Dublin v Tyrone Semi-Final

Replying To Cavan_Slasher:  "Awful game today.
No intensity and not a lot of skill on show.
Dublin won at a canter. Very disappointed in Tyrone."
Not so sure. Brilliant goal from O'Callaghan, some fantastic points - Paul Flynn's two monsters and Paddy Andrews' points were top drawer, great exhibition of disciplined tackling I thought and two fantastic saves by both keepers. Plenty of skill on show today but a different kind of game when teams don't go man to man.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 27/08/2017 20:36:24    2038893

Great performance. There was a lot of talk about Tyrone being a tough test, but it came from nowhere. Talk is cheap. Kildare gave us a better test. Mayo are a far better team then Tyrone, yet they don't get half as much as respect as Tyrone. Will be a close final again like 2013, 2016. Tyrone's nonsense at the parade was laughable.

HurlingSnob (Dublin) - Posts: 220 - 27/08/2017 20:41:40    2038897

Dublin were excellent today, quality on the pitch and on the sideline. The early goal knocked the stuffing out of Tyrone.
Great from the dubs to go over to SeanCav after the game, nice touch.

I find it hilarious some posters calling Tyrone an embarrassment even though their county are in the doldrums but each too their own I suppose. Hopefully Tyrone learn from this.

Good luck to both teams in the final.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 27/08/2017 20:42:49    2038899

Tyrone are not the first nor will they be the last team to be embarrassed by this Dublin team, its just a fact of life that at the moment Dublin are head and shoulders above most teams in the country.

Having said that Tyrone and their Manager looked completely bereft of ideas today and certainly had no plan B to fall back on once it became very evident early on that their original tactics were not working. Their approach to the game at least showed Mayo how not to play Dublin and that's about the only positive I could take from the game.

Whilst Dublin were far superior today, I personally do not think they played particularly well compared to other days and yes I accept they did not have to play well to win today and also that they have set themselves a very high standard. Tyrone were set up completely wrong from the start and even small things like waiting until Sean Cavanagh went off before launching high balls into the Dublin square, just showed how badly prepared they were for this challenge.

A sad way for Sean to end his career but that happens all too often and whilst he will be disappointed today, it will not blemish the enormous contribution he has made to the sport. I wish him well.

Mickey Harte owes Tyrone nothing but perhaps he owes it to himself now to take a break as I seriously do not think he can bring this team any further.

I admire this Dublin team and how Jim Gavin has managed them and how he has managed to keep the entire squad contented even though some are having to content themselves with short cameo roles. I do not know how long this can last though.

Whilst it is dangerous to be confident about Mayo given their failures in previous finals, I have seen enough of both teams to expect a Mayo victory. They will provide a different challenge to Dublin and have the squad to take them on and beat them.

ROYALOPTIMIST (Meath) - Posts: 179 - 27/08/2017 20:43:21    2038900

and it all ended in tears....literally. Completely shown up today as a one dimensional rigid overly defensive unit of average players. Dublin showed class, brains, football skill, speed and absolute power. We wouldn't have won if we had 30 men behind the ball. Micky harte will take alot of flak for this loss and no doubt people will be calling for him to end his career along with Sean Cavanagh. We all know he has no contract for next year and im not sure how he is going to persuade the county board to get another year. Harte equals 14 men behind the ball. That's the truth of it and it also means another year of not talking to the national broadcaster. I would not be surprised if a new management team comes in to give us all a new and fresh approach. I miss seeing six forwards in their forward position receiving kick passess from the midfield and half backs. Mayo showed up Tyrone's rigidness last year when they got in front and just played keep ball and roll on one year and nothing changed only this time we got blown away after 20 minutes. Again Tyrone stuck with the system making us to be honest very stupid looking, sitting back when needing scores

cacsmckilly (Tyrone) - Posts: 1294 - 27/08/2017 20:47:09    2038902

Replying To Cavan_Slasher:  "Awful game today.
No intensity and not a lot of skill on show.
Dublin won at a canter. Very disappointed in Tyrone."
Agree what Tyrone showed up today - their U17 team would have put up a better fight - totally clueless tactically, no bottle, no leaders, no backbone - listening to the Tyrone lads today Mickey they want him gone!!! They are seriously embarrassed.

