Can the GAA survive the Rugby onslaught

Replying To Breffni39:  "Who are the sad-sacks disliking Cue and Mes' posts above?"
Ignore them Breffni, they won't reply. Prob same as gave me a thumbsdown for posting in Joe Lennon RIP? Keyboard warrior(s).

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7337 - 28/11/2016 17:09:42    1937114

Rugby on the charge and leading with the shoulder

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 28/11/2016 18:16:32    1937120

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Ignore them Breffni, they won't reply. Prob same as gave me a thumbsdown for posting in Joe Lennon RIP? Keyboard warrior(s)."
Ha I don't expect replies GNR, just thought this was particularly pathetic/suspicious that two harmless posts got the thumps down. There surely can't be 4 separate posters petty enough to click dislike to Cues inoffensive post about Fergal O'Brien? Maybe there are?

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12116 - 28/11/2016 18:49:05    1937126

Rugby is in a fortunate position; It's international, but in a very limited way (almost exclusively ex-British colonies, so while there is an international element, it's not hard to be among the best teams in the world. In contrast GAA is not international, + lacks the associated glamour, while soccer is truly international, which is why even to qualify for a world cup is a major achievement. Also rugby is a public school game, and public schoolboys dominate RTE and the media
befair (Down) - Posts:132 - 28/11/2016 16:58:58
To describe rugby as international in a limited way is a very skewed slant at things. To say its not hard to be among best teams in the world is extremely ignorant of what it takes to be a very good side
Rugby is far from a public school game. May be a case in a few very small areas of the country where its dominated by those who attend fee paying schools but that isnt case with the majority of people who play the sport

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 28/11/2016 19:20:53    1937130

Replying To cuederocket:  "I'd like to congratulate a fellow Lucan residant of mine,Fergal O Brien,on his fantastic victory over Barry "The Hawk"Hawkins in yesterdays thriller in the UK Championship.In doing so,Fergal hit five centuries to win 6-5 and create a small bit of snooker history as it is a record for a best of 11 frame match."
Haha.Monday night in the Grand Central.Only 6 red thumbs?I want another 141 so i can get the maximum!

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 28/11/2016 20:24:47    1937145

Replying To Breffni39:  "Ha I don't expect replies GNR, just thought this was particularly pathetic/suspicious that two harmless posts got the thumps down. There surely can't be 4 separate posters petty enough to click dislike to Cues inoffensive post about Fergal O'Brien? Maybe there are?"
Sound lads,i was only avin a laugh.I know snooker is an alien sport to most!

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 28/11/2016 20:26:04    1937146

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Ignore them Breffni, they won't reply. Prob same as gave me a thumbsdown for posting in Joe Lennon RIP? Keyboard warrior(s)."
Whoever gave thumbs down to the passing of Joe Lennon(or anyone else for that matter)should be ashamed of themselves.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 28/11/2016 20:28:50    1937147

Replying To ormondbannerman:  "Rugby is in a fortunate position; It's international, but in a very limited way (almost exclusively ex-British colonies, so while there is an international element, it's not hard to be among the best teams in the world. In contrast GAA is not international, + lacks the associated glamour, while soccer is truly international, which is why even to qualify for a world cup is a major achievement. Also rugby is a public school game, and public schoolboys dominate RTE and the media
To describe rugby as international in a limited way is a very skewed slant at things. To say its not hard to be among best teams in the world is extremely ignorant of what it takes to be a very good side
Rugby is far from a public school game. May be a case in a few very small areas of the country where its dominated by those who attend fee paying schools but that isnt case with the majority of people who play the sport"
Well played Ormond. Simply contradict each of his points point blank. These people who go around backing up their points with logical arguments, statistics or maybe even reference material are time wasters.

