Testimonials for individuals - in the GAA?

Replying To Laois76:  "True Gleebo you would expect something more for the players in comparison to what other interests gain, but not this amount. Proper expenses and renumeration. It's too much. Too mé féin.

And Declan O'Sullivan, the O'Sés, Donaghy, Galvin, etc would have put the same number of bums on seats for Kerry. Why should he be any more special than other players. There were a good 10 or 12 who were almost or as good as him."
But then, my question is: where do you draw the line? There are so many ex-players out there who have capitalised on what they've achieved in gaelic games through one means or another, whether it be through owning a pub, working in media, the after-dinner circuit or putting their names to some product or another. Several of these guys still play at club level and are thus still members of the GAA.

IMO the GAA was very naive if it thought it could allow some forms of endorsements (boot deals, advertising spots etc.) without it opening the door to this sort of thing somewhere down the line.

Personally, I'm not really against players making the most of any opportunities that come their way provided that: (a) you don't jump ship to another club/ county for private gain; (b) you remain an amateur; and (c) you don't charge for the likes of medal presentations, coaching underage sides or whatever.

Top-level GAA athletes are making serious sacrifices these days, to the point where for a lot of them, their chances of career progression are affected at their peak. It's all very fine and well saying it's their choice, but a lot of them face heavy pressure from inside their local communities not to let the county down, travel long distances to training etc.

I'm not really sure about the logic that administrators and managers should be getting paid but players can't organise a private function like this, if there are any takers for it.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 26/09/2017 15:09:48    2050686

Replying To Gleebo:  "But then, my question is: where do you draw the line? There are so many ex-players out there who have capitalised on what they've achieved in gaelic games through one means or another, whether it be through owning a pub, working in media, the after-dinner circuit or putting their names to some product or another. Several of these guys still play at club level and are thus still members of the GAA.

IMO the GAA was very naive if it thought it could allow some forms of endorsements (boot deals, advertising spots etc.) without it opening the door to this sort of thing somewhere down the line.

Personally, I'm not really against players making the most of any opportunities that come their way provided that: (a) you don't jump ship to another club/ county for private gain; (b) you remain an amateur; and (c) you don't charge for the likes of medal presentations, coaching underage sides or whatever.

Top-level GAA athletes are making serious sacrifices these days, to the point where for a lot of them, their chances of career progression are affected at their peak. It's all very fine and well saying it's their choice, but a lot of them face heavy pressure from inside their local communities not to let the county down, travel long distances to training etc.

I'm not really sure about the logic that administrators and managers should be getting paid but players can't organise a private function like this, if there are any takers for it."
There won't be many takers for functions like this if it becomes common place. If Donaghy, Darran O'Sullivan etc all decide that they want to go down this route i think the ordinary people of Kerry will soon tire of it, or in any county. It's a question of scale. It's one thing getting paid for various functions etc but getting up to 300K for a once off night.

Can he not write a book like all the other gaa stars!! He'd do well and at least he'd have put an effort into chronicling his career.

Counties and gaa clubs have enough work to keep themselves afloat without former county players all feeling entitled to 300K at the end of their careers. A range of amateur sports people across the board put in huge amounts of effort and receive little financial reward. What about all the county panel players from every county in both codes and you have over 1,000 players. If 500 feel entitled to a testimonial that's €150,000,000 from the general public!

Look at marathon runners, triathletes, those involved in cycling, athletics etc at amateur level they put in every bit as much effort or even more than county players and they get no recognition, punditry jobs, speaker events and so on. My cousin won Laois, Leinster and Irish cross country championships in the 1980s and ran 120 miles a week. Like many others... Why are county players to be put on a higher pedestal?

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 26/09/2017 15:54:49    2050700

Replying To subzero:  "Johnny could rephrase this "money HAS destroyed the game"."
Agreed.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 26/09/2017 21:24:19    2050821

Replying To Laois76:  "There won't be many takers for functions like this if it becomes common place. If Donaghy, Darran O'Sullivan etc all decide that they want to go down this route i think the ordinary people of Kerry will soon tire of it, or in any county. It's a question of scale. It's one thing getting paid for various functions etc but getting up to 300K for a once off night.

Can he not write a book like all the other gaa stars!! He'd do well and at least he'd have put an effort into chronicling his career.

Counties and gaa clubs have enough work to keep themselves afloat without former county players all feeling entitled to 300K at the end of their careers. A range of amateur sports people across the board put in huge amounts of effort and receive little financial reward. What about all the county panel players from every county in both codes and you have over 1,000 players. If 500 feel entitled to a testimonial that's €150,000,000 from the general public!

Look at marathon runners, triathletes, those involved in cycling, athletics etc at amateur level they put in every bit as much effort or even more than county players and they get no recognition, punditry jobs, speaker events and so on. My cousin won Laois, Leinster and Irish cross country championships in the 1980s and ran 120 miles a week. Like many others... Why are county players to be put on a higher pedestal?"
It's a question of what people are prepared to pay, like any private enterprise. If people are collectively prepared to fork over 300k to Gooch as opposed to Katie Taylor or whoever than good on him.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 26/09/2017 21:44:37    2050833

Replying To Wally:  "The GAA has absolutely no authority to do anything on this.

