Kerry v Mayo

Great game. I thought Mayo were superb yesterday but Kerry got their tactics right, nullified Keegan and let Donaghy run the legs off O'Shea. Donaghy still fit and mobile despite the years. The basketball standing to him no doubt. Andy Moran was top drawer yesterday. Apart from two stray foot passes he was faultless, great exhibition, albeit against a poor Kerry full back line. In all honesty I think Mayo should have won this by 4/5. Sloppy kickouts and giving soft scoreable frees away did them. They look well oiled after all these games and I expect them to have too much for Kerry on Sat. As a Dub, if we overcome Tyrone I would prefer Kerry to Mayo in the final. I just think if Mayo click and if Dublin played well below par then Mayo would win. Some weekend ahead though.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 21/08/2017 15:30:22    2036082

keegan wasnt fully fit yday, he was wrecked after any run he made up the field so hopefully the game yesterday will bring him on fitness wise
A O Shea at full back stopped any high ball coming in which is Mayos biggest weakness, and A O Shea isnt as effective in the rain like against Roscommon the first day he spilled alot of ball and he slows down Mayos attacks..yesterday the only other place you could have put him was full forward really..
Seamus O Shea was pretty poor, he does have a lot more bad games than good and really I think he has to be dropped the next day and put keegan mid field maybe. Seamus could be a good impact sub..
Like the All-Ireland final last year, the Mayo corner backs are not getting enough credit for doing a great job on there men, Harrison and Barrett will do the same to O Donoghue and Geaney the next day again

tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 601 - 21/08/2017 15:40:16    2036087

Replying To Green_Gold:  "Sadly this is true. There were 3 obvious incidents yesterday where Kerry players were sledging AOS and not a word about it. If Tiernan McCann or Sean Cavanagh did something similar people would be trying to throw the book at them. Could you imagine what Joe Brolly would have to say if that had been a Tyrone player sledging?"
How do you know it was sledging can you lip read? Can you tell us all what was said and can you tell us what was happening off camera as well.

I was at the game and I can tell ye that both our teams were far from angels what team are angelic at this level?that's why we need David gough Saturday.

Don't forget we will all see plenty of rough stuff on Sunday next as well.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 21/08/2017 16:36:12    2036114

Mayo management walked into the Kerry trap worrying too much about Donaghy, when AOS went back to mark him why didn't Mayo do a rotation job and put Vaughan on him as well as Seamie O'Shea, Aiden isn't a man marker and was turned over too many times, a quick turn by Donaghy had O'Shea turning the wrong way, yes the high ball in ( the only one) O'Shea won but every other ball was on the ground or passed into Donaghy chest, Mayo were thinking too defencelessly and not believing that if AOS pushed forward and ran at Kerry that we would have destroyed Kerry but by leaving him at fullback he was out of the game, that as well as Keegan not allowed to push forward because of tight marking by Murphy helped Kerry, taking off Colm Boyle was daftness, he was the main man breaking the line, have Mayo a chance next Saturday? If they put AOS around the middle of the park at no 11 and our forwards click again we have a chance, stopping Kerry kicking in the ball to their forwards has to be a priority, they can't score without the ball, inviting the opposition to run at you without a tackle is stupid, blocking and tackling at midfield is the only way, my example is simple the 2012 All Ireland Final Donegal v Mayo, at the start of the game Karl Lacey kicks in a high ball from the Donegal half back line without a Mayo man leaving a hand on him, the ball lands on top of Michael Murphy, he turns Kevin Keane and buries the ball into the Mayo nets, if Lacey was blocked at the start the ball would never have been received by Murphy and there wouldn't be a goal scored, stop the supply of ball going into the forwards

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 21/08/2017 17:08:15    2036125

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "How do you know it was sledging can you lip read? Can you tell us all what was said and can you tell us what was happening off camera as well.

I was at the game and I can tell ye that both our teams were far from angels what team are angelic at this level?that's why we need David gough Saturday.

