrim its hard to justify Kerry getting more funding also.

Thats before you look at the millions the GAA and Munster council has given them for their center of excellence i mention above.

Kerry are pretty much financially doped, it just hasnt transferred to on their filed success for them. It badly needs to be reviewed especially when they are not operating two top tier code teams, like Galway, Cork, Tipperary or Dublin.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 16/05/2017 13:49:54    1987091

Replying To Breffni39:  "The way yis go on you'd think yis were Leitrim."
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rAlTOfl9F2w

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 16/05/2017 13:59:01    1987095

Replying To Breffni39:  "No i just don't understand a few posters like yourself constantly playing the poor me on here."
Well compared to most counties on the eastern seaboard we have a lot less population, and the population we do have are mainly old retired people, we're like the Florida of Ireland without the good weather.
There are only 5 children registered to start school in the 9 parishes of south Kerry this September, can you imagine that. Nearly all our clubs bar the big town clubs have had to join up in twos and threes to field teams at underage.

We have no industry or jobs bar a bit of tourism for 6 months of the year,
When was the last time you heard of a big jobs announcement in Kerry bud? We don't all live one hours drive from Dublin.

We are struggling big time so don't presume that you know what's going on down here coz you don't.

We can't afford to lose 1 good player not 1 .

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 16/05/2017 14:19:13    1987106

Replying To Breffni39:  "The way yis go on you'd think yis were Leitrim."
And what's wrong with Leitrim breffni? I'm sure they're doing the best they can with limited resources and limited population like our selfs.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 16/05/2017 14:25:18    1987108

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "And what's wrong with Leitrim breffni? I'm sure they're doing the best they can with limited resources and limited population like our selfs."
Nothing at all wrong with Leitrim. They don't complain about their lot as much you do and they have it much worse than ye in every conceivable factor.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12115 - 16/05/2017 15:15:37    1987139

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Well compared to most counties on the eastern seaboard we have a lot less population, and the population we do have are mainly old retired people, we're like the Florida of Ireland without the good weather.
There are only 5 children registered to start school in the 9 parishes of south Kerry this September, can you imagine that. Nearly all our clubs bar the big town clubs have had to join up in twos and threes to field teams at underage.

We have no industry or jobs bar a bit of tourism for 6 months of the year,
When was the last time you heard of a big jobs announcement in Kerry bud? We don't all live one hours drive from Dublin.

We are struggling big time so don't presume that you know what's going on down here coz you don't.

We can't afford to lose 1 good player not 1 ."
SorRY I Cna barely tYpe os see the scREEn cos my eyEs are welling up with TeARs

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12115 - 16/05/2017 15:17:39    1987140

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts:5133 - 16/05/2017

Is the GPO role for South/Mid Kerry at risk as a result? Pity if so.

Then again some would argue the resources for those roles should be based on number of players rather than the number of schoolkids or population...

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 16/05/2017 15:30:05    1987149

Exactly there are lads leave for very tackable reasons why on earth lads going to Aussie should be a priority is beyond me"]well Dublin obviously came up with a viable option to entice C kilkenny back!! i agree its very difficult to compete with a professional sport but if the county boards can come up with some incentives to at least make a player consider his options, its a start.And yes, players drop out all the time for various reasons, But were talking about the best prospects counties have. If you're a CEO of a company and your best up and coming staff are being head hunted by another firm, what would you? look to improve things to keep those individuals or leave them off and employ lesser quality staff. the latter is what the GAA are doing at the moment

Scaramanga (Cork) - Posts:5 - 12/05/2017

If I'm CEO of a company that has over 2,000 branches and over 300,000 staff members then I'm going to find it hard to hold on to many of them regardless of what my competitors can offer.

Bennybunny is spot on too, the GAA needs to sort out the mess of a club championship and the demands on young players (not allowing for minor and under 21 lowering a year) to help younger players stay playing.

Would having a proper calendar / structure to club championships in place along with a proper off season and a reduced load that has seen colleges, club and intercounty seasons overlap be a positive step? Definitely. Will it happen? Probably not.

Would it compare to playing a sport full time, having a proper support base around you, having top of the range sports science teams working with you, actual recovery time between training sessions and after games that doesn't involve going to work or college and a proper off season? Not a chance.

Should the GAA try and improve its structures? Yes. Should it try and compete with professional sports? No, because it quite simply can't.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 16/05/2017 15:33:39    1987150

Replying To if_in_doubt:  "Exactly there are lads leave for very tackable reasons why on earth lads going to Aussie should be a priority is beyond me"
well Dublin obviously came up with a viable option to entice C kilkenny back!! i agree its very difficult to compete with a professional sport but if the county boards can come up with some incentives to at least make a player consider his options, its a start.And yes, players drop out all the time for various reasons, But were talking about the best prospects counties have. If you're a CEO of a company and your best up and coming staff are being head hunted by another firm, what would you? look to improve things to keep those individuals or leave them off and employ lesser quality staff. the latter is what the GAA are doing at the moment

Scaramanga (Cork) - Posts:5 - 12/05/2017

If I'm CEO of a company that has over 2,000 branches and over 300,000 staff members then I'm going to find it hard to hold on to many of them regardless of what my competitors can offer.

Bennybunny is spot on too, the GAA needs to sort out the mess of a club championship and the demands on young players (not allowing for minor and under 21 lowering a year) to help younger players stay playing.

Would having a proper calendar / structure to club championships in place along with a proper off season and a reduced load that has seen colleges, club and intercounty seasons overlap be a positive step? Definitely. Will it happen? Probably not.

Would it compare to playing a sport full time, having a proper support base around you, having top of the range sports science teams working with you, actual recovery time between training sessions and after games that doesn't involve going to work or college and a proper off season? Not a chance.

Should the GAA try and improve its structures? Yes. Should it try and compete with professional sports? No, because it quite simply can't."]I can't disagree with any of that 'if_in_doubt'. Let me ask you, do you think the GAA is using its current cash resources effectively? Can the money be applied elsewhere to fund schemes to try and offer an alternative to the AFL contract ( not to match obviously but something which is worth considering for a player who is not motivated solely by the money and lifestyle in OZ). Look at the money invested in the Pairc ui Chaoimh, where the costs have sky rockets by millions from its initial costing ( a topic in itself for another day), or the 12 million euro the GAA spent on a COE in Abbotstown solely because "you couldn't have a National Sports Campus without the GAA" as quoted by Paraic Duffy. You could have built that for much less 1 hours' drive outside the capital I'd imagine.

Scaramanga (Cork) - Posts: 14 - 16/05/2017 17:41:45    1987229

Replying To Breffni39:  "SorRY I Cna barely tYpe os see the scREEn cos my eyEs are welling up with TeARs"
Great response by the way .but it's my own fault, why am I trying to talk to a cavanman about football related topics.

You haven't a clue kid, you think coz we have 37 allirelands that every thing will be grand.
Life inside your little bubble must be great.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 16/05/2017 20:41:25    1987286