Galway v Waterford Final

What a day for Galway. The scenes after were incredible. Not one Galway fan left after the final whistle and a lot of the waterford fans stayed for the presentation. I had tears in my eyes when the final whistle blew. reminds me of 98 when Sam came west after 32 years. Well done to the players and management. They've made our beautiful county very proud

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 04/09/2017 13:21:31    2042536

Replying To galwayfball:  "What a day for Galway. The scenes after were incredible. Not one Galway fan left after the final whistle and a lot of the waterford fans stayed for the presentation. I had tears in my eyes when the final whistle blew. reminds me of 98 when Sam came west after 32 years. Well done to the players and management. They've made our beautiful county very proud"
Don't mention 98!!! Yeah thoroughly enjoyable game of hurling. The tackling was ferocious. Congrats to Galway, most consistent team this year. Comiseriations to the Deise, died with their boots.
Lovely touch by David Burke in his speech to remember both Tony Keady and Niall Donoghue.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1898 - 04/09/2017 13:30:14    2042539

Don't be too hard on Austin Gleeson after yesterday. For all we know he might have been carrying a knock into the game. I noticed when he was in the line up to meet Michael D he had a finger strapped up.

He does take on too much responsibility at times but he will learn and mature into one of the all time greats.

Jamie Barron had a flu too that was kept under wraps and only came out after the game.

So for all we know other players on both teams may have been carrying knocks too.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 04/09/2017 13:46:49    2042544

Replying To maroondiesel:  "brilliant Galway, they join Cork as the only county to have a Sam and a Liam in this century, what an achievement, hope to see Waterford back to seal the deal in future."
oh wow thats right, spot on, lets be gracious now

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1667 - 04/09/2017 13:56:48    2042549

Replying To Bon:  "Don't mention 98!!! Yeah thoroughly enjoyable game of hurling. The tackling was ferocious. Congrats to Galway, most consistent team this year. Comiseriations to the Deise, died with their boots.
Lovely touch by David Burke in his speech to remember both Tony Keady and Niall Donoghue."
was particularly delighted to see him mention niall donoghue.mental health is something which needs to be talked about more.we had it in wexford recently where a young hurler took his own life.it is important to talk.
well done galway.hope we can see brick back next year.

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 04/09/2017 14:01:21    2042553

Replying To jimbodub:  "Huge congrats to Galway!

Deserved win, and I've been onto my Galway cousins who are of course over the moon. Happy for them and for GAA in Galway who have produced many great underage teams in both codes during their hurling famine

This is a richly deserved title to a great GAA county

My heart goes out to Waterford and this is a young enough team and I'd like nothing more to see them win it next

Chin up. You played very well but Galway were just that extra 5% better

Enjoy your celebrations Galway posters"
Galway were significantly more than 5% better, Jimbo.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 04/09/2017 18:48:08    2042677

David Burke is very grounded and thoughtful in the interviews he has given since yesterday's match.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 04/09/2017 18:49:05    2042679

Replying To clondalkindub:  "For me the big turning point was when Waterford were a point up and Kevin Moran got a ball in oceans of space he'd only one man to beat and he was in on goal and Moran has pace to burn so he surely would of fancied himself beating that last Galway defender but maybe he was too tired and instead went for an easy point that he hit wide , massive turning point in the game imo. Now Galway were the better team and dererved their win but a goal there could of changed everything."
You are a 100% Correct. Not only was that miss a deflation for Waterford, it was a Tonic for Galway. Galway was soon ahead again and never looked back. I still believe Galway were the better team and if they had not conceded two Goals (ONE VERY EASILY) the contest would have been over way sooner. Galway had the backs to neutralize Gleeson who Waterford depended on to raise their spirits. Galway had to lose a good few to win this one and Waterford will learn from it

SAMMYTHEBULL (Galway) - Posts: 1646 - 04/09/2017 18:49:47    2042680

Great today that Joe Canning as an All-Ireland senior county medal. After 2015 i didn't think he'd get it. He's had a great steady year.

I hope Brick stays on for Waterford. 34 isn't ancient and he's playing well. George O'Connor played midfield for Wexford in 1996 against Limerick a week shy of 37. I think Frank Cummins of Kilkenny was a similar age in 1983.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 04/09/2017 21:22:30    2042739

Replying To Laois76:  "Great today that Joe Canning as an All-Ireland senior county medal. After 2015 i didn't think he'd get it. He's had a great steady year.

I hope Brick stays on for Waterford. 34 isn't ancient and he's playing well. George O'Connor played midfield for Wexford in 1996 against Limerick a week shy of 37. I think Frank Cummins of Kilkenny was a similar age in 1983."
It is a very different game now though. 37 is ancient for inter county hurling now.