Don't forget we will all see plenty of rough stuff on Sunday next as well."
Sorry didn't mean to make out only Kerry do this, you are totally right that all the top teams are at it. But it just seems that Tyrone are the only ones who get called out for doing it. Surely you have to agree on that point.

I am not sure what the exact definition of sledging is but a player running towards AOS shouting at him surely is sledging. Yes I am sure Aidan is no angel himself but he was walking towards the dressing room for the half time break.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1873 - 21/08/2017 17:09:23    2036126

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Just to bring a little bit of balance for you, go and look at Clarks kickout for mayos first goal Clark chips the ball out short to keegan and keegan takes 9/10 steps before a hop or a solo is taken, should have been a free in for Kerry.

A few minutes later just before mayos first point Higgins over carries the ball 6/7 steps should have been another free to Kerry.

Donal Vaughan ankle taps a Kerry player and gets no black card.

Jiarmuid O'Connor gets a jab in the chest and goes down holding his throat "simulation" .

Jiarmuid O'Connor also pulled darran O'sullivan down on top of him during the second half and held while darran was trying his best to get back up to help the defence.

Near the end of the game as Tadhg Morley is bursting out of defence with the ball after he off loads to to Sheehan which Sheehan got the last free of the game a Mayo player body collides with him which should have been a black card for the mayo lad.

I haven't watched the game back yet but when I do il get back to you.

Trust me if the ref was to call every little decision for both teams yesterday we would probably have won.

I hope David gough gets the replay he doesn't miss a trick although I'd say he's been kept for the final."
Gough confirmed for the replay.

GaaGaa78 (UK) - Posts: 285 - 21/08/2017 17:16:16    2036127

Replying To Green_Gold:  "Sorry didn't mean to make out only Kerry do this, you are totally right that all the top teams are at it. But it just seems that Tyrone are the only ones who get called out for doing it. Surely you have to agree on that point.

I am not sure what the exact definition of sledging is but a player running towards AOS shouting at him surely is sledging. Yes I am sure Aidan is no angel himself but he was walking towards the dressing room for the half time break."
All teams will continue to do it until something is done about it - what can you do - there could be ground based mic's that could pick up what is being said but that would cost money but it would be worth if as if it disappears at the Inter-county level it will stop at the club level as well. Any club player watching yesterdays game knows that the GAA won't or can't do anything to enforce this rule. I don't understand it myself, never really cared for what anyone said to me, just laughed it off and hit him a good belt when I got the chance - legally of course.

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1800 - 21/08/2017 17:26:36    2036128

Question for Mayo posters, is Keegan carrying an injury or is he simply not match fit? A fully functioning Keegan would make a huge difference to this team.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 21/08/2017 17:32:43    2036130

Mayo should put Seamie O Shea on Kieran Donaghy.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2517 - 21/08/2017 17:52:19    2036138

Keagan apparently had cellulitis on the foot. Probably not completely recovered yet.

Vaughan or Seamus to mark star on saturday hopefully... with aido out in the middle where he was sorely missed. Wouldn't be surprised to see DOC dropped in favour of P durcan.. his pace going forward along with his point scoring ability was also missed the last day.

Bringing on subs such as drake and cohen actually weaken the team more than anything. Nally would have been my choice to bring on towards the end of the match..as he can kick a point. Kirby should also have been given a run. Serious need to un-earth some new scoring forwards in mayo.. how neil douglas wasn't given a chance this year after being by far the best non-intercounty forward in the county.. o well rochford knows best..

mayoabuuu (Mayo) - Posts: 4 - 21/08/2017 18:57:17    2036153

Keegan was far from his best and O'Shea was made to be anonymous. If both can impact, like they can, Mayo should win. Trouble is, can Andy Moran reproduce a performance like that? Kerry will be more up to speed this time round too.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8586 - 21/08/2017 19:02:01    2036154

Replying To GaaGaa78:  "Gough confirmed for the replay."
Need to start practicing the 14yard free tap overs so!!

