Mayo vs Roscommon

Well done Mayo, blew us out of the water a week or so later than I expected. Disappointed at the performance today but throughout the Championship we have over excelled and reached our peak. Staying here consistently is the next marker for us.

UPAY4DINNER (Roscommon) - Posts: 22 - 07/08/2017 18:07:22    2030484

What a difference a week makes it's like arrival of August has flicked a switch, and all the huffing, puffing and heart attack moments were the work of a different team. Still it's just one swallow and that young Rossie team simply found themselves all wrong today. A harsh learning process, but something which Kevin McStay won't shy away from. Those players will have better days and all we've done is to earn a tilt at a Kerry team who've been keeping us in their focus since the start of the championship. Kieran Donaghy's in the form of his life and we all in Mayo particularly know what that means.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 07/08/2017 18:16:04    2030488

Replying To yew_tree:  "Talk of our demise has been greatly exaggerated...super Mayo performance of power, pace and movement BUT one has to consider how bad Roscommon were too.

From the off Mayo looked like they meant business and the young rossies just weren't able to cope. A harsh lesson.

Despite all our heartbreak I love this Mayo team . Time to forget today though as Kerry are looming...our old foes."
Boys against men today. We missed our chance last week. Needless and embarrassing apology over andygate set the submissive tone this week as we were Physically crushed and Demolished in every aspect in fact we could quite easily have conceded eight goals.

Still fully behind our team and management. A big Reality check.

Good luck to Mayo. Of the remaining teams I'd like to see them win it out. They have every chance against Kerry.

salvador (Roscommon) - Posts: 439 - 07/08/2017 18:40:20    2030499

Replying To yew_tree:  "Talk of our demise has been greatly exaggerated...super Mayo performance of power, pace and movement BUT one has to consider how bad Roscommon were too.

From the off Mayo looked like they meant business and the young rossies just weren't able to cope. A harsh lesson.

Despite all our heartbreak I love this Mayo team . Time to forget today though as Kerry are looming...our old foes."
In fairness Roscommon are not near Mayos level at this stage of the championship, but still, it'll make Kerry think!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8586 - 07/08/2017 18:49:36    2030505

Well done to the Mayo lads and also the Posters here for been fair on the Roscommon lads, its never easy when your team looses to the neighbours esp like today but we all will move on. Unlike the lad on Mayogaablog who had to twist the knife in with his childish "we are kings of Connacht now" Its the likes of him who drive people against them. Best of luck to Mayo theg will put it right up to Kerry unlike our own fellas.

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 07/08/2017 18:54:03    2030508

Pre 2001 qualifiers our all-ireland semis would be Roscommon v Kerry and Tyrone v Dublin.

If ever there was a case to say the qualifiers favour a strong team not getting beat twice before the semi final stage well this was it.

On the plus side it should mean competitive semi finals.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 07/08/2017 19:02:14    2030516

Hard luck to roscommon today still they finish the year as connacht champions and im sure they will be building again next year and improving een more. It was good improvement in mayos performance its been awhile since we produce something of that level still think we wont have enough to beat kerry but i live in hope.

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 07/08/2017 19:08:45    2030521

Pathetic effort from Roscommon today.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 07/08/2017 19:28:40    2030536

Replying To TheUsername:  "Congrats to Mayo, that's a serious statement on intent.

Some year they are having, what a year they are giving their fans, ups, downs success, failure and success.

Would be typical Mayo, to win it from here looseing in Connacht, drawing twice in the qualifiers and again in the quarterfinal all to get on a par with Dublin, Tyrone and Kerry.

You can never right them off and serious respect is due."
Typical Mayo.They haven't won the All-Ireland since 1951.Roscommon were shocking today.The only hope is that we have a very young team who should improve over the next few years.The best 4 teams in the country are in the semi finals and there are two very interesting matches to look forward to.Hard to know exactly where any of Dublin, Tyrone, Kerry or Mayo are at.If pushed, I'd go for a Dublin v Kerry final this year.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2155 - 07/08/2017 19:40:10    2030547

Replying To salvador:  "Boys against men today. We missed our chance last week. Needless and embarrassing apology over andygate set the submissive tone this week as we were Physically crushed and Demolished in every aspect in fact we could quite easily have conceded eight goals.

Still fully behind our team and management. A big Reality check.