Ye are like a North Korean news report

himachechy (Donegal) - Posts: 293 - 29/11/2016 10:19:20    1937177

Replying To himachechy:  "
Replying To ormondbannerman:  "Rugby is in a fortunate position; It's international, but in a very limited way (almost exclusively ex-British colonies, so while there is an international element, it's not hard to be among the best teams in the world. In contrast GAA is not international, + lacks the associated glamour, while soccer is truly international, which is why even to qualify for a world cup is a major achievement. Also rugby is a public school game, and public schoolboys dominate RTE and the media
Rugby is far from a public school game. May be a case in a few very small areas of the country where its dominated by those who attend fee paying schools but that isnt case with the majority of people who play the sport"
Well played Ormond. Simply contradict each of his points point blank. These people who go around backing up their points with logical arguments, statistics or maybe even reference material are time wasters.

Ye are like a North Korean news report"
Gear, Equipment, Coaches.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12116 - 29/11/2016 10:51:01    1937183

Ormobannerman Tomsmith here from County Cavan
Do you know the definition of Public schools
For your information this is it
A public school in England and Wales is an older, student selective and expensive fee-paying independent secondary school which caters primarily for children aged between 11 or 13 and 18. The term 'public school' should not be misunderstood to mean they are public sector schools; they are in fact private sector

Tomsmith again here

I can tell you as one that has witnessed the progression of Rugby and the beautiful Game PRO's selling foreign games to us over the years that alot of people are fooled because the see the white collared fellows that drink in a certain pub in the local Town, eat dinner in the evening when most of us are milking and have a nice little picture in the local papers at the Horsey Ball , Charity ball or what ever its nice to be seen at. These fellows and is it WAGS that the Girls are known as dont have much in common with the locals in Town
I say treat Rugby as opposition to out National sport

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 3855 - 29/11/2016 11:21:49    1937188

Replying To befair:  "Rugby is in a fortunate position; It's international, but in a very limited way (almost exclusively ex-British colonies, so while there is an international element, it's not hard to be among the best teams in the world. In contrast GAA is not international, + lacks the associated glamour, while soccer is truly international, which is why even to qualify for a world cup is a major achievement. Also rugby is a public school game, and public schoolboys dominate RTE and the media"
I agree that Rugby enjoys all the media hype especially from RTE whose director of sports is an avid rugby supporter.
The amount of coverage rugby gets from our national broadcaster has increased dramatically over the last number of years.

It will never topple the Gaelic games though in this country. It is only played sparingly after al while the GAA is in every parish and is the hub of every parish.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 29/11/2016 11:40:16    1937192

Replying To MesAmis:  "Is there still a snooker club in Lucan village?"
Raffaels club is gone from Lucan village over 5 years now mes.The club i grew up playing from 10 years of age in Palmerstown is long gone also.Q's in Clondalkin where i spent a lot of my school days is still there but where it used to have over 60 full size tables and open 24/7,it has only 10 decent tables,approx,and the club is used mostly for poker and other card games and poker machines.Bit of a kip to be honest.If im going for a game i usually go to Celbridge or the Spawell.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 29/11/2016 11:41:46    1937193

Replying To Breffni39:  "
Replying To himachechy:  "[quote=ormondbannerman:  "Rugby is in a fortunate position; It's international, but in a very limited way (almost exclusively ex-British colonies, so while there is an international element, it's not hard to be among the best teams in the world. In contrast GAA is not international, + lacks the associated glamour, while soccer is truly international, which is why even to qualify for a world cup is a major achievement. Also rugby is a public school game, and public schoolboys dominate RTE and the media

Gear, Equipment, Coaches."]The episode with Martin Johnson at Lansdowne Rd a few years illustrates the point, when he made our president step off the red carpet and walk on the grass. Can you imagine him doing that in any other sport? I any other country? But he knew he could get away with it, because they are nearly all ex-British colonies and ex-public schoolboys.

befair (Down) - Posts: 237 - 29/11/2016 11:48:33    1937195

Replying To befair:  "
Replying To Breffni39:  "[quote=himachechy:  "[quote=ormondbannerman:  "Rugby is in a fortunate position; It's international, but in a very limited way (almost exclusively ex-British colonies, so while there is an international element, it's not hard to be among the best teams in the world. In contrast GAA is not international, + lacks the associated glamour, while soccer is truly international, which is why even to qualify for a world cup is a major achievement. Also rugby is a public school game, and public schoolboys dominate RTE and the media