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 04/09/2017 21:31:56    2042744

A deserved win for Galway and congratulations to all the team and yet Waterford were not far behind... Galway showed great determination in closing down the Waterford backs and putting them under huge pressure in the second half and limiting their clearances which helped starve their forwards of the quality ball that they have managed to get in previous games this year. Great credit is due to Galway management and their tactics which worked very well.
I think that too many might be tempted to point the finger at Waterford players and say they did not do this and that... a natural response but I think that Waterford are not far away from an All Ireland ... their system worked very well in the first half after the blistering opening set of points registered by Galway. Credit to Waterford for catching up with Galway and fighting their way back to even leading in the second half. Some great battles, some great skill and some great scores and incredible emotion.
Fantastic speech, great scenes of utter jubilation in the stands and on the pitch, a great day for Galway, utter heartbreak for Waterford but I hope the entire Waterford team stay together and come back next year again. Well done Galway and well done to Waterford as well. Great personal touches from all the players after the game. McGrath shook every Galway players hand. Canning with the Keady's. Inspirational stuff. Keeps us grounded as well. A great end to a great year of hurling.

carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1820 - 04/09/2017 21:45:51    2042757

Replying To Pinkie:  "It is a very different game now though. 37 is ancient for inter county hurling now."
That always comes up Pinkie but you have plenty of sports stars in their mid to late 30s in sport to this day. Tony Browne played at 40 in 2013. Donnacha O'Connor Cork football, 36. Eamonn O'Hara 37 in 2013. Ryan Giggs 41 up to a few years ago, Tom Brady 40 in American Football.

If Brick was as good as he was this year at 34 why can't he get another 1 or 2 more years out of it? No reason with proper training. He was more invaluable to Waterford yesterday than 22 year old Ozzie.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 04/09/2017 21:54:18    2042768

Replying To carlowman:  "A deserved win for Galway and congratulations to all the team and yet Waterford were not far behind... Galway showed great determination in closing down the Waterford backs and putting them under huge pressure in the second half and limiting their clearances which helped starve their forwards of the quality ball that they have managed to get in previous games this year. Great credit is due to Galway management and their tactics which worked very well.
I think that too many might be tempted to point the finger at Waterford players and say they did not do this and that... a natural response but I think that Waterford are not far away from an All Ireland ... their system worked very well in the first half after the blistering opening set of points registered by Galway. Credit to Waterford for catching up with Galway and fighting their way back to even leading in the second half. Some great battles, some great skill and some great scores and incredible emotion.
Fantastic speech, great scenes of utter jubilation in the stands and on the pitch, a great day for Galway, utter heartbreak for Waterford but I hope the entire Waterford team stay together and come back next year again. Well done Galway and well done to Waterford as well. Great personal touches from all the players after the game. McGrath shook every Galway players hand. Canning with the Keady's. Inspirational stuff. Keeps us grounded as well. A great end to a great year of hurling."
Great post Carlowman!

You summed it all up very well. The emotion of yesterday stuck out for me more than anything. And a tension both teams knowing they had a great chance.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 04/09/2017 21:56:41    2042772

Replying To galwayfball:  "What a day for Galway. The scenes after were incredible. Not one Galway fan left after the final whistle and a lot of the waterford fans stayed for the presentation. I had tears in my eyes when the final whistle blew. reminds me of 98 when Sam came west after 32 years. Well done to the players and management. They've made our beautiful county very proud"
as a neutral, I was hoping for Waterford, but was equally delighted for Galway...Waterford had some massive teams over the last 20 years and through one thing and another (all the replays against Cork a few years back for example) they were woefully unlucky not to win an all Ireland, and not winning in so long, most were rooting for them as opposed to Galways 29 year wait. For the second time Waterford made it to final, whether it was nerves or what, or maybe the showery conditions on Sunday but Watefords first touch was terrible on Sunday compared to all year..they also I think should have left Fives as sweeper as in Cork game, I know Tadhg de burca was their sweeper all year and was massive, but I would have left well enough alone in that regard...Tadgh might have been under a wee bit of pressure too given how well Fives done against Cork..it was a bit like the 2007 final where Kilkenny scored 1-04 or something and after a ding dong battle there after, Kilkenny still won by only 7 - however the damage was done early on. Austin Gleeson was not in the game at all, and surely if deemed good enough to leave on the pitch, he should have been moved up front for last 10 minutes to try and win a high catch, and if not score a few points or a goal, he would have to be fouled and win penalty or 21yd free as they needed a goal realistically. Waterford will hopefully have their day, they deserve to win...