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 27/08/2017 20:48:55    2038904

Disappointing game for the neutral - really expected this to be a tense and tactical battle. But Dublin dominated this from start to finish and in every corner of the field

Looked to be more powerful and quicker in every position. Thought in the opening exchanges that it would be a good game - Dublin were forced to use the wings early and ended up with a bad shot selection and felt game was setting up nicely but the early goal from a sloppy turnover but Tyrone on the back foot and their game plan without plan B wasn't going to let them chase the game

Dublin's system of off the ball running between the 21&45 is awesome and showed extreme patients to create a break - Tyrone on the other hand carried the ball on countless occasions into dead ends

At the same time Tyrone list nearby every kick out in the first half

What is frightening is how much Dublin had in reserve in the bench if this had of developed into a contest

This is easily the most comfortable Dublin have been in getting to a final

Mayo will need to play out of their skins to make this a contest in September

Can't see any reason to complain about the ref from a Tyrone perspective booked 3 Dublin players for off the ball / late tackles in first half - gave a penalty that many wouldn't and should have red carded Colm cavanagh

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 27/08/2017 21:02:51    2038909

Congratulations Dublin, we were hoping yis were over hyped, but unfortunately yis are as great as the stats suggest.

But Tyrone were shocking, it was clear after the Dublin goal that we needed to push out, try something else, but nothing. No changes in either personnel or tactics. Mickey at his stubborn best.

Just watched his interview on BBC, was asked is it time to give up on defensive football, answer NO! It has served Tyrone well he says! SInce they started this very defensive style they have failed to get past the big 3, or get to all ireland final.

Time for a change of direction, need new ideas to get this set of players to the top again.

Dermoot (Tyrone) - Posts: 46 - 27/08/2017 21:24:37    2038919

Easy to see why Tyrone hammered the teams they did but Dublin were a different animal today absolutely awesome. If Tyrone had of gone cynical and dirty like Kerry they would have made a better fist of it.

Mayo are without doubt the only team capable of giving the dubs a good game.

salvador (Roscommon) - Posts: 439 - 27/08/2017 21:24:55    2038920

Replying To ROYALOPTIMIST:  "Tyrone are not the first nor will they be the last team to be embarrassed by this Dublin team, its just a fact of life that at the moment Dublin are head and shoulders above most teams in the country.

Having said that Tyrone and their Manager looked completely bereft of ideas today and certainly had no plan B to fall back on once it became very evident early on that their original tactics were not working. Their approach to the game at least showed Mayo how not to play Dublin and that's about the only positive I could take from the game.

Whilst Dublin were far superior today, I personally do not think they played particularly well compared to other days and yes I accept they did not have to play well to win today and also that they have set themselves a very high standard. Tyrone were set up completely wrong from the start and even small things like waiting until Sean Cavanagh went off before launching high balls into the Dublin square, just showed how badly prepared they were for this challenge.

A sad way for Sean to end his career but that happens all too often and whilst he will be disappointed today, it will not blemish the enormous contribution he has made to the sport. I wish him well.

Mickey Harte owes Tyrone nothing but perhaps he owes it to himself now to take a break as I seriously do not think he can bring this team any further.

I admire this Dublin team and how Jim Gavin has managed them and how he has managed to keep the entire squad contented even though some are having to content themselves with short cameo roles. I do not know how long this can last though.

Whilst it is dangerous to be confident about Mayo given their failures in previous finals, I have seen enough of both teams to expect a Mayo victory. They will provide a different challenge to Dublin and have the squad to take them on and beat them."
I expect you are wrong .

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 27/08/2017 21:33:58    2038928

Replying To HurlingSnob:  "Great performance. There was a lot of talk about Tyrone being a tough test, but it came from nowhere. Talk is cheap. Kildare gave us a better test. Mayo are a far better team then Tyrone, yet they don't get half as much as respect as Tyrone. Will be a close final again like 2013, 2016. Tyrone's nonsense at the parade was laughable."
Because they won 3 all Ireland's under Harte that's only reason why and Mayo lost so many finals. But Tyrone were shocking today his tactics are dreadful.those boys are good footballers but he has them playing 14 men behind the ball.in fairness to Mayo they play the right way and keep coming back and no doubt the best 2 teams in country are in the final. And it will be a tight tense affair.free flowing thank God!

