Kerry v Mayo

I think the last day demonstrated that Mayo can play a style of game not dependent on running the ball. This is the challenge which Fitzmaurice and the Kerry braintrust set. Whether they'll try the same again is the question. The gamble is how many goals could Mayo score the next day given a similar number of chances? Will either side desert the high press and/or deploy a sweeper? Bookies still have Kerry as firm favourites, less so than for last week, but still favoured. Intriguing indeed KB1!

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 22/08/2017 15:45:38    2036441

Replying To Aibrean:  "Actually - apart from the Dubs on Hill 16, who have been at it since God was a boy - I had never noticed anything as bad as Mayo last Sunday. And, I was at 7 of the big games in Croke Park last year and 5 so far this year. Anyway, regardless of who does it, it's very unsporting and not something I like to see at our games."
Hmmm...if you could gather a collection of Kerry fans in an area like the hill, their collective booing would sound as impressive as anyones. For last few Dub-kerry matches, have been on the Hogan stand and Kerry fans do like to boo with the rest. Booing has been covered on here and the general consensus is everyone is doing it. Mayo sounded louder on Sunday cos they probably had more fans there.

poguemahone (Dublin) - Posts: 365 - 22/08/2017 15:51:08    2036443

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Gleebo
I've watched the Sunday game live and the night show back now and you can tell if the ball was bouncing or not , now griffin was on his knees but it doesn't show it clearly to be definite and the Mayo lads weren't even looking for it but even IF ye got the penalty and even IF ye scored it and all other decisions were called correct we would still have won by 5/6 points, like I say everyone watch clarks lockout to keegan that leads to Mayos first goal he takes 9/10 steps without a hop or solo and a few mins later in the build up to a mayo point Higgins takes 7/8 steps with no hop or solo.

And no we didn't get soft frees from the ref as any free we got was spot on but the ref gave Mayo nearly all the 50/50s .

Anyway gough will have to keep a close eye on the over carrying by Mayo the next day."
Lad you are deluded if you think Mayo got all the 50/50 calls. Generally the ref was good but Kerry got some awful soft frees throughout the game. And Mayo should have had a stone wall penalty. I think Mayo would give Dublin or Tyrone a better game in the final than Kerry. While Kerry have some great players, they have too many average players and their bench isn't great.

jj72 (Kildare) - Posts: 53 - 22/08/2017 15:53:12    2036444

Replying To jj72:  "Lad you are deluded if you think Mayo got all the 50/50 calls. Generally the ref was good but Kerry got some awful soft frees throughout the game. And Mayo should have had a stone wall penalty. I think Mayo would give Dublin or Tyrone a better game in the final than Kerry. While Kerry have some great players, they have too many average players and their bench isn't great."
Calling a spade a shovel there JJ... the ire of the Kingdom may be about to descend on you. You broke a sacred taboo... only Kerry folk can call their players sh*te!

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 22/08/2017 16:14:49    2036452

I will tell you what, if Stephen Cluxton was from Mayo they would have one if not two All Ireland's by now
Clarke is a great shot stopper but his distribution is just chronic
He gets away with it because he makes a lot of good saves but he is a liability with kick outs at crucial times

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 22/08/2017 16:15:54    2036454

I will tell you what, if Stephen Cluxton was from Mayo they would have one if not two All Ireland's by now
He gets away with it because he makes a lot of good saves but he is a liability with kick outs at crucial times

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 22/08/2017 16:18:00    2036455

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "I will tell you what, if Stephen Cluxton was from Mayo they would have one if not two All Ireland's by now
He gets away with it because he makes a lot of good saves but he is a liability with kick outs at crucial times"
Clarke was pretty good in all games up to last Sunday, when the Kerry high press made things difficult. Same as Cluxton given the same circumstances as we've seen in the past.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 22/08/2017 16:25:21    2036459

Replying To Aibrean:  "I wonder is Aidan O Shea over-rated? Forgetting the stroll in the park v Ros, I can't remember him doing much over the past 18 months. He certainly didn't score much - when playing as a forward - in the big games last year. It may be that his galvanising swashbuckling style disguises the fact that his contribution is not that significant."
I think he is a big, strong, swashbuckling type of player and when he gets a head of steam up he's hard to stop.

There are two reasons he'll never be a great player - never be able to influence the big games.

(1) He doesn't get his head up and lay the ball off often enough - this works against the weaker teams where he can power his way through and get a free or a score.

(2) More importantly he hasn't got the pace over the first five yards - too slow to get going which is why he cannot play full-back and why he struggled with Donaghy.

opa01 (Cavan) - Posts: 502 - 22/08/2017 16:40:18    2036461

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "I will tell you what, if Stephen Cluxton was from Mayo they would have one if not two All Ireland's by now
He gets away with it because he makes a lot of good saves but he is a liability with kick outs at crucial times"
I think you are right, Clarke is a great shot stopper but his kickouts are not good. Modern day keepers need to be able to ping the kickouts so that it is advantageous to their own player, Clarke kind of kicks his up in the air and are a nightmare to catch with someone breathing down your neck.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1874 - 22/08/2017 16:41:46    2036462

The only thing i know is, if dublin get through to the final to face 1 of these pair its 3 in a row without a doubt..didnt think much of either of them to be honest.

GGdub (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 22/08/2017 16:48:19    2036465

Replying To Green_Gold:  "I think you are right, Clarke is a great shot stopper but his kickouts are not good. Modern day keepers need to be able to ping the kickouts so that it is advantageous to their own player, Clarke kind of kicks his up in the air and are a nightmare to catch with someone breathing down your neck."
He doesn't look relaxed or confident a lot of the time when he's taking kickouts. Should vary them. Go short and if that's not working into halfway and let Aidan, Tom and Seamus scrap for a mark or for breaking ball. Keep mixing it up.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7344 - 22/08/2017 16:53:52    2036470

Replying To opa01:  "I think he is a big, strong, swashbuckling type of player and when he gets a head of steam up he's hard to stop.

