Davy Fitz

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "So happy to see other counties try and defend his antics. The truth however, is that it is indefensible.

Your mitigating circumstances are not worth anything. Forde was right as Davy should not be on the pitch. At least it is elsewhere he is doing this now. The next step for Davy is to create a seige mentality. People will slowly then forget about Wexford the underdog and will think of Wexford negitively.

True it is great TV but you cannot in any way shape or form defend his actions yesterday."
Spot on

Take the 1-2 match ban,

It's deserved,

Move on.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 18/04/2017 15:33:35    1980479

Ohh Davy broke the rules "oh my god wont somebody please think of the children?"" i mean what if a melee broke out, someone could lose an eye!

Ah here lads have we become that sanitised? Honestly its like an ICA discussions party on here reading some of the posts, auld women at bingo wouldnt go on as much!

He was wrong, he'll get punished and we move on.

No one died, no one got injured. the match was a cracking match and Davy added to it.

The GAA was built on characters, the way some of ye are going on ye want some sanitised cricket like version of the game, no controversy, managers must not step outside of a predetermined square on the sideline, all interviews must contain the same rhetoric and soundbites, any semblence of individuality or any person allowing themselves to get caught up in the game and step over the line (figuratively speaking) must be stamped out and banned, banned to all eternity!

He'll get his 1 game or 2 game ban and we will all move on and look forward to the summer, the rules are there and he will get punished as per those rules.

Now i must pop up to visit my local pp and ask him to say a mass for both Jason Forde and Diarmuid Kirwan, i mean the vicious assault they suffered on Sunday must be causing them sleepless nights still, damn that Davy Fitz, sure hes an awful man altogether, a scourge!

Never change Davy, the world is becoming so god damn PC these days people like ye area a rarity.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1336 - 18/04/2017 17:44:29    1980533

Replying To Pinkie:  "Pantomime villain or not, what happened on Sunday was a terrible example of what is wrong in GAA in terms of attitude to the referee. The decision was wrong, indeed. Tipp got a goal, indeed. But Davy Fitz should not be out on the field roaring at the referee.
I found the behaviour humiliating, and the reaction "oh he's passionate" does not float. I am 50000% more passionate about Wexford hurling than he ever will be, should I have ran out at the ref also?
If there is one culture which needs to change in GAA, it is this "call the ref what you want" attitude. We will never get better ones until we respect them."
Spot on no respect for refs, just look at the rugby. Why can't we have a TMO in GAA. Sunday is a huge example that we need a TMO. Ref could of simply asked is there any reason why I can't award that goal ? Was there a foul in the lead up to the goal ? 30 seconds is all it would of took instead the game was stopped for nearly two minutes to stop the pushing and shoving and to get Davy off field.

therealtmo (Tipperary) - Posts: 1292 - 18/04/2017 18:23:17    1980539

Replying To tearintom:  "Ohh Davy broke the rules "oh my god wont somebody please think of the children?"" i mean what if a melee broke out, someone could lose an eye!

Ah here lads have we become that sanitised? Honestly its like an ICA discussions party on here reading some of the posts, auld women at bingo wouldnt go on as much!

No one died, no one got injured. the match was a cracking match and Davy added to it.

The GAA was built on characters, the way some of ye are going on ye want some sanitised cricket like version of the game, no controversy, managers must not step outside of a predetermined square on the sideline, all interviews must contain the same rhetoric and soundbites, any semblence of individuality or any person allowing themselves to get caught up in the game and step over the line (figuratively speaking) must be stamped out and banned, banned to all eternity!

He'll get his 1 game or 2 game ban and we will all move on and look forward to the summer, the rules are there and he will get punished as per those rules.

Now i must pop up to visit my local pp and ask him to say a mass for both Jason Forde and Diarmuid Kirwan, i mean the vicious assault they suffered on Sunday must be causing them sleepless nights still, damn that Davy Fitz, sure hes an awful man altogether, a scourge!

