Tipperary v Armagh

Replying To sam2008:  "Fantastic win for Armagh! The Championship is all the better with Armagh doing well!"
Totally agree. Have to admit that I didn't see this win coming, but yet another win on the road for an Ulster team. Great weekend again for Ulster football. Hope we'll get a good Ulster final tomorrow.

2setsofrules (Down) - Posts: 99 - 15/07/2017 21:50:10    2017174

A frustrating season with key men injured or suspended. The win over Cavan last week gives us something to build on for next year. Hopefully we will come back with a bang, Maloney and Kennedy had good seasons for rookies.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 15/07/2017 21:58:38    2017184

I thought the SKY commentary team and pundits were going to call for a National Day of Mourning because Tipperary lost.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9697 - 15/07/2017 22:06:27    2017190

Tipp ran out of steam. They have some very good footballers who can take their scores but they are still lacking awareness in defence and need to be more organised there. Having said that this Tipp management team have worked wonders and are an example to other so-called 'lesser' counties.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9697 - 15/07/2017 22:31:17    2017201

Replying To Ulsterman:  "I thought the SKY commentary team and pundits were going to call for a National Day of Mourning because Tipperary lost."
Bizarre comment.

Wild Pundit and myself have come on here and congratulated Armagh on their win. They were the better gem today.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 15/07/2017 22:36:12    2017204

Replying To Killarney.87:  "Bizarre comment.

Wild Pundit and myself have come on here and congratulated Armagh on their win. They were the better gem today."
I know, I haven't criticised Tipp fans who have been very gracious in defeat. SKY on the other hand were not impressed with the refereeing decisions in my opinion.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9697 - 15/07/2017 22:49:35    2017210

Superb goal by Clarke btw. Showed his soccer skills and class with that slick finish.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 15/07/2017 22:50:56    2017211

Replying To Ulsterman:  "I thought the SKY commentary team and pundits were going to call for a National Day of Mourning because Tipperary lost."
Maybe they will miss the exciting brand of football we played the last 18 months!!! Even though today Armagh shut us down and kept our main scoring power out of the game effectively won it I think we'll be missed in the championship!!! In fairness though your next comment was a good come back. Fair play Ulsterman your a good poster you call it as you see it.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 15/07/2017 22:57:48    2017217

Well done Armagh. Seems Kearns whining about referees did not work this time!!

LaLu (Louth) - Posts: 233 - 15/07/2017 23:10:20    2017224

Replying To WildPundit:  "Maybe they will miss the exciting brand of football we played the last 18 months!!! Even though today Armagh shut us down and kept our main scoring power out of the game effectively won it I think we'll be missed in the championship!!! In fairness though your next comment was a good come back. Fair play Ulsterman your a good poster you call it as you see it."
I call it as I see it. Tipperary seem to have a thriving football community and play without any real fear or negative plan (I hope that doesn't sound patronising as it's not meant to). They can also physically match their opponents and gave Armagh as good as they got in that regard. Maybe the humid, clammy conditions zapped their energy at the end as they looked tired and a bit unfocused. Armagh sensed that and drove on to victory. Some referring calls were indeed poor but that applied to both teams though Tipp may disagree. Division 2 will only bring them on further. Good Luck.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9697 - 15/07/2017 23:15:32    2017227

Replying To Ulsterman:  "I know, I haven't criticised Tipp fans who have been very gracious in defeat. SKY on the other hand were not impressed with the refereeing decisions in my opinion."
I don't think anyone was, including Armagh fans. His performance was woeful. These referees on ego trips are ruining games. One of them will have a howler in August or September. I don't see any improvement in the standard of football refereeing over the last 10 years. The standard of athleticism of the teams is increasing all the time so the gap is rising between where refereeing standards are and where they should be.

If I could solve one thing in the GAA it would be to improve the standard of referees.

His performance shouldn't be swept under the carpet Just because the better team won today.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 15/07/2017 23:54:36    2017247

Replying To Ulsterman:  "I call it as I see it. Tipperary seem to have a thriving football community and play without any real fear or negative plan (I hope that doesn't sound patronising as it's not meant to). They can also physically match their opponents and gave Armagh as good as they got in that regard. Maybe the humid, clammy conditions zapped their energy at the end as they looked tired and a bit unfocused. Armagh sensed that and drove on to victory. Some referring calls were indeed poor but that applied to both teams though Tipp may disagree. Division 2 will only bring them on further. Good Luck."
I don't think the referee favoured one team over the other. I think he was terrible though. The worst refereeing performance I have seen since Sludden.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 16/07/2017 00:03:56    2017251

Hard luck to tipp and congratulations to Armagh today.

