Kerry v Mayo

Replying To cavanman47:  "Kerry fans on the hill managed to get beer bottles in past the stewards and on 2 occasions these bottles were thrown at Mayo fans standing about 10 rows below.

There's an element of this sort of thing among a few counties. It's probably the first I've seen from Kerry fans but come up to Ulster and you'll see this from a few counties' "supporters"."
It's not about what counties are involved it's just the fact it's the hill. Usually about 50% of the hill are drunk teenagers and then some drunk adults thrown into the mix. The hill always has a different atmosphere for that reason. Sometimes it can get a bit hairy and have witnessed a few flags and coins been thrown about. ( Kilkenny v Galway hurling final a few years ago was pretty bad)

GameOfTyrones (Tyrone) - Posts: 469 - 22/08/2017 09:56:39    2036286

Replying To centerfield:  "People miss the key point with Mayo in these big games. Mayo concede too many goals until that's rectified then there never going to get over the line.

when you score 2-14 you should be able to win"
You are 100% correct, people talk a lot about the Mayo forwards not being good enough but they are getting enough scores. The killer is conceding goals at crucial times in big games. If you look back at every Mayo defeat in big games in the past 5 years I am certain they gave away goals in all of them. Mayo's general play is terrific. Do you think that Mayo should go back to using Kevin McLaughlin as sweeper? That was working well for them last year. I was surprised they didn't use a sweeper in front of Donaghy the last day. Even if you had an experienced full back marking Donaghy, he would still need help.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1873 - 22/08/2017 10:15:44    2036296

A great game, played in difficult conditions, that Deegan let flow. Yes he missed plenty of calls on both sides. But a more pedantic trigger-happy referee could have ruined the game. There was intensity and big hits and ultimately it's the scores you don't take rather than the referee that costs you the result.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7335 - 22/08/2017 10:21:32    2036298

Replying To tommy132:  "Hard to know who changes tactics the next day
Mayos plan was Aidan full back for high balls and higgins to sweep infront so that would have helped cut out some of the low balls that went into Donaghy but Kerry pushed a lad up onto Higgins. That worked for kerry up front but left there defence open and Mayo had great joy with the space..
So who changes the next day or do they go again witb same tactics.."
That's a well observed point Tommy. I think we'll more than likely announce the same team the next day and see what Kerry do. If they pull a man back to shore up the space in front of the FB line and we leave a big man on Donaghy, the Kerry attack will have to look to play a running game from deep. That might be the game they intend to play. They might even concede the Donaghy ploy by not starting him at all and making Mayo adjust to a more orthodox formation, like we had against the Rossies in the replay.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 22/08/2017 10:25:44    2036300

Replying To Chops:  "The decision was also not to black card Vaughan for a blatant hand trip but you bury your head in the sand. Mayo have 15 angels on the field at all times, apparently."
Throw in to start game
Rule 2 . 1. regarding throw in to start game states clearly that two players from each team should stand on defensive side one behind the other
Aidan O Shea stands three yards off facing opponents goal to gain advantage in breach of this rule yet no referee has acted on it zAidan is not the only one who violates this rule Time to act. Thank you Mayo and Kerry for giving us a wonderful game of Gaelic Football ignoring the Northern mantra of put the blanket on the ground Tyrone/Armagh /Donegal did our game a disservice by introducing stop the opposition by any means tactics Successful you maybes so what!!

37sowhat (Sligo) - Posts: 752 - 22/08/2017 10:34:16    2036303

Replying To 37sowhat:  "Throw in to start game
Rule 2 . 1. regarding throw in to start game states clearly that two players from each team should stand on defensive side one behind the other
Aidan O Shea stands three yards off facing opponents goal to gain advantage in breach of this rule yet no referee has acted on it zAidan is not the only one who violates this rule Time to act. Thank you Mayo and Kerry for giving us a wonderful game of Gaelic Football ignoring the Northern mantra of put the blanket on the ground Tyrone/Armagh /Donegal did our game a disservice by introducing stop the opposition by any means tactics Successful you maybes so what!!"
Rules are for little people
I notice that once you get to AI Semi Finals the refs don't even blow for over carrying