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3410 - 21/08/2017 19:16:52    2036157

Replying To Green_Gold:  "Sorry didn't mean to make out only Kerry do this, you are totally right that all the top teams are at it. But it just seems that Tyrone are the only ones who get called out for doing it. Surely you have to agree on that point.

I am not sure what the exact definition of sledging is but a player running towards AOS shouting at him surely is sledging. Yes I am sure Aidan is no angel himself but he was walking towards the dressing room for the half time break."
Trust me Aidan was giving it plenty as well he's just more sneaky/subtle about it, that's why I'm delighted that gough is reffing the game the next day as the mayo backs won't be aloud to grab and hold the Kerry forwards as it'll be 13 meter frees all day long and the same goes for both teams.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 21/08/2017 20:23:55    2036168

I don't think anyone has mentioned what I thought was the most obvious unpunished foul: in the 69th minute Tom Parsons jumped on David Moran from behind bringing him to the ground. It looked like a definite black card.

Aibrean (Kerry) - Posts: 263 - 21/08/2017 20:28:41    2036170

Maybe Vaughan or Harrison on Donaghy. Neither Seamus or Aidan are defenders and they're certainly not fullbacks. We need to try and stop the supply into Donaghy which is easier said than done. Use a sweeper to double team him when he has got it. Even the best fullbacks in the land have struggled to mark Donaghy. Uses all his experience smartly and if not getting scores he occupies the minds of our defenders and it creates a bit of space for his teammates. And his teammates will want to do us serious damage next Saturday.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7337 - 21/08/2017 20:33:57    2036173

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Trust me Aidan was giving it plenty as well he's just more sneaky/subtle about it, that's why I'm delighted that gough is reffing the game the next day as the mayo backs won't be aloud to grab and hold the Kerry forwards as it'll be 13 meter frees all day long and the same goes for both teams."
tunnel vision is awful lad you must not have seen any kerry lads at it watch game again and reply I am not biased but they were all at it and if it was ref right there should have been 2 or 3 black cards and that includes mayo

mayo_123 (Mayo) - Posts: 240 - 21/08/2017 20:46:53    2036177

Good game all round although doubt the Kerry defence will be as poor game. Lots of talk about poor Kerry defence but people seem to forget mayo concede the same score.

Mayo have serious work to do on tackling. Some of the attempted tackles were ridiculous...we will just slap and punch the player until we get the ball. If they do that the nect day there is no way they will end with 15 men on the pitch. They are clearly being taught that was as every mayo player tackled like that.

I would sat Kerry will win replay as they will improve and not sure if mayo have that perform in them again.

kevin03 (Tyrone) - Posts: 276 - 21/08/2017 20:57:11    2036180

Replying To Aibrean:  "I don't think anyone has mentioned what I thought was the most obvious unpunished foul: in the 69th minute Tom Parsons jumped on David Moran from behind bringing him to the ground. It looked like a definite black card."
I thought the same. Don't even think he got a free for it. The ref did allow some very aggressive "tackles" to go unpunished

kevin03 (Tyrone) - Posts: 276 - 21/08/2017 20:59:02    2036181

Replying To kevin03:  "Good game all round although doubt the Kerry defence will be as poor game. Lots of talk about poor Kerry defence but people seem to forget mayo concede the same score.

Mayo have serious work to do on tackling. Some of the attempted tackles were ridiculous...we will just slap and punch the player until we get the ball. If they do that the nect day there is no way they will end with 15 men on the pitch. They are clearly being taught that was as every mayo player tackled like that.

I would sat Kerry will win replay as they will improve and not sure if mayo have that perform in them again."
This is it, can they do it again? Replays haven't been their thing over the last few years

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8586 - 21/08/2017 21:02:52    2036184

A lot of talk about cards, sledging and so on but the big decision was not to award a penalty to Mayo in the 1st half.

ponga (Mayo) - Posts: 648 - 21/08/2017 21:28:50    2036192