Kerry v Mayo

Replying To unclegerry:  "Mayo have nothing to fear in the replay. Start Paddy Durcan for Seamus o Shea, play Keegan in midfleld and Durcan wing back. Finally switch Vaughan to full back and play AOS at 11. That would bring much more pace and power into the middle third. I think Vaughan would do a better job on Donaghy. He would be able to try and spoil him in the air and has natural defensive instincts that O Shea doesnt have."
I always though Vaughan was very effective at 6. Strong direct running through the middle. Surely Durcan has to start. I'd have him up there with McCarthy, McCannn, McHugh and McCafferey as the best wing backs in the country. Very strange role he's playing this year

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 24/08/2017 12:09:09    2037095

Replying To tiobraid:  "Take your head out of the sand. A quick search on google shows numerous interviews outside post match interviews with O'Shea, Moran and McLaughlin. Never mind that ad of them promoting the west of Ireland or whatever it is! But maybe they strive on the distractions who knows. No need to take offence to an opinion! ;)"
That ad is plain weird....like, Keegan, Higgins and AOS are popular in Mayo, no one outside Mayo could care less about them being out for a stroll in the mountains....
I presume the ad is to get non Mayo people to visit Mayo??
Non Mayo people couldnt give a damn about those 3 lads....

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 24/08/2017 12:14:55    2037100

Replying To tiobraid:  "Take your head out of the sand. A quick search on google shows numerous interviews outside post match interviews with O'Shea, Moran and McLaughlin. Never mind that ad of them promoting the west of Ireland or whatever it is! But maybe they strive on the distractions who knows. No need to take offence to an opinion! ;)"
Ad was done in the off-season. The players are fully focused on the job at hand this weekend. Typical Irish begrudging bull.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11225 - 24/08/2017 12:25:49    2037106

Replying To yew_tree:  "Ad was done in the off-season. The players are fully focused on the job at hand this weekend. Typical Irish begrudging bull."
Its hardly begrudgery when Tipp aren't at the same level. I've no preference who wins the football all Ireland but I actually backed Mayo each way last year and this year again for the all Ireland, as I feel they've a great chance of getting to the final every year. It's funny how easy people get offended by someone's opinion!

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 24/08/2017 12:47:26    2037123

Speaking of ad's whoever is in charge of Eir or Eircom or whatever they are calling themselves these days is definitely a Mayo man or woman!!

You have the Cillian O'Connor one about All-Ireland's being won on cold, dark winter nights on loop on RTE and at the start of the summer the one advertising Eir's tv packages had a segment with 2 Kerry and 2 Mayo supporters on a couch and the latter celebrating!

Never mind the Aidan O'Shea AIB club thing that's on all the time as well.

Mayo are certainly winning the TV marketing campaign anyway.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 24/08/2017 12:49:28    2037124

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "That ad is plain weird....like, Keegan, Higgins and AOS are popular in Mayo, no one outside Mayo could care less about them being out for a stroll in the mountains....
I presume the ad is to get non Mayo people to visit Mayo??
Non Mayo people couldnt give a damn about those 3 lads...."
3 of the best known footballers in the country. We don't have a whole lot of well-known famous people from Mayo. Louis Walsh was busy.

Do you think no-one outside Dublin gives a damn about Brogan, Connolly and McMahon?

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7327 - 24/08/2017 13:11:04    2037135

Replying To TheHermit:  "Speaking of ad's whoever is in charge of Eir or Eircom or whatever they are calling themselves these days is definitely a Mayo man or woman!!

You have the Cillian O'Connor one about All-Ireland's being won on cold, dark winter nights on loop on RTE and at the start of the summer the one advertising Eir's tv packages had a segment with 2 Kerry and 2 Mayo supporters on a couch and the latter celebrating!