GAAdundalk (Louth) - Posts: 641 - 27/08/2017 21:34:18    2038929

Replying To superbluedub:  "No I'm not , really and truly being the 4th best team in Ireland means diddly squat ."
there'd be one big feckin party in west Belfast if Antrim were 4th best I know that much

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 27/08/2017 21:34:19    2038930

Jim Gavin obviously watched how Armagh setup against Tyrone - used it as a template , tweaked it and improved it and voila Victory!

FairShoulder (Armagh) - Posts: 333 - 27/08/2017 21:34:20    2038931

Replying To SaffronDon:  "Antrim joint 4th. happy days!"
We have Dublin, Mayo and Kerry who are way out ahead, the majority of all the rest of the teams could beat each other on any given day at the moment, ok maybe the Leitrims, Limericks etc are a step down again but the bottom line is the three big boys at this moment have it all to themselves, placing after those is pointless and irrelevant so let's all bask in being joint fourth

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 27/08/2017 21:55:20    2038942

Excellent victory for the Dubs today. Tyrone seemed out of sorts though.

Dublin had 9 different scorers and restricted Tyrone to 7 from play.

Subs made an impact and without having to call on MDMA or B Brogan or Connolly (effectively game was over).
Con is some prospect and looks the real deal. And Jack is back to his best.

We seemed in control throughout but missed 4 other clear Goal chances and dropped 3 short in goalies hands.

So, all in all still a lot of improevemnt for the next day as that performance wont beat a Mayo team on a roll with plenty of momentum behind them.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3722 - 27/08/2017 22:05:49    2038946

Replying To Richieq:  "We have Dublin, Mayo and Kerry who are way out ahead, the majority of all the rest of the teams could beat each other on any given day at the moment, ok maybe the Leitrims, Limericks etc are a step down again but the bottom line is the three big boys at this moment have it all to themselves, placing after those is pointless and irrelevant so let's all bask in being joint fourth"
Ya right. Tyrone are very definitely at number four. They would beat everything below them and be far to good for even the massively resourced counties like Meath,Kildare, Galway etc.

salvador (Roscommon) - Posts: 439 - 27/08/2017 22:22:38    2038955

Replying To Richieq:  "We have Dublin, Mayo and Kerry who are way out ahead, the majority of all the rest of the teams could beat each other on any given day at the moment, ok maybe the Leitrims, Limericks etc are a step down again but the bottom line is the three big boys at this moment have it all to themselves, placing after those is pointless and irrelevant so let's all bask in being joint fourth"
From what I saw over the past two days and I was physically at both games - you don't have a top 4 - you have the Dubs then next 3 then next 6 then the rest can be split in 2 . That Dub performance was awesome - Tyrone were beat after 10mins. I really admired Mayo yesterday but they won't beat Dubs. I also criticised Kerry yesterday for being cynical - today Tyrone never even offered that - feel sorry for their fans for watching that car wreck!!!

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 27/08/2017 22:33:39    2038962

It's like Heffo's Army all over again. Dublin now are setting the standards and it's back to the drawing board for everybody else.

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 27/08/2017 22:42:53    2038966

Replying To FairShoulder:  "Jim Gavin obviously watched how Armagh setup against Tyrone - used it as a template , tweaked it and improved it and voila Victory!"
This is the same Armagh team that Tyrone beat out of the park - are you crazy man? Tyrone were beat today because their tactics were totally wrong - they needed to high press Cluxton - instead they allowed him easy kick outs with numerous options. But they also seem to be very flat for some reason - every single player was off his game - did they have food poisoning or something. But in reality I think they met a much superior team - there's nothing in any of the above came from Gavin watching Armagh!

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 27/08/2017 22:43:54    2038969

Replying To jimbodub:  "Excellent contribution"
I'm hungover as hell today....that's all I could say

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11225 - 27/08/2017 23:15:41    2038998