Good luck to Mayo. Of the remaining teams I'd like to see them win it out. They have every chance against Kerry."
Hard luck today and I sat near some nice Roscommon fans. I think you need a few more physically imposing lads...will the exiles return?

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 07/08/2017 19:51:22    2030556

In 2015 i watched Roscommon, full strength their supporters told me, play Laois in a league game in Portlaoise and they were easily beaten by 9 points. They were/are a very light team.

Last year Laois beat Armagh twice in the championship.

I know the level Laois are at and couldn't reconcile how Armagh seemed to have improved so much in a year and Roscommon were Connacht champions.

This weekend confirmed that after the top 4, about 12 to 15 teams, on a good year and well managed, could fill positions 5-8.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 07/08/2017 20:19:28    2030580

I thought Mayo would win by 4/5 if Rochford could match McStay tactically.
But i definitely didnt expect that.
Rossies just couldnt cope with Mayo's intensity/athleticism/pace.
I think some Rossies fan probably got a bit carried away after the Galway win.
Its a huge step up playing the seasoned teams in Croke Park. Mayo werent gonna give away a big lead today.
To be fair to the Rossies they are a decent young team with a large passionate support who if they could get a
few of the AWOLS back could kick on furthur. Still think McStay is the man to help ye progress. There is a great age profile on the team.

In terms of Mayo, when they play like that, running at teams, they are a match for anyone. Probably dont have the bench to compete
with Kerry/Dublin when the game is in the melting pot but we have an outside chance.

Ah_Here (Mayo) - Posts: 42 - 07/08/2017 20:36:06    2030590

Replying To Laois76:  "In 2015 i watched Roscommon, full strength their supporters told me, play Laois in a league game in Portlaoise and they were easily beaten by 9 points. They were/are a very light team.

Last year Laois beat Armagh twice in the championship.

I know the level Laois are at and couldn't reconcile how Armagh seemed to have improved so much in a year and Roscommon were Connacht champions.

This weekend confirmed that after the top 4, about 12 to 15 teams, on a good year and well managed, could fill positions 5-8."
That just isn't true. The rossies were shocking today but they could easily beat Laois by double figures. Monaghan, Donegal, Galway and possibly Tipp would make up the 4 places. The league standings and form throughout the championship prove this. As for Laois, it's fair to say yee are miles behind the rest.

maroonkingdom (Westmeath) - Posts: 41 - 07/08/2017 20:41:10    2030592

Replying To Laois76:  "Pre 2001 qualifiers our all-ireland semis would be Roscommon v Kerry and Tyrone v Dublin.

If ever there was a case to say the qualifiers favour a strong team not getting beat twice before the semi final stage well this was it.

On the plus side it should mean competitive semi finals."
its championship football and hurling. 1 chance 1 result. You win you go through, You lose you're gone. But it's the GAA all about the money and big vanity projects which are sitting idle most of the year.

bulmccabe (Tyrone) - Posts: 361 - 07/08/2017 20:41:30    2030593

Replying To maroonkingdom:  "That just isn't true. The rossies were shocking today but they could easily beat Laois by double figures. Monaghan, Donegal, Galway and possibly Tipp would make up the 4 places. The league standings and form throughout the championship prove this. As for Laois, it's fair to say yee are miles behind the rest."
That just isn't true. The rossies were shocking today but they could easily beat Laois by double figures. Monaghan, Donegal, Galway and possibly Tipp would make up the 4 places. The league standings and form throughout the championship prove this. As for Laois, it's fair to say yee are miles behind the rest.

Laois are all over the place this year. If they got their act together they could easily stay with Roscommon. For Monagan, Donegal and Galway you could easily substitute, Cork, Clare, Fermanagh like in 2015, Meath who lost by a point to Donegal, Westmeath on a good run, Derry. Those places 5-8 are far from set in stone. Tipp and Clare get in one year, Fermanagh or Cork the next. There's no way you can state with solid evidence that Galway are better than Cork. Both are 'yo yo' division 1, 2 teams. Cork actually in div 1 a lot more than Galway. Kildare in the top 8 this year and again it could be Tipp next year. Laois were in the last 8 in 2012. Those 4 positions from 5-8 are fluid. We always nearly have a division 3 team in the last 8 of the championship.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 07/08/2017 20:59:16    2030606

Replying To Ah_Here:  "I thought Mayo would win by 4/5 if Rochford could match McStay tactically.
But i definitely didnt expect that.
Rossies just couldnt cope with Mayo's intensity/athleticism/pace.
I think some Rossies fan probably got a bit carried away after the Galway win.
Its a huge step up playing the seasoned teams in Croke Park. Mayo werent gonna give away a big lead today.
To be fair to the Rossies they are a decent young team with a large passionate support who if they could get a
few of the AWOLS back could kick on furthur. Still think McStay is the man to help ye progress. There is a great age profile on the team.