Colm is a free man, as is any other retired player in the future who wish to profit from their profile.

Personally I see absolutely nothing wrong with this and I guarantee that 99% of you if you were in the same position would do exactly the same thing.

If you could make 200-300k for hoisting one dinner would you honestly not avail of it???"
Can't agree with this. You say 99% of people would do this if in the same position, but not a single retired GAA player has ever done it until Cooper now. There are plenty high profile players who retired in the last 15 years like Padraic Joyce, Declan O'Sullivan, Alan Brogan, Peter Canavan, Dara and Tomás Ó Sé etc., who could've easily sold out tables for such an event, but didn't.
On a related issue, is it the case that because a portion of the proceeds are going to charity, that all money generated is tax free?

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2034 - 26/09/2017 22:46:30    2050851

A lot of ye that think Gooch is wrong don't seem to have any issue with the x players doing radio, TV, newspapers etc and making a few quid. This is just the same thing packaged differently. If ur against this then surely u should be against the others too??? Basically after dinner speaking.

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1826 - 27/09/2017 00:07:35    2050875

Replying To Sindar:  "But don't you think that "the few quid" undermines the entire amateur status of the game? And the money we're talking here can hardly be considered a "few quid" and certainly not in the realm of reasonable expenses which we know intercounty players (and many club players) get"
in what way does it undermine it compared to the fortunes involved with managers or the fortunes behind the likes of us, kerry, mayo, tipp hurlers, kilkenny hurlers etc?...cooper is retired so i dont see how it does to be honest

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 27/09/2017 02:22:28    2050887

Replying To MesAmis:  "This is a strange one.

On the one hand, who'd turn down the chance to make that type of money? No one will be forced to go and pay up and some charities will benefit too. So all in all what's the problem with Cooper reaping the benefits of all his sacrifice and effort over the years?

The argument is that he has already benefited monetarily from all his hard work and sacrifice through a lot of endorsements during his career, he now has two supplementary jobs (column in the paper and Sunday Game gig) on top of his day job (which I'm sure his profile didn't harm him in getting) which he got on the back of his football career. He also has a book coming out soon which will make him another few bob.

So his column in the paper, Sunday Game gig, autobiography and those endorsements weren't enough for him. It looks kinda greedy in that sense especially when you consider the players he played with didn't get half the endorsements he got during their playing days and won't get a send off like this.

It certainly jars a little and sits a little uneasily. Nothing should take away from the supreme talent the man had but this leaves a little dent in his legacy for me."
dent in his legacy?..sounds like a reach

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 27/09/2017 02:23:28    2050888

Replying To Mayonman:  "A lot of ye that think Gooch is wrong don't seem to have any issue with the x players doing radio, TV, newspapers etc and making a few quid. This is just the same thing packaged differently. If ur against this then surely u should be against the others too??? Basically after dinner speaking."
Not even close to being the same thing. Doing punditry, radio gigs etc. are paid jobs. This is him hosting a dinner in honour of himself and charging people a fortune just to be there.

GaaGaa78 (UK) - Posts: 285 - 27/09/2017 09:03:41    2050912

Replying To Mayonman:  "A lot of ye that think Gooch is wrong don't seem to have any issue with the x players doing radio, TV, newspapers etc and making a few quid. This is just the same thing packaged differently. If ur against this then surely u should be against the others too??? Basically after dinner speaking."
It's not the same. There's one major difference between this and players doing activities for sponsors. Players are approached by sponsors, media outlets, events etc. That's essentially a benefit that comes with having a high and positive profile. Companies want to be associated with you.
This on the other hand is a 'testimonial' dinner created himself by Cooper, with the main purpose of generating a serious amount of money from himself. As I already said, he's more than entitled to do it, but people are also entitled to question if it goes against the ethos of the GAA.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2034 - 27/09/2017 09:21:05    2050913

dent in his legacy?..sounds like a reach
alano12 (Dublin) - Posts:2003 - 27/09/2017 02:23:28

Maybe not phrased correctly.

He's entitled to do it and best of luck to him with it.

However I don't think it is outlandish to think that this will colour people's thinking about him from now on as it can be viewed as being a little greedy.

It doesn't dent his legacy in terms of his playing ability at all but it will affect how people remember him in general. It won't affect everyone but a lot of people will have a different outlook on him following this I think.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13704 - 27/09/2017 10:34:12    2050935

Replying To WanPintWin:  "Can't agree with this. You say 99% of people would do this if in the same position, but not a single retired GAA player has ever done it until Cooper now. There are plenty high profile players who retired in the last 15 years like Padraic Joyce, Declan O'Sullivan, Alan Brogan, Peter Canavan, Dara and Tomás Ó Sé etc., who could've easily sold out tables for such an event, but didn't.
On a related issue, is it the case that because a portion of the proceeds are going to charity, that all money generated is tax free?"
I wasn't really aiming this question at other retired players.