Scarabin (Dublin) - Posts: 116 - 22/08/2017 10:40:17    2036307

Replying To Aibrean:  "Mayo supporters barracked and booed the Kerry freetakers and cheered Kerry wides throughout the game - appalling behaviour from a county which has (had?) a sporting reputation. Can anyone explain this transformation?
I would hope that the Mayo County Board - taking a leaf out of Roscommon's book - will appeal to Mayo supporters to refrain from such behaviour."
They were at this back in 2015 against Dublin
Only way to shut them up is to win the game :-)

Scarabin (Dublin) - Posts: 116 - 22/08/2017 10:46:01    2036310

I think that Mayo should preserve with AOS on Donaghy

Donaghy is 34 and doesn't usually put in a 70 minute shift, the 6 day recovery will be a quick turnaround. I don't think he will be 100% by Saturday, maybe 95% but that's a big difference. I don't think I've seen AOS look as fit as this year and him being 27 should be fully recovered.

jimmy_c (Mayo) - Posts: 13 - 22/08/2017 10:59:21    2036313

Replying To jimmy_c:  "I think that Mayo should preserve with AOS on Donaghy

Donaghy is 34 and doesn't usually put in a 70 minute shift, the 6 day recovery will be a quick turnaround. I don't think he will be 100% by Saturday, maybe 95% but that's a big difference. I don't think I've seen AOS look as fit as this year and him being 27 should be fully recovered."
Thats a lot of if's and but's
The players at this level are well able for these games
Don't be surprised if he starts on the bench and comes on later to catch a few bombs

Scarabin (Dublin) - Posts: 116 - 22/08/2017 11:37:00    2036331

Donaghy is 34 and doesn't usually put in a 70 minute shift, the 6 day recovery will be a quick turnaround. I don't think he will be 100% by Saturday, maybe 95% but that's a big difference. I don't think I've seen AOS look as fit as this year and him being 27 should be fully recovered."
I don't know about that argument. And if it's correct you're looking at it through Mayo tinted glasses. Andy Moran will be 34 later in the year so by your logic he won't have any effect on the replay?

I've seen Mick Lawlor for Laois play a county final for Laois at 43 scoring 2-3 and be as fit as a fiddle for the replay of that game. The physios will get the lactic acid out of Donaghy and Andy!

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 22/08/2017 11:39:27    2036333

Replying To Pericles:  "That's a well observed point Tommy. I think we'll more than likely announce the same team the next day and see what Kerry do. If they pull a man back to shore up the space in front of the FB line and we leave a big man on Donaghy, the Kerry attack will have to look to play a running game from deep. That might be the game they intend to play. They might even concede the Donaghy ploy by not starting him at all and making Mayo adjust to a more orthodox formation, like we had against the Rossies in the replay."
Pericles a lot of people forget the wet conditions the last day weren't really suited to the high ball tactic anyway but Saturday is given down nice and dry so who knows really but it's exciting to see what changes will be made the next day and what tactics will be applied.

Let the battle of the sky's begin.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 22/08/2017 12:14:35    2036346

Replying To Gleebo:  "Mark Griffin should have also conceded a penalty for handling inside the square and several Kerry frees were of the soft variety. Just while we're being selective..."
Gleebo
I've watched the Sunday game live and the night show back now and you can tell if the ball was bouncing or not , now griffin was on his knees but it doesn't show it clearly to be definite and the Mayo lads weren't even looking for it but even IF ye got the penalty and even IF ye scored it and all other decisions were called correct we would still have won by 5/6 points, like I say everyone watch clarks lockout to keegan that leads to Mayos first goal he takes 9/10 steps without a hop or solo and a few mins later in the build up to a mayo point Higgins takes 7/8 steps with no hop or solo.

And no we didn't get soft frees from the ref as any free we got was spot on but the ref gave Mayo nearly all the 50/50s .