Mayo are certainly winning the TV marketing campaign anyway."
i had to laugh at the latter ad where original they said "supporting your team, even if its Mayo" then a month later the "even if its mayo" bit was gone!!
Someone obviously giving out!!! :)

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 24/08/2017 13:17:04    2037144

Replying To tiobraid:  "Its hardly begrudgery when Tipp aren't at the same level. I've no preference who wins the football all Ireland but I actually backed Mayo each way last year and this year again for the all Ireland, as I feel they've a great chance of getting to the final every year. It's funny how easy people get offended by someone's opinion!"
I am talking about begrudgery in reference to GAA players doing something outside of playing. Mayo people are told to shut up because we have not won an All Ireland....same with our players.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11225 - 24/08/2017 13:21:17    2037148

I believe that Rochford will stick with O'Shea at full back. Looking back on the 2006 all Ireland, Kerry were 2-02 to no score up after 8 minutes. You need O'Shea in there to prevent Kerry from Kicking in the high ball. The placement of O'Shea at full back cancelled one of Kerry's main attacking threats, the high ball and I think the game last Sunday will have improved O'Shea and he will perform better next Saturday.

Giveitago (Mayo) - Posts: 86 - 24/08/2017 13:28:01    2037153

Replying To TheHermit:  "Speaking of ad's whoever is in charge of Eir or Eircom or whatever they are calling themselves these days is definitely a Mayo man or woman!!

No Celtic crosses for that but It's a fair point.

I still wonder how the ads work for players. How much do county boards, team funds, players, agents gets. Are players more obliged to do ads/endorsements for county sponsors, All Ireland sponsors. How does it work at all. My cynical side is telling me some companies are getting some cut-price publicity from amateur players compared to using actors or professional sportspeople.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7327 - 24/08/2017 14:17:20    2037178

Replying To Giveitago:  "I believe that Rochford will stick with O'Shea at full back. Looking back on the 2006 all Ireland, Kerry were 2-02 to no score up after 8 minutes. You need O'Shea in there to prevent Kerry from Kicking in the high ball. The placement of O'Shea at full back cancelled one of Kerry's main attacking threats, the high ball and I think the game last Sunday will have improved O'Shea and he will perform better next Saturday."
It could well be that the same 15 are named by both sides and the same tactics are deployed again on Saturday.

Mayo could and probably should have won the drawn game and were certainly the better team on the day, so you can argue there wasn't too much wrong with what they did overall.

On the other hand, Kerry feel they under performed collectively and despite this they were still a point up deep into injury time and only for Barry John Keane making a shambles of that quick free kick, Kerry could have kept possession and closed the game out, so again they may feel the tactics they used were justified.

So like I said previously, it's still all to play for. Nevertheless the conviction I held before the drawn game hasn't changed - I still think we have the better forwards overall and the better bench and that should still swing it for us this weekend.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 24/08/2017 14:41:58    2037183

Ridiculous. JOD has an AIB club ad as well.
2 Kerry and 2 Mayo supporters (celebrating) on a couch for an ad. That's a problem, how?
Cillian O Connor is in a TV ad. The ad also contains a Kerry player.
Again, Where's the problem?
Sad.

Weary (None) - Posts: 249 - 24/08/2017 14:49:57    2037190

Replying To Weary:  "Ridiculous. JOD has an AIB club ad as well.
2 Kerry and 2 Mayo supporters (celebrating) on a couch for an ad. That's a problem, how?
Sad."
in the original ad yer man says "supporting your county, even if its mayo" it then magically changed to "supporting your county, go on ya boya" or something generic like that
i wonder why :)

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 24/08/2017 14:55:34    2037192

Replying To GreenandRed:  "3 of the best known footballers in the country. We don't have a whole lot of well-known famous people from Mayo. Louis Walsh was busy.

Do you think no-one outside Dublin gives a damn about Brogan, Connolly and McMahon?"
Jaysus lad, I'd say an ad with Philly and Dermo would cause ructions!!!
Not least in the studio!!!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 24/08/2017 14:57:51    2037193

Doesn't he say in Ad how AIs are won - how does he know???