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 05/09/2017 16:47:45    2043065

Replying To Laois76:  "That always comes up Pinkie but you have plenty of sports stars in their mid to late 30s in sport to this day. Tony Browne played at 40 in 2013. Donnacha O'Connor Cork football, 36. Eamonn O'Hara 37 in 2013. Ryan Giggs 41 up to a few years ago, Tom Brady 40 in American Football.

If Brick was as good as he was this year at 34 why can't he get another 1 or 2 more years out of it? No reason with proper training. He was more invaluable to Waterford yesterday than 22 year old Ozzie."
Brick is a 'young' 34 year old too. He doesn't smoke or drink, takes really could care of this physical shape and I don't remember him being out with a serious injury during his career either.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 05/09/2017 17:38:54    2043100

Replying To Laois76:  "That always comes up Pinkie but you have plenty of sports stars in their mid to late 30s in sport to this day. Tony Browne played at 40 in 2013. Donnacha O'Connor Cork football, 36. Eamonn O'Hara 37 in 2013. Ryan Giggs 41 up to a few years ago, Tom Brady 40 in American Football.

If Brick was as good as he was this year at 34 why can't he get another 1 or 2 more years out of it? No reason with proper training. He was more invaluable to Waterford yesterday than 22 year old Ozzie."
Floyd Mayweather is 40

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 06/09/2017 01:21:04    2043243

Well lads, things have just about settled down after Sunday. Its been an emotional roller-coaster since the final whistle blew, I was in tears myself at that stage. Fair play Waterford, ye'r fans are great and gracious in defeat, we knocks some craic outta each other over Saturday and Sunday. Its true what they say, ya have to have the gut wrenching loss to dive you on to bigger things. As for ourselves, I always knew it was going to be an emotional few days if we won but I was never expecting this - I mean just off the top of my head:
- I was in tears at the final whistle but so was the throngs of Galway supporters around me on the Canal end even teenage lads were in tears around us!
- Burke mentioning Niall Donoghue and Tony Keady (us chanting Keadys name)
- Canning and Michael Donoughue with the Keady family at the end
- Dereck Mc Grath congratulating all of the Galway players at the end
- Dereck Mc Grath and Dan Shannahan at the end - melt your heart
- Outbursts of emotion from Duignan on RTE, Galway Bay FM
- Jack and JC celebrating together
- JC hugging his mother and his dad in tears
- Michael Donoghue and his Dad in Ballinasloe, I mean the image is one thing, but is few words with RTE at the time would melt shtone!

Great times for Galway, the west is truly awake. There'll be no winter in the west this year!

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 705 - 06/09/2017 09:16:45    2043274

Replying To The_DOC:  "Well lads, things have just about settled down after Sunday. Its been an emotional roller-coaster since the final whistle blew, I was in tears myself at that stage. Fair play Waterford, ye'r fans are great and gracious in defeat, we knocks some craic outta each other over Saturday and Sunday. Its true what they say, ya have to have the gut wrenching loss to dive you on to bigger things. As for ourselves, I always knew it was going to be an emotional few days if we won but I was never expecting this - I mean just off the top of my head:
- I was in tears at the final whistle but so was the throngs of Galway supporters around me on the Canal end even teenage lads were in tears around us!
- Burke mentioning Niall Donoghue and Tony Keady (us chanting Keadys name)
- Canning and Michael Donoughue with the Keady family at the end
- Dereck Mc Grath congratulating all of the Galway players at the end
- Dereck Mc Grath and Dan Shannahan at the end - melt your heart
- Outbursts of emotion from Duignan on RTE, Galway Bay FM
- Jack and JC celebrating together
- JC hugging his mother and his dad in tears
- Michael Donoghue and his Dad in Ballinasloe, I mean the image is one thing, but is few words with RTE at the time would melt shtone!

Great times for Galway, the west is truly awake. There'll be no winter in the west this year!"
Fair play to the hurlers, to Micheál Donoghue and his team, they have lifted us all in Galway.
Great joy tinged with sadness. If Waterford were playing any other county we'd be rooting for them.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1785 - 06/09/2017 12:40:34    2043402

Leinster hurling alive and well

ke40 (Kildare) - Posts: 209 - 08/09/2017 10:22:33    2044085

Replying To ke40:  "Leinster hurling alive and well"
Leinster senior hurling is for sure. Now we have to try win back the minor crown from that Connacht shower. ;)

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2034 - 08/09/2017 10:45:55    2044097