Was down the local tonight in the Kerry mountains just home now and so disappointed for tipp , if you were in our pub this evening you would have thought you were in slive le mon pardon my spelling tipp lads,

Our bar was full of dubs and northern people tonight but everyone was shouting for tipp.

Hopefully ye can keep yer team together and get lads back from injury and from abroad and ye will push on next year .

Best of luck to Armagh in the next round, ye aren't what ye were 10/14 years ago but ye are not far away and with mcgeany st the helm ye'l be back soon with gods help.

Great memories of of Armagh city in 09 and 10.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 16/07/2017 02:09:28    2017291

No problem with the result but the refs performance should be looked at. Never seen anything like it before and it was the same for both sides.

therealtmo (Tipperary) - Posts: 1292 - 16/07/2017 09:30:28    2017320

Replying To LaLu:  "Well done Armagh. Seems Kearns whining about referees did not work this time!!"
I think Lula would be more appropriate for you mate.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 16/07/2017 10:34:23    2017349

Delighted with the win... we should have had a goal in the first half - poor refereeing... but I fully understand Tipp's frustration - the referee didn't give advantage on two occasions when Tipp were going forward for goal..

We have had alot of issues with this referee since the NFL game v Sligo and it should be about the 2 teams not the referee

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1671 - 16/07/2017 10:35:22    2017350

Replying To cuchulainn35:  "Delighted with the win... we should have had a goal in the first half - poor refereeing... but I fully understand Tipp's frustration - the referee didn't give advantage on two occasions when Tipp were going forward for goal..

We have had alot of issues with this referee since the NFL game v Sligo and it should be about the 2 teams not the referee"

JimmyDoyle (Tipperary) - Posts: 6 - 16/07/2017 11:18:39    2017367

I really thought this was a great game, really enjoyable. The ref had a mare, didn't seem to know what the advantage rule is for. Tipp were very unlucky, played really well but seemed to run out of steam in the last 15 minutes. Josh Keane is a terrific player.

Armagh are really building momentum and have realky improved since their defeat to Down. Grimley and Forker were terrific for them. They have a nice blend between defence and attack and could be handful for any team. Just one negative for Armagh is that they give away too many scorable frees, I think they are too eager to put the hand in when tackling, if they can improve on this they can improve even more.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1873 - 16/07/2017 12:13:03    2017386

Replying To cuchulainn35:  "Delighted with the win... we should have had a goal in the first half - poor refereeing... but I fully understand Tipp's frustration - the referee didn't give advantage on two occasions when Tipp were going forward for goal..

We have had alot of issues with this referee since the NFL game v Sligo and it should be about the 2 teams not the referee"
He has son back catalogue of horrendous performances. The Sligo fans said it wasn't a penalty after that league game.

As Rory O'Connor of Rory's Sories said, you would put him in charge of an U-12 blitz.

It's not good enough, he spoiled the game. The pundits criticised both teams for a lack of tempo but how do you build tempo with that sort of officiating. There is a fine bunch of egotistical referees in Gaelic Football at the minute.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 16/07/2017 14:12:22    2017422

I felt even after the first half that Armagh just looked to have the better class of player. After the Tipp goal, Armagh responded really well and Tipp seemed to try and contain rather than push on. The athletic ability of Grimley & Sheridan really made a huge difference in the last 15 minutes and it looks like Armagh are a well conditioned team with very good forwards that can cause damage to any team (well, maybe Dublin apart). I thought the brand of football played by both teams was very fresh - not the every man behind the ball tactic of Tyrone. Now, i couldn't watch that crap every week. Geezer was near hounded out of Armagh as he tried to deploy those tactics 2 years ago; Tyrone have it mastered though. I'm delighted we got Kildare - it will not be easy at all but at least football will be played.

DooReg (Armagh) - Posts: 33 - 17/07/2017 13:30:07    2018106