There are two reasons he'll never be a great player - never be able to influence the big games.

(1) He doesn't get his head up and lay the ball off often enough - this works against the weaker teams where he can power his way through and get a free or a score.

(2) More importantly he hasn't got the pace over the first five yards - too slow to get going which is why he cannot play full-back and why he struggled with Donaghy."
I feel people are very hard on AOS. Up until last weekend, he has been brilliant in this years championship. He was hung out to dry last weekend being asked to mark Donaghy, probably the best full forward ever & no sweeper to protect him. How many seasoned full backs have been taken to the cleaners by Donaghy over the years, quite a lot I'd imagine. Not only was he asked to play an entirely new position, he had to mark one of the best full forwards ever. Lord above what do people expect.

OK he doesn't have pace but he is a brilliant gaelic footballer. The problem is that Mayo are playing him everywhere and not in his best position of midfield.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1874 - 22/08/2017 16:56:44    2036474

I wonder will more neutrals head into the match next Saturday after seeing Sunday's game on TV? It'll be the last big game of football or hurling in 2017 that will have tickets easily available.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7344 - 22/08/2017 16:57:14    2036475

Replying To AgainstTheOdds:  "In spite of the waves of criticism and negativity from TV + Paper pundits, message boards emanating towards us since 5pm last Sunday and twitter this Kerry team is still in with a chance of getting to the final - we aren't out yet and won't roll over as handy as people expect......"
Kerry are hot favorites with the bookies?? How does that work?

jimmy_c (Mayo) - Posts: 13 - 22/08/2017 16:57:20    2036476

Replying To poguemahone:  "Hmmm...if you could gather a collection of Kerry fans in an area like the hill, their collective booing would sound as impressive as anyones. For last few Dub-kerry matches, have been on the Hogan stand and Kerry fans do like to boo with the rest. Booing has been covered on here and the general consensus is everyone is doing it. Mayo sounded louder on Sunday cos they probably had more fans there."
That's exactly what I was thinking. It's just because Mayo brought a lot more fans. It's nothing unique to Mayo fans. Every counties fans have done it at one time or another. Pretty sure Kerry fans have done it when they played Dublin in league games in Kerry.

HighKings (Meath) - Posts: 271 - 22/08/2017 16:58:26    2036477

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Gleebo
I've watched the Sunday game live and the night show back now and you can tell if the ball was bouncing or not , now griffin was on his knees but it doesn't show it clearly to be definite and the Mayo lads weren't even looking for it but even IF ye got the penalty and even IF ye scored it and all other decisions were called correct we would still have won by 5/6 points, like I say everyone watch clarks lockout to keegan that leads to Mayos first goal he takes 9/10 steps without a hop or solo and a few mins later in the build up to a mayo point Higgins takes 7/8 steps with no hop or solo.

And no we didn't get soft frees from the ref as any free we got was spot on but the ref gave Mayo nearly all the 50/50s .

Anyway gough will have to keep a close eye on the over carrying by Mayo the next day."
You should ring Fitzmaurice now and ask to speak to the players personally before training tonight. Tell them they're mighty, they were the better team and only for the bad auld ref not giving ye handy frees and giving us handy frees ye would have beat us by 10 points minimum. I'm sure they'd tog in and head down to Tralee for the festival safe in the knowledge that good ref Gough, with his keen eye for counting steps vorrectly, and their ability will get them to another final. Done Deal.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7344 - 22/08/2017 17:08:25    2036479

As some Mayo and Kerry posters have pointed out, the ref had a decent game in atrocities conditions. Any Mayo fan trying to blame the ref is purely deflecting from the fact that Mayo only have themselves to blame for not winning on Sunday.

Mayo were by far the better team, and should be looking forward to another shot at Sam in a few weeks. Ye let Kerry off the hook when ye should have turned the screw. Looking for any other excuse just doesn't wash.

Forpucksake (UK) - Posts: 130 - 22/08/2017 17:34:32    2036489

Replying To jj72:  "Lad you are deluded if you think Mayo got all the 50/50 calls. Generally the ref was good but Kerry got some awful soft frees throughout the game. And Mayo should have had a stone wall penalty. I think Mayo would give Dublin or Tyrone a better game in the final than Kerry. While Kerry have some great players, they have too many average players and their bench isn't great."
Deluded post of the day, fair play that takes some doing on HS.
You'll get your answer on Sat.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 22/08/2017 17:45:00    2036495

If Stephen cluxton was playing for Mayo they would play him in full forward or something.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 22/08/2017 17:46:21    2036496

Replying To GreenandRed:  "You should ring Fitzmaurice now and ask to speak to the players personally before training tonight. Tell them they're mighty, they were the better team and only for the bad auld ref not giving ye handy frees and giving us handy frees ye would have beat us by 10 points minimum. I'm sure they'd tog in and head down to Tralee for the festival safe in the knowledge that good ref Gough, with his keen eye for counting steps vorrectly, and their ability will get them to another final. Done Deal."
No point ringing fitz tonight greenandred as they were training last night.

And the only reason I brought up the above posts was to balance out the mayo posters who tried to say the reason ye didn't win was down to the ref decisions, twice yer boys were 4 points up and we kept coming back and we were leading in injury time and had a decent kick to win it not bad for a shit team eh!

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 22/08/2017 18:01:09    2036501