Gear, Equipment, Coaches."]The episode with Martin Johnson at Lansdowne Rd a few years illustrates the point, when he made our president step off the red carpet and walk on the grass. Can you imagine him doing that in any other sport? I any other country? But he knew he could get away with it, because they are nearly all ex-British colonies and ex-public schoolboys."]In all fairness, in that particular situation, WE chose to lineup on the grass as it is tradition to stand that end. So the bottom line is it was our fault cos we chose tradition over respect for the President. Bugs me when people whine about this. We were absolutely mugged by Johnson that day.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12116 - 29/11/2016 11:57:17    1937198

Raffaels club is gone from Lucan village over 5 years now mes.The club i grew up playing from 10 years of age in Palmerstown is long gone also.Q's in Clondalkin where i spent a lot of my school days is still there but where it used to have over 60 full size tables and open 24/7,it has only 10 decent tables,approx,and the club is used mostly for poker and other card games and poker machines.Bit of a kip to be honest.If im going for a game i usually go to Celbridge or the Spawell.
cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts:4906 - 29/11/2016 11:41:46

That's a pity cueder. From memory that place was actually a very nice snooker hall. My Da would occasionally drive as far out as it for a game, I presume he must of known someone out there or maybe he just like the tables. Fergal O'Brien would have played outta there I think (I'll never forget that missed blue!!!).

I feel the loss of snooker halls is a bad thing as they were great places for teenagers to hang around in (depending on the snooker hall!!) relative safety in comparison to other things that they could get up to!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13705 - 29/11/2016 12:03:59    1937199

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts:2823 - 29/11/2016 11:21:49

Lets all rise up and support our National association ie the GAA
tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts:2823 - 26/11/2016 13:02:32   1936808 

ariiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiissssssssssssssssssseeeeeeee and followwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww chaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaarrrrrrrrrrllllllllllliiiiiiieeee!!!

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 29/11/2016 12:16:47    1937201

I can tell you as one that has witnessed the progression of Rugby and the beautiful Game PRO's selling foreign games to us over the years that alot of people are fooled because the see the white collared fellows that drink in a certain pub in the local Town, eat dinner in the evening when most of us are milking and have a nice little picture in the local papers at the Horsey Ball , Charity ball or what ever its nice to be seen at. These fellows and is it WAGS that the Girls are known as dont have much in common with the locals in Town
Thankfully most people are more progressive and better than that. Your snobbery is only a small proportion. Your use of cliche is tired and outdated.

I agree that Rugby enjoys all the media hype especially from RTE whose director of sports is an avid rugby supporter.
The amount of coverage rugby gets from our national broadcaster has increased dramatically over the last number of years.

It will never topple the Gaelic games though in this country. It is only played sparingly after al while the GAA is in every parish and is the hub of every parish.
Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts:10002 - 29/11/2016 11:40:16
But has rugby coverage from RTE increased dramatically? They dont show pro12 which they used to. They dont show european cup games like they used to. They show much less club rugby than they did. They have lost out on coverage of world cups.
All sports are played sparingly compared to gaelic games, which is multiple sports,,..., but rugby is played by a considerable proportion of people.

The episode with Martin Johnson at Lansdowne Rd a few years illustrates the point, when he made our president step off the red carpet and walk on the grass. Can you imagine him doing that in any other sport? I any other country? But he knew he could get away with it, because they are nearly all ex-British colonies and ex-public schoolboys.
befair (Down) - Posts:133 - 29/11/2016 11:48:33
I respect Martin Johnson for doing that. It showed a ruthlessness and belief in winning. He was told the wrong side/went to wrong side and didnt back down.

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 29/11/2016 12:22:40    1937204

Replying To MesAmis:  "Raffaels club is gone from Lucan village over 5 years now mes.The club i grew up playing from 10 years of age in Palmerstown is long gone also.Q's in Clondalkin where i spent a lot of my school days is still there but where it used to have over 60 full size tables and open 24/7,it has only 10 decent tables,approx,and the club is used mostly for poker and other card games and poker machines.Bit of a kip to be honest.If im going for a game i usually go to Celbridge or the Spawell.