Never change Davy, the world is becoming so god damn PC these days people like ye area a rarity."
Totally agree my own club has been infested with the GAA police when did it become a national pastime of ours to burrow up our own arses , become high and mighty and feel free to tell everyone how to live their lives , thought Redmond Barry was spot on when he said hated it when he was doing that crap with Waterford and Clare now he's with Wexford Love it? Similar the reaction to Joe Brollys comments on the Gooch you'd swear to Jesus Joe had carried out an atrocity of unimaginable proportions , so what that 99% of the population disagreed with him re Gooch , big deal people need to relax the kax a little

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 18/04/2017 18:55:19    1980549

Unfortunately it is swings and roundabouts when it comes to poor refereeing. Wexford benefitted from equally bad decisions in their first league game this year in Wexford Park. DF was happy to take the win which they may or may not have got anyway. A lot of Limerick posters went over the top with their whinging afterwards but on the day the Limerick mentors did not lose control of themselves or invade the pitch in a staged attempt to bully the ref and get a reaction from their players. As someone said earlier when it was happening in Clare or Waterford I am sure not too many Wexford supporters were making excuses for this infantile behaviour.

Westfester (Limerick) - Posts: 943 - 18/04/2017 23:44:56    1980636

Replying To tearintom:  "Ohh Davy broke the rules "oh my god wont somebody please think of the children?"" i mean what if a melee broke out, someone could lose an eye!

Never change Davy, the world is becoming so god damn PC these days people like ye area a rarity."
Bull.

You would tear him apart if he was not the Wexford manager. I know first hand as I tried to defend the indefensible myself when he was over Clare. The truth is though he is embarrassing.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2479 - 19/04/2017 01:28:03    1980644

Kirwan is a woeful referee, we all know that.

It's up to the GAA hierarchy to suspend Davy.

Look, it was probably a free out for Noel's first goal but it doesn't excuse Davy's behaviour.

The reason he gets away with his passionate outbursts is because bad referees like Kirwan don't deal with the situation when it happens.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 19/04/2017 03:59:30    1980649

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Bull.

You would tear him apart if he was not the Wexford manager. I know first hand as I tried to defend the indefensible myself when he was over Clare. The truth is though he is embarrassing."
Good Post tearintom Davy was wrong but he showed up for his team Wexford somewhat downtrodden in hurling terms for a while now a decent team.

All Managers have a word with linesmen ect even Brian Cody, Davy cute enough match bans will only add to hype
Its great for hurling to have Wexford buzzing again

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 887 - 19/04/2017 10:10:48    1980685

In every team theres a player that you know deep down in your soul if he played for anyone else hed be easy to dislike, but as hes YOUR player you put that thought away in a dark place and defend him regardless , Davy is no different Wexford lads love that he has re-energised a county that was dying on its feet , to non Wexford peeps hes the other side of marmite.

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 19/04/2017 10:24:44    1980689

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Bull.

You would tear him apart if he was not the Wexford manager. I know first hand as I tried to defend the indefensible myself when he was over Clare. The truth is though he is embarrassing."
Go away out of that, your like auld women giving out.

I mean in the thread alone we have had a comment that his actions could have led to a mass brawl in the stands amongst the supporters! I mean in all fairness. Honestly the only thing embarrassing is the "holier than thou" social media like fawning outrage about the whole thing, What have we become?

Im half expecting a facebook campaign for a long term ban to be started any day now.

I never had any issue with Davy even when he was over Waterford and Clare, (apart from the issue of the 2 lads being thrown off the panel for being in a pub which i completely disagreed with) always rated him as a top manager, yes he loses the cool and steps over the line, so what.

People would want lighten up a bit and live a little, no one died or got injured and he will be dealt with as per the rules of the game and thankfully with the grace of god there was no mass brawl in the stands either!!!!

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1336 - 19/04/2017 10:35:38    1980693

H'on Davy. H'on Wexford! We'll take another scalp before the year is over!

james2011 (Wexford) - Posts: 602 - 19/04/2017 10:50:24    1980700

Day is a great motivator and a shrewd manager.......let the GAA give him due process, if he is punished so be it, he will not complain.

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1669 - 19/04/2017 10:57:11    1980704

There was no mass brawl in the stands, but the vitriol being thrown towards Davy was not on either. There were plenty of kids in the firing line of Davy being called some of what he was being called.
Westfester, there was plenty of complaining by Limerick that day, and your manager after, and your posters on here, much more than there is by Wexford and the ball ended up in the back of our net.
Can people not accept that the referee is human any longer? It was a poor decision by the referee, but an equally poor passage of play by Wexford in the first place. Should Davy not have went screaming at the players too over their mistake?
I disliked Davy when he was doing this with Clare, and I really hope I am not seeing the start of such shenanigans with Wexford. I thought throughout the league he was excellent on the line, so he was.