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 24/08/2017 15:00:18    2037194

Replying To Weary:  "Ridiculous. JOD has an AIB club ad as well.
Sad."
Relax man, it's just a good humored observation - no need to take such umbrage at something so trivial ...

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 24/08/2017 15:05:34    2037195

Replying To Giveitago:  "I believe that Rochford will stick with O'Shea at full back. Looking back on the 2006 all Ireland, Kerry were 2-02 to no score up after 8 minutes. You need O'Shea in there to prevent Kerry from Kicking in the high ball. The placement of O'Shea at full back cancelled one of Kerry's main attacking threats, the high ball and I think the game last Sunday will have improved O'Shea and he will perform better next Saturday."
He did well on some high balls but Donaghy and Kerry got wide to this straight away and fed the ball lower into Donaghy. He had a hand in around 2 goals and 4 points last Sunday. Donaghy reminds me a bit of Ibrahimovic. Many think he should be past it but extremely fit,uses all his experience, rarely loses a ball, rarely does anything stupid. Even if he's not scoring he'll make room for teammates.

There are very good full backs, playing No. 3 since they were kids that Kieran Donaghy has burned. You can't be a fullback after 3 weeks preparation, one game at 3, plus another week preparing to play a former player of the year. Aidan needed to and, this year, has been more aggressive. But he hasn't the aggressive defender's instincts needed like Keith, Lee, Colm. I think he needs to go back to 11 and contest all kickouts and make runs from midfield where he's played his best football this year. He's a huge threat but we don't need put all our eggs in the marking Kieran Donaghy basket. Kerry have more than enough scoring threat besides him. I think Vaughan or Harrison on him and Keith sweeping, doubling up on Donaghy when he has ball. Plus scoring more than Kerry on Saturday!

May the best team win.

Maigh Eo Abú!

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7327 - 24/08/2017 15:10:22    2037200

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "i had to laugh at the latter ad where original they said "supporting your team, even if its Mayo" then a month later the "even if its mayo" bit was gone!!
Someone obviously giving out!!! :)"
The joke there was that the voice-over was done by Chris o dowd, a roscommon comedian who played county minor. So it was a bit of a dig at the neighbouring rivals in mayo in jest. The snowflakes were outraged and it got removed

nextyear (Mayo) - Posts: 60 - 24/08/2017 15:39:10    2037214

I have gone back and forth with this and have changed my mind a few times.O'Shea at full back I think shows exactly why Mayo haven't won an all Ireland with this current team. Vulnerable at full back. By playing him there I think is a proactive measure to stop how they have been beaten in the past.
James Horan has criticised the move but imagine if he took the same measure while he was in charge,
Imagine if they recognised Michael Murphy's aerial threat and put a big mid fielder on him they possibly would have won the 2012 final. Instead Murphy scored that wonder goal. Granted he hadn't played much at full forward that year but still that should have been red flashing lights to the mayo management.

Just like it was too late with Donaghy in the mid 2000s.

I think it is a clever move but they can not use it for the entire game. Just before half time they should free O'Shea and throw him into attack use him the same way Kerry do with Donaghy. Only for him to resume his position after half time. It could just unsettle Kerry.
I think Kerry can win this if they play a sweeper like tyrone with cavangh. They have to get someone to play the same role as Jason Doherty done for mayo. James O 'Donaghue maybe but im not sure if hes too greedy at times.
Just a meath mans view, which will probably change again.

royalcounty1 (Meath) - Posts: 15 - 24/08/2017 15:43:18    2037217

Replying To nextyear:  "The joke there was that the voice-over was done by Chris o dowd, a roscommon comedian who played county minor. So it was a bit of a dig at the neighbouring rivals in mayo in jest. The snowflakes were outraged and it got removed"
wasn't the voice over done by yer man from Republic of Tele?
Kevin McGahern? Am nearly sure it was?

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 24/08/2017 15:54:15    2037225