Anyway gough will have to keep a close eye on the over carrying by Mayo the next day.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 22/08/2017 12:37:21    2036353

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Gleebo
I've watched the Sunday game live and the night show back now and you can tell if the ball was bouncing or not , now griffin was on his knees but it doesn't show it clearly to be definite and the Mayo lads weren't even looking for it but even IF ye got the penalty and even IF ye scored it and all other decisions were called correct we would still have won by 5/6 points, like I say everyone watch clarks lockout to keegan that leads to Mayos first goal he takes 9/10 steps without a hop or solo and a few mins later in the build up to a mayo point Higgins takes 7/8 steps with no hop or solo.

And no we didn't get soft frees from the ref as any free we got was spot on but the ref gave Mayo nearly all the 50/50s .

Anyway gough will have to keep a close eye on the over carrying by Mayo the next day."
Mayo have missed the boat. People can talk all they like about AOS and Lee Keegan not playing well and how they will be so much better the next day but Mayo don't have the killer instinct. They don't have it this year, last year or 5 years ago. Mayo will always be competitive, but being competitive only takes you so far. All last Sunday did was to prove that Andy Moran will be regarded as one of the greatest players never to win an All Ireland medal.

FootblockREF (Monaghan) - Posts: 563 - 22/08/2017 13:11:39    2036373

Say you are in minority looking at it that way. AOS looked lost at times and KD scored and set up the goal. Add to that AOS had little bearing on Mayo scoring, I see no value on having to assign such a player to KD. You can be sure Dublin or Tyrone won't sacrifice a player to mark KD. One of the defenders will be expected to do their job.

AOS is not Mr utility. He is not mobile enough. A very good midfielder, an ok FF and a below average (at SF top 4 level) full back. Would be amazed if Mayo go with this again.

poguemahone (Dublin) - Posts: 365 - 22/08/2017 13:28:34    2036381

In spite of the waves of criticism and negativity from TV + Paper pundits, message boards emanating towards us since 5pm last Sunday and twitter this Kerry team is still in with a chance of getting to the final - we aren't out yet and won't roll over as handy as people expect......

AgainstTheOdds (Kerry) - Posts: 47 - 22/08/2017 14:39:28    2036411

I wonder is Aidan O Shea over-rated? Forgetting the stroll in the park v Ros, I can't remember him doing much over the past 18 months. He certainly didn't score much - when playing as a forward - in the big games last year. It may be that his galvanising swashbuckling style disguises the fact that his contribution is not that significant.

Aibrean (Kerry) - Posts: 263 - 22/08/2017 14:48:47    2036417

Replying To witnof:  "Name me a county that doesn't? And for the love of God don't say Kerry"
Actually - apart from the Dubs on Hill 16, who have been at it since God was a boy - I had never noticed anything as bad as Mayo last Sunday. And, I was at 7 of the big games in Croke Park last year and 5 so far this year. Anyway, regardless of who does it, it's very unsporting and not something I like to see at our games.

Aibrean (Kerry) - Posts: 263 - 22/08/2017 14:57:58    2036420

Replying To AgainstTheOdds:  "In spite of the waves of criticism and negativity from TV + Paper pundits, message boards emanating towards us since 5pm last Sunday and twitter this Kerry team is still in with a chance of getting to the final - we aren't out yet and won't roll over as handy as people expect......"
Youse Kerry boys play the poor mouth better than anyone. Yerra Yerra

FootblockREF (Monaghan) - Posts: 563 - 22/08/2017 15:18:50    2036428

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Gleebo

Anyway gough will have to keep a close eye on the over carrying by Mayo the next day."
I think a quick appointment with Specsavers might be the best option for you. I wish you well and hope you get sorted out before Saturday's game.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 22/08/2017 15:31:00    2036433

Replying To Aibrean:  "I wonder is Aidan O Shea over-rated? Forgetting the stroll in the park v Ros, I can't remember him doing much over the past 18 months. He certainly didn't score much - when playing as a forward - in the big games last year. It may be that his galvanising swashbuckling style disguises the fact that his contribution is not that significant."
Welcome to Hoganstand Aibreann
Let me guess, another long time reader first time poster?

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 22/08/2017 15:44:10    2036439