In terms of Mayo, when they play like that, running at teams, they are a match for anyone. Probably dont have the bench to compete
with Kerry/Dublin when the game is in the melting pot but we have an outside chance."
Good post.Tough day today but we'll stick with McStay.We do have a good age profile and I hope and think he'll build a serious team over the next few years.Best of luck against Kerry.I didn't think Kerry looked impressive against Galway but there's never anything easy against Kerry.Roscommon weren't at the required level at all today in terms of intensity/physicality and I doubt too much can be read in to today's game.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2155 - 07/08/2017 21:04:37    2030608

Replying To maroonkingdom:  "That just isn't true. The rossies were shocking today but they could easily beat Laois by double figures. Monaghan, Donegal, Galway and possibly Tipp would make up the 4 places. The league standings and form throughout the championship prove this. As for Laois, it's fair to say yee are miles behind the rest."
No way kicking Roscommon when they are down, they had a good year given absentees. But as i said in an earlier post, imagine being presented with your Connacht medal at a function in November/December? How would you feel about that medal and being Connacht champions? If i was a Roscommon player i'd feel it was tarnished and would want to get a crack at Mayo again, improve and feel it had some merit.

But could you confidently say in 2018 they'll definitely be better than these teams.. Cork, Meath, Down, Fermanagh, Armagh, Kildare, Clare, Derry, Westmeath, Cavan? Any game with Roscommon and these teams will be 50/50 or depend on what team has momentum. Since the Donegal team declined we have the big 4 that don't need to be mentioned.

The rest is up for grabs. When Tipperary got to an all-ireland semi a lot of teams around the country said right, why can't we?

You're really dying to have a cut off Laois?!

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 07/08/2017 21:11:11    2030612

Not looking to stir the pot but how many times have I heard the age profile line from Roscommon fans, their team is not better than any team of the last 10 years. One off results are grand but i don't see them doing anything in Croker over tj next few years. A few of them very ungracious today as well, shouting that we will do f all after today. Maybe we won't but at least we have done something of note outside of our province. The real games start in the quarters regardless of how you get there.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 07/08/2017 21:41:34    2030632

Replying To bulmccabe:  "its championship football and hurling. 1 chance 1 result. You win you go through, You lose you're gone. But it's the GAA all about the money and big vanity projects which are sitting idle most of the year."
After 16 years of the so called Qualifiers we are now left with a strong County in each province, something we had before the change was ever brought in! In tandem with this the lifeblood of the Club scene has been sucked dry, save for the very strong clubs in well populated areas. The next call will come from these strong clubs to have a group section for themselves. Its all about money, sadly, like so much else in life. It will be interesting to observe the priorities of the new CPA group.

Maggiepie (Sligo) - Posts: 230 - 07/08/2017 21:54:34    2030639

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Not looking to stir the pot but how many times have I heard the age profile line from Roscommon fans, their team is not better than any team of the last 10 years. One off results are grand but i don't see them doing anything in Croker over tj next few years. A few of them very ungracious today as well, shouting that we will do f all after today. Maybe we won't but at least we have done something of note outside of our province. The real games start in the quarters regardless of how you get there."
I totally agree The Flaker and we often differ on subjects. There is nothing to suggest Roscommon can bridge the gap to the top 4. Probably Donegal under new management are best placed.

For what it's worth Mayo were excellent today and are an equal of the other 'big 3'. As i mentioned in another thread this Mayo team is the best to never win an all-ireland. Unbelievable levels of heart, consistency, skill and great players. I hope they win the All-Ireland and won't be stuck with the 'moniker' of the best team never to win an AI. Fans from counties shouting you'll never do anything, no matter what county they come from, are both ignorant and begrudging.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 07/08/2017 21:57:38    2030643