That's a pity cueder. From memory that place was actually a very nice snooker hall. My Da would occasionally drive as far out as it for a game, I presume he must of known someone out there or maybe he just like the tables. Fergal O'Brien would have played outta there I think (I'll never forget that missed blue!!!).

I feel the loss of snooker halls is a bad thing as they were great places for teenagers to hang around in (depending on the snooker hall!!) relative safety in comparison to other things that they could get up to!"
Oh yea,that blue in the Masters final all those years back!Probably hurts to this day.Fergal,while not a very exciting player,has earned a good living doing what he loves.I couldn't believe he got five tonnes in six frames few days back as i didn't think he had it in him.He used to have his own table in Lucan and only he was allowed play on it.He practices up in Celbridge now.

Palmerstown was a great club.Me and all me pals used to live in the place for years when we were young.12 full size tables in the main room and then pool tables,games and a juke box in the back room.It was snooker for me though and the weekend competitions were always something to look forward to.Some right battles to win 10 or 20 pounds.And you could drink cans on a Fri and Saturday night and the smell of hash was never far away (which i hated as i never smoked).

Eventually the crowds started to dwindle and some of the riffraff from Ballyfermot used to leave their horses outside while they acted the maggot inside.The beginning of the end was when some scumbags decided to have a bonfire on one of the pool tables some Halloween night.Poor Frank,the owner,just had enough and it was a sad day when it last closed it's doors.Some say spending your youth in a snooker hall wasxa miss-spent youth but i wouldn't change it for anything.They were great days.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 29/11/2016 13:06:14    1937217

Replying To MesAmis:  "Raffaels club is gone from Lucan village over 5 years now mes.The club i grew up playing from 10 years of age in Palmerstown is long gone also.Q's in Clondalkin where i spent a lot of my school days is still there but where it used to have over 60 full size tables and open 24/7,it has only 10 decent tables,approx,and the club is used mostly for poker and other card games and poker machines.Bit of a kip to be honest.If im going for a game i usually go to Celbridge or the Spawell.

I feel the loss of snooker halls is a bad thing as they were great places for teenagers to hang around in (depending on the snooker hall!!) relative safety in comparison to other things that they could get up to!"
ah the owl plex in coolock as a teenager haha

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 29/11/2016 13:08:55    1937218

Replying To ormondbannerman:  "I can tell you as one that has witnessed the progression of Rugby and the beautiful Game PRO's selling foreign games to us over the years that alot of people are fooled because the see the white collared fellows that drink in a certain pub in the local Town, eat dinner in the evening when most of us are milking and have a nice little picture in the local papers at the Horsey Ball , Charity ball or what ever its nice to be seen at. These fellows and is it WAGS that the Girls are known as dont have much in common with the locals in Town
Thankfully most people are more progressive and better than that. Your snobbery is only a small proportion. Your use of cliche is tired and outdated.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts:10002 - 29/11/2016 11:40:16
But has rugby coverage from RTE increased dramatically? They dont show pro12 which they used to. They dont show european cup games like they used to. They show much less club rugby than they did. They have lost out on coverage of world cups.
All sports are played sparingly compared to gaelic games, which is multiple sports,,..., but rugby is played by a considerable proportion of people.

The episode with Martin Johnson at Lansdowne Rd a few years illustrates the point, when he made our president step off the red carpet and walk on the grass. Can you imagine him doing that in any other sport? I any other country? But he knew he could get away with it, because they are nearly all ex-British colonies and ex-public schoolboys.
befair (Down) - Posts:133 - 29/11/2016 11:48:33
I respect Martin Johnson for doing that. It showed a ruthlessness and belief in winning. He was told the wrong side/went to wrong side and didnt back down."
He should have got chinned for doing it, however, you keep bending over there ormo

bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 29/11/2016 14:23:58    1937235