I mainly meant other posters on here.

Ask yourselves honestly, if you could pocket 200-300k just by hosting a dinner would you not do it?

I just can't stand the PC brigade feigning condemnation for things like this, when you know rightly that your own moral compass is not as straight as you would lead everyone to believe on this anonymous public forum.

As regards to other retired players, this could very well be the drop of rain that started a flood. Players from other generations may not have thought of this and are probably kicking themselves now. I can see a host of future players doing something similar in furture though.

Also it has to be stated that not every player will be able to do this, the player has be be very high profile with a long and distinguished career for example Sean Cavanagh, Bernard Brogan, Henry Shefflin.

Wally (Tyrone) - Posts: 912 - 27/09/2017 10:56:49    2050951

I just can't stand the PC brigade feigning condemnation for things like this, when you know rightly that your own moral compass is not as straight as you would lead everyone to believe on this anonymous public forum.

Wally (Tyrone) - Posts:318 - 27/09/2017 10:56:49

Those damn PC Liberals at it again! A spell in the army would do them good!

That phrase 'PC Briagde' has become meaningless.

Gooch's testimonial dinner has nothing to do with Political Correctness, whether it be gone mad or otherwise.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13704 - 27/09/2017 11:12:42    2050954

That phrase 'PC Briagde' has become meaningless.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts:11259 - 27/09/2017

Typical snowflake...

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 27/09/2017 11:47:48    2050961

Typical snowflake...

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts:3457 - 27/09/2017 11:47:48

I've been triggered now………ha!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13704 - 27/09/2017 11:53:37    2050964

Replying To Wally:  "I wasn't really aiming this question at other retired players.

Ask yourselves honestly, if you could pocket 200-300k just by hosting a dinner would you not do it?

As regards to other retired players, this could very well be the drop of rain that started a flood. Players from other generations may not have thought of this and are probably kicking themselves now. I can see a host of future players doing something similar in furture though.

Also it has to be stated that not every player will be able to do this, the player has be be very high profile with a long and distinguished career for example Sean Cavanagh, Bernard Brogan, Henry Shefflin."
I'm not sure what exactly PC or otherwise has to do with this. There's no fake outrage over this (apart from perhaps Brolly, who nobody should take seriously). I'm basically stating that people are entitled to question if it's at odds with the ethos of the GAA. Nobody's having conniptions over it, just debating how it appears.
You stated that most people would, but the only people we can judge on this are those who would've been in the position to do so. And so far, none of them have, until Cooper. As you said, maybe they didn't think of it, or perhaps some wouldn't feel comfortable with doing it.
What we do know for sure though is that Cooper is the only player to organise something like this. As I mentioned, there are many over the past number of years who would've had the opportunity to do the same.
As we all know, the GAA isn't simply a sporting organisation and as a result certain standards are applied. This one blurs the line in my opinion.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2034 - 27/09/2017 11:54:29    2050965

so saint joe and company maybe should forgo the fees they get from rte?give it to charity? joes a big time barrister surely he doesnt need the money? gooch works in the bank? hardly comparable salarys.? and the thing about his team mates and coaching is total rubbish. every man or woman that ever got to the top of their profession started being coached at a low level and played with teammates..theres middle of the road irish soccer players in england getting 10k a week playing soccer. robbie keane got huge money in usa playing beside lads on 800 dollars a week.its supply and demand.ronaldo and gareth bale are on fortunes a week. and when they play with their contrys they play with lads on low money.. the gooch has entertained us and given his life to kerry and the gaa for 20 years as one of the best corner forwards we,ve ever seen. whatever he makes out of it isnt enough in my opinion..

kavvie (Clare) - Posts: 505 - 27/09/2017 12:38:58    2050980

Replying To Wally:  "I wasn't really aiming this question at other retired players.

Also it has to be stated that not every player will be able to do this, the player has be be very high profile with a long and distinguished career for example Sean Cavanagh, Bernard Brogan, Henry Shefflin."
I would 100% do it.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4207 - 27/09/2017 13:44:03    2051012

Replying To Laois76:  "There won't be many takers for functions like this if it becomes common place. If Donaghy, Darran O'Sullivan etc all decide that they want to go down this route i think the ordinary people of Kerry will soon tire of it, or in any county. It's a question of scale. It's one thing getting paid for various functions etc but getting up to 300K for a once off night.

Look at marathon runners, triathletes, those involved in cycling, athletics etc at amateur level they put in every bit as much effort or even more than county players and they get no recognition, punditry jobs, speaker events and so on. My cousin won Laois, Leinster and Irish cross country championships in the 1980s and ran 120 miles a week. Like many others... Why are county players to be put on a higher pedestal?"
Are you Jerry kiernan in disguise?

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 27/09/2017 13:53:29    2051016

The whole thing is very grubby. As your mother would say, "I'm not angry, just disappointed".

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 27/09/2017 14:48:36    2051041