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 19/04/2017 11:12:45    1980710

As a poster said on our page davy ,jason forde and the referee we're all in the wrong and should be dealt with and everyone should move on.simple as that

However I must say reading daithi regans comments and Sean moran in the Irish times that I get a sense that certain people are nearly happy and are licking there lips at davys 1st high profile incident as wexford manager as it's there 1st opportunity to have a pop at him

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 19/04/2017 16:27:43    1980846

Replying To wexico15:  "As a poster said on our page davy ,jason forde and the referee we're all in the wrong and should be dealt with and everyone should move on.simple as that

However I must say reading daithi regans comments and Sean moran in the Irish times that I get a sense that certain people are nearly happy and are licking there lips at davys 1st high profile incident as wexford manager as it's there 1st opportunity to have a pop at him"
1st opportunity as Wexford manager alright, but how many instances of this have we seen before?

Of course they were licking their lips as this childish behavior by Fitz gives them a platform in the public arena. Davy has no one to blame but himself and in truth needs a long ban to wake up to is antics.

I am not a fan of Daithi O Regan but his comments were accurate. Davy going on the pitch had nothing to do with giving his team a lift it was a reaction from him at the time and showed his inability to control his emotions. Saying afterwards that it was to give his team a lift was an excuse.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2479 - 20/04/2017 02:11:10    1980990

Replying To tearintom:  "Go away out of that, your like auld women giving out.

I mean in the thread alone we have had a comment that his actions could have led to a mass brawl in the stands amongst the supporters! I mean in all fairness. Honestly the only thing embarrassing is the "holier than thou" social media like fawning outrage about the whole thing, What have we become?

Im half expecting a facebook campaign for a long term ban to be started any day now.

I never had any issue with Davy even when he was over Waterford and Clare, (apart from the issue of the 2 lads being thrown off the panel for being in a pub which i completely disagreed with) always rated him as a top manager, yes he loses the cool and steps over the line, so what.

People would want lighten up a bit and live a little, no one died or got injured and he will be dealt with as per the rules of the game and thankfully with the grace of god there was no mass brawl in the stands either!!!!"
Forget all that crap about a brawl in the stands. What you should be more concerned with is the public reaction to Wexford and the referees reaction to Wexford. Like it or not his behavior will cost Wexford in the long run with referees more and more reluctant to give ye the benefit of doubt in decisions. This is exactly what happened Clare.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2479 - 20/04/2017 02:25:52    1980992

Replying To wexico15:  "As a poster said on our page davy ,jason forde and the referee we're all in the wrong and should be dealt with and everyone should move on.simple as that

However I must say reading daithi regans comments and Sean moran in the Irish times that I get a sense that certain people are nearly happy and are licking there lips at davys 1st high profile incident as wexford manager as it's there 1st opportunity to have a pop at him"
Yeah, they are queuing up to bury Davy.

Kirwan was woeful as usual. Callanan's thumb was broken after a wild challenge and no yellow card. He booked players for nothing.

If Forde is suspended for the final we'll be without two players because of inept refereeing. Thankfully for us Breen and Bubbles will happily step in.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 20/04/2017 05:29:19    1981012

Replying To Killarney.87:  "Yeah, they are queuing up to bury Davy.

Kirwan was woeful as usual. Callanan's thumb was broken after a wild challenge and no yellow card. He booked players for nothing.

If Forde is suspended for the final we'll be without two players because of inept refereeing. Thankfully for us Breen and Bubbles will happily step in."
Why should Forde be suspended did Davy not try pull the helmet off him he didn't even react. Davy should have been landed on his back he didn't complain with some of the descissions they got in the quarter final.

johnwhite12 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 306 - 20/04/2017 10:12:48    1981042

Replying To johnwhite12:  "Why should Forde be suspended did Davy not try pull the helmet off him he didn't even react. Davy should have been landed on his back he didn't complain with some of the descissions they got in the quarter final."
Total agree with ya. Anybody who shouldnt be on the field deserves to be put on their hole.
I reckon Forde will regret not doing that if the rumours of him going to pick up a two match ban are true.

Joe_Bloggs (Tipperary) - Posts: 186 - 20/04/2017 10:34:13    1981049

Replying To johnwhite12:  "Why should Forde be suspended did Davy not try pull the helmet off him he didn't even react. Davy should have been landed on his back he didn't complain with some of the descissions they got in the quarter final."
Nobody made forde run from 20 metres away to square up to davy,he was foolish and should have not got himself involved in the situation.

Anyway looks like davy in getting punished as expected and we can't really complain

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 20/04/2017 11:00:20    1981054